$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 19, 2015 Check-out: Jan 22, 2015

Valadier Hotel Rome

4 stars
Via Della Fontanella, 15, Rome, 00187
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
26 reviews
Fantastic location

Our room was small but we were only in the room to sleep. It was very functional and clean. Other... See full review

  • Greg Renee
  • Dec 12, 2013
Great central hotel

Everything you need for a short trip away - close to all the main sights. Clean and comfortable... See full review

  • mrktan
  • Aug 13, 2013
Set in the historic heart of Rome, behind Piazza del Popolo and at a stone's throw from Piazza di Spagna, the Hotel Valadier is a charming intimate and refined 4-star hotel. The Hotel occupies an ancient Roman palazzo and has undergone recent major refurbishment to provide all the facilities you would expect to find in a modern hotel, albeit not at the expense of its character and period features. Dominated by the green area of the Villa Borghese Park and a key actor of the breathtaking spectacle visible at sunset from the Pincio Terrace, the Hotel Valadier is situated in a privileged location at the crossroads betaen the most exclusive shopping streets of Rome and the city's principal historical and artistic itineraries. Its 68 rooms have been decorated and furnished to meet the differing requirements of each guest, who may choose from among four accommodation styles the one most suited to their needs. Each room is exclusively styled, with design and technology meeting and blending to ensure your comfort.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Valadier Hotel Rome also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 1.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Valadier Hotel Rome Rooms

Standard Single Room
Room offers a double bed or a twin bed with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, laundry service, mini bar, modem/data port connection, non smoking rooms, pay TV, pay-per-view-movies, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Stanadrd Double or Twin Room
Room offers a double bed or two twin beds with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, laundry service, mini bar, modem/data port connection, non smoking rooms, pay TV, pay-per-view-movies, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Standard Triple Room
Room offers a double bed and a twin bed with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, laundry service, mini bar, modem/data port connection, non smoking rooms, pay TV, pay-per-view-movies, room service, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • il Babuino: 0.1 mi
  • TAD: 0.1 mi
  • Via del Babuino: 0.1 mi
  • Via Margutta: 0.1 mi
  • All Saints' Church: 0.1 mi
  • Piazza del Popolo: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria del Popolo: 0.2 mi
  • Monte Pincio: 0.2 mi
  • Via del Corso: 0.2 mi
  • Mausoleum of Augustus: 0.2 mi
  • Via dei Condotti: 0.3 mi
  • Bibliotheca Hertziana – Max Planck Institute of Art History: 0.3 mi
  • Via Borgognona: 0.3 mi
  • Spanish Square: 0.3 mi
  • Fontana della Barcaccia: 0.3 mi
  • il Babuino: 0.1 mi
  • TAD: 0.1 mi
  • Via del Babuino: 0.1 mi
  • Via Margutta: 0.1 mi
  • All Saints' Church: 0.1 mi
  • Piazza del Popolo: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria del Popolo: 0.2 mi
  • Monte Pincio: 0.2 mi
  • Via del Corso: 0.2 mi
  • Mausoleum of Augustus: 0.2 mi
  • Via dei Condotti: 0.3 mi
  • Bibliotheca Hertziana – Max Planck Institute of Art History: 0.3 mi
  • Via Borgognona: 0.3 mi
  • Spanish Square: 0.3 mi
  • Fontana della Barcaccia: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza di Spagna: 0.3 mi
  • Via Frattina: 0.4 mi
  • Spanish Steps: 0.4 mi
  • Trinita dei Monti: 0.4 mi
  • Chiesa Valdese: 0.4 mi
  • Ara Pacis: 0.4 mi
  • Porta Di Roma: 0.4 mi
  • San Lorenzo in Lucina: 0.4 mi
  • Spagna: 0.4 mi
  • Museo Carlo Bilotti: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Montecitorio: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo di Giustizia: 0.5 mi
  • La Rinascente: 0.5 mi
  • Villa Borghese: 0.5 mi
  • San Luigi dei Francesi: 0.5 mi
  • Piazza Colonna: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Teatro Sistina: 0.6 mi
  • Ludovisi: 0.6 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Moderna: 0.6 mi
  • Column of Marcus Aurelius: 0.6 mi
  • Galleria Alberto Sordi: 0.6 mi
  • Biblioteca Angelica: 0.6 mi
  • Teatro Quirino: 0.6 mi
  • Accademia di San Luca: 0.6 mi
  • Biblioteca Casanatense: 0.6 mi
  • Sallustiano: 0.6 mi
  • National Etruscan Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Fontana di Trevi: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for Valadier Hotel Rome

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Valadier Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
El Romano
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 24, 2013

My stay in Rome...

