$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Starhotels Metropole Hotel Rome

4 stars
View map of Via Principe Amedeo, 3, Rome, 00185

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Starhotels Metropole Hotel Rome

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Starhotels Metropole Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bonefish90
Couples
Durham, NC, USA
Sep 5, 2011

Excellent

This hotel was perfect for us. The room was larger and more modern and comfortable than most other european rooms I have stayed in. The breakfast was fairly large and had a number of different options for just about everyone. The air conditioning was great, and while often taken for granted can really make a difference in the quality of your vacation. I have had some rough experiences in the past with other "air conditioned" rooms where the temp never got below 79F. What really set this hotel apart though was the staff. They were extremely efficient getting us checked in, which is a huge definite plus after a long day of travel. Further, they were exceedingly gracious and kind, as well as, helpful. I needed some reservation tickets printed out and got that done right away and in duplicate as more than one staff member immediately tried to help out. They also were able to give some really helpful restaurant tips which were casual, well priced with great food and service. We were also given some helpful tips on tours and sites to see and in which order. This was a surprise as we had done a fair bit of detail prior to taking this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the side entrance (the one not near the arch) to the Palantine prior to seeing the coliseum. The line there is a third the size of the main entrance and puts you closer to the main parts you need to see. This ticket also will get you into the Coliseum, without having to wait in that always long line. Also, carry a water bottle with you wherever you go in Rome. Most sites have no vending in them, and the street vendors charge the equivalent of $7 U.S. For a coke. However, the city is literally filled with fountains for drinking water. You will notice most second timers carrying a refilling water or soda bottles frequently to stay hydrated during long hot touristy days.

Review of Starhotels Metropole Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cruise-Away
Family
Louisiana
Jul 8, 2011

Great Hotel

My mother (70) and I (49) stayed here post-cruise for 4 nights. The Metropole is a wonderful place to stay. The staff speaks English, and were very helpful booking tours and tranportation to the airport. The free breakfast was good. There was scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, a variety of pastries, fruit, cereal, juices, and coffee. The room was big by European standards. It was very clean and had comfortable beds, 2 chairs, a table, a closet w/ safe and hardwood floors. The bathroom was a nice size too. There were many restaurants within walking distance. We walked from the Centrale train station, and it was a hard walk for us pulling luggage. The hop-on-off tour bus stops a few blocks away. We also felt safe walking around the hotel neighborhood. There was so much to see that 3 days just wasn't enough!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If traveling b/w Italian cities, the trains offer 2 for 1 rates on Saturday. We booked our train tickets before we left, printed the receipt, and had no problem. Be sure to book 1st class for reserved seating.

Review of Starhotels Metropole Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blackbird Funk
Family
Boston, MA
Jul 4, 2011

Excellent Experience

We stayed at the Metropole for three days at the end of two weeks in Italy. We were extremely comfortable there, including our two year old. The breakfast buffet was excellent, the staff was very helpful and nice, and the room was well-appointed. Upon arrival and understanding that we had brought our own travel crib for our son, the person at the front desk arranged a larger room for us, which got us off to a great start. He also recommended a restaurant around the corner that was great. It was only a 10-15 minute walk to the Colosseum and Forum, and a couple block from Termini which was great for our arrival from Florence and also taking the Metro to the Vatican.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Starhotels Metropole Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Barbara from Long Island
Couples
Smithtown, NY
May 23, 2011

No Complaints

Our visit (4 adults) started with a phone call to arrange transport from FCO before we even left New York. As promised, the driver met us with a name sign with the correct sized vehicle to accommodate all of our luggage. The breakfast buffet had a wide variety of foods. The entire staff was very professional and the rooms were as they appeared on the website. It was within walking distance to the bus and trains and to the Roman Forum, Palantine Hill and Colosseum. Overall, a very good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Call ahead to arrange for transportation. Considering, that Rome is a fairly expensive city, it was very reasonable.

Review of Starhotels Metropole Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reston, VA
May 16, 2011

3-night business trip

Very convenient location, nice staff, and clean but overall too expensive. Rooms vary by comfort, views, and layout significantly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Starhotels Metropole Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Laguna Niguel, CA
May 16, 2011

definitely a good choice

Excellent hotel. Very clean. Nicely appointed rooms and bathrooms. Breakfast was very convenient with great selection of foods. Location was within a 10 minute walk to the termini train station, so that was very convenient. Otherwise, the location was just ok. Hotel staff was very helpful. Although wifi was "free", it is limited to just 30 minutes in the lobby area. You can purchase it for 5.50 euros for 24 hours and get wifi in your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the metro is located in the termini station, and you can take it to locations much faster and less expensively than via cab.

Review of Starhotels Metropole Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
denrogers[@]
Couples
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 26, 2011

Starhotel Metropol Rome

Nice room. Helpful staff. Excellent breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Heed the warnings about pickpockets. They are true, especially on the subway.

Review of Starhotels Metropole Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reston, VA
Apr 15, 2011

Convenient location, friendly staff

Very convenient location. Close to the train station, bus tours, shopping venues, historical center, etc. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice and relatively inexpensive arrangement for wireless internet and international calling (VoIP) from the hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Taxi service is great and relatively inexpensive. Taxi is brought to the front door within 4 minutes from taking the order any time of the day.

Review of Starhotels Metropole Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
la palma, CA
Apr 13, 2011

review

The hotel is very clean. The breakfast buffet would be great with more choices of food. Everything else is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Starhotels Metropole Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mother of the Universe
Couples
Carmel, CA
Oct 27, 2010

Great Hotel

Modern Clean Wonderful Breakfast Great bed Helpful and friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top