$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2015 Check-out: Jul 26, 2015

King Hotel Rome

3 stars
View map of Via Sistina 131, --, Rome, 00187

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
25 reviews
Fantastic First Rome Experience

The Hotel staff were wonderful. I stayed for 4 nights and after my first night there I didn't have... See full review

  • Christina J.
  • Apr 26, 2015
March Rugby trip

Excellent three star hotel in the centre of Rome, close to the Spanish steps and Trevi... See full review

  • Ian L.
  • Apr 6, 2015
The Hotel King Rome is a value stay near Rome’s affluent districts. Located next to the Barberini underground stop, guests walk to the Spanish Steps, Villa Borghese, Via Veneto, shops on Via Condotti and many fine restaurants. Rooms at the Hotel King Rome are no-fuss, but put guests close to the action in Rome. Wireless Internet access, airport transfers and parking are available for a fee. The hotel has a small roof garden and permits pets.
Location
Situated next to the Barberini underground stop and a short walk to the Spanish Steps and Villa Borghese, the Hotel King Rome provides the opportunity for sightseeing and shopping is immediate. Guests walk to Trevi Fountain, shop on Via Condotti or visit Galleria Borghese. Many restaurants and bars are within walking distance. The Termini Station also is nearby.
Rooms
The rooms are no-fuss at the Hotel King Rome, but provide the necessary amenities to make stays comfortable. Rooms feature large windows, air conditioning, private bath, satellite TV, mini-bar, wireless Internet access (fees apply) and a continental buffet breakfast is offered.

 

Property features
Affordable rooms next to Rome’s major attractions make Hotel King Rome a smart option. Simple, unfussy accommodations with a continental buffet breakfast are a perfect home base for seeing the sights of Rome. The underground Barberini stop is nearby or guests walk to the Spanish Steps, Villa Borghese, Trevi Fountain and Termini Station. Guests relax at the hotel bar after a day spent wandering the city. The front desk is happy to organize tours or provide services such as babysitting, currency exchange, dry cleaning and airport transfer (fees apply). Fax service also is available.
Highlights
  • Spanish Steps and Villa Borghese
  • Affordability near attractions
  • Roof garden
Nearby attractions
  • Trevi Fountain (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Via Veneto (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Spanish Steps (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Via Condotti (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Villa Borghese (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
Transportation
  • Leonardo Da Vinci Airport (13.8 mi/22.3 km)
  • Ciampino Airport (4.2 mi/6.7 km)
  • Termini Station (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Barberini underground station (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Spagna underground station (0.4 mi/0.7 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed King Hotel Rome also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

King Hotel Rome Rooms

Single Room
Room offers a single bed with Air conditioning, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Shaver in bathroom, Telephone.
Double/Twin Room
Room offers a double bed or a twin bed with Air conditioning, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Shaver in bathroom, Telephone.
Triple Room
Room offers a double bed and a single bed or 3 single beds with like Air conditioning, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Shaver in bathroom, Telephone.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Teatro Sistina: 0 mi
  • Fontana del Tritone: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini: 0.1 mi
  • Piazza Barberini: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Barberini: 0.1 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Antica: 0.2 mi
  • Palazzo del Quirinale: 0.2 mi
  • Ludovisi: 0.2 mi
  • Palacio del Quirinal: 0.2 mi
  • Spagna: 0.2 mi
  • Spanish Steps: 0.2 mi
  • Trinita dei Monti: 0.2 mi
  • Accademia di San Luca: 0.2 mi
  • San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza di Spagna: 0.3 mi
  • Teatro Sistina: 0 mi
  • Fontana del Tritone: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini: 0.1 mi
  • Piazza Barberini: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Barberini: 0.1 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Antica: 0.2 mi
  • Palazzo del Quirinale: 0.2 mi
  • Ludovisi: 0.2 mi
  • Palacio del Quirinal: 0.2 mi
  • Spagna: 0.2 mi
  • Spanish Steps: 0.2 mi
  • Trinita dei Monti: 0.2 mi
  • Accademia di San Luca: 0.2 mi
  • San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza di Spagna: 0.3 mi
  • Fontana della Barcaccia: 0.3 mi
  • Spanish Square: 0.3 mi
  • Teatro Quirino: 0.3 mi
  • Bibliotheca Hertziana – Max Planck Institute of Art History: 0.3 mi
  • Fontana di Trevi: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo delle Esposizioni: 0.3 mi
  • Via Frattina: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Quirinale: 0.3 mi
  • Via Borgognona: 0.3 mi
  • Via dei Condotti: 0.3 mi
  • La Rinascente: 0.3 mi
  • Fontana dell'Acqua Felice: 0.4 mi
  • Galleria Alberto Sordi: 0.4 mi
  • Pontifical Biblical Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria della Vittoria: 0.4 mi
  • Pontifical Lateran University: 0.4 mi
  • Column of Marcus Aurelius: 0.4 mi
  • Ecstasy of Saint Teresa: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza Colonna: 0.4 mi
  • Le Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini: 0.4 mi
  • Via Veneto area: 0.4 mi
  • San Lorenzo in Lucina: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Montecitorio: 0.4 mi
  • Via del Corso: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Colonna: 0.5 mi
  • Biblioteca Casanatense: 0.5 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.5 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.5 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.5 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
11:00 AM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for King Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 25
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christina J.
Business
N/A
Apr 26, 2015

