$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 12, 2014 Check-out: Nov 13, 2014

Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

4 stars
Via Boncompagni, 35/37, Rome, 00187
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
85 reviews
A great roman experience

The hotel has lovely decor and fits the photos advertising it which we were sceptical about.... See full review

  • The D man
  • Apr 17, 2014
Perfecto!

Amazing hotel, perfect spot, friendly staff and beautiful inside and out. Highly recommend this hotel See full review

  • Traverls
  • Mar 21, 2014
Those looking for sophistication in the heart of Rome need look no further than the four-star Romanico Palace Hotel. Featuring ornately-decorated rooms, statues and classical interiors, it's an excellent choice for the discerning traveler who wants to be close to all of Rome's churches, attractions and museums. Take it easy at the hotel's Romanor Spa with Turkish bath, steam bath, multi-sensory showers and heated beds. Guests can book a massage or customized body treatment. There's also a modern and well-equipped gym for those looking to work up a sweat.
Key facts
  • 79 guestrooms, including a range of suites
  • 7 floors
  • Rooftop terrace
  • Snack bar/deli
  • Business center
  • Full-service spa
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Fitness room
Neighborhood
The Romanico Palace hotel lies in the fashionable Via Veneto area of the city, and is surrounded by fashion boutiques, cafes, bars and upscale stores. This glamorous area of Rome is also home to the Spanish Steps, which are just a five-minute stroll away. Visitors can walk through the Villa Borghese gardens, and marvel at the art collection in the villa and the statuary in the gardens. Guests can stroll to the Pantheon and Castel Sant'Angelo in 10 minutes, with the Vatican and the Colosseum both less than fifteen minutes' walk away, as well. The beautiful church of Santa Maria della Vittoria is just steps from the hotel; its Cornaro Chapel houses Gian Lorenzo Bernini's acclaimed masterpiece, the Ecstasy of Saint Theresa. Art lovers will also love being so close to the Palazzo Barberini and the National Gallery of Ancient Art.
Hints and tips
Although the hotel doesn't have a restaurant serving dinner, they do offer 24-hour room service for light snacks.
The concierge service also operates on a 24-hour basis, which is great for booking last-minute theater tickets or reservations of any kind.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.9084 12.4936
Area served
Roma
Nearby airports
LEONARDO DA VINCI - FIUMICINO is an international airport,CIAMPINO is domestic airport.
Area description
Situated near the Spanish Steps, the Trevi Fountain, Galleria Borghese Park, the hotel offers easy access to the main sights of the city, which are all within walking distance.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Romanico Palace Hotel Rome also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Romanico Palace Hotel Rome Rooms

