$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 9, 2014 Check-out: Oct 10, 2014

Solis Hotel Rome

3 stars
Via Cavour, 311, Rome, 00184
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
23 reviews
Excellent Location

Excellent location and right in the center of the historical attractions. Staffs are very helpful... See full review

  • Ray Don
  • Aug 8, 2012
Location was worth every penny

This hotel was great. It was within walking distance to everything in town and was worth the... See full review

  • 1der
  • Jun 19, 2012
Newly renovated hotel overlooks Rome’s ancient ruins

This three-star hotel has a bright, fresh feel after a recent renovation. Affordability allows you to spend your savings on your Roman experience, not accommodations. Simple, but tasteful rooms at Hotel Solis have views of ancient Rome. Step out your door and walk to the Colosseum, Roman Forum and numerous historical attractions. Hotel Solis provides complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi (fees apply) throughout the hotel. Termini Station and underground stops Colosseo and Cavour can be reached by foot.  

Highlights
  • Walk to Colosseum
  • Ancient churches nearby
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Recent renovation
Location

Located on Via Cavour between underground stops Colosseo and Cavour, and a short walk toTermini Station, Roman attractions are at your disposal. Walk to the Colosseum, Roman forum and many ancient churches. Piazza Venezia and shopping on Via del Corso can also be reached on foot.

Rooms

Accommodations, though small, are tastefully decorated and have a fresh feel after a recent renovation. The hotel's 17 soundproofed rooms have views of the Roman Forum. A buffet breakfast is included in your rate and all rooms have air conditioning, satellite TV, Wi-Fi (fees may apply), mini bar, and desk.

Features

Hotel Solis offers renovated accommodations and affordability overlooking the Roman Forum. The hotel's position allows guests to walk to the Colosseum and many ancient attractions. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast before setting out to see the sights, then relax at the hotel bar or TV lounge at the end of your day. Renovated rooms with Wi-Fi (fees apply) and modern amenities provide comfort during your stay. Hotel Solis provides a concierge, office services and parking (fees apply). Underground stops Colosseo and Cavour are nearby, as well as Termini Station.

Transportation
  • Leonardo Da Vinci Airport
  • Ciampino Airport
  • Termini Station
  • Closest train stops: Colosseo and Cavour
Attractions
  • Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore
  • Colosseum
  • Domus Aurea
  • Roman Forum
  • Arco di Constantino
  • Piazza Venezia
  • Palatino

Hotel Map

41.8939 12.4898
Area served
Rome, Italy

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Solis Hotel Rome also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Solis Hotel Rome Rooms

Single Room
Totally restructured and elegantly attractive in it's details, the hotel offers large rooms suited with every comfort: satellite TV, centralized air-conditioning, Internet Wi-Fi, safe, refrigerator bar, direct line telephones.
Double Room
Totally restructured and elegantly attractive in it's details, the hotel offers large rooms suited with every comfort: satellite TV, centralized air-conditioning, Internet Wi-Fi, safe, refrigerator bar, direct line telephones.
Triple Room
Totally restructured and elegantly attractive in it's details, the hotel offers large rooms suited with every comfort: satellite TV, centralized air-conditioning, Internet Wi-Fi, safe, refrigerator bar, direct line telephones.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Torre dei Conti: 0.1 mi
  • Rome Marathon: 0.1 mi
  • San Pietro in Vincoli: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di Massenzio: 0.1 mi
  • Forum of Augustus: 0.2 mi
  • Santi Cosma e Damiano: 0.2 mi
  • Via Sacra: 0.2 mi
  • Torre delle Milizie: 0.2 mi
  • Roman Forum: 0.2 mi
  • Trajan's Market: 0.2 mi
  • Trajan's Forum: 0.2 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.3 mi
  • Colosseum: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica Ulpia: 0.3 mi
  • Arch of Constantine: 0.3 mi
  • Torre dei Conti: 0.1 mi
  • Rome Marathon: 0.1 mi
  • San Pietro in Vincoli: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di Massenzio: 0.1 mi
  • Forum of Augustus: 0.2 mi
  • Santi Cosma e Damiano: 0.2 mi
  • Via Sacra: 0.2 mi
  • Torre delle Milizie: 0.2 mi
  • Roman Forum: 0.2 mi
  • Trajan's Market: 0.2 mi
  • Trajan's Forum: 0.2 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.3 mi
  • Colosseum: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica Ulpia: 0.3 mi
  • Arch of Constantine: 0.3 mi
  • Trajan's Column: 0.3 mi
  • Palatine Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria in Aracoeli: 0.3 mi
  • Altare della Patria: 0.3 mi
  • Colle Oppio: 0.3 mi
  • Capitoline Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Vittoriano: 0.4 mi
  • Domus Aurea: 0.4 mi
  • Lamian Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Marforio: 0.4 mi
  • Capitoline Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Vittoriano Museum Complex: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Colonna: 0.4 mi
  • Pasta Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Campidoglio: 0.4 mi
  • House of Augustus: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Quirinale: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza Venezia: 0.4 mi
  • Pontifical Lateran University: 0.4 mi
  • Le Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini: 0.4 mi
  • Palatino: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo delle Esposizioni: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.5 mi
  • Pontifical Biblical Institute: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica di San Clemente: 0.5 mi
  • Galleria Doria Pamphilj: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.5 mi
  • Palacio del Quirinal: 0.5 mi
  • Theatre of Marcellus: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for Solis Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
a.bride
Louisville, KY, USA
Oct 6, 2011

