$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 2, 2014

Locarno Hotel Rome

4 stars
Via della Penna, 22, Rome, 00186
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
10 reviews
OUR BEST HOTEL IN ROME

Hotel is centrally located just footsteps from Piazza del Popolo,and close to the Flaminio... See full review

  • RUDY BOOMER
  • Apr 7, 2014
Nice hotel, but noisy from outside

We like this hotel. Everyone is friendly and helpful. Important that room is clean and beds are... See full review

  • Mom and child
  • Apr 22, 2014
Hotel Locarno is a masterpiece unto itself, perfectly situated on a quiet road in the centre of Rome and just a stones throw from the splendid Piazza del Popolo. Romantic, intimate and sought after, this place is ideal for anyone seeking comfort in a refined historical environment. The hotel comprises two buildings at the very heart of Rome adjoined by a delightful garden smelling sweetly of wisteria where, in spring and summer, guests can take their breakfast and lunch and sip one of our excellent aperitifs. Locarno is a welcoming and refined guesthouse that the original Swiss owners inaugurated in 1925 with advertising posters by the famous artist and cartoonist Anselmo Ballester. IMPORTANT INFORMATION: We feel we should inform you that in November 2013 the Hotel started a deep restoration aiming to enhance the charmant style which is and has always been Hotel Locarnos trademark. This refurbishment at the moment will involve only our dependence.

Hotel Map

41.9096 12.4753
Area served
Rome.
Nearby airports
Leonardo Da Vinci International Airport.
Area description
Hotel Locarno is a masterpiece unto itself, perfectly situated on a quiet road in the centre of Rome and just a stone's throw from the splendid Piazza del Popolo. Romantic, intimate and sought after, this place is ideal for anyone seeking comfort in a refined historical environment.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Locarno Hotel Rome also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 1.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Locarno Hotel Rome Rooms

