Sonya Hotel Rome

3 stars
Via del Viminale, 58, Rome, 00184
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
16 reviews
Great staff at Hotel Sonya

Just far enough from the train station to be in a nicer and safe neighborhood in the direction of... See full review

  • seniors who travel often
  • Oct 14, 2014
3rd visit

This is our 3rd time at the Sonya and all have been satisfactory. We have been lucky enough to be... See full review

  • Queen Mom 46
  • Jan 2, 2014
Convenient and safe hotel, located in the center of Rome
 

Hotel Sonya is located in the very heart of Rome. The hotel is close to many of the more famous cultural landmarks including the Spanish Steps, Veneto Street and Capitoline Hill. Transport in this area is very convenient and the Termini train station is just a few minutes away by foot. The Hotel Sonya can easily arrange travel around the city, and visits to places that visitors would not usually get to see. Attractions within easy reach include Piazza Navona, Trevi Fountain and the Coliseum. Breakfast is included in the hotel fee.

3 Reasons To Stay :
  • Located in one of the safest neighborhood in Rome
  • Within walking distance of major attractions and cultural landmarks
  • Free wireless high-speed Internet access
Hotel Sonya Rooms
Guests can select from 15 different rooms at the Hotel Sonya. Each room has been fitted with air conditioning, a minibar, safe, flat-panel television, and high-speed Internet. Rooms also contain a coffee/tea machine, hair-dryer, telephone, fax machine and desk. The Hotel Sonya is a favorite among business travelers and professionals. For family guests, there are quad and family rooms available. Pullout beds can be provided at an extra cost.
Things To Do :
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (adjacent)
  • Palazzo Massimo alle Terme (0.2 mi/0.3 km) 
  • Palace of Expositions (0.3 mi/0.4 km) 
  • Baths of Diocletian (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Santa Maria della Vittoria (0.3 mi/0.5 km) 
  • National Gallery of Ancient Art (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Galleria Nazional d'Arte Antica in Barberini Palace (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Palazzo Barberini (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • St. Peter in Chains (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
Policies and fees
  • 20 EUR self-parking fee
  • Photographic identification is required upon arrival
  • Extra person charges may apply
  • Pets allowed

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sonya Hotel Rome also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Sonya Hotel Rome Rooms

Standard Room
Standard room offers one double bed or two twin beds with basic amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Rome Opera House: 0 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.1 mi
  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.1 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.2 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Rome: 0.2 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo delle Esposizioni: 0.3 mi
  • San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane: 0.3 mi
  • Pontifical Oriental Institute: 0.3 mi
  • Fontana dell'Acqua Felice: 0.3 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.1 mi
  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.1 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.2 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Rome: 0.2 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo delle Esposizioni: 0.3 mi
  • San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane: 0.3 mi
  • Pontifical Oriental Institute: 0.3 mi
  • Fontana dell'Acqua Felice: 0.3 mi
  • Termini Station: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.3 mi
  • Lamian Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria della Vittoria: 0.3 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.3 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.3 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Antica: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Barberini: 0.4 mi
  • Museo Nazionale Romano: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza Barberini: 0.4 mi
  • Fontana del Tritone: 0.4 mi
  • Ecstasy of Saint Teresa: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Quirinale: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo del Quirinale: 0.4 mi
  • Palacio del Quirinal: 0.5 mi
  • San Pietro in Vincoli: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini: 0.5 mi
  • Torre delle Milizie: 0.5 mi
  • Teatro Sistina: 0.5 mi
  • Pontifical Lateran University: 0.6 mi
  • Colle Oppio: 0.6 mi
  • Trajan's Market: 0.6 mi
  • Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II: 0.6 mi
  • Trajan's Forum: 0.6 mi
  • Forum of Augustus: 0.6 mi
  • Torre dei Conti: 0.6 mi
  • Domus Aurea: 0.6 mi
  • Ludovisi: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo Colonna: 0.6 mi
  • Pontifical Biblical Institute: 0.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (16)

