$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

4 stars
Via Carlo Alberto 3, Rome, 00185
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
240 reviews
Great Stay!

Nice, hotel, very clean, rooms were quiet. Liked the location, not far from the train, good place... See full review

  • Corinn
  • Aug 8, 2014
Great location and good time with my daughter

Check-in process was quick. We got to the hotel early. The hotel kept our stuff locked up untl we... See full review

  • Caudr60
  • Apr 23, 2014
The Mecenate Palace Hotel in Rome offers 4-star luxury accommodations in an authentic 19th century Palazzo, styled with floral decor, Neo-Classical pillars, and curved marble staircases perfect for dashing down in an elegant gown. Dine directly beneath the night sky in this consummate Italian hotel and feast on elegant seafood creations on the rooftop terrace at La Terrazza dei Papi; come back at breakfast time to see it transformed into an American-style breakfast buffet, complete with fresh fruit pies.
Key facts
  • 74 guestrooms
  • 2 restaurants: Caffe Papa Sisto and La Terrazza dei Papi
  • Rooftop garden
  • Room service
  • Laundry service
  • Wedding services
  • Babysitting
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Solarium
  • Business center with conference facilities
Neighborhood
Situated within shouting distance of the Colosseum and the Forum, the Mecenate Palace Hotel overlooks the Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore. Surrounded by old Roman streets and charming piazzas, the hotel sits in the Rione Monti neighborhood, within easy walking distance of many of the Eternal City's most important sites. Rail transport can be found nearby at Rome Termini Station, with Cavour and Vittorio Emanuele Underground stops also nearby if you’ve already done enough walking for the day.
Hints and tips
Although the hotel's double glazing is good, rooms at the back of the hotel overlook an internal courtyard and tend to be the quietest. However, given the chance to see the 14th century bell tower of Santa Maria Maggiore right out the window, most guests prefer a front-facing room.As well as traditional hotel rooms, the Mecenate also offers a number of self-contained apartments with kitchenettes in a much more contemporary design, and opulent suites with in-room Jacuzzis are another exceptional option.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8968 12.4999
Area served
Rome.
Nearby airports
Fiumicino airport.
Area description
The hotel is located in the historical centre of Rome, right in front of the Basilica of St. Mary Major.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome Rooms

Single Room
The room offers one French bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Triple Room
The room offers one Queen bed and extra bed or 3 single beds with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Cable Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Double Room
The room offers one Queen or Twin bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Cable Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Executive
The Mecenate Palace has created new executive floor. A rich buffet breakfast included on rate is served in La Terrazza dei Papi on the rooftop overlooking Rome. Newly renovated rooms boast modern amenities that are ideal for both business and leisure travelers.
Suite
The Suites Orazio and Properzio are located on higher floors and can be connected to double rooms for families,mostly. Suites feature fireplace parlours and superb bathrooms clad in pink Portuguese or yellow Siena marble. Suites are decorated in the refined style of the last century and are equipped of Jacuzzi tubs.
Presidential Suite
The Suite Presidential is located on the top of the hotel and boasts a private terrace. The bathroom with Jacuzzi is marbleclad with particular attention to lighting, dressing area
Apartments
Such as the executive floor, they are elegant, ensuring complete discretion and privacy, synonymous of well-being and safety, featuring a contemporary style.The apartments are provided with comfortable and innovative services: air conditioning, phones, fax and computer connections, fitted with 21inch LCD TV with cordless keyboard for links-ups to internet, cable TV, Pay-TV, in apt-safe.They are equipped with cooking range sink, fridge, dishwasher and microwave oven, tea and coffee boiler, jacuzzi.Check in/out provided by hotel front desk. Complimentary services: porterage, daily newspapers, weekly housekeeping which includes linen change, concierge and 24hrs apt.attendant provided by Hotel Mecenate Palace in adjoining building.Each apartment has a max occupancy of 4 persons.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Solarium
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Pontifical Oriental Institute: 0 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.1 mi
  • Lamian Gardens: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II: 0.3 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.3 mi
  • Termini Station: 0.3 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.3 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.3 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.4 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.4 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.4 mi
  • Colle Oppio: 0.4 mi
  • Pontifical Oriental Institute: 0 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.1 mi
  • Lamian Gardens: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II: 0.3 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.3 mi
  • Termini Station: 0.3 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.3 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.3 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.4 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.4 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.4 mi
  • Colle Oppio: 0.4 mi
  • Domus Aurea: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Rome: 0.4 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.4 mi
  • San Pietro in Vincoli: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica di San Clemente: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo delle Esposizioni: 0.6 mi
  • San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane: 0.6 mi
  • Santi Quattro Coronati: 0.6 mi
  • Fontana dell'Acqua Felice: 0.6 mi
  • Colosseum: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria della Vittoria: 0.6 mi
  • Museo Nazionale Romano: 0.6 mi
  • Rome Marathon: 0.6 mi
  • Torre dei Conti: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica di Massenzio: 0.7 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Antica: 0.7 mi
  • Arch of Constantine: 0.7 mi
  • Torre delle Milizie: 0.7 mi
  • Via Sacra: 0.7 mi
  • Forum of Augustus: 0.7 mi
  • Palazzo Barberini: 0.7 mi
  • Roman Forum: 0.7 mi
  • Palazzo Quirinale: 0.7 mi
  • Trajan's Market: 0.7 mi
  • Santi Cosma e Damiano: 0.7 mi
  • Trajan's Forum: 0.7 mi
  • Ecstasy of Saint Teresa: 0.7 mi
  • Palazzo del Quirinale: 0.7 mi

