$86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 2, 2014 Check-out: Dec 3, 2014

Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

4 stars
Via Carlo Alberto 3, Rome, 00185
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
113 reviews
Perfect location

Wonderful hotel. Great location. We could walk everywhere--and did! The staff was very friendly and... See full review

  • dragonflies
  • Nov 14, 2014
Great city hotel

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel has fantastic views of the city from the... See full review

  • Paolina
  • Sep 30, 2014
The Mecenate Palace Hotel in Rome offers 4-star luxury accommodations in an authentic 19th century Palazzo, styled with floral decor, Neo-Classical pillars, and curved marble staircases perfect for dashing down in an elegant gown. Dine directly beneath the night sky in this consummate Italian hotel and feast on elegant seafood creations on the rooftop terrace at La Terrazza dei Papi; come back at breakfast time to see it transformed into an American-style breakfast buffet, complete with fresh fruit pies.
Key facts
  • 74 guestrooms
  • 2 restaurants: Caffe Papa Sisto and La Terrazza dei Papi
  • Rooftop garden
  • Room service
  • Laundry service
  • Wedding services
  • Babysitting
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Solarium
  • Business center with conference facilities
Neighborhood
Situated within shouting distance of the Colosseum and the Forum, the Mecenate Palace Hotel overlooks the Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore. Surrounded by old Roman streets and charming piazzas, the hotel sits in the Rione Monti neighborhood, within easy walking distance of many of the Eternal City's most important sites. Rail transport can be found nearby at Rome Termini Station, with Cavour and Vittorio Emanuele Underground stops also nearby if you’ve already done enough walking for the day.
Hints and tips
Although the hotel's double glazing is good, rooms at the back of the hotel overlook an internal courtyard and tend to be the quietest. However, given the chance to see the 14th century bell tower of Santa Maria Maggiore right out the window, most guests prefer a front-facing room.As well as traditional hotel rooms, the Mecenate also offers a number of self-contained apartments with kitchenettes in a much more contemporary design, and opulent suites with in-room Jacuzzis are another exceptional option.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome Rooms

Single Room
The room offers one French bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Triple Room
The room offers one Queen bed and extra bed or 3 single beds with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Cable Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Double Room
The room offers one Queen or Twin bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Cable Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Executive
The Mecenate Palace has created new executive floor. A rich buffet breakfast included on rate is served in La Terrazza dei Papi on the rooftop overlooking Rome. Newly renovated rooms boast modern amenities that are ideal for both business and leisure travelers.
Suite
The Suites Orazio and Properzio are located on higher floors and can be connected to double rooms for families,mostly. Suites feature fireplace parlours and superb bathrooms clad in pink Portuguese or yellow Siena marble. Suites are decorated in the refined style of the last century and are equipped of Jacuzzi tubs.
Presidential Suite
The Suite Presidential is located on the top of the hotel and boasts a private terrace. The bathroom with Jacuzzi is marbleclad with particular attention to lighting, dressing area
Apartments
Such as the executive floor, they are elegant, ensuring complete discretion and privacy, synonymous of well-being and safety, featuring a contemporary style.The apartments are provided with comfortable and innovative services: air conditioning, phones, fax and computer connections, fitted with 21inch LCD TV with cordless keyboard for links-ups to internet, cable TV, Pay-TV, in apt-safe.They are equipped with cooking range sink, fridge, dishwasher and microwave oven, tea and coffee boiler, jacuzzi.Check in/out provided by hotel front desk. Complimentary services: porterage, daily newspapers, weekly housekeeping which includes linen change, concierge and 24hrs apt.attendant provided by Hotel Mecenate Palace in adjoining building.Each apartment has a max occupancy of 4 persons.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Solarium
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Pontifical Oriental Institute: 0 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.1 mi
  • Lamian Gardens: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II: 0.3 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.3 mi
  • Termini Station: 0.3 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.3 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.3 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.4 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.4 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.4 mi
  • Colle Oppio: 0.4 mi
  • Pontifical Oriental Institute: 0 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.1 mi
  • Lamian Gardens: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II: 0.3 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.3 mi
  • Termini Station: 0.3 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.3 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.3 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.4 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.4 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.4 mi
  • Colle Oppio: 0.4 mi
  • Domus Aurea: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Rome: 0.4 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.4 mi
  • San Pietro in Vincoli: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica di San Clemente: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo delle Esposizioni: 0.6 mi
  • San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane: 0.6 mi
  • Santi Quattro Coronati: 0.6 mi
  • Fontana dell'Acqua Felice: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria della Vittoria: 0.6 mi
  • Museo Nazionale Romano: 0.6 mi
  • Rome Marathon: 0.6 mi
  • Torre dei Conti: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica di Massenzio: 0.7 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Antica: 0.7 mi
  • Arch of Constantine: 0.7 mi
  • Torre delle Milizie: 0.7 mi
  • Via Sacra: 0.7 mi
  • Forum of Augustus: 0.7 mi
  • Palazzo Barberini: 0.7 mi
  • Roman Forum: 0.7 mi
  • Palazzo Quirinale: 0.7 mi
  • Trajan's Market: 0.7 mi
  • Santi Cosma e Damiano: 0.7 mi
  • Trajan's Forum: 0.7 mi
  • Ecstasy of Saint Teresa: 0.7 mi
  • Palazzo del Quirinale: 0.7 mi
  • Palacio del Quirinal: 0.7 mi

