$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 3, 2014 Check-out: Dec 4, 2014

Vatican Holiday B&B Rome

Via Andrea Doria 36, Rome, 00192
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
20 reviews
Great as a solo traveler

This B&B was perfect. When we first pulled up I saw only a door but once thru you were in a... See full review

  • Celeste visiting Child
  • Oct 26, 2013
No amenities...but you don't need them.

Really good location and that's the most important thing on a city break. You're really just... See full review

  • Dimmer the Romeaphobe
  • Oct 19, 2013
Vatican Holiday is a centrally located bed&breakfast situated in a charming neighborhoods in the heart of Rome, a good starting-point for the sightseeing of the Eternal City: at only 100 mt from the entrance of Vatican Museum and St Peters Basilica, within walking distance (at most 2km) of Castel Sant's Angelo, Colosseo , Fontana di Trevi, Circo Massimo and at few meters (100mt) from the Metro A , underground stop Cipro Musei Vaticani to reach the farthest corner of the city in few minutes. IMPORTANT: The property is positioned in 2 different buildings located rispectively in Via Andrea Doria (100 meteres away from Cipro underground station), 36 and in Viale Giulio Cesare 183 (opposite to Ottaviano underground station). Housed in the inner side of 2 luxury buildings far from the noise of traffic and daily chaos, Vatican Holiday is accurately furnished with precious wallpaper and old master paintings. All the rooms are equipped with private bathroom (hydro massage bath/shower), television (LCD 20I), air-conditioning, telephone, mini-bar, hi-fi and safe-box. The breakfast is served in a bar (near the house). The friendly staff is at your disposal night and day (24h) to resolve your difficulties and to satisfy your demands.

Hotel Map

41.9097 12.4519
Area served
Rome
Nearby airports
Fiumicino Airport Ciampino Airport
Area description
The Vatican Holiday takes place just a few steps from the Vatican Museum Entrance, and from metro stop Cipro - Musei Vaticani - Line A. Its position makes of it the ideal starting point to visit Rome by walk or by public transportation. It's very close to important monuments like the Vatican City, St. Peter, Sant' Angel Castle and, beyond the Tiber, it is easy to discover Spanish Steps, Trevi's Fountain, Navona's Square, the Pantheon, the Coliseum and all the other city's interest sites.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Vatican Holiday B&B Rome also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Vatican Holiday B&B Rome Rooms