Dining

Terrazza dei Papi
The Roof Garden Restaurant of the Mecenate Palace Hotel with its wonderful view of the faade of the bell tower of Saint Mary Major Basilica and the panoramic view of Rome from the top of one of the higest hills of the city.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (240)

Ratings and reviews for Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 240
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diane Marina
Greece
Apr 13, 2014

General review!

The hotel is very nice, in a good location, near the train station and very close to a tourist place St Maria Maggiore, with a good view from terrace where you have breakfast or drink something in the evening. We had a big room, better from the one we saw in the pictures of the booking site, very clean, without any noises despite we were in the first floor. The sheets were changing every day, and it was a nice lady who was waiting to make the room till we leave. The breakfast was very rich and all the stuff are delicious. We were having such a good breakfast and as we had to go around Rome all the day, our next meal was in the evening. The only think was an odor coming from the bathroom, mostly from the toilette or may be from the discharge tubes. But if you close the WC or the bathroom door and open the window for a while, everything is gone. We booked the hotel two days before the departure and it was a good price, but if you book earlier you can get a better price for a 4 star hotel. Also the buses of city-sight tours had a stop in front of the hotel. People in the hotel are very helpful for everything, there was a Wi-Fi but we didn't try, no time for the internet, but there is also a internet corner where you can work as you were home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carmen Cristina
Turkey
Jan 21, 2014

great location, great staff, grat breakfast

It was a great experience, I will recommend to all my friends, I will always come back, Thank you Rome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheBigChiv
Dorset
Nov 8, 2013

Ideal location

Lovely hotel that I would choose again. Easy walk to Coliseum, Forum and Palatine. Can't think of any downside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jellybean from Tally
Tallahassee, Florida
Oct 20, 2013

Great hotel

My friends and I spent four nights in this comfortable hotel. The staff was most helpful in directing us to tourist sites, the rooms were clean, happy hour was great and the location walking distance to coliseum and subway. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marilyn
Forest of Dean, Glos, UK
Jun 18, 2012

lovely hotel and location

Our stay was very enjoyable, although the room as std double/twin was not large it was adequate and beautifully decorated. Staff were helpful and friendly. I have already recommended a friend to stay. Thankyou

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jacksmom21
Pennsylvania, USA
Dec 2, 2011

Staff terrible,

You can see the coliseum from the rooftop garden at this hotel. However, the staff was less than welcoming, even somewhat annoyed at any small request. Room was small which is standard for Europe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many "Italian" restaurants in the area. Most of them are not run by locals or Italians. Many non Italians running "Italian" restaurants

Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dykye
Greenville, SC, USA
Sep 15, 2011

Lovely Hotel!

Staff was terrific! The bathroom was smaller than I expected but we managed. The location was good. Lots of restaurants near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hop On Hop Off bus is a great thing to do your first day. It's a great way to see the popular attractions and to learn your way around the city. If you go on the Imperial Rome tour, make sure your guide is not Georgio!

Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jan 29, 2011

Great Stay At The Mecenate Palace Hotel

The location was great, close to Termini Station with easy access to Metro lines and also in a great position to start walking from. Staff was very helpful and pleasant. Room was on the small side but perfect for what we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Guylaine
Fort Lauderdale
Oct 18, 2010

Great hotel and amenities

Great hotel. The room was very nice. Bathroom great. Consistent hot water...yes!! Breakfast was good. Serve on the roof top terrace; it was lovely. Front desk folks were either midly courteous or plain rude. Not the most friendly. The bell man gave us the best impression. Very kind and sweet. The location of the hotel was OK but personally, if I returned, I definitly would stay near the spanish steps. Also, our room was on the top floor (5). Not recommended. The restaurant was right above our heads and we could hear the heels of walking people setting up for breakfast; very early! Not good if you like to sleep in just a bit. 4th floor would have been better since we didn't have a view anyway. Oh well...Overall, we were happy with this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
taxi driver
edinburgh
Oct 8, 2010

THE BEST

we loved this hotel,icant think of a bad thing to say

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search