This was my first stay in Rome, so I did not know what to expect. However, I quickly learned that I was different. The attendant at the front desk seemed disturbed by my asking simple questions relating to my checking in. Keeping in line with the poor treatment, I was given a room right next to a loud restaurant. I specifically requested a room with twin beds, but was lied to and the man said none of the rooms are configured that way. I personally spoke to other guests and I actually saw other rooms with two twin beds. The "fake" air-conditioning, was nothing more than a fan that did not cool down the room. However, if I opened the small window, alot of noise and cigarette smoke from the restaurant would come in the window. The included breakfast buffet was quite good. But again, upon our entry into the dining area, the attendant put us into a small room in the rear of the dining area despite the place being almost empty. They treated us with disdain. Why, I don't know since I had paid for my reservation (3) months prior to my arrival and I wasn't getting anything for free at the Valadier. The check-out was actually pleasant because it was not an Italian who provided service. It was a young man from Bangladesh who was courteous and helpful. I don't want above and beyond service; but I did expect to be treated like everybody else. I did notice that the European guests were treated much better. Perhaps to prevent confusion, this hotel should have a warning sign advising that if you have a USA passport, you will be treated as a 2nd or 3rd class guest....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The only other positive, other than the breakfast buffet where the attendant was surveilling us continuously, was the proximity to the tourist spots most mentioned in Rome books.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valadier Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jiminy Cricket in Rome
Business
Michigan
Aug 24, 2013

Nothing to write home about.

Cons: Upon arrival in the middle of August the room air conditioning was somehow not sufficient enough for the space and never went below 22 degrees Celsius even thought the thermostat was set at the lowest of 10 degrees Celsius. The front desk employee gave the same excuse "we will look into it". They told us that it may be the filters and they apparently changed them one day but no difference in temperature resulted. The free wifi was very spotty most of the time, but that is to be expected of a free service. The first morning there was no hot water and it wasn't until we called the front desk we were reassured multiple times that it would be fixed within the hour. It was more like five hours later that we finally had hot water. No apologies or comps were offered. Pros: Discounted meals at nearby restaurants that are reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valadier Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
xlegolas1
Business
Hauppauge, New York
Sep 2, 2009

Nice Hotel/ Small Rooms/ Charged 2x

This is a very unique hotel... kind of ultra modern with a really cool rooftop restaurant. However, I found the staff to be unfriendly and conceited. Also, when I checked out, I was charged again for my stay (after paying Orbitz already). The staff member at check out claimed that Orbitz only "holds" the money on the credit card, but that the hotel actually charges the card. I knew this to be wrong and argued with the man, but to no avail (and I had a taxi outside waiting to take me to another destination, so I only had so much time to argue). Long story short, I have now spent 2 days calling back and forth with Orbitz, who is demanding a refund for me from the hotel. Orbitz is doing all they can, so I don't blame them. It is entirely the hotel's fault.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valadier Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Srogel
Business
Charlotte
May 6, 2013

Good location, no so good quality

Great location. Rooms decent size for Europe Pretty clean AC did not work. Not fixed! Internet did not work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valadier Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
moso1012
Business
UK
Sep 19, 2010

Great location

We thought the hotel was very nice, clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are VERY small, we didn't need a very big room for just the two of us on a weekend getaway, but if you want to spend more time in the room other then using the bed, you might want to find something a bit bigger. We liked the location and we were able to walk to all of the major sites of Rome, the Colosseum is about a 20 minute walk. The spanish steps and trevi fountain are right around the corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I would highly recommend getting a hop on hop off tour bus ticket if you're going to be visiting Rome. It is the easiest way to get around and you know exaclty where you are going!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valadier Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobolino
Business
London, UK
Apr 6, 2012

Short break

Very nice hotel, very clean, nice restaurant on the roof but I was charged 60 euros for a 6 pm late check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valadier Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave'n'Ginge
Business
Abingdon, Oxford
Aug 29, 2012

Smart hotel in amongst it bar/restaurant outside on roof

Good position quiet road but close to where you want to be for exploring all the sites/ culture. Restaurant outside on 6th floor roof a real bonus, great for nightcap before bed, really good food, but not necessary for residents to eat. We had a really good time, staff very helpful, accommodation comfortable very smart interior for all hotel and rooms. Overhead shower control in our room a bit poor, but hand held was excellent. If you book it is on Via Della Fontenella close to Piazza Popolo, not Via Fontenella further down Via Del Corsa, we went to the wrong place to start. Arrived at 11.15pm and were still able to get lovely meal on rooftop. Enjoyed it all, but visit Capitaline Museum, also pre book tickets for colloseum and Vatican museum. have fun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Include Capitaline Museum, great display of letters sent to various popes throughout history (Abraham Lincoln, M P' s on behalf of Henry the Eighth, Knights Templars trial etc) pre book colloseum, Vatican museum and grounds?.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valadier Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tucsonartguy
Business
NYC metro area
Sep 4, 2012

Bella Roma

The hotel was very convenient to all the must see sights in Rome. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff was professional, friendly and helpful...from check in to check out. Breakfast in the morning and after dinner drinks on the roof top restauran/lounget was wonderful. Overall an excellent experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Vatican tour was well worth the cost. No waiting on lines and the tour guide was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valadier Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Second time stay
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 11, 2012

Great location!

I love being able to walk right out of the door and get to Trevi fountain and the Spanish steps so quickly. The rooms are small and expensive, but it's cozy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valadier Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FirsttimeEurope
Business
SLC, UT
Jun 26, 2013

Nice location and newly remodeled

The hotel was recently remodeled, and included a nice roof top restaurant as well as a piano wine bar on the main level. Our room was nice with one glaring exception. There was no window! To clarify, there was a frosted window at the ceiling which dropped down about 18". So I guess it let air into the room, but was useless to look outside. The location was great as it was less than a 10min walk to the spanish steps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top