Double room
The room offer 1 double bed with A/C, alarm clock, bathrobe, cable/satellite TV, color TV, hairdryer, internet access, Jacuzzi or hidromassage shower, mini bar, non smoking rooms, pay TV, pay-per-view movies, radio, safe in room and telephone. All the rooms are sited in a very quiet part of the building, faraway from the city noise.
Triple room
The room offer 1 double bed and 1 single bed with A/C, alarm clock, bathrobe, cable/satellite TV, color TV, hairdryer, internet access, Jacuzzi or hidromassage shower, mini bar, non smoking rooms, pay TV, pay-per-view movies, radio, safe in room and telephone. All the rooms are sited in a very quiet part of the building, faraway from the city noise.
Quadruple room
The room offer 1 double bed and 2 single bed with A/C, alarm clock, bathrobe, cable/satellite TV, color TV, hairdryer, internet access, Jacuzzi or hidromassage shower, mini bar, non smoking rooms, pay TV, pay-per-view movies, radio, safe in room and telephone. All the rooms are sited in a very quiet part of the building, faraway from the city noise.
Single room
The room offer 1 single bed with A/C, alarm clock, bathrobe, cable/satellite TV, color TV, hairdryer, internet access, hidromassage shower, mini bar, non smoking rooms, pay TV, pay-per-view movies, radio, safe in room and telephone. All the rooms are sited in a very quiet part of the building, faraway from the city noise.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Prati: 0.2 mi
  • Vatican Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Vatican area: 0.3 mi
  • Al Sole d'Oro: 0.3 mi
  • Vatican Library: 0.4 mi
  • Gardens of Vatican City: 0.5 mi
  • Sistine Chapel: 0.5 mi
  • Apostolic Palace: 0.5 mi
  • St Peter's: 0.5 mi
  • Saint Peter's Square: 0.6 mi
  • COIN: 0.6 mi
  • Sallustiano: 0.7 mi
  • Via della Conciliazione: 0.7 mi
  • Ponte Vittorio Emanuele II: 0.9 mi
  • Castel Sant'Angelo: 0.9 mi
  • Prati: 0.2 mi
  • Vatican Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Vatican area: 0.3 mi
  • Al Sole d'Oro: 0.3 mi
  • Vatican Library: 0.4 mi
  • Gardens of Vatican City: 0.5 mi
  • Sistine Chapel: 0.5 mi
  • Apostolic Palace: 0.5 mi
  • St Peter's: 0.5 mi
  • Saint Peter's Square: 0.6 mi
  • COIN: 0.6 mi
  • Sallustiano: 0.7 mi
  • Via della Conciliazione: 0.7 mi
  • Ponte Vittorio Emanuele II: 0.9 mi
  • Castel Sant'Angelo: 0.9 mi
  • Sant Angelo Castle: 0.9 mi
  • Ponte Sant'Angelo: 0.9 mi
  • Palazzo di Giustizia: 1 mi
  • Chiesa Valdese: 1 mi
  • Porta Di Roma: 1 mi
  • Ara Pacis: 1.1 mi
  • Centro Storico: 1.1 mi
  • Biblioteca Vallicelliana: 1.2 mi
  • Oratorio dei Filippini: 1.2 mi
  • Chiostro del Bramante: 1.2 mi
  • Pineto Regional Park: 1.3 mi
  • Santa Maria del Popolo: 1.3 mi
  • Accademia dell'Arcadia: 1.3 mi
  • Mausoleum of Augustus: 1.3 mi
  • Sant'Agnese in Agone: 1.3 mi
  • San Luigi dei Francesi: 1.3 mi
  • Piazza del Popolo: 1.3 mi
  • il Babuino: 1.3 mi
  • Biblioteca Angelica: 1.3 mi
  • Fontana dei Fiumi: 1.3 mi
  • Piazza Navona: 1.3 mi
  • Pasquino: 1.3 mi
  • Janiculum: 1.3 mi
  • Palazzo della Cancelleria: 1.4 mi
  • Palazzo Corsini: 1.4 mi
  • Palazzo Madama: 1.4 mi
  • Villa Farnesina: 1.4 mi
  • Via del Corso: 1.4 mi
  • TAD: 1.4 mi
  • Via del Babuino: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1100
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (20)

Ratings and reviews for Vatican Holiday B&B Rome

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.2

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Vatican Holiday B&B Rome

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FrenchVisitor
Business
Lyon
Jan 16, 2014

Clean but the rest not good

NOT VERY GOOD It is not a hotel, it is a house with rooms. Heating did not work properly so we passed a cold night and there is no hotel staff at night so nobody could fix it. We thought we could arrange it with extra bedspread or blankets but anyway there was none. Last day hot water didn't work either. There is no staff from the hotel all day neither a concierge and the girl who attended was not very polite. Think it twice if you want to stay there, just do it if you want to save some money but I'd prefer to pay a little more and rest comfortably.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vatican Holiday B&B Rome

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nick S y
Business
Glendale,Az
Sep 14, 2012

not that great

much smaller than expected. the bathroom smelled of sewage.the shower was 2x2. and an average person would struggle to get into it. No english TV channels.Breakfast was skimpy and same thing for 7 days...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vatican Holiday B&B Rome

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LoveRome
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 3, 2013

Don't go there

This is my worst hotel experience in my life so far. There is no reception, the clerk was sitting at a food joint while we knocked the door, he came running(surprised me, what the heck no reception ?). I had a booking for 2 double beds. The guy showed me a room with a single bed & broken Air Conditioner. I fled the place and guess what I was on the road of a unknown country with my family after traveling for 15 hrs. Thankfully I found some helping folks in a nearby restaurant they help me out with another hotel. I ended up paying $300 more for my 3 nights in Rome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vatican Holiday B&B Rome

