$77 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 6, 2015 Check-out: Feb 7, 2015

Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

4 stars
Via Carlo Alberto 3, Rome, 00185
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
119 reviews
great location for city break

Good room with a small balcony good view of the nearby cathedral. Good choice at breakfast,helpful... See full review

  • The Mac's
  • Dec 14, 2014
Perfect location

Wonderful hotel. Great location. We could walk everywhere--and did! The staff was very friendly and... See full review

  • dragonflies
  • Nov 14, 2014
The Mecenate Palace Hotel in Rome offers 4-star luxury accommodations in an authentic 19th century Palazzo, styled with floral decor, Neo-Classical pillars, and curved marble staircases perfect for dashing down in an elegant gown. Dine directly beneath the night sky in this consummate Italian hotel and feast on elegant seafood creations on the rooftop terrace at La Terrazza dei Papi; come back at breakfast time to see it transformed into an American-style breakfast buffet, complete with fresh fruit pies.
Key facts
  • 74 guestrooms
  • 2 restaurants: Caffe Papa Sisto and La Terrazza dei Papi
  • Rooftop garden
  • Room service
  • Laundry service
  • Wedding services
  • Babysitting
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Solarium
  • Business center with conference facilities
Neighborhood
Situated within shouting distance of the Colosseum and the Forum, the Mecenate Palace Hotel overlooks the Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore. Surrounded by old Roman streets and charming piazzas, the hotel sits in the Rione Monti neighborhood, within easy walking distance of many of the Eternal City's most important sites. Rail transport can be found nearby at Rome Termini Station, with Cavour and Vittorio Emanuele Underground stops also nearby if you’ve already done enough walking for the day.
Hints and tips
Although the hotel's double glazing is good, rooms at the back of the hotel overlook an internal courtyard and tend to be the quietest. However, given the chance to see the 14th century bell tower of Santa Maria Maggiore right out the window, most guests prefer a front-facing room.As well as traditional hotel rooms, the Mecenate also offers a number of self-contained apartments with kitchenettes in a much more contemporary design, and opulent suites with in-room Jacuzzis are another exceptional option.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome Rooms

Single Room
The room offers one French bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Triple Room
The room offers one Queen bed and extra bed or 3 single beds with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Cable Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Double Room
The room offers one Queen or Twin bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Cable Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Executive
The Mecenate Palace has created new executive floor. A rich buffet breakfast included on rate is served in La Terrazza dei Papi on the rooftop overlooking Rome. Newly renovated rooms boast modern amenities that are ideal for both business and leisure travelers.
Suite
The Suites Orazio and Properzio are located on higher floors and can be connected to double rooms for families,mostly. Suites feature fireplace parlours and superb bathrooms clad in pink Portuguese or yellow Siena marble. Suites are decorated in the refined style of the last century and are equipped of Jacuzzi tubs.
Presidential Suite
The Suite Presidential is located on the top of the hotel and boasts a private terrace. The bathroom with Jacuzzi is marbleclad with particular attention to lighting, dressing area
Apartments
Such as the executive floor, they are elegant, ensuring complete discretion and privacy, synonymous of well-being and safety, featuring a contemporary style.The apartments are provided with comfortable and innovative services: air conditioning, phones, fax and computer connections, fitted with 21inch LCD TV with cordless keyboard for links-ups to internet, cable TV, Pay-TV, in apt-safe.They are equipped with cooking range sink, fridge, dishwasher and microwave oven, tea and coffee boiler, jacuzzi.Check in/out provided by hotel front desk. Complimentary services: porterage, daily newspapers, weekly housekeeping which includes linen change, concierge and 24hrs apt.attendant provided by Hotel Mecenate Palace in adjoining building.Each apartment has a max occupancy of 4 persons.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Solarium
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Pontifical Oriental Institute: 0 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.1 mi
  • Lamian Gardens: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II: 0.3 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.3 mi
  • Termini Station: 0.3 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.3 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.3 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.4 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.4 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.4 mi
  • Colle Oppio: 0.4 mi
  • Pontifical Oriental Institute: 0 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.1 mi
  • Lamian Gardens: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II: 0.3 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.3 mi
  • Termini Station: 0.3 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.3 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.3 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.4 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.4 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.4 mi
  • Colle Oppio: 0.4 mi
  • Domus Aurea: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Rome: 0.4 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.4 mi
  • San Pietro in Vincoli: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica di San Clemente: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo delle Esposizioni: 0.6 mi
  • San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane: 0.6 mi
  • Santi Quattro Coronati: 0.6 mi
  • Fontana dell'Acqua Felice: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria della Vittoria: 0.6 mi
  • Museo Nazionale Romano: 0.6 mi
  • Rome Marathon: 0.6 mi
  • Torre dei Conti: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica di Massenzio: 0.7 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Antica: 0.7 mi
  • Arch of Constantine: 0.7 mi
  • Torre delle Milizie: 0.7 mi
  • Via Sacra: 0.7 mi
  • Forum of Augustus: 0.7 mi
  • Palazzo Barberini: 0.7 mi
  • Roman Forum: 0.7 mi
  • Palazzo Quirinale: 0.7 mi
  • Trajan's Market: 0.7 mi
  • Santi Cosma e Damiano: 0.7 mi
  • Trajan's Forum: 0.7 mi
  • Ecstasy of Saint Teresa: 0.7 mi
  • Palazzo del Quirinale: 0.7 mi
  • Palacio del Quirinal: 0.7 mi

