$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Starhotels Metropole Hotel Rome

4 stars
View map of Via Principe Amedeo, 3, Rome, 00185

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Starhotels Metropole Hotel Rome

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Starhotels Metropole Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TomNJ
Business
NJ
Sep 7, 2012

Good hotel; good location

good hotel for the price - wish it had a pool staff gave me an upgrade, which was great hated that I had to be in the lobby for free wifi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Starhotels Metropole Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jacki K
Business
Miami Beach, FL
May 22, 2012

Great hotel but not quite where I would like to be.

Everything was great; clean, comfortable and good value. We would definitely stay there again. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Starhotels Metropole Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jemingo
Business
Delaware, USA
Jan 4, 2012

Great hotel but way over priced!

This was a really nice hotel located close to the train station and some of the big attractions in Rome. The free breakfast was great and the rooms were really nice. We didn't have hot water a few different times during our 4 day stay and I didn't like have to pay for wifi in my room, but other than it was over all a pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants located next to the hotel do not have good food. Keep walking!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Starhotels Metropole Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
first time in italy
Business
Memphis, TN, USA
Oct 25, 2011

Great location

More modern hotel in Rome that is located very near the Rome Termini train station which is good for both local subway trip and longer train trips to different cities. Hotel rooms are nice and clean and had comfortable beds. Breakfast included in the room rate from orbitz has a wide variety of pastries, meats, juices etc. Very helpful staff. Nearby restaurants are decent but better to head out on the town for really great food. Also very near to souvenir shopping. free internet in the lobby but limited to 30minute intervals and connection is spotty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Starhotels Metropole Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newfield, NJ, USA
Oct 22, 2011

Great Place to Stay!

This hotel is really near a lot of the tourist sites. The Colosseum is about 15-20 minutes walk. There is an absolutely wonderful restaurant just up the corner called Allessio's. We ate there 3 out of 4 nights. The hotel bar was very nice and the bartender was a great help with our questions. Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Starhotels Metropole Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nonno
Business
Manchester, NH, USA
Sep 23, 2011

Bella Roma

Fantastic, location of this hotel is excellent , breakfast is fantastic , Hotel value is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Gallina Bianca ,Fantastic Restaurant ,excellent food and prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Starhotels Metropole Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bonefish90
Business
Durham, NC, USA
Sep 5, 2011

Excellent

This hotel was perfect for us. The room was larger and more modern and comfortable than most other european rooms I have stayed in. The breakfast was fairly large and had a number of different options for just about everyone. The air conditioning was great, and while often taken for granted can really make a difference in the quality of your vacation. I have had some rough experiences in the past with other "air conditioned" rooms where the temp never got below 79F. What really set this hotel apart though was the staff. They were extremely efficient getting us checked in, which is a huge definite plus after a long day of travel. Further, they were exceedingly gracious and kind, as well as, helpful. I needed some reservation tickets printed out and got that done right away and in duplicate as more than one staff member immediately tried to help out. They also were able to give some really helpful restaurant tips which were casual, well priced with great food and service. We were also given some helpful tips on tours and sites to see and in which order. This was a surprise as we had done a fair bit of detail prior to taking this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the side entrance (the one not near the arch) to the Palantine prior to seeing the coliseum. The line there is a third the size of the main entrance and puts you closer to the main parts you need to see. This ticket also will get you into the Coliseum, without having to wait in that always long line. Also, carry a water bottle with you wherever you go in Rome. Most sites have no vending in them, and the street vendors charge the equivalent of $7 U.S. For a coke. However, the city is literally filled with fountains for drinking water. You will notice most second timers carrying a refilling water or soda bottles frequently to stay hydrated during long hot touristy days.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Starhotels Metropole Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cruise-Away
Business
Louisiana
Jul 8, 2011

Great Hotel

My mother (70) and I (49) stayed here post-cruise for 4 nights. The Metropole is a wonderful place to stay. The staff speaks English, and were very helpful booking tours and tranportation to the airport. The free breakfast was good. There was scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, a variety of pastries, fruit, cereal, juices, and coffee. The room was big by European standards. It was very clean and had comfortable beds, 2 chairs, a table, a closet w/ safe and hardwood floors. The bathroom was a nice size too. There were many restaurants within walking distance. We walked from the Centrale train station, and it was a hard walk for us pulling luggage. The hop-on-off tour bus stops a few blocks away. We also felt safe walking around the hotel neighborhood. There was so much to see that 3 days just wasn't enough!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If traveling b/w Italian cities, the trains offer 2 for 1 rates on Saturday. We booked our train tickets before we left, printed the receipt, and had no problem. Be sure to book 1st class for reserved seating.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Starhotels Metropole Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blackbird Funk
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 4, 2011

Excellent Experience

We stayed at the Metropole for three days at the end of two weeks in Italy. We were extremely comfortable there, including our two year old. The breakfast buffet was excellent, the staff was very helpful and nice, and the room was well-appointed. Upon arrival and understanding that we had brought our own travel crib for our son, the person at the front desk arranged a larger room for us, which got us off to a great start. He also recommended a restaurant around the corner that was great. It was only a 10-15 minute walk to the Colosseum and Forum, and a couple block from Termini which was great for our arrival from Florence and also taking the Metro to the Vatican.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Starhotels Metropole Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Barbara from Long Island
Business
Smithtown, NY
May 23, 2011

No Complaints

Our visit (4 adults) started with a phone call to arrange transport from FCO before we even left New York. As promised, the driver met us with a name sign with the correct sized vehicle to accommodate all of our luggage. The breakfast buffet had a wide variety of foods. The entire staff was very professional and the rooms were as they appeared on the website. It was within walking distance to the bus and trains and to the Roman Forum, Palantine Hill and Colosseum. Overall, a very good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Call ahead to arrange for transportation. Considering, that Rome is a fairly expensive city, it was very reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top