$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Isa Hotel Rome

4 stars
Via Cicerone, 39, Rome, 00193
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
46 reviews
Perfect location perfect vacation

First and foremost, the hotel was proximal to St. Peter's Basilica, the Vatican museum and the... See full review

  • BGsPack
  • Nov 30, 2014
Hotel Isa

Perfect boutique hotel near the vatican. Extremely friendly and welcoming. Spa quality rooms and... See full review

  • mm bj college
  • Aug 23, 2014
The Isa Hotel Rome stands out from competing establishments, with its bold monochrome palette, oversized clock faces, and unique approach to everything from angled newspaper racks to the minimalist bed canopies in the deluxe rooms. The design touches of this hotel are nicely contrasted with it being in a traditionally demure 19th-century building. Enjoy privileged views over the grand dome of St. Peter's as you sip a slow cocktail at the terrace bar, and if you visit in the spring, you can enjoy your morning cappuccino and Italian pastries at the bar as well.
Key facts
  • Restaurant: La Terrazza di Isa, buffet-style breakfast and dinner
  • Room service
  • Rooftop garden terrace
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Meeting/conference room
  • Dry cleaning/laundry service
Neighborhood
The Isa Hotel sits between the Tiber river and Vatican City - a marked contrast to the hotel's own style. Walk to St Peter's Basilica or catch the bus from the Cicerone-Cavour or Cicerone-Pinio bus stops. Fascinating sights lie in every direction, like the quasi-star-shaped Parco Adriano and the Museo Vaticani, found within the hallowed city walls. Of course, Rome's history is equally matched by its present, so guests looking to take home some elegant wares should check out the region of Prati. Located beside the Vatican, this area is known for its boutique jewelers and high-end clothing stores along Via Cola di Rienzo.
Hints and tips
Traveling to Rome with a group Guests can host events and parties among the rooftop gardens for a truly unforgettable night - just contact the hotel in advance to make the arrangements.

For the hopelessly gelato-addicted, Gelati Gelati provides some of the best ice cream in the city, and is found on the same street as the hotel - just cross over Via Cicerone and walk south towards Piazza Cavour.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Isa Hotel Rome also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Isa Hotel Rome Rooms

