$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 1, 2015

King Hotel Rome

3 stars
View map of Via Sistina 131, --, Rome, 00187

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for King Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of King Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Michal Yalon
Business
Israel
Dec 8, 2011

Hotel major "qualities"

the limited Starting with the +s: Location- excellent, close to main touristics sites either by foot, bus or subway Rooms are with dustewd carpets, carpets are so used thaty the dust is built in the carpet and for people alrgic to dust it's not the right arrangement. I openeds the windowq inspite of the cold just not yto feel the dust. Bathroom spacy but very poor selection of supply,.,and d the products they supply are VERY simple.and limited. The men at the reception are not service oriented people to say the least.., the lady was very coopertive and tried to help, after all thmost of thee guests are touristMy experience at the My

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Smee414
Business
Avon, CT
Nov 8, 2011

Great budget find for short stay

I found my room at the King Hotel to be large but very outdated - everything from the wallpaper to the bathroom. The bed and pillows were fortunately very comfortable and the room a decent size. They also have free wi-fi, satelite TV (get more than just CNN int'l for english channels) and breakfast. The breakfast was definitely slim (no fruit, just breads/baked goods, some meat, cheese and coffee) but good enough to grab something. The location was great right near the Spanish steps and the Barberini metro stop. The neighborhood was also decent. I wouldn't have wanted to be there more than a day or two but this will definitely do for a short stay on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can take the local FR1 train from the airport to the city for almost half the price of the Termini Express train. You have to make a connection at the FR1's Ostiense station for the metro's Pyramide stop. It is 8 euro for the train ticket and the metro is 1 euro for 90 minutes of use. The metro is easy to use but doesn't serve some areas of the city. The Barberini station is very close to the hotel. Taxi fares can add up depending on how far you go (automatic ~3 euro charge just for getting in the taxi) so I would walk or use the metro when possible.

Review of King Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Florida
Aug 10, 2011

Vacation to Rome, Italy

The hotel is located about 1.5 blocks from the Spanish steps; thus, it is in an excellent location for using the underground subway system. The staff were polite and helpful as to information regarding museums, public transportation, and providing the electrical adapter for cords built for American outlets. The hotel provides free and reliable wireless internet service. I also enjoyed the May 2010 weather on the quiet, covered outdoor patio. The free breakfast included tasty cold-cut meats, grapefruit and orange juice, breads and butter, and a selection of teas and coffee. The hotel is quiet at night; thus, no problem sleeping after all the tourist activity. Overall, I would stay at this hotel again. Minor gripes: (1) my room did not have sufficient lighting for reading comfortably and (2) I thought the bed sheets were a little coarse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HitTheRoad
Business
Eden Prairie, MN
May 23, 2011

No problems. Good location

Good "no frills" option for the budget-minded traveler. Staff was friendly. Hotel was fairly quiet and felt safe. Room was small, but comparable to most hotels in the area. Clean room but outdated furniture and decor. Bed could be much better, but you don't go to Rome to sleep in, right??? One of the best parts of this hotel is the location. Easy access from Barberini station (subway) and very short walk to Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain. Plenty of restaurants and nightlife available in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It's kind of tucked away, but I'd recommend Pisciapiano "gioia Mia" restaurant. Just a short walk away. Packed with locals and some tourists. Very authentic.

Review of King Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LovesItaly
Business
Summit, NJ
Apr 29, 2011

Not bad for price

Sight-seeing trip with friends. Location was very good as it was close to Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps. Front desk was very friendly. Lovely terrace for added seating during the breakfast. Only problem with hotel was that the wallpaper in the rooms where we stayed either had a build-up of soot or of moisture/fungus. Ownership could do with some freshening up as it's not something the regular housekeeping staff could attend to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a theater for live performances right next door. Performances in Italian.

Review of King Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 21, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

Great staff. The rooms are just that, rooms. But for a affordable hotel it was well worth the stay. If your looking to travel to Rome on a quick getaway this a one location you should check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Located near the metro and conveniently located near the Spanish steps and Trevi Fountain.

Review of King Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jan 17, 2011

Great Access

I had a great experience staying here for 5 nights. Neat and Clean room. The location is also perfect for me as a tourist because of the easy access to the subway line A, and a several-minutes-walk distance to the fountain of Trevi, Spanish steps and so forth. Ristorante around there are also very good. The only problem may cause your concerns is that the room, the lobby,and everything there are very small. But I guess that's fair for a 3 star hotel in a European city, for the fair price. In fact, if you have ever been sleeping in one of those tiny hotels in Tokyo, you would probably never complain about how "small" a hotel room can be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler on teacher's budget
Business
harrisonburg, va
Sep 23, 2010

Close to Metro

The staff was great. One day i broke the key off in the door and even though i was super stressed, the staff were able to take care of my mistake in a matter of minutes. we enjoyed breakfast on the terrace and the short walk to the metro. we loved the service at this wonderful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of King Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queens, NY
Aug 20, 2010

"Great location"

Our nine-day vacation started in Rome and we took side trips. This hotel is in a very good location - within walking distance to the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Via Veneto, Via Condotti, American Express, etc. Public transportation was around the corner. However we did a lot of walking. The concierge staff was very helpful and pleasant. Our room was nice with clean towels everyday and plenty of hot water. The room was a little dusty and the shower curtain/stall could be washed more often. Breakfast was OK. Plenty of places closed by to eat at night. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two doors down you have a nice small trattoria/restaurant with very reasonable prices. You can even take out food, especially hamburgers and pizza. The waiters were very pleasant.

Review of King Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Run Fast, Jump high,
Business
Mobile,AL
Jun 16, 2010

Location-Location-Location

Good hotel...2 blocks from Spanish Steps...4-5 blocks from Trevi Fountain. Very helpful front desk. GREAT restaurant next door. Very clean. Okay breakfast, needed some fruit. European rooms are all smaller. Good AC and hot showers. I would stay there again and highly recommend. Lots of shopping around Spanish Steps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top