Ratings and reviews for Sonya Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sonya Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
loves2travel with hubby
Ma. USA
Feb 26, 2013

fantastic vacation

The room was exceptionally clean and breakfast had a wide array of choices, which were delicious. Their location to the Termini Station made navigation around Roma easy. I would stay at this hotel again and recommend it to my friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It was a good value for the money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonya Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
seniors who travel often
Business
Belton, South Carolina
Oct 14, 2014

Great staff at Hotel Sonya

Just far enough from the train station to be in a nicer and safe neighborhood in the direction of the historic city center. The nice friendly young men who took our luggage up to our room could not have been more helpful and the same men served our beverages at breakfast with such a nice attitude. The cappuccino was delicious. The people at the desk were also friendly and helpful. The mattresses were very firm but better than the too-soft ones on the cruise ship. We stayed there three times during the last two months and we would stay there again. We were there for several days before our first cruise and we stayed there between our cruises and came back after our second cruise for an additional night. During our third stay, that room had no working controls that regulated the fan on the air conditioner or thermostat. All the floors were tile floors as is the custom in Italy and Spain. They do not provide facial tissue in the bathrooms. The elevator can hold three people and luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonya Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daly baseball mom
Business
Phoenix AZ
Mar 25, 2014

Mote tajan expected

After check out I was able to leave my bags at the hotel and go sightseeing. Breakfast was based on breAd and cold cuts which was not bad. Defitnetly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonya Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Queen Mom 46
Business
Minneapolis
Jan 2, 2014

3rd visit

This is our 3rd time at the Sonya and all have been satisfactory. We have been lucky enough to be assigned renovated rooms on each occasion although we understand that not all rooms have been renovated. We did have a view of the opera house the first time but not much of a view the other times, but then we didn't spend much time in our room. The location is great, the staff are very helpful and the buffet breakfast is more than adequate. We will stay there the next time we're in Rome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonya Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
caribbean islander
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 12, 2013

Caribbean islander

When we checked in, the front desk brought us 1 block away to an apartment. Room are very very small and smell. Over priced for this small room. Never go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonya Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gin Mac
Business
Pleasant Hill, ca
May 27, 2013

Good location

The room was drab, bed not so comfortable, small bathroom. Breakfast was OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonya Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom 777
Business
Oregon
May 14, 2013

Downtown Rome

Centrally located. Wonderful breakfast and pleasant atmosphere! Would recommend to others and would stay there again. When in Rome...!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some of the bistros in the adjacent blocks are the best and fun places to eat at!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonya Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SandJinCFL
Business
Central Florida
Apr 30, 2013

Before Cruise visit to Rome

This hotel is located in a good spot to get to Termini, walk to sites or get on the HO-HO. It was typical of a 3 star European hotel, it's in a building with private residences and is not a "US-style" place. The staff was accommodating and there was a very nice breakfast included. The "lobby" is one flight of steps up so suitcases were a pain and the bathroom's shower door was so small that my wife fit and I didn't. All in all a great value, nice people, clean and perfect to see Rome before or after a cruise for a couple of days. I would stay elsewhere if it were for longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonya Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tom 777
Business
Oregon
Apr 4, 2013

Great Location in downtown Rome

The Hotel Sonya has "extra rooms" available at a nearby location without an easy access (for reference or for Taxi drivers). The staff was mostly Arab-speaking and remained aloof from Caucasian American guests. Good breakfast service! Best Wi-Fi connection we had in Italy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Use the maps available through the hotel to chart-out your course to the underground Metro system or the sites you want to walk to and visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonya Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
loves2travel with hubby
Business
Ma. USA
Feb 26, 2013

fantastic vacation

The room was exceptionally clean and breakfast had a wide array of choices, which were delicious. Their location to the Termini Station made navigation around Roma easy. I would stay at this hotel again and recommend it to my friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It was a good value for the money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonya Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Airwrecks
Business
BC, Canada
Jan 23, 2013

Decent

Hotel was decent. Nice location with most sites in walkable distances. Breakfast was great - various options along with coffee/tea/juice. The whole hotel was very hot though (this was January).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top