$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

4 stars
View map of Via Boncompagni, 35/37, Rome, 00187

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
moomooshi
Business
great falls, virginia
Apr 25, 2011

a beautiful hotel in a good location

I loved the location of the hotel because it took us 10-15 mintues walk to all the sites that we were were supposed to see. The room was a little bit small but that is how the all the hotel rooms are in center of major cities in Europe!! Breakfast buffet was good but no omletes/eggs!!!. Staff were all useful and friendly. I would recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

excelent steak restaurant, 3 blocks away from hotel on the same street. wow! great food and cheap in compare to other restaurants!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, Al
Apr 5, 2011

Rome March 2011

We visited various sites in Rome - not on a tour and no particular agenda for each day. The hotel was clean, reasonably quiet and the staff was pleasant and helpful. Plenty of hot water - our room had a tub and shower. Our 1st room was next to construction and we were moved without any problem.Room was comfortable and English speaking TV news station was a plus.No room service or in house restaurant except for breakfast.Biggest surprise was a 40 euro per day mandatory "upgrade". This was not noted when we booked the trip and to our pleasant surprise the amount was refunded by [...](our 1st time to use them).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy tourists
Business
London
Feb 25, 2011

Avoid, worst hotel stay ever. AVOID!!!

My wife and I booked the Hotel Romanico for our anniversary and were looking forward to 4days in Rome. Upon booking the hotel we thought we had secured a great stay, our package included airport transfers, breakfasts and coliseum tickets (the coliseum tickets were a big draw card as we wanted to avoid queues and with pre tickets it would have been perfect)From our arrival to departure things got worse every day, our airport transfer didn't arrive, after two calls to our hotel they finally said someone would be sent. We waited over an hour in the airport, upon arrival to the hotel no apology was offered and we were told the Coliseum tickets were not able to be booked. (I had given the hotel enough email notifications about our stay to insure the tickets were booked)I could go on forever with things they did not do- but in short, stay somewhere else if you're looking for a relaxing weekend without any problems. Avoid this hotel at all costs, my wife and I have stayed at a number of hotels across Europe and never have we experience problems like this. The main reason for posting this review is to prevent others from experiencing these problems; it just ruins your holiday!In the end we had to buy our own Coliseum passes and wasted over half the day queuing to get tickets, we then had to claim back the money from the hotel. Total hassle and ruined a day of site seeing.Staff: Unhelpful and rude, no manager to assist during our stay, bar tender was the nicest guy and should find another place to work, the hotel is bringing him down! Room: Our bed was hard; air conditioning unit did not work and was never fixed during our stay. (We advised the front desk every morning but nothing was every done about the air conditioning) Location: Close to the Spanish steps and train station but so are loads of other hotels, nothing great about this place and next time we'll be avoiding this hotel.Breakfast: Just basic stuff, nothing to write home about.All in all, the worst hotel experience and we have stayed in plenty over the last 10years. We live in London and travel Europe regularly and this was so bad it's prompted me to write this review, also management don't seem to care about the negative. You may be interested to know, I've sent a letter of complaint to the hotel and also emailed twice, it's been 2weeks and still no response. I've called to speak to the manager [...] and left messages for him to contact me but still nothing. Shows what they think of their customers. You have been warned; if I was you avoid this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Purchase your tickets to the Vatican & Colisum online, this way you can avoid the long queues and go stright in. Just book online via the websites, print out your ticket and your ready. Don't expect your hotel to have tickets like ours said they would, total let down and ruined a day of site seeing! Avoid the Hotel Romanico Palace!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico
Feb 6, 2011

The bad

We had an aweful surprise when we arrived to the hotel. We had to pay 40euros extra per night. When we booked suposed to be all done didnt say anything about the extra charge in the hotel they said was paid just the reservation we travel quite often and never never this is happen to us before. I dont know if is [...] thing or the hotel. If you dont wanna get an aweful surprise like us be sure everything is pay and double check in others websites is the 1 time we did in the page and believe me the last one.Really disapoint it about this situation but we were there and was nothing we could do!.The hotel was ok but theres many hotels near to the tourist places if u can avoid this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Capucino
Business
Centerville, Mass.
Oct 27, 2010

Wonderful

Excellent service, great location near Via Veneto . Hooked you up with daily tours, restaurants, shopping. Very nice customer service. Room a bit small but we were out all day anyway. Very professional... Great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Plan daily excursions ahead of time so they are not booked. Plan excursions the night before through your hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David and Rebecca
Business
Polesworth North Warwickshire
Oct 2, 2010

Absolutely fantastic !!!!!

Beautiful hotel for the money. Immaculately maintained, extremely helpful and polite staff, lovely breakfast. Excellently located for walking to all the main areas of interest. We were on honeymoon here and it was just perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SC, USA
Aug 29, 2010

The really bad if you stay in the summer

The air conditioning is controlled downstairs at the front desk so don't let them fool you by the thermostat in the room. I called 3 times and went down once to get them to check our air. They did nothing. We were so miserable there. Could not sleep because it was so hot. Nice hotel but not worth the money..we stayed at a lot less expensive with many more extras.. My opinion is to shop around for a better one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Use a tour guide for the Vatican. it is very helpful. We used Viator. They were great. We also used one for the coliseum but didn't feel it was need there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico D.F.
Aug 8, 2010

nice rooms, very noisy

there is not a nice or good restaurant at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

you are 10 min walking to the Spain Place from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robin/Marion
Business
Nottingham
Jul 29, 2010

Good Hotel

location slightly set back but only a 10-15min walk down to some of the main attractions. Room was very clean & comfy but some rooms are set above a main road & traffic was noisy at night, so ask for a quieter room. Staff were very friendly on all levels. Breakfast was basic but filling, enough to set you up for a days sight seeing! We have stayed in a more central hotel previously but we can recommend a stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Jun 27, 2010

Trip to Italy

The hotel was very nice. Staff wonderful, rooms clean, breakfast great with a beautiful view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top