Locarno Hotel Rome ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$136
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 15, 2016 Check-out: Feb 16, 2016
3.8 /5
Overall score
78%
Would recommend
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Deluxe Double
  • Size: 323 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Standard Double from 13 to 16 Sq Meters
  • Size: 215 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Standard Single from 9 to 10 Sq Meters
  • Size: 97 sqft
  • Occupancy: 1
Show Prices Matilde di Canossa Suite
  • Size: 377 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Superior Double from 16 to 23 Sq meters
  • Size: 204 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Il Doge Suite
  • Size: 500 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Deluxe with Balcony
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Family Suite
  • Size: 592 sqft
  • Occupancy: 6
Show Prices Venetian Suite
  • Size: 550 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2

Overview

Hotel Locarno is a masterpiece unto itself, perfectly situated on a quiet road in the centre of Rome and just a stones throw from the splendid Piazza del Popolo. Romantic, intimate and sought after, this place is ideal for anyone seeking comfort in a refined historical environment. The hotel comprises two buildings at the very heart of Rome adjoined by a delightful garden smelling sweetly of wisteria where, in spring and summer, guests can take their breakfast and lunch and sip one of our excellent aperitifs. Locarno is a welcoming and refined guesthouse that the original Swiss owners inaugurated in 1925 with advertising posters by the famous artist and cartoonist Anselmo Ballester. IMPORTANT INFORMATION: We feel we should inform you that in November 2013 the Hotel started a deep restoration aiming to enhance the charmant style which is and has always been Hotel Locarnos trademark. This refurbishment at the moment will involve only our dependence.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 4.1 / 5
$85
Guest score 3.9 / 5
$88
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$84
Guest score 4.1 / 5
$140
Guest score 3.5 / 5
$67
Guest score 4.1 / 5
$139

Amenities

Featured

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle

General

  • Concierge
  • Pet friendly

Dining

  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Room service

Services

  • Business center
  • Laundry service
  • In-Room Safe

Internet

  • Free internet

Transportation

  • Airport shuttle

Reviews

3.8 /5 Overall score

78% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 3.7/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.3/5
  • Comfort: 3.5/5
  • Location: 4.8/5
  • Value: 3.8/5

gorgeous unique boutique hotel

Would recommend Thu, Oct 29, 2015
i reallly didn't know what i was getting into and where i was staying in italy, but this hotel was the best guess i could have made. The hotel is so cute! you take a vintage cage elevator to your floor, and they give you a little vintage key for your room. The space was very small, yet efficient and clean. Bathroom had a flip down bidet!! The hotel is within walking distance to many tourist areas, i believe i walked to the colosseum at the time, if you're single you should stay here. The bar scene was nice, but not particularly friendly. still, great hotel!

| brooklyn Business

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Beautiful Rome

Would not recommend Wed, Jun 4, 2014
Location was great Staff were helpful Good variety for breakfast Room was average Not very happy with the bathrooms, very old & small

| LA, California Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Nice hotel, but noisy from outside

Would recommend Tue, Apr 22, 2014
We like this hotel. Everyone is friendly and helpful. Important that room is clean and beds are clean. Negative: first room 211 we stay in was really for the hotel with 1-2 stars (inside). We couldn't open the window because of the huge car noise from the highway next block. With the window closed it was still very noisy, we couldn't sleep well and my 11 yo next morning had a great headache (he never had migraine before). Next day we were moved to the 3rd floor at 311. Room is nice, fabric on the walls, high celling. But still noisy, a bit better though compering the first one. (It situated at the same side of the building). On another side was construction: the hotel renovation. I would prefer it anyway since for us was more important is quiet night: all day time we were at the museums and on the streets. But we didn't want to pack again, so we stayed at 311. Location of the hotel is good, bus 117 is very close, bringing you to the colosseum and to the piazza Venezia, as well as bus 628 brought us to the Baths Caracalla. Full breakfast is really good. If you leave in the city, that will be good hotel for you for that price. If you are village person, try to find the hotel on the quiet street. There are plenty of the hotels in Rome:)

Shopping hint

The hotel is situated next to the piazza Popolo. Beautiful piazza, behind it- the park Borgese, you can walk there or rent a bike for 2 (12.00 euro) , or 4, 0r 1: it is fine for the whole family. from the piazza Popolo you can walk on the Corso street toward Piazza Venezia, or to the other side cross the river - toward St.Peter ' Cathedral - both shopping streets. Attractions: about 10 minutes - Spanish steps, very nice area (also shopping) , we've been at the theater Salon Margaritta to watch The Barber of Seville. Very nice. Also, next dat at the church All Saints we were listening Requiem by Mozart. Wonderful as well. Show "Time elevation" was nice.