Standard Single
Most single classic rooms have standard single bed, some are equipped with a french bed. All our rooms still keep the Liberty Style. Telephone with international direct dial, television with satellite reception, minibar and high - speed Internet access. Comfortable bathrooms are equipped with shower cabins. Parquet floor, so no pets are allowed in this room.
Standard Double/Twin
Comfortable and well-furnished guest rooms, telephone with international direct dial, television with satellite reception, mini - bar and high - speed Internet access, Twin beds also available. Comfortable bathrooms are equipped with shower cabins and bathtub. Room-service is available daily. Parquet floor, so no pets are allowed in this room.
Superior Double
Handsomely furnished guest rooms, features extraordinary amenities including cable television with international and special channels, high - speed Internet access, mini - bars, TWIN Beds, individual air-condition, hair-dryer. Comfortable bathrooms are equipped with shower cabins and bathtub. Room - service is available daily. Parquet floor, so no pets are allowed in this room.
Suite
3 stylish guest rooms equipped with the most modern comforts including high - speed Internet access, telephone with international direct dial, mini - bar, television.. All Executive rooms offer King - Size beds. Comfortable bathrooms are equipped with classic bathes. Room - service is available daily. Parquet floor so no pets are allowed in this room.
Double Room in Annex -
The double rooms single use/ double in Dependance (12 - 17 mq ) are situated in front of the Hotel Locarno. During the whole stay of our guests they will have the same comfort that provides the main building. These rooms are fully soundproofed and non-smoking. The rooms are also equipped with air conditioning, direct dial telephone, satellite TV, Sky TV, electronic safe, mini bar and Wi-fi.
Triple
Comfortable and well-furnished guest rooms, telephone with international direct dial, television with satellite reception, mini - bar and high - speed Internet access, Twin beds also available. Comfortable bathrooms are equipped with shower cabins and bathtub. Room - service is available daily. Parquet floor so no pets are allowed in this room.
Family
Wide Guest rooms ( 2 + 2 extra beds ) with international direct dial, television with satellite reception and high - speed Internet access. All rooms are equipped with refrigerator, either twin - bedded or with King - Size beds. Smoking and non-smoking floors are available up to guests' preferences. Comfortable bathrooms are equipped with shower cabins and bathtub. Room - service is available daily. Marble floor, only in this type of rooms small pets are allowed with an extra charge for cleaning.
Family Suite
It's the apartment on top floor made of 3 bedrooms, 1 living room, 2 bathrooms ( 1 with shower and 1 with bathtub). It's perfect for a family or for a group of friends. It can accommodate up to 6 people.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • il Babuino: 0.1 mi
  • Piazza del Popolo: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria del Popolo: 0.1 mi
  • TAD: 0.2 mi
  • Via del Babuino: 0.2 mi
  • Via Margutta: 0.2 mi
  • All Saints' Church: 0.2 mi
  • Monte Pincio: 0.3 mi
  • Mausoleum of Augustus: 0.3 mi
  • Via del Corso: 0.3 mi
  • Chiesa Valdese: 0.3 mi
  • Porta Di Roma: 0.3 mi
  • Ara Pacis: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo di Giustizia: 0.4 mi
  • Via dei Condotti: 0.4 mi
  • il Babuino: 0.1 mi
  • Piazza del Popolo: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria del Popolo: 0.1 mi
  • TAD: 0.2 mi
  • Via del Babuino: 0.2 mi
  • Via Margutta: 0.2 mi
  • All Saints' Church: 0.2 mi
  • Monte Pincio: 0.3 mi
  • Mausoleum of Augustus: 0.3 mi
  • Via del Corso: 0.3 mi
  • Chiesa Valdese: 0.3 mi
  • Porta Di Roma: 0.3 mi
  • Ara Pacis: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo di Giustizia: 0.4 mi
  • Via dei Condotti: 0.4 mi
  • Via Borgognona: 0.4 mi
  • Spanish Square: 0.4 mi
  • Bibliotheca Hertziana – Max Planck Institute of Art History: 0.4 mi
  • Fontana della Barcaccia: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza di Spagna: 0.5 mi
  • Via Frattina: 0.5 mi
  • San Lorenzo in Lucina: 0.5 mi
  • Spanish Steps: 0.5 mi
  • Trinita dei Monti: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Montecitorio: 0.5 mi
  • Sallustiano: 0.5 mi
  • Museo Carlo Bilotti: 0.5 mi
  • La Rinascente: 0.5 mi
  • Spagna: 0.5 mi
  • Villa Borghese: 0.6 mi
  • San Luigi dei Francesi: 0.6 mi
  • COIN: 0.6 mi
  • Biblioteca Angelica: 0.6 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Moderna: 0.6 mi
  • National Etruscan Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Piazza Colonna: 0.6 mi
  • Castel Sant'Angelo: 0.6 mi
  • Column of Marcus Aurelius: 0.7 mi
  • Biblioteca Casanatense: 0.7 mi
  • Galleria Alberto Sordi: 0.7 mi
  • Chiostro del Bramante: 0.7 mi
  • Teatro Sistina: 0.7 mi
  • Teatro Quirino: 0.7 mi
  • Accademia di San Luca: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (10)

Ratings and reviews for Locarno Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 10
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Locarno Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Worldbmine
Toronto, Ontario
Dec 6, 2012

Hotel Locarno

I have stayed here before years ago and it is just as I remember it. It is charming, old world and in a great location. Typically Italian. This is not an American cookie cutter chain so if that is what you are looking for this is not the place for you. The standard double rooms are a decent size for Rome and include antique furniture, not fine antiques but lend to the charm. Our room came with a shower not a tub and was on the small side but clean and adequate. The bar at the Hotel is popular with locals both young and old and i did not find it loud unli

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On the same street both restaurants are great but the area is expensive. For great meals head to Trastevere.

Review of Locarno Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shammu
LA, California
Jun 4, 2014

Beautiful Rome

Location was great Staff were helpful Good variety for breakfast Room was average Not very happy with the bathrooms, very old & small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Locarno Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom and child
Maryland
Apr 22, 2014

