$123 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

4 stars
View map of Via Carlo Alberto 3, Rome, 00185

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paolina
Business
Northamptonshire UK
Sep 30, 2014

Great city hotel

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel has fantastic views of the city from the roof top dining/bar/lounge area, where you can see the colosseum, and the Vatican dome. It is well positioned, within a 5 minute walk of the train and bus termini, making it very easy to travel around the city; to and from Fiumicino airport; and within walking distance of many Roman sites, churches, shopping areas, markets, restaurants, and cafés. A super place from which you can explore the delights of Rome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charlie21
Business
North Wales
Aug 31, 2014

Great family holiday, if you enjoy history and walking

What a great location for all the major attractions in Rome, View from the roof garden/restaurant were stunning, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the hotel was clean and bedding and towels were changed daily, all in all we have no complaints about this hotel and would happily stay there again. The bus tours that are available are not always value for money, as although you can get on and off whenever you want for the duration of the ticket, if you are planning to visit the Vatican city I would recommend a taxi rather than buy a tour ticket at this is a place you will spend most of the day, however, the tour guides although slightly more expensive are definably worth it as they cut out all the cueing which could be hours, and they offer an explanation of what you a re looking at and the things to notice, Our personal experience on this holiday was a very positive one, but it is not a holiday for those who are not prepared or able to walk for long periods of time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a local supermarket about 2 mins walk from the hotel with local prices, which is a huge difference to buying from the other supermarkets, unfortunately we only discovered this the day before we left

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gabriele
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 29, 2014

Rome hotel

Everyone was very helpful. Mr Cappelli the manager runs a very good hotel. Food is good,service is excellent and you cannot beat the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Do not visit in August lines are horrific to the Vatican.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Losargento
Business
Ottawa, Ontario
Aug 9, 2014

excellent place to move around rome

Near to Termini and public transport. Easy to move around rome. very nice hotel, friendly staff and a very good breakfast to start the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

so many things to see in rome, plan in advance your itinerary

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Corinn
Business
Vancouver, WA
Aug 8, 2014

Great Stay!

Nice, hotel, very clean, rooms were quiet. Liked the location, not far from the train, good place to catch the tour buses and a taxi stand was close. The breakfast / restaurant on the roof was good and the views were amazing. The staff was great always available to answer questions, give us directions or set up transport for us. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Losargento
Business
Ottawa, Ontario
Aug 1, 2014

excellent place for rome visitors

Great staff, very comfortable room, close to termini and transport to/from and around Rome. Breakfast with nice views of Santa Maria Maggiore and the roofs of Rome. I will recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

this hotel is walking distance from termini. This is very helpful to move around rome in public transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JulienGS
Business
Quebec, Canada
Jul 27, 2014

Bit expensive for what it is

I stayed for 3 days at this hotel and it is very well located, 20 minutes walk from the Colosseum and right next to a nice plaza with gorgeous view, however I feel like that is the only reason they charge that much. The room was ok but was quite small, maybe that is the standard in Europe but I felt like it could have been twice as big. Also they don't allow you to bring any food/drinks from the outside, so you have to use their very expensive mini bar if you want a snack without going out. It was my first trip in Europe so maybe that is the standard but I felt like it was too expensive for what it really was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bruce111
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 24, 2014

So so

No elevators to 3rd. They had bought the next building outside to convert to hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
I'm a travel bug
Business
Seattle, Washington
Jul 7, 2014

Not a 4 star hotel

Our bathroom had mold. It's never a good sign when you go on the hunt for a bottle of bleach upon arrival. Pros- Great housekeeping staff. Supreme gelato shop next door! Continental breakfast on the roof with amazing views. Short walk to Termini station-transportation hub. Twin beds were comfortable. Great water pressure in the shower. Beautiful bird singing in the courtyard outside our windows. Great A/C. Plenty of closet storage. Housekeeping never woke us up. Built-in radio on the bathroom (from the 50's??) Kettle with the makings for tea and instant coffee. Complimentary shower gel and lotion Complimentary slippers Thick towels. Cons: Mold in the bathroom Unfriendly hotel staff - not one, "hello, how are you?" greeting over an 8 day span. That was pretty unusual. Had to hold the blow dryer button for power-bring you own. Bathroom tap in the bathroom squealed. No outlet converters in the room-bring your own or buy at the front desk for $3 each, which is cheap enough. We didn't care for the restaurants around the hotel. No view from our room-we faced the courtyard=other buildings. Tiny fridge (had to remove their pricey stock to put anything of ours in it). We tend to see the glass half-full but honestly, we wouldn't stay here again. It's definitely not a 4 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Grocery store 1 block away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Caudr60
Business
USA
Apr 23, 2014

Great location and good time with my daughter

Check-in process was quick. We got to the hotel early. The hotel kept our stuff locked up untl we returned. The breakfast was filling and variety to choose from. The dinner at the hotel restaurant was phenominal. Great location and within walking distance to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Pay for tours. It's worth not waiting in line for 4 hours. Also, have euros for items your shopping for at small local shops also you need euros at hotel forer certain things.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top