$82 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

4 stars
View map of Via Boncompagni, 35/37, Rome, 00187

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Oct 15, 2009

Absolutely Horrible- DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

I was expecting waaaaayyyyy more. the hotel was the size of a bathroom and was decorated in total cheesiness. The worst experience that we have ever had. The worst thing was is that it was our honeymoon! DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego, ca
Oct 12, 2009

Great Hotel

Nice Hotel, good location but a little noisy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom and Daughter travelers
Business
New York
Oct 11, 2009

Great Hotel, a little too far away.

The hotel was spotless and staff excellent. However they were lacking on a lot of tourist info which we were interested in. Their promo [...] said they were close to rome's famous shopping district, but this turned out not to be true from out point of view. We didn't mind the walks as we are always game for a walk, but, this neighbor hood lacked a lot of choices for night life. Their concierge recommendation of a resturant near the trevi fountain was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

For the price the quality was excellent and so the walk was not burdensome to us. We purchased a 48 hour hop on hop off bus pass that had a reasonably nearby stop so we only had cab fare to the train station. Beware, a traveler who can't walk several miles per day would spend a fortune on cab fares here. I liken this hotel to one on the upper east side of NY. Classy, quite, but far for the action in midtown if you get my meaning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rome_first_timer
Business
Dallas Texas
Oct 11, 2009

Nice Place to stay ,,,,, but

Good Hotel but they overbooked for the first two nights and when we arrived, we were informed that they had booked a room in a hotel three blocks away and we were taxied over. They made up for this by upgrading our room when we returned. Other than the surprise and aggravation (two nights out of eleven nights) of repacking, we were satisfied. The roof top breakfast buffet was great with enough choices to vary selections daily. Front desk was terrific at all times. Rooms very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

IF staying for more than 2 or three days, take the open tour bus to get feel and layout of attractions, traffic, train station, etc. Thereafter it is easy to take the bus or train or metro systems. You can almost always get help or directions in English. The Hotel Romanico is within walking distance to Termini to catch trains or buses to the Catacombs and Ostia Antiqua (a must visit just west of central Rome reached by local train lines).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
STEVENBIJAN
Business
LA,CALIFORNIA
Oct 11, 2009

great value

Great staff. Firendly staff and spoke english. we walked everywhere since my fiance and i love walking.Rooms were a little small but then again this is the norm in Europe

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

save yourself time and money and spend 20 Euro per person and take the city tour thru one of the tour companies.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DOS-Mukilteo
Business
WA
Sep 30, 2009

Great place great location

Great hotel, rooms we great and not that small as expected for most European hotels. Good morning breakfast, good staff, great location to Vastours for daily bus tour of Rome. Walking distance to Vastours only a block and 1/2 away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are taking a tour of Rome. Vastours block and 1/2 away. Easy walk to location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WA
Sep 29, 2009

Did not have a room when I arrived

When we arrived, and we were tired after a long flight, they did not have a room available for us. They offered us to go to a different hotel for one night and come back the following day. This caused a major inconvenience since we were in Rome for only two days. On the following day we had to interrupt the tour to change hotels. Rooms were quite small, bathroom was not very comfortable. The other hotel, where we had to spend one night, "Victoria" was even worse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redondo Beach
Sep 28, 2009

Hotel Romanico Palace

My shower did not drain and I asked the staff to repair 3 times without success. Not too good when you spend $1500 for a week and you have to take 40 second shower everyday to prevent water damage to their hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gaithersburg, MD
Sep 24, 2009

Good Value

We had a very pleasant stay and appreciated the friendly, helpful staff. The hotel was true Italian with American amenities - - especially the bathroom. Just be sure to pack a washcloth, and be prepared for a very firm mattress (we loved it!). Although advertised as very close to the metro, it's a bit of a hike... but the Hop On Hop Off tour bus stop is reasonably close and is a pretty good bargain. Continental breakfast on the rooftop terrace was a great way to start the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Start your vacation with a Hop On Hop Off (HOHO)bus tour; they make a full loop of the city, with 17 strategically located stops. Ride the loop all the way around, then decide which attraction you want to explore first. Just be mindful that the (HOHO)busses stop running in the early evening. We found that out too late, but enjoyed the sights on the hike back to the hotel. Also, be aware that just because a tour picks you up at the hotel doesn't guarantee they'll drop you off there, too. (We found that out too late as well, but again enjoyed the hike back to the hotel). It's worth the chance, though, because tours usually don't have to wait in line to get in to the attraction.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Romelover Lovely area great decor
Business
st pete fl
Sep 20, 2009

Great decor Great area

The restaurant was only open for breakfast Lovely location seemed a safe area enjoyed our stay but a bit pricey even for Rome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top