$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 2, 2015 Check-out: Mar 5, 2015

XX Settembre Hotel Rome

3 stars
View map of Via del Macao, 6, Rome, 00185

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
41 reviews
Excellent

My experience in Rome was AMAZING!!!!!! Loved the hotel, so convenient, close to main terminals n... See full review

  • Sandra NYC
  • Sep 16, 2014
Super

The staff are very friendly and helpful the rooms are very clean and tidied every day! See full review

  • Love to Roam
  • Apr 23, 2014
Just a short walk from Via Nazionale, the famous Via Veneto and numerous important Ministries, the IN HOTEL XX SETTEMBRE welcomes you to a charming environment that combines ancient Rome with the Rome of modern business. The hotel is situated in a late-nineteenth century building, where modern comfort merges perfectly with tradition. The cordial style of the hotel, the attention to detail and the courtesy of the staff offer guests a sophisticated yet friendly environment.Free! One child under 9 years stays free of charge when using existing beds.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed XX Settembre Hotel Rome also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

XX Settembre Hotel Rome Rooms

ECONOMY - ROOM
Double Room offers 1 double room with Air conditioning, Heating, Alarm clock, Internet access, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Telephone, Color TV, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Ensuite / Private bathroom and Hairdryer. Some of the economy rooms have no windows.
STANDARD - ROOM
Single Room offers 1 single bed with Air conditioning, Heating, Alarm clock, Internet access, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Telephone, Color TV, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Ensuite / Private bathroom and Hairdryer.
STANDARD - ROOM
Double Room offers 1 double room or 2 single beds with Air conditioning, Heating, Alarm clock, Internet access, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Telephone, Color TV, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Ensuite / Private bathroom and Hairdryer.
STANDARD - ROOM
Triple Bed offers 3 single beds or 1 double and 1 single with Air conditioning, Heating, Alarm clock, Internet access, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Telephone, Color TV, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Ensuite / Private bathroom and Hairdryer.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Nazionale Romano: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of Rome: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.3 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.3 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.3 mi
  • Ecstasy of Saint Teresa: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria della Vittoria: 0.3 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.3 mi
  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.3 mi
  • Fontana dell'Acqua Felice: 0.3 mi
  • Termini Station: 0.3 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.4 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.4 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.4 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Museo Nazionale Romano: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of Rome: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.3 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.3 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.3 mi
  • Ecstasy of Saint Teresa: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria della Vittoria: 0.3 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.3 mi
  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.3 mi
  • Fontana dell'Acqua Felice: 0.3 mi
  • Termini Station: 0.3 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.4 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.4 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.4 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale di Roma: 0.4 mi
  • Via Veneto area: 0.5 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Antica: 0.5 mi
  • San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo Barberini: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.6 mi
  • Piazza Barberini: 0.6 mi
  • Ludovisi: 0.6 mi
  • Pontifical Oriental Institute: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo delle Esposizioni: 0.6 mi
  • Fontana del Tritone: 0.6 mi
  • Teatro Sistina: 0.7 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.7 mi
  • Borghese Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.7 mi
  • Lamian Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Palazzo del Quirinale: 0.7 mi
  • Palacio del Quirinal: 0.7 mi
  • Spagna: 0.7 mi
  • Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II: 0.8 mi
  • Palazzo Quirinale: 0.8 mi
  • Trinita dei Monti: 0.8 mi
  • Sapienza University of Rome: 0.8 mi
  • Villa Torlonia: 0.9 mi
  • Spanish Steps: 0.9 mi
  • Bibliotheca Hertziana – Max Planck Institute of Art History: 0.9 mi
  • Accademia di San Luca: 0.9 mi
  • Piazza di Spagna: 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for XX Settembre Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of XX Settembre Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L. Yang
Business
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Apr 23, 2013

Good place to stay

15 to 20 minutes walk to the train station. My room was in another building just cross the street. There is a tiny lift in the building, but I always used the stair. The building does not smell very good, but I think it may be very common in old buildings in Europe. I like it having free wifi in through out the hotel. Although we are in different building, the signal was still very good. It is quiet too. A very good place to stay for vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of XX Settembre Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jgfunk
Business
Bamako, Mali
Mar 26, 2013

Perfect little hotel

I had to quickly find a hotel online for a take-it-or-lose-it R&R, and I picked Settembre based on other reviews. It was great! 4 blocks from the train station, next to some good restaurants, and just a 2-2.5 mile walk to Vatican City (and you pass everything else you might want to see on the way, too). It was clean, staff were nice and helpful, and I appreciated the free wi-fi and continental breakfast. I had a single room, and it was small as others have mentioned, but it was fine I wasn't in Rome to chill in the hotel room. I was able to peek into some rooms that were 'doubles', and they were bigger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of XX Settembre Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beasty
Business
Spain
Mar 25, 2013

Ideal location for visiting Rome

The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The breakfasts were good and the location was ideal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of XX Settembre Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Money4Monopoly
Business
Middle East
Jan 29, 2013

