$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

4 stars
View map of Via Carlo Alberto 3, Rome, 00185

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
142 reviews
Family Trip

The entire experience was fantastic. The cleanliness of the rooms to the staff was first rate. The... See full review

  • Charles S.
  • Apr 30, 2015
Great Hotel

A very lovely, comfortable hotel. We stayed in one of the newer rooms in the annex(?). It was... See full review

  • Father Mike
  • Apr 14, 2015
The Mecenate Palace Hotel in Rome offers 4-star luxury accommodations in an authentic 19th century Palazzo, styled with floral decor, Neo-Classical pillars, and curved marble staircases perfect for dashing down in an elegant gown. Dine directly beneath the night sky in this consummate Italian hotel and feast on elegant seafood creations on the rooftop terrace at La Terrazza dei Papi; come back at breakfast time to see it transformed into an American-style breakfast buffet, complete with fresh fruit pies.
Key facts
  • 74 guestrooms
  • 2 restaurants: Caffe Papa Sisto and La Terrazza dei Papi
  • Rooftop garden
  • Room service
  • Laundry service
  • Wedding services
  • Babysitting
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Solarium
  • Business center with conference facilities
Neighborhood
Situated within shouting distance of the Colosseum and the Forum, the Mecenate Palace Hotel overlooks the Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore. Surrounded by old Roman streets and charming piazzas, the hotel sits in the Rione Monti neighborhood, within easy walking distance of many of the Eternal City's most important sites. Rail transport can be found nearby at Rome Termini Station, with Cavour and Vittorio Emanuele Underground stops also nearby if you’ve already done enough walking for the day.
Hints and tips
Although the hotel's double glazing is good, rooms at the back of the hotel overlook an internal courtyard and tend to be the quietest. However, given the chance to see the 14th century bell tower of Santa Maria Maggiore right out the window, most guests prefer a front-facing room.As well as traditional hotel rooms, the Mecenate also offers a number of self-contained apartments with kitchenettes in a much more contemporary design, and opulent suites with in-room Jacuzzis are another exceptional option.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome Rooms

Single Room
The room offers one French bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Triple Room
The room offers one Queen bed and extra bed or 3 single beds with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Cable Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Double Room
The room offers one Queen or Twin bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Cable Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Executive
The Mecenate Palace has created new executive floor. A rich buffet breakfast included on rate is served in La Terrazza dei Papi on the rooftop overlooking Rome. Newly renovated rooms boast modern amenities that are ideal for both business and leisure travelers.
Suite
The Suites Orazio and Properzio are located on higher floors and can be connected to double rooms for families,mostly. Suites feature fireplace parlours and superb bathrooms clad in pink Portuguese or yellow Siena marble. Suites are decorated in the refined style of the last century and are equipped of Jacuzzi tubs.
Presidential Suite
The Suite Presidential is located on the top of the hotel and boasts a private terrace. The bathroom with Jacuzzi is marbleclad with particular attention to lighting, dressing area
Apartments
Such as the executive floor, they are elegant, ensuring complete discretion and privacy, synonymous of well-being and safety, featuring a contemporary style.The apartments are provided with comfortable and innovative services: air conditioning, phones, fax and computer connections, fitted with 21inch LCD TV with cordless keyboard for links-ups to internet, cable TV, Pay-TV, in apt-safe.They are equipped with cooking range sink, fridge, dishwasher and microwave oven, tea and coffee boiler, jacuzzi.Check in/out provided by hotel front desk. Complimentary services: porterage, daily newspapers, weekly housekeeping which includes linen change, concierge and 24hrs apt.attendant provided by Hotel Mecenate Palace in adjoining building.Each apartment has a max occupancy of 4 persons.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Solarium
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Pontifical Oriental Institute: 0 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.1 mi
  • Lamian Gardens: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II: 0.3 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.3 mi
  • Termini Station: 0.3 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.3 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.3 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.4 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.4 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.4 mi
  • Colle Oppio: 0.4 mi
  • Pontifical Oriental Institute: 0 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.1 mi
  • Lamian Gardens: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II: 0.3 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.3 mi
  • Termini Station: 0.3 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.3 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.3 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.4 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.4 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.4 mi
  • Colle Oppio: 0.4 mi
  • Domus Aurea: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Rome: 0.4 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.4 mi
  • San Pietro in Vincoli: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica di San Clemente: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo delle Esposizioni: 0.6 mi
  • San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane: 0.6 mi
  • Santi Quattro Coronati: 0.6 mi
  • Fontana dell'Acqua Felice: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria della Vittoria: 0.6 mi
  • Museo Nazionale Romano: 0.6 mi
  • Rome Marathon: 0.6 mi
  • Torre dei Conti: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica di Massenzio: 0.7 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Antica: 0.7 mi
  • Arch of Constantine: 0.7 mi
  • Torre delle Milizie: 0.7 mi
  • Via Sacra: 0.7 mi
  • Forum of Augustus: 0.7 mi
  • Palazzo Barberini: 0.7 mi
  • Roman Forum: 0.7 mi
  • Palazzo Quirinale: 0.7 mi
  • Trajan's Market: 0.7 mi
  • Santi Cosma e Damiano: 0.7 mi
  • Trajan's Forum: 0.7 mi
  • Ecstasy of Saint Teresa: 0.7 mi
  • Palazzo del Quirinale: 0.7 mi
  • Palacio del Quirinal: 0.7 mi

Dining

Terrazza dei Papi
The Roof Garden Restaurant of the Mecenate Palace Hotel with its wonderful view of the faade of the bell tower of Saint Mary Major Basilica and the panoramic view of Rome from the top of one of the higest hills of the city.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 142
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Douglas D.
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

It was ok.