Dining

Terrazza dei Papi
The Roof Garden Restaurant of the Mecenate Palace Hotel with its wonderful view of the faade of the bell tower of Saint Mary Major Basilica and the panoramic view of Rome from the top of one of the higest hills of the city.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (113)

Ratings and reviews for Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
berlis
Business
north east
Feb 6, 2013

certainly NOT a palace!

Dated, rusty and poorly air conditioned building - no hot water in the rooms for 2 of my 3 night stay - aparantly there was a fault - poor response from staff - extremely noisy and bbedrooms far too hot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
M77b
Business
Los Angeles, California
May 23, 2013

Hotel that will not recommend

Very rude staff, never friendly. We're not able to meet minimum customer satisfaction for simple questions... Never recommend it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Park, NY
Aug 25, 2010

Lost reservation...

Upon arrival, I was told my reservation (made several weeks in advance) had only been spotted the very morning because of "e-mail problems". I was re-located to a nearby hotel of same standing although I did not like its appearance and location as much as the one I had booked myself into. I was told I could come back for breakfast if I wanted...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scarsdale, New York
Sep 23, 2009

Don't waste your valuable time ...

Upon arrival we were told that the prepaid reservation we had made with Orbitz was cancelled, but they had no idea why. They said they had no other rooms available and that they would put us up in another "comparable" hotel. We had friends staying at the Mecenate and also had the car service to take us to the Port for a cruise scheduled to pick us up there. I demanded an explanation but all they would say is that they would put us up elsewhere. Apparently, this is a trick some hotels in Italy use when they can get more for a room than what you paid. There was no Manager available because he was on vacation so basically we were helpless. They called a cab to take us to the other hotel and when we checked in it was not comparable. I called back the Mecenate and DEMANDED a room. I also asked how people who came after us were allowed to check in and the Assistant Manager said " Well you cant expect me to give you a room meant for someone else?" That's what they did to me! So I raised my voice and told him that I would call the Police. Upon my refusal to stay at the other hotel I was told that there may be a way he could fit us in and to get into a cab and come back. When I returned to the Mecenate I was given a story about moving a family from two rooms to one to make room for us ... total lies. Unless you want your vacation ruined ... Do not stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jacksmom21
Business
Pennsylvania, USA
Dec 2, 2011

Staff terrible,

You can see the coliseum from the rooftop garden at this hotel. However, the staff was less than welcoming, even somewhat annoyed at any small request. Room was small which is standard for Europe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many "Italian" restaurants in the area. Most of them are not run by locals or Italians. Many non Italians running "Italian" restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Paulie55
Business
New York
May 8, 2012

Mecenate Hotel in Rome

Hotel itself was nice but we did not stay in main building.Instead they gave us the room a few doors away from the hotel inside the small apartment building,partially converted to hotel.There was no elevator in that building,room was dark with no TV. There was a few news and strange music radio stations(in Italian)with bad reception.At night room was very warm and A/C was not available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Daco
Business
Essex UK
May 25, 2013

9 days in Rome

Small cold room & small TV. (In all my travels have always had a large room)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Near airports bus stop. Near main railway station .5 minutes walk to both.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pkim2424
Business
Washington DC
Feb 5, 2014

Good Hotel, Great location!

Nothing bad to say, but nothing extraordinary either. Good Value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dcbinks
Business
Falls Church VA
Oct 28, 2009

Rome in Autumn

Hotel is well located to many of Rome's attractions. Whilst we utilised an organised tour on the 1st day to see the ruins/pantheon/coloseum etc, they could easily be walked to for those who dont mind spending several hours walking the streets. Our stay was very good overall but started badly when we arrived to check-in, the hotel had our booking commencing from the next day and were full for the night...not happy after a 10 hr flight and 40 minute taxi! Was eventually sorted but still kicked off on the wrong foot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Folsom
Jun 19, 2008

A mixed bag

The room was nicely and comfortably furnished with adequate a/c (not always avail. in Europe).... The roof restaurant was a nice setting with mediocre food and service. Upon our arrival we were offered coffee and a sandwich at the bar (cost @ $70). The sandwich was shockingly bad on plain white bread not particularly fresh and with virtually no condiments. Hard to imagine Italians making such a mess of a simple sandwich at an extravagant cost. On balance, I could not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top