$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

4 stars
View map of Via Boncompagni, 35/37, Rome, 00187

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 94
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AndyV
Business
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
May 17, 2013

Not good.

Very disappointed in the overall experience. Room was clean but that is the only positive. Bed uncomfortable. Wi-Fi unreliable. To describe the room as small would be overstating it. It was TINY. The staff were friendly but not helpful overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tazzy
Business
uk
Apr 16, 2013

Awesome city break

I cannot praise this hotel and it's staff enough. The breakfast was lovely and very well presented on the roof terrace. However it would have been even better if the roof was open. The location was perfect, close to many major sites by foot. I would like to give a special thank you to Alberto who works so hard to keep the guests happy. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and to recommend it to my friends. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The vatican is a must

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dita A
Business
Easton PA
Mar 16, 2013

Friendly front desk and nice amenities

We highly recommend this hotel. The concierge was very helpful with everything we needed. The room was small, but pretty and very clean. A lovely breakfast buffet on a terrace with an incredible view. We were very happy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
baronKilgore
Business
Hollywood , California
Mar 4, 2013

beautiful hotel

This hotel was in a great location walking distance to the Spanish steps, Trevi fountain Villa Borghese and lots of other great places. I loved my room the bed was very comfortable, and the breakfast buffett was very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

walk up Via Veneto to the the Roman wall and cross over to the Villa Borghese Gardens follow the signs to the Villa magnificent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
drexlerd
Business
Stuttgart Germany
Mar 3, 2013

Rome Vacation Feb 2013

The hotel was great in my opinion. The room was a little small, but had all the amenities, and was always clean. The bed was a little hard, but you don't travel all the way to Rome to sleep, The room had lots of character, marble, and was decorated very nicely, very romantic I guess you could say. Breakfast on the seventh floor gave you a very nice view of the city. You can order cappochino, expresso, hard boiled eggs, which weren't a part of the normal European continental breakfast they served daily from 0700-1000 at no extra cost. The staff, especially the at the reception desk, were always ready to help find a nice restaurant anywhere in Rome and were always very warm, friendly, and courteous. It is also only about 2 blocks from the American Embassy, Hard Rock Café, and one of the many centers of Rome for eating, shopping, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I can't remember the name of the restaurant, but it's right after the Hard Rock on the same side of the street. Can't miss it, it is the only one on the block on the way down the hill that has a wood burning stove that you can see from the street. Any of the pizzas are great as well as the gnocchi bolenese. I would also highly recommend Casa Bleve, Al Forno Dells Soffitta (close to the hotel), La Giara, La Lampada, Buttarex (pricy but excellent), Pomodorcino, Trvernu Trcelussa (sp) (pricy but excellent), both great Italian Restaurants. You get the full 7 courses and I would recommend as a romantic place for 2. Also to see the entire city of Rome at night you should go to Gannieolo (you'll need a taxi), but can see the city at night with the lights. There are also several nice restaurants and ice cream shops in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jennjen
Business
Berkeley, ca
Dec 10, 2012

Tourist trap hotel

Location is great! that's pretty much it!. It's gaudy and not updated. The showers floods the entire bathroom floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
romeWasGreat
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Dec 7, 2012

Beware of the annex

I booked a room in the annex, assuming that it's just a additional hotel building. The reality is that the hotel owns several apartments in the adjacent residential building. This is VERY DIFFERENT than staying in the actual hotel. Everything was cleaned daily, like normal, but to get any service we had to go the the actual hotel lobby, and it felt really uncomfortable. The actual hotel is OK, and people are friendly, but make sure to book the main location even though it's more expensive. The location is so, so– a little too far from the main places and requires taxi ride back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anon1984
Business
UK
Nov 26, 2012

Disappointing hotel

The hotel itself has lovely decor and is fairly clean - I only say fairly and not very as they only half cleaned our room one day. Must've forgotten they were doing it. Those I'm afraid to say are the only good things I can say about this hotel. The staff were not very forthcoming, the value for money was beyond poor. The breakfast cost us 13 euros per person per day (although apparently could be cheaper depending on what deal you book) and consisted of the cheapest cornflake type cereal I've ever tasted and a selection of cakes which are only ok to eat if you like/are not allergic to Nutella. On the last day as we were leaving I noticed a menu hidden away which had omelette on it but hot food was never offered and I don't know if it would have cost more. The hair dryer in the room did not work. We also had a room with a jacuzzi bath - that did not work. Do not expect to find a kettle, a complimentary biscuit or in fact anything at all conplimentary or comforting - if you are on a late flight there, eat on the plane!! Finally the location wasn't too bad if you don't mind doing a bit of walking but the noise if the traffic was very loud and pretty much constant making it difficult to sleep sometimes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you do happen to stay there or nearby, the Pizzeria Al Forno Della Soffitta just a short walk away is amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kently
Business
New Jersey
Nov 14, 2012

Perfect for Two!

From Check-In to Check-Out one could not ask for better accommodations and service. The desk clerks were fabulous (including the new guy), the Bar Tender friendly & entertaining and the Concierge was by far the best and most efficient yet. The complimentary breakfast offered to hotel guests on the 7th floor rooftop dining area was awesome. Beautiful views of Roma. Bellmen were extremely helpful, sometimes opening the Bar early for us, as well as the remaining hotel staff who were very gracious and accommodating. Dining recommendations by the staff were on target and we especially enjoyed La Giara just about about 3 blocks away. The thinly sliced smoked tuna is excellent. We stayed in 4 hotels during our European trip and the Romanico was by far the most enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Much more affordable than in the Tourist attraction areas, i.e. Trevi Fountain. Try La Giara as well as Il Fellini.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sausage
Business
Sheffield South Yorkshire England
Oct 28, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay especially breakfast on the rooftops!

We were situated in the annexe next to the main hotel building ,but we really loved out room it was large, clean, comfortable and a great large bed. Breakfast was on the rooftops which was great and there was plenty to eat. We were only a 10 min walk from the main centre, which lead to most sightseeing attractions.We only had a couple of days and squeezed in has much as possible viewing the Coloseum, Vatican, Spanish steps and some lovely restaurants. The trip was a present for my 60th birthday and was worth the wait as I really enjoyed it, although things were quite expensive with the euro. 1 tip - wear some comfortable shoes! as there is plenty of walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top