Double
Room with two single or one double bed offers facilities like air conditioning,cable satellite tv,color tv,disabled facilities,ensuite private bathroom,hairdryer,internet access,laundry service,minibar,non smoking rooms,room service,safe in room,telephone. Size 18 square meters.
Classic Triple
Room with three single beds or one double bed + sofa bed offers facilities like air conditioning,cable satellite tv,color tv,disabled facilities,ensuite private bathroom,hairdryer,internet access,laundry service,minibar,non smoking rooms,room service,safe in room,telephone.
Classic Quad
Room with four single or two double bed or 1 double + 2 single beds offers facilities like air conditioning,cable satellite tv,color tv,disabled facilities,ensuite private bathroom,hairdryer,internet access,laundry service,minibar,non smoking rooms,room service,safe in room,telephone.
Junior Suite
Beautiful Room with one double bed, round Jacuzzi bathtub, City view. It offers facilities like air conditioning,cable satellite tv,color tv,disabled facilities,ensuite private bathroom,hairdryer,internet access,laundry service,minibar,non smoking rooms,room service,safe in room,telephone.
Economy Double
Double Room with one double bed, Courtyard view and located between the first and the second floor. It offers facilities like air conditioning, cable satellite TV, colour TV, ensuite private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, laundry service, minibar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room, telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Via Veneto area: 0.1 mi
  • Ecstasy of Saint Teresa: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria della Vittoria: 0.3 mi
  • Fontana dell'Acqua Felice: 0.3 mi
  • Ludovisi: 0.3 mi
  • Museo Nazionale Romano: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini: 0.4 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Antica: 0.4 mi
  • Borghese Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza Barberini: 0.4 mi
  • Fontana del Tritone: 0.4 mi
  • Teatro Sistina: 0.4 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.4 mi
  • Via Veneto area: 0.1 mi
  • Ecstasy of Saint Teresa: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria della Vittoria: 0.3 mi
  • Fontana dell'Acqua Felice: 0.3 mi
  • Ludovisi: 0.3 mi
  • Museo Nazionale Romano: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini: 0.4 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Antica: 0.4 mi
  • Borghese Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza Barberini: 0.4 mi
  • Fontana del Tritone: 0.4 mi
  • Teatro Sistina: 0.4 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.4 mi
  • Spagna: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Barberini: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Rome: 0.5 mi
  • San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane: 0.5 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.5 mi
  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.5 mi
  • Trinita dei Monti: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliotheca Hertziana – Max Planck Institute of Art History: 0.5 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.6 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo delle Esposizioni: 0.6 mi
  • Spanish Steps: 0.6 mi
  • Villa Borghese: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo del Quirinale: 0.6 mi
  • Fontana della Barcaccia: 0.6 mi
  • Piazza di Spagna: 0.6 mi
  • Spanish Square: 0.6 mi
  • Palacio del Quirinal: 0.6 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.6 mi
  • Termini Station: 0.6 mi
  • Museo Carlo Bilotti: 0.6 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.7 mi
  • Via Frattina: 0.7 mi
  • Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale di Roma: 0.7 mi
  • Accademia di San Luca: 0.7 mi
  • Via Borgognona: 0.7 mi
  • Palazzo Quirinale: 0.7 mi
  • Via dei Condotti: 0.7 mi
  • Teatro Quirino: 0.7 mi
  • All Saints' Church: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, Al
Apr 5, 2011

Rome March 2011

We visited various sites in Rome - not on a tour and no particular agenda for each day. The hotel was clean, reasonably quiet and the staff was pleasant and helpful. Plenty of hot water - our room had a tub and shower. Our 1st room was next to construction and we were moved without any problem.Room was comfortable and English speaking TV news station was a plus.No room service or in house restaurant except for breakfast.Biggest surprise was a 40 euro per day mandatory "upgrade". This was not noted when we booked the trip and to our pleasant surprise the amount was refunded by [...](our 1st time to use them).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy tourists
Business
London
Feb 25, 2011

Avoid, worst hotel stay ever. AVOID!!!

My wife and I booked the Hotel Romanico for our anniversary and were looking forward to 4days in Rome. Upon booking the hotel we thought we had secured a great stay, our package included airport transfers, breakfasts and coliseum tickets (the coliseum tickets were a big draw card as we wanted to avoid queues and with pre tickets it would have been perfect)From our arrival to departure things got worse every day, our airport transfer didn't arrive, after two calls to our hotel they finally said someone would be sent. We waited over an hour in the airport, upon arrival to the hotel no apology was offered and we were told the Coliseum tickets were not able to be booked. (I had given the hotel enough email notifications about our stay to insure the tickets were booked)I could go on forever with things they did not do- but in short, stay somewhere else if you're looking for a relaxing weekend without any problems. Avoid this hotel at all costs, my wife and I have stayed at a number of hotels across Europe and never have we experience problems like this. The main reason for posting this review is to prevent others from experiencing these problems; it just ruins your holiday!In the end we had to buy our own Coliseum passes and wasted over half the day queuing to get tickets, we then had to claim back the money from the hotel. Total hassle and ruined a day of site seeing.Staff: Unhelpful and rude, no manager to assist during our stay, bar tender was the nicest guy and should find another place to work, the hotel is bringing him down! Room: Our bed was hard; air conditioning unit did not work and was never fixed during our stay. (We advised the front desk every morning but nothing was every done about the air conditioning) Location: Close to the Spanish steps and train station but so are loads of other hotels, nothing great about this place and next time we'll be avoiding this hotel.Breakfast: Just basic stuff, nothing to write home about.All in all, the worst hotel experience and we have stayed in plenty over the last 10years. We live in London and travel Europe regularly and this was so bad it's prompted me to write this review, also management don't seem to care about the negative. You may be interested to know, I've sent a letter of complaint to the hotel and also emailed twice, it's been 2weeks and still no response. I've called to speak to the manager [...] and left messages for him to contact me but still nothing. Shows what they think of their customers. You have been warned; if I was you avoid this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Purchase your tickets to the Vatican & Colisum online, this way you can avoid the long queues and go stright in. Just book online via the websites, print out your ticket and your ready. Don't expect your hotel to have tickets like ours said they would, total let down and ruined a day of site seeing! Avoid the Hotel Romanico Palace!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico
Feb 6, 2011

