$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 9, 2014 Check-out: Oct 10, 2014

Solis Hotel Rome

3 stars
Via Cavour, 311, Rome, 00184
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
23 reviews
Excellent Location

Excellent location and right in the center of the historical attractions. Staffs are very helpful... See full review

  • Ray Don
  • Aug 8, 2012
Location was worth every penny

This hotel was great. It was within walking distance to everything in town and was worth the... See full review

  • 1der
  • Jun 19, 2012
Newly renovated hotel overlooks Rome’s ancient ruins

This three-star hotel has a bright, fresh feel after a recent renovation. Affordability allows you to spend your savings on your Roman experience, not accommodations. Simple, but tasteful rooms at Hotel Solis have views of ancient Rome. Step out your door and walk to the Colosseum, Roman Forum and numerous historical attractions. Hotel Solis provides complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi (fees apply) throughout the hotel. Termini Station and underground stops Colosseo and Cavour can be reached by foot.  

Highlights
  • Walk to Colosseum
  • Ancient churches nearby
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Recent renovation
Location

Located on Via Cavour between underground stops Colosseo and Cavour, and a short walk toTermini Station, Roman attractions are at your disposal. Walk to the Colosseum, Roman forum and many ancient churches. Piazza Venezia and shopping on Via del Corso can also be reached on foot.

Rooms

Accommodations, though small, are tastefully decorated and have a fresh feel after a recent renovation. The hotel's 17 soundproofed rooms have views of the Roman Forum. A buffet breakfast is included in your rate and all rooms have air conditioning, satellite TV, Wi-Fi (fees may apply), mini bar, and desk.

Features

Hotel Solis offers renovated accommodations and affordability overlooking the Roman Forum. The hotel's position allows guests to walk to the Colosseum and many ancient attractions. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast before setting out to see the sights, then relax at the hotel bar or TV lounge at the end of your day. Renovated rooms with Wi-Fi (fees apply) and modern amenities provide comfort during your stay. Hotel Solis provides a concierge, office services and parking (fees apply). Underground stops Colosseo and Cavour are nearby, as well as Termini Station.

Transportation
  • Leonardo Da Vinci Airport
  • Ciampino Airport
  • Termini Station
  • Closest train stops: Colosseo and Cavour
Attractions
  • Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore
  • Colosseum
  • Domus Aurea
  • Roman Forum
  • Arco di Constantino
  • Piazza Venezia
  • Palatino

Hotel Map

41.8939 12.4898
Area served
Rome, Italy

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Solis Hotel Rome also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Solis Hotel Rome Rooms

Single Room
Totally restructured and elegantly attractive in it's details, the hotel offers large rooms suited with every comfort: satellite TV, centralized air-conditioning, Internet Wi-Fi, safe, refrigerator bar, direct line telephones.
Double Room
Totally restructured and elegantly attractive in it's details, the hotel offers large rooms suited with every comfort: satellite TV, centralized air-conditioning, Internet Wi-Fi, safe, refrigerator bar, direct line telephones.
Triple Room
Totally restructured and elegantly attractive in it's details, the hotel offers large rooms suited with every comfort: satellite TV, centralized air-conditioning, Internet Wi-Fi, safe, refrigerator bar, direct line telephones.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Torre dei Conti: 0.1 mi
  • Rome Marathon: 0.1 mi
  • San Pietro in Vincoli: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di Massenzio: 0.1 mi
  • Forum of Augustus: 0.2 mi
  • Santi Cosma e Damiano: 0.2 mi
  • Via Sacra: 0.2 mi
  • Torre delle Milizie: 0.2 mi
  • Roman Forum: 0.2 mi
  • Trajan's Market: 0.2 mi
  • Trajan's Forum: 0.2 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.3 mi
  • Colosseum: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica Ulpia: 0.3 mi
  • Arch of Constantine: 0.3 mi
  • Torre dei Conti: 0.1 mi
  • Rome Marathon: 0.1 mi
  • San Pietro in Vincoli: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di Massenzio: 0.1 mi
  • Forum of Augustus: 0.2 mi
  • Santi Cosma e Damiano: 0.2 mi
  • Via Sacra: 0.2 mi
  • Torre delle Milizie: 0.2 mi
  • Roman Forum: 0.2 mi
  • Trajan's Market: 0.2 mi
  • Trajan's Forum: 0.2 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.3 mi
  • Colosseum: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica Ulpia: 0.3 mi
  • Arch of Constantine: 0.3 mi
  • Trajan's Column: 0.3 mi
  • Palatine Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria in Aracoeli: 0.3 mi
  • Altare della Patria: 0.3 mi
  • Colle Oppio: 0.3 mi
  • Capitoline Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Vittoriano: 0.4 mi
  • Domus Aurea: 0.4 mi
  • Lamian Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Marforio: 0.4 mi
  • Capitoline Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Vittoriano Museum Complex: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Colonna: 0.4 mi
  • Pasta Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Campidoglio: 0.4 mi
  • House of Augustus: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Quirinale: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza Venezia: 0.4 mi
  • Pontifical Lateran University: 0.4 mi
  • Le Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini: 0.4 mi
  • Palatino: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo delle Esposizioni: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.5 mi
  • Pontifical Biblical Institute: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica di San Clemente: 0.5 mi
  • Galleria Doria Pamphilj: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.5 mi
  • Palacio del Quirinal: 0.5 mi
  • Theatre of Marcellus: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for Solis Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveler 36
New York
Aug 12, 2010

