$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

4 stars
View map of Via Carlo Alberto 3, Rome, 00185

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
134 out of 134
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheBigChiv
Business
Dorset
Nov 8, 2013

Ideal location

Lovely hotel that I would choose again. Easy walk to Coliseum, Forum and Palatine. Can't think of any downside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jellybean from Tally
Business
Tallahassee, Florida
Oct 20, 2013

Great hotel

My friends and I spent four nights in this comfortable hotel. The staff was most helpful in directing us to tourist sites, the rooms were clean, happy hour was great and the location walking distance to coliseum and subway. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ahope205
Business
New York
Oct 15, 2013

Spacious, comfortable, but a little out of the way.

There were no rooms available at the hotel, so the staff put my wife and I up in a 2-bedroom apartment a couple doors down. The apartment was large and very clean, although a bit sparsely furnished. The trek up and down the stairs also wasn't ideal if you're carrying a lot of baggage. The location is a bit out of the way from many of Rome's attractions. But it is a short walk to the Monti neighborhood, which is vibrant and generally devoid of tourists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jason99
Business
Milwaukee
Oct 13, 2013

Nice Play to Stay

I enjoyed the location. I could easily walk to the Coliseum. I found an excellent restaurant near by. The staff was great. I would rate it higher but the room was really small for me. I was alone so I had a single and it was really small without so much as a table for my books or laptop. In Paris I had the same size room so maybe it goes with being a single. The breakfast in the morning was adequate but not terribly impressive. I'd probably stay there again to see what the doubles are like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angie banagie
Business
Toronto, ON
Sep 30, 2013

Comfortable and quiet

A wonderful vacation in rome. Our room had no view, but being off the courtyard it was very quiet. Good location between the train station and the colosseum. Staff was friendly. Beautiful view from the roof to restaurant. Only ate the complimentary breakfast once, it was good. Rates were a little to expensive though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

When going to the Vatican find out when it's free. Tour guides will tell you that there is big lineups and sell you tickets for 30€ to skip the line. We didn't fall for it luckily and when we got to the entrance there was no lineup and it was free. Also, refill your bottles at water fountains all over the city. The water is clean and fresh

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ugo Poggi
Business
Miami, Fla
Sep 30, 2013

Rome stop on the way to Florence

The staff at this hotel were great. The rooms were ample and the breakfast to die for. The hotel is centrally located to all of the sights. We stayed for two nights on the way to Florence and we kept our large suitcases there until our return on our way to a cruise. We cannot say more about the great staff. Will stay there again next time in Rome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zoomie 66
Business
Fairview, TX
Sep 27, 2013

Very nice stay. Good location.

Booked 2 rooms, one for us, one for another couple traveling with us. Check in clerk gave an upgraded room to the "other" couple without even asking our preferences. Of course, when we discovered this, it was way too "uncomfortable" to raise the issue that the upgrade should have been given to the party that did the research and reserved the rooms. This was a pretty straight forward error that could have been easily corrected by a short conversation. The non-upgraded room looked out on a not so pretty courtyard where there had been no effort to clean and beautify it. Overall the hotel was fine. Non-upgraded room was very short on space. Breakfast buffet was wonderful on the terrace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Haywoods
Business
United Kingdom
Sep 24, 2013

A quiet oasis in the heart of Rome

Our stay at the Mecenate was a pleasant surprise after the noise and inflated prices of the Amalfi Coast the week before! A very comfortable and absolutely quiet room, noiseless and effective air conditioning, tea and coffee making facilities, comfortable bed with extra pillows and a bathroom which, although a little dated, provided everything we needed. A particular attraction is the wonderful roof terrace, where breakfast, dinner and evening drinks are served, and from where the views of Rome and in particular Sta Maria Maggiore are splendid! We would definitely book here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Stazione Termini is litterally around the corner. You can see it from in front of Sta Maria Maggiore. This provides transport via trains and Metro to just about anywhere in Rome and, if you don't have a lot of luggage, is a much cheaper option for getting to the airports than a taxi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Debbie's Mom
Business
Eatontown, NJ
Sep 17, 2013

Beautiful and Romantic Getaway

We have been told that it would take two years to completely tour Rome , but for a small slice this hotel is perfect. The beautiful church,The Papal Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore is right across the street and we loss count of the number of marvelous cafes within walking distance. The view from the roof top restaurant is gorgeous and our room was beautiful and extremely comfortable. The only negative was that our room was a bit small, but we could tell by the hotel map that most of them are larger. We would love to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You must visit the church-The Papal Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore. I actually enjoyed it more than The Basilica of Saint Peter. It is less crowded and the paintings are unbelievable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FilterVP
Business
Central NJ, USA
Sep 13, 2013

First Trip To Rome

For our first trip to Rome this place was perfect. I am an avid traveler but primarily in the USA so getting used to European hotels took a minute. I might try to upgrade to a nicer (major chain) hotel next time but this was a great start for our first time in Rome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Pay for a guided tour! We used Greenline which is close to the hotel and they pick you up out side the hotel. Both our tour guides spoke great English and we learned a great deal about Rome and the site we toured.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top