OK but could be better

Friendly staff but doesn't make up for the cold shower. I asked for the shower to be checked every morning for six days but it was not fixed. Single male business travellers often get the worst rooms in hotels when they are busy. This seems to be the case as the walls in the room were dirty, the room was in a building across the road from the hotel itself in an apartment block on the top floor. On the first night there was no wi fi (aaargh!!! for a business traveller) but that was fixed for the second night. Breakfast was as expected. Got to give it to the staff that they are pleasant and helpful and always smiling :) All in all I would pay a little more money for the guarantee of a hot shower, clean walls and a room in a hotel rather than an apartment block.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask at Reception and they will guide you to an Italian just around the Corner that does excellent pizza and pasta at a reasonable price :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of XX Settembre Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st time to Rome
Business
Massachusetts
Jan 23, 2013

Convenient and friendly

This hotel was conveniently located and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast that was included was well stocked and tasty. The only drawback was that the room was small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of XX Settembre Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EuroVegan
Business
Miami, FL
Jan 22, 2013

Small but convenient

If you're looking for a small but cozy hotel in the heart of Roma, the this is it. Don't expect flat screen TV's or luxury amenities - basic, but clean hotel that will provide what you need - shower and a place to sleep. Now, go and enjoy Italia. Arrivederci.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of XX Settembre Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melody loves to Travel
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jan 7, 2013

Close to Termini and other major sites!

This hotel may be tucked away down Macao Street but it was supe close to Termini and many other major streets and destination. Honestly, if you are looking for a budget hotel, this is it, look no further. The rooms were clean. Hotel breakfast was good, Wifi signal strong, fridge and safe in room. You are close to outdoor markets, supermarket, and banks. There are many other hotels that charge similar prices and proximity to Termini just like XX and they pale in comparison, I know this from booking one on a return to Rome to save 5 euros a night, I made a terrible mistake!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Although other hotels are "closer" to Termini, you should realize that they might advertise proximity to the actual structure and not the entrances. XX was close to the entrance, making it a shorter walk to the trains then hotels that can claim a shorter distance. I hope this makes sense.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of XX Settembre Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tonie M
Business
New Brunswick, Canada
Dec 12, 2012

Friendly and helpful

I had a hard time finding the hotel because it is on a small side street which did not appear on my 'Lonley Planet' map. (But that map was not very good anyway) I knew the general direction and stopped at another hotel to find specifics. They gladly helped me. The staff at XX Setembre were more than helpful, they were friendly, happy to chat about my day's adventures and taught me Italian phrases when I needed/wanted help (I will be sending them a thank you). The rooms are sufficient, (felt like my old dorm room) although the carpets have seen a lot of traffic and quite stained. I was aware of this ahead of time and brought flip flops, but everything was kept clean- bedding, bathroom, towels, even the window's curtain lining was taken, washed and replaced at one point during my stay. The breakfast was fine with fresh fruit, yogurt, breads, quiche, cheeses etc... But really the shinning star for this hotel is its wonderful staff! They are quite fantastic! I would stay again in a heartbeat. Another jem was the family run ristorante around the corner called Barbablu (recommended by the hotel). They spoke very little to no English, but were very loving and we acted out everything we needed. I only found out about them 3days before I left and ate there all three evenings. Delicious food and sweet people!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I would print off a map showing the street of the hotel as it is a small street that does not show on all maps.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of XX Settembre Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alex Batalov
Business
London, UK
Dec 12, 2012

A very good value for money in central Rome

Good quality hotel, and really good value for money in central Rome, where hotels are traditionally expensive. Staff was very friendly and welcoming, especially Gianluca at reception, who made very good first impression and was always helpful and very friendly throughout our stay. Room was small but tastefully decorated and very cosy and had all you need on a short-trip (free WI-FI, safe, hairdryer, TV, phone, aircon, extra pillow and extra blanket and even bidet in bathroom). Mattress was too soft for my taste (I prefer hard ones but many people feel uncomfortable on hard mattresses). I, perhaps, should also mention, that room was not in the same building as reception, but just across the street in literally 20 meters, so no problems with that. Breakfast was included, not very great, but OK for the price of the room (a selection of pastries, oranges, apples, ham and cheese, and etc.). Location is great, easy to find and just 4-5 min walking from Termini station and Piazza de Republica, 20 min to Spanish steps. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of XX Settembre Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tcbcan
Business
Istanbul TR
Nov 2, 2012

Smelling carpets give it all.

The hotel staff was very very friendly. They helped me a lot during my trip but the rooms; the smeel on the carpet was awful. I needed to let the window open for 6-8 hours to be able to sleep. Floors are definitely need to change even if there's timber underneath it needs to change. Baths and WC were very clean because ceramic is something you can clean easily. Breakfast was good too but as long as those floors in the room stay, I can not make a return to that nice located hotel.Even just to sleep there, is difficult.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Location of the hotels around Termini in Rome is a winner but be careful about the quality. Always first chekc the hotel rooms before entering.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top