Good location, surly service

Good location, unfriendly staff, tiny rooms, very slow WiFi (but cheap-7Euro for 180- minutes), very, very dim lighting in rooms, iffy A/C. Very small breakfast room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Oct 2, 2009

Bad hotel...Great location

Hotel staff was extemely rude, treated you as though you were a burden and a inconvienience. Location more than makes up for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Jul 26, 2011

Great location and mostly friendly staff

This was our first hotel during our first trip to Italy. We were really pleased with the hotel, location, and the staff. The staff was very knowledgable with the area and understood our concerns. We took in a lot in 3 days so we did not spend much time in the hotel. However, the hotel was in a location where we could stop in and refresh on the way to other sites. The trip to Italy and Rome in particular were wonderful, this hotel did not take anything away from our trip. If have ever had a bad hotel, you know what I mean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is so close to so many wonderful sites. It is also close to the Metro (subway) system which can get you near the other sites. Take time to learn the Metro system, it will save you time and money. It is pretty simple, and we felt safe using it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mark world travellor
Augusta, GA
Aug 13, 2012

Great location

Room was small and amenities basic but the staff was very friendly and the location was excellent - 10 minute walk to the coliseum and across the street from the Forum

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dazed
Arizona
May 30, 2012

Great Location !

You couldn't ask for a better for a better location! On block away from the Collisume. Lots of restuarnts and shops close by. Staff was awesome! The room was outdated and beds were very hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sunnyside, NY
Jan 28, 2011

Hotel Solis: clean, convenient

this hotel was near the Coliseum and St Peter in Chains church as well as the Forum. I also took it since it was near a Metro stop. Metro does not go everywhere so we ended up walking alot. The 2 complaint i have are: no seating in room which was very poorly lit. Breakfast was very nice. Bed comfortable. Lots of restaurants on a street which is not touristy. Buses go to railroad or it is not a bad walk. All in all, i would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

lots of near by restaurants towards Termini were great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anatolia
Ankara, Türkiye
Jan 7, 2012

Great Location, Helpful Staff

The Solis Hotel has great location. It is very close to famous ancient buildings in Rome. Walk away from Termini station. Breakfast is satisfactory but its room is small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lafornarina
Eugene, OR
Sep 25, 2009

A good bang for your buck

If you're fussy and looking for an American style luxury hotel, this probably isn't the spot for you. However, if you're looking for a comfortable, convenient and cost effective place to stay, this place is excellent. The only thing I didn't like was the unfriendly lady who tends to work the front desk in the afternoon. She likes to lay on the couch in the lounge and watch tv/talk on the phone, which makes things very awkward if you need something. She also begrudged us using the ground floor restroom, insisting it was for staff only, although there was no sign to that effect, no lock and no one else seemed to have any trouble with it. I don't think she quite understands the service industry. All the others on the staff, however, were friendly and helpful and I was overall satisfied with my stay. I plan to stay there again next time I go to Rome and would recommend it to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lyla
Connecticut
Jan 16, 2012

Great price and location but left something to be desired...

After reading all the prier reviews, I was a bit weary... The location was as good as it gets, lots of restaurants in the area and just a few minutes walking to the coliseum and metro. Breakfast is the only included meal (which is fine because you want to eat out most of the time) always the same: coffee machine, juice, milk, cereal, bread, ham, salami, cheese, hardboiled egg. Room was small, but not much time was spent there anyways. The Staff was great, very nice people; most of which spoke English well. No real Wi-Fi, you had to pay extra for it. They did have a computer set up in the lobby for guest uses but no privacy and no printer. DO NOT ASK FOR SHUTTLE SERVICE!!! I thought it was an included service most hotels have.... NOT THIS ONE. They sent a personal driver for us and we ended up spending 55 Euros we didn't expect to. I know it sounds a bit intimidating but the train is definitely the way to go. Only €14 per person and €1 for the transfer to get on the right train to the hotel. It's very easy to use and if you get confused, the people are more than willing to help. Definitely recommend you get “Rick Steves' Rome" travel book with the map, It's a big help with travel ideas and how to use the metro. We had an incredible trip hope you do as well =)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The further away from the tourist areas the less expensive things get; like souvenirs, panini stands, ... It's worth it to just go a little bit further.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Mar 15, 2011

The Hotel Solis...AWESOME LOCATION!

The hotel was very nice and we thought appropriate for a three star rating. It was small but this is not unlike most hotels that I've stayed at in Europe. The staff were friendly and willing to help, except that I had one run-in with a housekeeper that I think was just getting off of work and wanted to go home. I asked her for hot water in the breakfast area and she was fairly rude. However the concierge was very accommodating and helped me with the water immediately. The breakfast buffet was really more like snacks...pastries, cornflakes, hard-boiled eggs, and a variety of breads and the beverages were coffee, orange Juice, hot chocolate and tea. It was small but the quality was fairly decent. For the most part our stay was very enjoyable and you simply could not beat the location. We were not more than a five minute walk from the Colosseum s and right down the block you could see the Roman Forum. That TOTALLY ROCKED! Plus most in our area could peak a little English and were very friendly. The only real negative part of our stay was when we were checking out and were hit with the city tax that could only be paid in Euro (no credit cards accepted). that really angered me because if had known that upfront we could have planned better. It was a good thing we had the Euros on hand. I don't mind paying for it...I would have liked to have known about it. Otherwise, I do recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The deli's are all around and very affordable and delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search