Fantastic First Rome Experience

The Hotel staff were wonderful. I stayed for 4 nights and after my first night there I didn't have to say what my room number was for my key. They recognised me and grabbed it as I said Ciao. Breakfast was perfect with fresh baked croissants and delicious coffee. The one thing i was not used to was not having a kettle in the room. However i got over that very fast. Great way to start the day. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and would love to stay there again if I make it back to the capital city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ian L.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

March Rugby trip

Excellent three star hotel in the centre of Rome, close to the Spanish steps and Trevi fountain. Friendly, helpful staff with a very good continental breakfast. The only minus point was that there was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room but with a very good bar down the street selling a take away coffee for 1.5 euros it was not missed. Overall an excellent hotel which was extremly good value for money for such a central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
eduarvilla
Business
San Jose, Costa Rica
May 30, 2014

Awesome location but old hotel

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, It works if you want a well located place to stay, it's only a 8 minute walk to the Metro Station Barberini. So you can travel anywhere in Rome using the metro. The Trevi Fountain is a 15 minute walk. The hotel is really old and I stayed in a very small room, I guess it's ok just for 2 nights not for more time. Next time I'll stay near the Metro. Breakfast was ok and the staff was really nice. 2 doors from the hotel you can find a nice restaurant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

2 doors from the entrance there is this nice restaurant. Nice place with great food and fair prices for being in Rome. Eating in Rome isn't cheap. You can find 4 restaurants really close to the hotel and also Hard Rock Cafe Rome it's only 12 minutes from the hotel

Review of King Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Track and Field Fan
Business
Co Dublin
Jun 10, 2013

Treated royally at the King

I'm a solo traveller of advanced years and was very pleased with this hotel. Well located, just around the corner from the Metro (Barberini), in a lively area with plenty of bars and restaurants. The staff were very friendly and helpful and my single room, was comfortable and well-equipped. It was an internal-facing room with no view, but I wasn't planning on looking out the window. The only downside was the dull and unimaginative breakfast, with awful coffee and poor ham and cheese slices. There was only one cereal (corn flakes) and the orange juice was nearer to squash. Despite the breakfast, I will be back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
prettynerd
Business
Davao City, Philippines
Apr 3, 2012

My reservation was transferred to a worse hotel

When I got to the hotel tired, I was told that my room reservation had to be transferred to another hotel because their water pipe broke. They transferred me to an ugly hotel which I didn't like. Then, they did not inform me that I had to come back the next day for my 2nd night reservation which wasted my time to pack my stuff unexpectedly. Lastly, the hotel itself - I've been to better 3-star hotels, wouldn't recommend this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Smee414
Business
Avon, CT
Nov 8, 2011

Great budget find for short stay

I found my room at the King Hotel to be large but very outdated - everything from the wallpaper to the bathroom. The bed and pillows were fortunately very comfortable and the room a decent size. They also have free wi-fi, satelite TV (get more than just CNN int'l for english channels) and breakfast. The breakfast was definitely slim (no fruit, just breads/baked goods, some meat, cheese and coffee) but good enough to grab something. The location was great right near the Spanish steps and the Barberini metro stop. The neighborhood was also decent. I wouldn't have wanted to be there more than a day or two but this will definitely do for a short stay on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can take the local FR1 train from the airport to the city for almost half the price of the Termini Express train. You have to make a connection at the FR1's Ostiense station for the metro's Pyramide stop. It is 8 euro for the train ticket and the metro is 1 euro for 90 minutes of use. The metro is easy to use but doesn't serve some areas of the city. The Barberini station is very close to the hotel. Taxi fares can add up depending on how far you go (automatic ~3 euro charge just for getting in the taxi) so I would walk or use the metro when possible.

Review of King Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Florida
Aug 10, 2011

Vacation to Rome, Italy

The hotel is located about 1.5 blocks from the Spanish steps; thus, it is in an excellent location for using the underground subway system. The staff were polite and helpful as to information regarding museums, public transportation, and providing the electrical adapter for cords built for American outlets. The hotel provides free and reliable wireless internet service. I also enjoyed the May 2010 weather on the quiet, covered outdoor patio. The free breakfast included tasty cold-cut meats, grapefruit and orange juice, breads and butter, and a selection of teas and coffee. The hotel is quiet at night; thus, no problem sleeping after all the tourist activity. Overall, I would stay at this hotel again. Minor gripes: (1) my room did not have sufficient lighting for reading comfortably and (2) I thought the bed sheets were a little coarse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HitTheRoad
Business
Eden Prairie, MN
May 23, 2011

No problems. Good location

Good "no frills" option for the budget-minded traveler. Staff was friendly. Hotel was fairly quiet and felt safe. Room was small, but comparable to most hotels in the area. Clean room but outdated furniture and decor. Bed could be much better, but you don't go to Rome to sleep in, right??? One of the best parts of this hotel is the location. Easy access from Barberini station (subway) and very short walk to Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain. Plenty of restaurants and nightlife available in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It's kind of tucked away, but I'd recommend Pisciapiano "gioia Mia" restaurant. Just a short walk away. Packed with locals and some tourists. Very authentic.

Review of King Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jan 17, 2011

Great Access

I had a great experience staying here for 5 nights. Neat and Clean room. The location is also perfect for me as a tourist because of the easy access to the subway line A, and a several-minutes-walk distance to the fountain of Trevi, Spanish steps and so forth. Ristorante around there are also very good. The only problem may cause your concerns is that the room, the lobby,and everything there are very small. But I guess that's fair for a 3 star hotel in a European city, for the fair price. In fact, if you have ever been sleeping in one of those tiny hotels in Tokyo, you would probably never complain about how "small" a hotel room can be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top