Exactly what we were looking for

My husband and I just spent 8 nights at Hotel Solis for our honeymoon in Rome. We were budget sensitive when picking a hotel and did not go through a travel agency. Hotel Solis was very honest with their website and we were pleased with our stay. The room has all the amenities we wanted. Breakfast was simple, but allowed us to eat before we embarked on exploring the city. The location could not have been better- we were close to a metro station, but were able to walk most places on foot, tons of cafes in the area. The staff was very helpful and patient. Neither one of us speak Italian and they assisted with getting a Taxi and other helpful info. We would stay here again when visiting Rome and would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Jul 26, 2011

Great location and mostly friendly staff

This was our first hotel during our first trip to Italy. We were really pleased with the hotel, location, and the staff. The staff was very knowledgable with the area and understood our concerns. We took in a lot in 3 days so we did not spend much time in the hotel. However, the hotel was in a location where we could stop in and refresh on the way to other sites. The trip to Italy and Rome in particular were wonderful, this hotel did not take anything away from our trip. If have ever had a bad hotel, you know what I mean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is so close to so many wonderful sites. It is also close to the Metro (subway) system which can get you near the other sites. Take time to learn the Metro system, it will save you time and money. It is pretty simple, and we felt safe using it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA
Jun 7, 2011

Great location to Forum & Colosseum!

Great hotel and location for the money. I shopped around on the internet and finally decided on this hotel. We arrived in the morning and dropped off our luggage in the hotel lobby and did not return until later that night. So, literally, we only slept there, and got up the next morning to go to the airport. We only had one day in Rome after our Mediterranean cruise, and dragged our kids to all the major Rome sites. We were able to walk a few blocks to see the forum and Colosseum. We could lean out our window and see the forum ruins. Restaurants and other necessary stores on this street, surprisingly quiet considering you're in the heart of Rome. Our only negatives were that the A/C in our room was not very cold as we are used to in the United States, but we were so tired, we just collapsed after a long day. The hotel also was not able to exchange money, but there is an exchange store on the same block. Nice staff and at 7am they have a continental breakfast room to start you off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Mar 15, 2011

The Hotel Solis...AWESOME LOCATION!

The hotel was very nice and we thought appropriate for a three star rating. It was small but this is not unlike most hotels that I've stayed at in Europe. The staff were friendly and willing to help, except that I had one run-in with a housekeeper that I think was just getting off of work and wanted to go home. I asked her for hot water in the breakfast area and she was fairly rude. However the concierge was very accommodating and helped me with the water immediately. The breakfast buffet was really more like snacks...pastries, cornflakes, hard-boiled eggs, and a variety of breads and the beverages were coffee, orange Juice, hot chocolate and tea. It was small but the quality was fairly decent. For the most part our stay was very enjoyable and you simply could not beat the location. We were not more than a five minute walk from the Colosseum s and right down the block you could see the Roman Forum. That TOTALLY ROCKED! Plus most in our area could peak a little English and were very friendly. The only real negative part of our stay was when we were checking out and were hit with the city tax that could only be paid in Euro (no credit cards accepted). that really angered me because if had known that upfront we could have planned better. It was a good thing we had the Euros on hand. I don't mind paying for it...I would have liked to have known about it. Otherwise, I do recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The deli's are all around and very affordable and delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sunnyside, NY
Jan 28, 2011

Hotel Solis: clean, convenient

this hotel was near the Coliseum and St Peter in Chains church as well as the Forum. I also took it since it was near a Metro stop. Metro does not go everywhere so we ended up walking alot. The 2 complaint i have are: no seating in room which was very poorly lit. Breakfast was very nice. Bed comfortable. Lots of restaurants on a street which is not touristy. Buses go to railroad or it is not a bad walk. All in all, i would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

lots of near by restaurants towards Termini were great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lovin' travelin'
Norman, OK
Jan 17, 2011

Great bang for the buck!

Just returned from an 8-night stay at the Hotel Solis. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location was perfect!!! Only minutes from two metro stops and the Coliseum. Breakfast was included in the price and the rooms were cleaned every day. Our room was quiet and very comfortable. The only observation (certainly not a complaint) was that the room was VERY small, but we did have a large closet and bathroom. The photos were a bit misleading in that respect, but the details of the room and the rest of the hotel were exactly as shown in the photos. There was also a refrigerator and an in-room safe. We would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

There are many free attractions to visit in Rome - a simple internet search found dozens of places to see. The Roma Pass is essential for using the metro and the 3-day pass includes free entrance to two museums or other attractions and a discount on any others you purchase while there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dayton
Syracuse, NY
Oct 3, 2010

Clean and quiet

Very clean and remarkably quiet rooms for being located on a busy street so close to the coliseum and imperial forum. Centrally located and within walking distance to everything in the heart of ancient Rome and the Vatican.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of dining options close by. Small shops within 100' of hotel entrance have inexpensive ice cream, sodas and more.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveler 36
New York
Aug 12, 2010

Good location, surly service

Good location, unfriendly staff, tiny rooms, very slow WiFi (but cheap-7Euro for 180- minutes), very, very dim lighting in rooms, iffy A/C. Very small breakfast room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Italy Trip
Delaware, USA
Aug 2, 2010

Great location, great hotel.

The hotel has Wifi available but at 7 EU for 3 hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solis Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Oct 2, 2009

Bad hotel...Great location

Hotel staff was extemely rude, treated you as though you were a burden and a inconvienience. Location more than makes up for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search