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jessie Unhappy Traveler
Business
Santa Fe,Texas
Jun 20, 2010

no rooms overbooked

Arrived by cab at two doors in a wall with no hotel sign.After someone(not from the hotel) opened the door we went in to an apartment building with another building being worked on behind it.Finally located door to hotel only to be told they had no rooms and that we would be staying at another place. We then followed the rude hotel worker for about ten or twelve blocks to another hotel where the staff was helpful and had a room for us but only for one night instead of two. The staff from Vatican Holiday Hotel never apologized or offered a refund.We terribly disapointed and had to cut our trip a day short.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vatican Holiday B&B Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mif987
Business
Nesher, Israel
Nov 6, 2012

Trip

The location was amazing ( I stayed on the Viale Giulio Ceasare building) but there was no breakfast, the phone wasn't working so there was no way to talk to reception ( I had to email them). Also NO soap or shampoo on the bathroom. The good thing is that they were nice and let me store the luggage there for a couple extra hours until I had to take my train.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

you can buy a juice and some pastry at a super market near

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vatican Holiday B&B Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hoho123
Business
Walnut Creek, CA
Apr 1, 2013

Not what I expected

Great location for Easter at the Vatican but this was more like a hostel than a hotel. Had a private bathroom and was clean but was very very old and small. If you're on a budget it does the job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vatican Holiday B&B Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KAM KAM
Business
Illinois, USA
May 31, 2013

Nothing like the picture

This was a Bed and Breakfast in the middle of an appartment building, not a hotel. The room looks nothing like the picture. It was very small, end of bed was at the entrance to the room. The location was good if you like to explore a typical neighborhood and not be in the mist of others on vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great food market across the street on the first level of the office/appt building complex.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vatican Holiday B&B Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Muppetbabytattoos
Business
Mt. Pleasant, Mi
Jun 1, 2014

Want a quiet place to stay?

The pros: If you are looking for a place to stay that is quiet and away from tourist traps then this is the place for you. It's only a few blocks from either the Cipro or Ottaviano metro stops, a short walk from the Vatican, and any restaurants. Wasn't too hard to find- it's in an apartment building so you have to be buzzed in when you first get there. The hotel staff was very kind and spoke English so that was a bonus. The room is also air conditioned. The cons: The room only got cleaned once. You have to leave your door unlocked in order for them to clean it. (Which I did not do the first two days). It got cleaned the third day after she told me to leave it open. So the 4th and 5th night I also left it open but it never got cleaned. We ran out of toilet paper a few times (since the room never got cleaned) and we had to go into the closet in the hallway to get some. Another negative would be that it is so far away from every other attraction. The metro closes at 11:30 so every time we were out at night we had to cut the night short so we could get back to the hotel. Honestly I enjoyed the room but for what you get (and don't get) I think it is slightly overpriced. However, if you are looking to be left alone and in a quiet neighborhood then this is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vatican Holiday B&B Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 29, 2009

Atmosphere not great, but service was ok

The hotel staff went above and beyond when it comes to service, and the location was within walking distance of both St. Peters Church and Vatican City... but it was located withiin an apartment complex. The rooms were small and the atmostphere was a little scary. Vendors selling clothes and jewelry sit right outside the building. It was like living in a tall building in New York...without all the perks of a lobby and cafe. We were booked at one location but when we got there he said it wasnt ready and we had to walk five blocks to his other location. Then they werent ready for us, the phones didnt work, and niether did WiFi. Its ok but probably will go name brand hotel next time :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The train hits every tourist location... worth it comparesd to Taxi's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vatican Holiday B&B Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LoneWanderer
Business
London, England
Feb 21, 2014

Good location and cheap!

I arrived late due to a delayed flight and got a taxi to the hotel... I pressed the buzzer but there was no answer. I stood outside for 20 mins before someone turned up with the keys for me to get in. For the rest of my 4 night stay I never once saw a member of staff. Having said that, i enjoyed the peace and quiet - and not having to worry about being disturbed every morning. It just didn't happen. A lot of reviews on here have talked about how unclean the hotel is; it's not perfect, but if all you want is a clean place to sleep (before going off out and exploring again) then for the money this is a good option. The hotel is located on a main road and i would walk the 40/45 mins back from around the Colosseum or Pantheon areas every night feeling completely safe (I travelled alone). There is a metro stop at the end of the road if walking doesn't appeal to you. It is literally 5 mins from the Vatican Museums entrance which meant i didn't have to get up super early to avoid the queues. I'm not someone who pays an extortionate amount of money for a hotel - as i never intend on spending time there. I would consider staying at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top