Starhotels Metropole Hotel Rome ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$113
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 28, 2016 Check-out: Feb 29, 2016

Average

Would not recommend Mon, Dec 1, 2014
Perfect location. Easy walk from Termini or Repubblica Metro stops. Breakfast was fine. Room was clean. Internet worked. Water was hot. No wash cloth. Hallway carpet is pretty wiped out (7th floor at least). Biggest complainte is AC didn't work. It appears, as in many European cities, they turn it off during the winter. Problem is of course if it gets warm you have to open the window completely...which is fine unless its pouring rain or....more likely...there is a lot of street traffic which makes it noisy. And of course you lose curtains/privacy/sun shade. The place is ok....but not 4 star.

Attractions

pay the extra money for tickets to attratctions that allow you to skip the lines. The lines can be quite incredibly long. the folks selling tour guide services outside the main attractions seemed to operate on the up and up and were all very pleasant. I hired two and it went fine.

| Atlanta Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Wonderful hotel and location!

Would recommend Mon, Jul 7, 2014
Room was spotless, clean every day of our stay, elegant, great air conditioning system inside the room. Bed was super comfortable. High quality toiletries provided. Buffet breakfast was excellent, great choices for all dietary needs. Location was excellent, within a very short walking distance of subway and sightseeing tour buses. Busy street but hotel has excellent insulation and rooms were very , very quiet. Hotel staff were very accommodations, friendly and helpful . Our family of six would definitely stay again at this hotel. Location and quality of hotel a was a huge plus for us.

| Marina del rey california Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

better than expected

Would recommend Tue, Jun 10, 2014
Clean rooms. We booked a classic room and was expecting a smallish room after reading reviews. But we had a very spacious room and bathroom - don't know whether we were upgraded unknowingly but the room was more than enough space so we were extremely pleased. Could not hear noise from outside streets. And hotel is situated in a relatively quieter (but busy) street only a few minutes walk form termini. Would advise not to stay any closer to termini as area is a bit dodgy. Downside to rooms was that we could hear whenevr rooms above us flushed toilet or showered.. But honestly didn't bother us when we wanted to sleep cos we were so tired. Breakfast was american buffet; Fresh fruit (and also tinned), usual scrabbled eggs, sausgaes., fresh bread, yoghurt etc... Plenty to eat and was very happy with choices. All tourist sights are reachable by foot. Though Would recommend taking metro to Vatican from termini. Definitely would recommend this hotel. Clean, spacious and good breakfast based on own experience. Staff could do with some smiling though...

| UK Friends

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Fantastic Holiday

Would recommend Wed, Oct 9, 2013
Had a great holiday at this hotel. Very clean, lovely breakfast and helpful staff. The hotel is very central for most of Rome's attractions.

Dining

Fantastic Italian restaurant opposite the hotel, meals under 10 euros and the house wine was excellent

| UK Friends

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Very Average

Would not recommend Tue, Oct 1, 2013
The rooms are a bit outdated, but large. Great included breakfast with American favorites such as eggs and bacon. Free internet access is available in the hotel lobby only. Location is on a fairly quiet street, close to Termini station. We walked everywhere, but this hotel may be a bit far for some to walk to the main attractions.

Dining

I am a Celiac, so I would love to share tips for gluten-free restaurants. Near Trevi Fountain are two of my favorites: Grill & Wine (BEST flavor for steaks/lamb on the grill) and laCerra a few doors down (gluten free pizza, pasta and a knowledgeable staff).

| Richmond, VA Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Surprisingly good

Would recommend Thu, Sep 19, 2013
We loved this hotel. For the price we paid it was a great value: large rooms nicely-furnished, excellent breakfast, helpful staff. All good, IF you want to be near the Termini train station.

| florida Friends

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Awful Staff, Terrible Service. Spend your money elsewhere

Would not recommend Wed, Jul 17, 2013
The location of the hotel is good... BUT... - The hotel staff are completely useless, and do not know the meaning of hospitality. - Food menu is small, and not good tasting - Free breakfast is terrible, and offers cereal, fake juice, and croissants. - Rooms are tiny, even the exec. rooms - Rooms have no views. - 'Newly renovated' means after the colosseum was built - 'TV in bathroom' means a 4 inch walkie-talkie screen. - Internet does not work 80% of the time There are amenities included with your room (Such as simple water bottles in executive rooms), which the staff refuse to give you. Everything is an epic battle, even for the free stuff you're already supposed to have. Would never, never recommend this hotel, just not worth all the hassles are fuss. Spend your money elsewhere.

Dining

Venture into the back streets, which have more authentic, family kitchens. Stay away from tourist sites when it comes to good food.

| New York, NY Business

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Stay at hotel

Would recommend Sun, May 5, 2013
The location and everything was great. The breakfast was good and the latte nd cappuccinos were delicious. It was very frustrating with their system to be on the Internet. What a lot of wasted time and paper.

Attractions

If you get tired after a long day of site seeing....not to worry a coaxial fare is cheap back to the hotel.......

| Canada Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Great location

Would not recommend Sun, Apr 14, 2013
Didn't think some of the staff were friendly and the room was too hot.

Attractions

Hotel is near the termini and Republica metro. A few nice restaurants at the end of the block.

| Long Island, NY Friends

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Great hotel, but maybe for older couples only

Would recommend Thu, Apr 11, 2013
We booked a room for 2 adults and a child. On arrival we were given a room with 2 single beds placed a foot from each other, and a sofa bed. My son is 17 years old and although he is bigger than me, we had to book him as a child, so the sofa bed was very uncomfortable. I pointed this out and was given another room with the 2 single beds stuck together and still with a sofa bed. The room was clean and the facilities adequate. The breakfast was good with a lot of choices, but the cooked breakfast was always a little cold. Overall, it is a good hotel for older couples or couples with small children as it is near a lot of good restaurants and the railway station. My son found the fitness room very useful and used it every night!

| London Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5