The bad

We had an aweful surprise when we arrived to the hotel. We had to pay 40euros extra per night. When we booked suposed to be all done didnt say anything about the extra charge in the hotel they said was paid just the reservation we travel quite often and never never this is happen to us before. I dont know if is [...] thing or the hotel. If you dont wanna get an aweful surprise like us be sure everything is pay and double check in others websites is the 1 time we did in the page and believe me the last one.Really disapoint it about this situation but we were there and was nothing we could do!.The hotel was ok but theres many hotels near to the tourist places if u can avoid this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Capucino
Business
Centerville, Mass.
Oct 27, 2010

Wonderful

Excellent service, great location near Via Veneto . Hooked you up with daily tours, restaurants, shopping. Very nice customer service. Room a bit small but we were out all day anyway. Very professional... Great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Plan daily excursions ahead of time so they are not booked. Plan excursions the night before through your hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David and Rebecca
Business
Polesworth North Warwickshire
Oct 2, 2010

Absolutely fantastic !!!!!

Beautiful hotel for the money. Immaculately maintained, extremely helpful and polite staff, lovely breakfast. Excellently located for walking to all the main areas of interest. We were on honeymoon here and it was just perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SC, USA
Aug 29, 2010

The really bad if you stay in the summer

The air conditioning is controlled downstairs at the front desk so don't let them fool you by the thermostat in the room. I called 3 times and went down once to get them to check our air. They did nothing. We were so miserable there. Could not sleep because it was so hot. Nice hotel but not worth the money..we stayed at a lot less expensive with many more extras.. My opinion is to shop around for a better one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Use a tour guide for the Vatican. it is very helpful. We used Viator. They were great. We also used one for the coliseum but didn't feel it was need there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico D.F.
Aug 8, 2010

nice rooms, very noisy

there is not a nice or good restaurant at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

you are 10 min walking to the Spain Place from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robin/Marion
Business
Nottingham
Jul 29, 2010

Good Hotel

location slightly set back but only a 10-15min walk down to some of the main attractions. Room was very clean & comfy but some rooms are set above a main road & traffic was noisy at night, so ask for a quieter room. Staff were very friendly on all levels. Breakfast was basic but filling, enough to set you up for a days sight seeing! We have stayed in a more central hotel previously but we can recommend a stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Jun 27, 2010

Trip to Italy

The hotel was very nice. Staff wonderful, rooms clean, breakfast great with a beautiful view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, AL
Jun 20, 2010

Nice Hotel, Friendly Staff!

Fresh, clean, newly renovated hotel. Rooms were a bit small, but that is typical European standard. Lobby was clean and pleasantly decorated with Italian flare. Liked the fact that it didn't look like a Holiday Inn or Hampton Inn. Staff was very helpful and friendly and front desk staff spoke very good English. Good location about two blocks from Via Veneto. Could walk to Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps area, Borghese Gallery Museum and many restaurants nearby. Air conditioning worked fine, quiet room on back of hotel on 5th floor. Elevators worked fine too. Overall, enjoyed our stay and would return to this hotel, no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top