| Maryland Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

OUR BEST HOTEL IN ROME

Would recommend Mon, Apr 7, 2014
Hotel is centrally located just footsteps from Piazza del Popolo,and close to the Flaminio transportation hub. Its side street location avoids the heavy tourist foot traffic and associated noise.Our deluxe room was large and charming,impeccably clean and with neat decorations from an era past.The bathroom was also quite large and completely modernized.The free room Wi-Fi ,mini fridge,and safe, all came in handy .The hotel staff was pleasant and extremely helpful,and most accommodating to all our needs.The complimentary breakfast buffet was superb and the most complete I've seen,it also included cold cuts and rolls.We skipped lunch each day! We will continue to stay at this hotel in all future visits to Rome.

| New Jersey, USA Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great Location

Would recommend Mon, Oct 14, 2013
The hotel had lots of Old World charm. The facilities were very good. The breakfast buffet was fantastic even though the buffet dining room was poorly lit. My single room was Spartan, but clean and comfortable. The sound proof glass in the window kept the room quiet from the considerable street noise. The area the hotel is located in was excellent. The staff was excellent. I had a very good experience.

Time saver

. The subway stop close to the hotel saves time and money. Rome subways are easy to navigate you way through

| Decatur, IL Singles

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Hotel Locarno

Would recommend Thu, Dec 6, 2012
I have stayed here before years ago and it is just as I remember it. It is charming, old world and in a great location. Typically Italian. This is not an American cookie cutter chain so if that is what you are looking for this is not the place for you. The standard double rooms are a decent size for Rome and include antique furniture, not fine antiques but lend to the charm. Our room came with a shower not a tub and was on the small side but clean and adequate. The bar at the Hotel is popular with locals both young and old and i did not find it loud unli

Dining

On the same street both restaurants are great but the area is expensive. For great meals head to Trastevere.

| Toronto, Ontario L.G.B.T.

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

good location - olld and dark hotel

Would not recommend Mon, Aug 2, 2010
bad bathroom - tub shower but with no curtaibathroom flooded - they did clean quickly when advised

Shopping hint

excellent location to tak a personal walking tour

| wayland, ma Couples

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

My review of Locarno

Would recommend Fri, Mar 28, 2008
Overall the Hotel Locarno was great. The location was close to most things. We walked to dine, shop and over to St. Peter's Square. The subway was also nearby which made it easy to get to the other famous Rome sites. The staff spoke English and was very welcoming. The room was comfortable with lots of character. The breakfast was so good. We want to go back.

| USA Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

il Babuino 0.1 mi
Piazza del Popolo 0.1 mi
Santa Maria del Popolo 0.1 mi
TAD 0.2 mi
Via del Babuino 0.2 mi
Via Margutta 0.2 mi
All Saints' Church 0.2 mi
Monte Pincio 0.3 mi
Mausoleum of Augustus 0.3 mi
Via del Corso 0.3 mi
Chiesa Valdese 0.3 mi
Porta Di Roma 0.3 mi
Ara Pacis 0.3 mi
Palazzo di Giustizia 0.4 mi
Via dei Condotti 0.4 mi
Via Borgognona 0.4 mi
Spanish Square 0.4 mi
Bibliotheca Hertziana – Max Planck Institute of Art History 0.4 mi
Fontana della Barcaccia 0.4 mi
Piazza di Spagna 0.5 mi
Via Frattina 0.5 mi
San Lorenzo in Lucina 0.5 mi
Spanish Steps 0.5 mi
Trinita dei Monti 0.5 mi
Palazzo Montecitorio 0.5 mi
Sallustiano 0.5 mi
Museo Carlo Bilotti 0.5 mi
La Rinascente 0.5 mi
Spagna 0.5 mi
Villa Borghese 0.6 mi
San Luigi dei Francesi 0.6 mi
COIN 0.6 mi
Biblioteca Angelica 0.6 mi
Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Moderna 0.6 mi
National Etruscan Museum 0.6 mi
National Gallery of Modern Art 0.6 mi
Piazza Colonna 0.6 mi
Castel Sant'Angelo 0.6 mi
Column of Marcus Aurelius 0.7 mi
Biblioteca Casanatense 0.7 mi
Galleria Alberto Sordi 0.7 mi
Chiostro del Bramante 0.7 mi
Teatro Sistina 0.7 mi
Teatro Quirino 0.7 mi
Accademia di San Luca 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

$136
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 15, 2016 Check-out: Feb 16, 2016