Dining

Terrazza dei Papi
The Roof Garden Restaurant of the Mecenate Palace Hotel with its wonderful view of the faade of the bell tower of Saint Mary Major Basilica and the panoramic view of Rome from the top of one of the higest hills of the city.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (119)

Ratings and reviews for Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diane Marina
Business
Greece
Apr 13, 2014

General review!

The hotel is very nice, in a good location, near the train station and very close to a tourist place St Maria Maggiore, with a good view from terrace where you have breakfast or drink something in the evening. We had a big room, better from the one we saw in the pictures of the booking site, very clean, without any noises despite we were in the first floor. The sheets were changing every day, and it was a nice lady who was waiting to make the room till we leave. The breakfast was very rich and all the stuff are delicious. We were having such a good breakfast and as we had to go around Rome all the day, our next meal was in the evening. The only think was an odor coming from the bathroom, mostly from the toilette or may be from the discharge tubes. But if you close the WC or the bathroom door and open the window for a while, everything is gone. We booked the hotel two days before the departure and it was a good price, but if you book earlier you can get a better price for a 4 star hotel. Also the buses of city-sight tours had a stop in front of the hotel. People in the hotel are very helpful for everything, there was a Wi-Fi but we didn't try, no time for the internet, but there is also a internet corner where you can work as you were home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andy Italian Traveler
Business
Albany, New York
Mar 23, 2014

Excellent Hotel for Visiting Rome!

After staying at this hotel for almost a week, I can confidently say that this Hotel was superb in terms of location (across the street from one of the major basilicas and about a 15 minute walk to the colosseum), cleanliness, and value. The breakfast buffet at the rooftop restaurant, which is included, was excellent, although some variety could be added from day to day as the only possible suggestion for improvement. The staff was friendly and the only issue we had was with the wifi, which worked perfectly until the last couple days of our stay when it was not functioning and not repaired despite our complaint. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

After visiting many different restaurants near the hotel, I can confidently say that L'Angolodi Napoli, located at Via Agostino De Pretis, 77/a was one of the best in terms of customer service, quality of food and overall value. The restaurant is only a ten minute walk from the hotel and is great for both couples and families. The staff was friendly and not pushy like many other restaurants in the area. I would highly recommend it if you are visiting Rome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pkim2424
Business
Washington DC
Feb 5, 2014

Good Hotel, Great location!

Nothing bad to say, but nothing extraordinary either. Good Value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
aaaaaaa
Business
portland, or
Feb 1, 2014