Nothing special about this hotel. I read reviews before booking and breakfast wasn't that great as I thought. Wouldn't recomend as a 4 stars hotel, maybe 3 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sosat
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

No twin beds

I asked for a twin bed, because i was traveling with my mother. They offered a so called deluxe room for extra 13 euros/night, which was the same room but in a higher floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Back to Berkeley
Business
Charlottsville
Dec 29, 2014

Great location, Great Staff, Great Hotel

You never know quite what you are going to get with a small hotel in a foreign city, but this one was fabulous. The room was small, but not stifling, and I thought it was very comfortable and clean and was perfect for my needs, though I don't need a lot of space. The location is VERY convenient to the Termini train station, though it can be a little confusing trying to find the location, initially. And the restaurants in the area... phenomenal. The hotel itself has a lovely rooftop restaurant that also serves a very good breakfast. I was soooooooooooooooooo pleased with my stay there. Can't recommend it enough. However, just a reminder, that if you are staying within the walls of the city that the airport is a long trek away. Taking the train in and out of Termini is convenient and cost-effective, which is another plus for this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Back to Berkeley
Business
Charlottsville
Dec 19, 2014

Great location, Great Staff, Great Hotel

You never know quite what you are going to get with a small hotel in a foreign city, but this one was fabulous. The room was small, but not stifling, and I thought it was very comfortable and clean and was perfect for my needs, though I don't need a lot of space. The location is VERY convenient to the Termini train station, though it can be a little confusing trying to find the location, initially. And the restaurants in the area... phenomenal. The hotel itself has a lovely rooftop restaurant that also serves a very good breakfast. I was soooooooooooooooooo pleased with my stay there. Can't recommend it enough. However, just a reminder, that if you are staying within the walls of the city that the airport is a long trek away. Taking the train in and out of Termini is convenient and cost-effective, which is another plus for this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JulienGS
Business
Quebec, Canada
Jul 27, 2014

Bit expensive for what it is

I stayed for 3 days at this hotel and it is very well located, 20 minutes walk from the Colosseum and right next to a nice plaza with gorgeous view, however I feel like that is the only reason they charge that much. The room was ok but was quite small, maybe that is the standard in Europe but I felt like it could have been twice as big. Also they don't allow you to bring any food/drinks from the outside, so you have to use their very expensive mini bar if you want a snack without going out. It was my first trip in Europe so maybe that is the standard but I felt like it was too expensive for what it really was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
California Sara
Business
San Francisco California
Dec 13, 2013

Excellent!!

I thoroughly enjoyed my week long stay at the Mecenate Palace Hotel. The staff were very efficient, accommodating, and promptly responded to all my requests. My bed was very comfortable, my room had everything I needed, and the towel warmer in the bathroom was particularly awesome! The restaurant on the roof terrace is a nice option and the views of the city, and Santa Maria Maggiore in particular, were lovely. The location is perfect for traveling - the metro is a short walk down the block, the buses across the street go to many of the major tourist sites in about 15minutes (or connect to buses that do), and the Termini station is about 4-5 blocks away. There are also a number of small cafes and restaurants in the immediate area that offer a variety of coffee, sweets, sandwiches, pizzas, and tasty meals. There's even a neighborhood mercato on nearby via Meraluna. Walking back to the hotel late at night or departing early morning was not a problem, even when there were not that many people out and about. I am glad that I did not chose a hotel in the immediate vicinity of the train station. The Mecenate is one of the nicest hotels around Santa Maria Maggiore and I would definitely stay again when I come back to Rome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jason99
Business
Milwaukee
Oct 13, 2013

Nice Play to Stay

I enjoyed the location. I could easily walk to the Coliseum. I found an excellent restaurant near by. The staff was great. I would rate it higher but the room was really small for me. I was alone so I had a single and it was really small without so much as a table for my books or laptop. In Paris I had the same size room so maybe it goes with being a single. The breakfast in the morning was adequate but not terribly impressive. I'd probably stay there again to see what the doubles are like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Daco
Business
Essex UK
May 25, 2013

9 days in Rome

Small cold room & small TV. (In all my travels have always had a large room)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Near airports bus stop. Near main railway station .5 minutes walk to both.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suitcase joe
Business
Rome Italy
Mar 9, 2013

Hanging out

Excellent for the price. About as good as you get in Europe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to transportation and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve360
Business
Newport RI
Dec 9, 2012

My Week in Rome

I expected done well but this hotel was above that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Metro system entrance is just down the street, use it, buy the day pass for 6 euro, good for 24 hours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top