Nice hotel, but noisy from outside

We like this hotel. Everyone is friendly and helpful. Important that room is clean and beds are clean. Negative: first room 211 we stay in was really for the hotel with 1-2 stars (inside). We couldn't open the window because of the huge car noise from the highway next block. With the window closed it was still very noisy, we couldn't sleep well and my 11 yo next morning had a great headache (he never had migraine before). Next day we were moved to the 3rd floor at 311. Room is nice, fabric on the walls, high celling. But still noisy, a bit better though compering the first one. (It situated at the same side of the building). On another side was construction: the hotel renovation. I would prefer it anyway since for us was more important is quiet night: all day time we were at the museums and on the streets. But we didn't want to pack again, so we stayed at 311. Location of the hotel is good, bus 117 is very close, bringing you to the colosseum and to the piazza Venezia, as well as bus 628 brought us to the Baths Caracalla. Full breakfast is really good. If you leave in the city, that will be good hotel for you for that price. If you are village person, try to find the hotel on the quiet street. There are plenty of the hotels in Rome:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is situated next to the piazza Popolo. Beautiful piazza, behind it- the park Borgese, you can walk there or rent a bike for 2 (12.00 euro) , or 4, 0r 1: it is fine for the whole family. from the piazza Popolo you can walk on the Corso street toward Piazza Venezia, or to the other side cross the river - toward St.Peter ' Cathedral - both shopping streets. Attractions: about 10 minutes - Spanish steps, very nice area (also shopping) , we've been at the theater Salon Margaritta to watch The Barber of Seville. Very nice. Also, next dat at the church All Saints we were listening Requiem by Mozart. Wonderful as well. Show "Time elevation" was nice.

Review of Locarno Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RUDY BOOMER
New Jersey, USA
Apr 7, 2014

OUR BEST HOTEL IN ROME

Hotel is centrally located just footsteps from Piazza del Popolo,and close to the Flaminio transportation hub. Its side street location avoids the heavy tourist foot traffic and associated noise.Our deluxe room was large and charming,impeccably clean and with neat decorations from an era past.The bathroom was also quite large and completely modernized.The free room Wi-Fi ,mini fridge,and safe, all came in handy .The hotel staff was pleasant and extremely helpful,and most accommodating to all our needs.The complimentary breakfast buffet was superb and the most complete I've seen,it also included cold cuts and rolls.We skipped lunch each day! We will continue to stay at this hotel in all future visits to Rome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Locarno Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
H2Oman
Decatur, IL
Oct 14, 2013

Great Location

The hotel had lots of Old World charm. The facilities were very good. The breakfast buffet was fantastic even though the buffet dining room was poorly lit. My single room was Spartan, but clean and comfortable. The sound proof glass in the window kept the room quiet from the considerable street noise. The area the hotel is located in was excellent. The staff was excellent. I had a very good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

. The subway stop close to the hotel saves time and money. Rome subways are easy to navigate you way through

Review of Locarno Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Worldbmine
Toronto, Ontario
Dec 6, 2012

Hotel Locarno

I have stayed here before years ago and it is just as I remember it. It is charming, old world and in a great location. Typically Italian. This is not an American cookie cutter chain so if that is what you are looking for this is not the place for you. The standard double rooms are a decent size for Rome and include antique furniture, not fine antiques but lend to the charm. Our room came with a shower not a tub and was on the small side but clean and adequate. The bar at the Hotel is popular with locals both young and old and i did not find it loud unli

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On the same street both restaurants are great but the area is expensive. For great meals head to Trastevere.

Review of Locarno Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mzimmy1[@]
wayland, ma
Aug 2, 2010

good location - olld and dark hotel

bad bathroom - tub shower but with no curtaibathroom flooded - they did clean quickly when advised

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

excellent location to tak a personal walking tour

Review of Locarno Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mzimmy1[@]
wayland, ma
Aug 2, 2010

good location - olld and dark hotel

bad bathroom - tub shower but with no curtaibathroom flooded - they did clean quickly when advised

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

excellent location to tak a personal walking tour

Review of Locarno Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
go
Business
the south
Nov 22, 2009

Great place to stay

Loved the Hotel Locarno. It was both a business and sight-seeing trip, and the hotel was in a great location for getting around. I do wish there had been computers guests could use... they apparently have a business center with computers that was closed at the time. Loved the courtyard garden and the roof-top garden, view. Lovely altogether. I think the single room was a bit small, but doubles might not be. The bed was very very comfortable. I wore earplugs at night due to paper-thin walls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Locarno Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Mar 28, 2008

My review of Locarno

Overall the Hotel Locarno was great. The location was close to most things. We walked to dine, shop and over to St. Peter's Square. The subway was also nearby which made it easy to get to the other famous Rome sites. The staff spoke English and was very welcoming. The room was comfortable with lots of character. The breakfast was so good. We want to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Locarno Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Mar 28, 2008

My review of Locarno

Overall the Hotel Locarno was great. The location was close to most things. We walked to dine, shop and over to St. Peter's Square. The subway was also nearby which made it easy to get to the other famous Rome sites. The staff spoke English and was very welcoming. The room was comfortable with lots of character. The breakfast was so good. We want to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top