staff is awesome

Stayed 2 nights after a cruise. Located 2 or so blocks from Termini train station. Arrived prior to check in time of 1pm and was allowed to leave luggage at no extra fee. Took the opportunity to sightsee using one of the sightseeing buses. They pick up by Santa Maria Maggiore which is the church right across the street from this hotel, although the pick up spot is basically 2 blocks away. Original reservation was for 1 night but needed to extend a day due to flight cancellation. Staff was very accommodating. They arranged for airport taxi at 3:30am for an early morning flight they also packed us a breakfast. The breakfast they serve (included in hotel price) has a variety of choices ie. pastries, salami, boiled eggs, breads, cereals, juices, yoghurt. Note, the elevator does not go all the way up to the roof breakfast/dinner area, you have to climb a number of stairs. Room we had had a balcony but didn't face the church. You could still see the church if you went out on the balcony. Old world style rooms with funky features like heated towel bar and make up mirror, also blow dryer. Bed was comfortable and the room walls were covered in a patterned, padded material which was very pretty. They have a computer in the lobby which you can use free of charge to check in and print boarding passes. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

buses to fuminico (FCO) airport leave right outside termini station for under 5 euros, you do not have to have reservations and you pay as you board.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carmen Cristina
Business
Turkey
Jan 21, 2014

great location, great staff, grat breakfast

It was a great experience, I will recommend to all my friends, I will always come back, Thank you Rome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Babes
Business
Rome Italy
Jan 20, 2014

Great hotel for the site seers location excellent

Staff very friendly and most can speak good English Rooms spacious and clean but on the negative the hotel bar was very small and expensive search for bars around the area drinks and food nearly half the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of small cafés with good food at a reasonable price around the area . Must try some of the irish bars close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DSJ1
Business
Colchester England
Jan 14, 2014

Great central location

Great central location a few minutes from Termini where the airport bus arrives and easy walking distance to the attractions in the old Roman centre. For the Spanish Steps/Trevi/Vatican you can either enjoy a longer stroll or take a direct Metro which is very close to the hotel. Our room was a bit small but clean and nicely furnished. It was also well insulated from the city traffic but not from the noisy lift unfortunately. Breakfast was ok but no more than that. Staff were friendly and English speaking. Would be happy to use again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the 'Old Marconi' which is supposedly an Irish pub. Although it does sell Guinness and Kilkenny bitter it's much more of a restaurant. We had 2 great meals there including very cheap and decent house wine. Hiro was great and I assume he must be the only Japanese waiter speaking perfect English in Rome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lizcolly
Business
ottawa, ontario, canada
Jan 10, 2014

Excellent breakfast and great location.

Great hotel within walking distance of the ancient city. Located only 4 or 5 blocks from the main train/bus station and one block from a hop on/ hop off bus stop. We were three people and were given a room in the executive section of the hotel - a separate building two doors down, up one flight of stairs and just off a charming courtyard. Our room had two single beds and a pullout sofa bed, large bathroom with jacuzzi tub, table , fridge and dishwasher (!) Perhaps this section had once been apartments . Buffet Breakfast was included and featured a large selection of pastries, cold meats, fresh fruits, cheeses, quiche, and cereals . This was all served in their beautiful rooftop restaurant with a wonderful view of the city. Personnel at the front desk were extremely helpful and accommodating . I would happily return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
California Sara
Business
San Francisco California
Dec 13, 2013

Excellent!!

I thoroughly enjoyed my week long stay at the Mecenate Palace Hotel. The staff were very efficient, accommodating, and promptly responded to all my requests. My bed was very comfortable, my room had everything I needed, and the towel warmer in the bathroom was particularly awesome! The restaurant on the roof terrace is a nice option and the views of the city, and Santa Maria Maggiore in particular, were lovely. The location is perfect for traveling - the metro is a short walk down the block, the buses across the street go to many of the major tourist sites in about 15minutes (or connect to buses that do), and the Termini station is about 4-5 blocks away. There are also a number of small cafes and restaurants in the immediate area that offer a variety of coffee, sweets, sandwiches, pizzas, and tasty meals. There's even a neighborhood mercato on nearby via Meraluna. Walking back to the hotel late at night or departing early morning was not a problem, even when there were not that many people out and about. I am glad that I did not chose a hotel in the immediate vicinity of the train station. The Mecenate is one of the nicest hotels around Santa Maria Maggiore and I would definitely stay again when I come back to Rome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mecenate Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cynthia16
Business
London, UK
Dec 11, 2013

Excellent hotel

We had a great stay at this hotel. It's conveniently located near to Termini station and walking distance from the historic centre. Rooms were large and comfortable and very clean. There was a good selection at breakfast and we also used the room service which was good value and quick. The staff were friendly and spoke English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top