Double Room
Comfortable rooms with double bed are about 16 mq. Depending of the floor you will find classical or modern style. All rooms are equipped with free WiFi. Some rooms have small balconies. Room Facilities: Toilet, Shower, Hairdryer, Courtesy kit with organic product, Flat sat-tv, Safe (at charge), Work Desk, Wake up call, Radio, City map, Complimentary bottle of water at the arrival, Minibar (product are extras)
superior rooms
Superior rooms are spacious and comfortable (from 20 square meters). All rooms are equipped with sofas. Depending of the floor you will find classical or modern style. Some rooms have small balconies. If you prefer twin beds please send us an email or put your preference on the note. Cot available (at charge) Room Facilities: Toilet, Shower, Hairdryer, Courtesy kit with organic product, Sleepers, Bathrobe, Flat sat-tv, Safe (at charge), Work Desk, Wake up call, Radio, City map, Complimentary bottle of water at the arrival, Minibar (product are extras)
deluxe rooms
Deluxe rooms stand out for the refined modern design and attention to every detail. Predominant colours are black and white. Spacious and comfortable from 20 sqm. If you prefer twin beds please send us an email or put your preference on the note. Cot available (at charge) Room Facilities: Toilet, Shower, Hairdryer, Courtesy kit with organic product, Sleepers, Bathrobe, Flat sat-tv, Safe (at charge), Work Desk, Wake up call, Radio, City map, Complimentary bottle of water at the arrival, Minibar (product are extras)
exclusive rooms
Exclusive double, about 30 mq, spacious and welcoming, with Jacuzzi for two people, are equipped with comfortable facilities, shower, bathrobe and slippers. Made with refined and sophisticated modern design elements, they will make your stay in Rome a unique experience. Room Facilities: Toilet, Shower, Hairdryer, Courtesy kit with organic product, Flat sat-tv, Safe (at charge), Work Desk, Wake up call, Radio, City map, Complimentary bottle of water at the arrival, Minibar (product are extras)
family rooms
This room offer a double and twin adjoining room thanks to a small private entrance. Both rooms boast a bathroom and are ideal for families who wish to enjoy relaxing holidays in Rome. Rooms are equipped with Wi-fi Free Room Facilities: Toilet, Shower, Hairdryer, Courtesy kit with organic product, Flat sat-tv, Safe (at charge), Work Desk, Wake up call, Radio, City map, Complimentary bottle of water at the arrival, Minibar (product are extras)
double single use standard double
Standard rooms are in different styles and design. Comfortable rooms with double bed or 2 twin rooms are about 16 mq. Depending of the floor you will find classical or modern style. All rooms are equipped with free WiFi. Some rooms have small balconies. Room Facilities: Toilet, Shower, Hairdryer, Courtesy kit with organic product, Flat sat-tv, Safe (at charge), Work Desk, Wake up call, Radio, City map, Complimentary bottle of water at the arrival, Minibar (product are extras)
Triple Rooms
Triple rooms are spacious and comfortable (from 22 square meters). Depending of the floor you will find classical or modern style. Some rooms have small balconies. Cot available (at charge) Room Facilities: Toilet, Shower, Hairdryer, Courtesy kit with organic product, Sleepers, Bathrobe, Flat sat-tv, Safe (at charge), Work Desk, Wake up call, Radio, City map, Complimentary bottle of water at the arrival, Minibar (product are extras)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Chiesa Valdese: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo di Giustizia: 0.2 mi
  • Porta Di Roma: 0.2 mi
  • Sallustiano: 0.2 mi
  • Ara Pacis: 0.2 mi
  • COIN: 0.3 mi
  • Castel Sant'Angelo: 0.3 mi
  • Ponte Sant'Angelo: 0.4 mi
  • Mausoleum of Augustus: 0.4 mi
  • Ponte Vittorio Emanuele II: 0.5 mi
  • Sant Angelo Castle: 0.5 mi
  • Via della Conciliazione: 0.5 mi
  • San Luigi dei Francesi: 0.5 mi
  • Chiostro del Bramante: 0.5 mi
  • Via del Corso: 0.5 mi
  • Chiesa Valdese: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo di Giustizia: 0.2 mi
  • Porta Di Roma: 0.2 mi
  • Sallustiano: 0.2 mi
  • Ara Pacis: 0.2 mi
  • COIN: 0.3 mi
  • Castel Sant'Angelo: 0.3 mi
  • Ponte Sant'Angelo: 0.4 mi
  • Mausoleum of Augustus: 0.4 mi
  • Ponte Vittorio Emanuele II: 0.5 mi
  • Sant Angelo Castle: 0.5 mi
  • Via della Conciliazione: 0.5 mi
  • San Luigi dei Francesi: 0.5 mi
  • Chiostro del Bramante: 0.5 mi
  • Via del Corso: 0.5 mi
  • il Babuino: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria del Popolo: 0.5 mi
  • Biblioteca Angelica: 0.5 mi
  • Piazza del Popolo: 0.5 mi
  • Via del Babuino: 0.5 mi
  • TAD: 0.5 mi
  • All Saints' Church: 0.5 mi
  • San Lorenzo in Lucina: 0.6 mi
  • Via Margutta: 0.6 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.6 mi
  • Biblioteca Vallicelliana: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo Montecitorio: 0.6 mi
  • Sant'Agnese in Agone: 0.6 mi
  • Oratorio dei Filippini: 0.6 mi
  • Fontana dei Fiumi: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo Madama: 0.6 mi
  • Piazza Navona: 0.6 mi
  • Via dei Condotti: 0.6 mi
  • Teatro Valle: 0.6 mi
  • Via Borgognona: 0.6 mi
  • La Voce Dell'opera: 0.6 mi
  • Via Frattina: 0.7 mi
  • Pasquino: 0.7 mi
  • Sant'Ivo alla Sapienza: 0.7 mi
  • Monte Pincio: 0.7 mi
  • La Rinascente: 0.7 mi
  • Piazza della Rotonda: 0.7 mi
  • Apostolic Palace: 0.7 mi
  • Biblioteca Casanatense: 0.7 mi
  • Piazza Colonna: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for Isa Hotel Rome

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Isa Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rhode Island
Jun 23, 2010

perfect location

the staff is very kind and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Isa Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
boyler74
Business
Bonnybridge
Jun 13, 2010

Fantastic Hotel

Very Impressed with the Hotel. The room was wonderful. The only drawback was that the balcony faced onto the courtyard which was quite noisey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Isa Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hinser
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
May 9, 2010

I'll Stay Here Again!!

It is hard to measure this hotel because I am used to traveling around the US and Canada. That being said, and after reading numerous hotels reviews knocking the size of European hotels, I will definitely stay here again. Most of the staff was ultra helpful or at least tried. The rooms were clean at all times. The hotel was within walking distance to EVERY thing we wanted to do: Vatican, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Pantheon, and for you more active ones we even walked all the way down to the Colosseum and Forum. The hotel is in a clean and safe neighborhood with a few cafes and dining spots a block or less away. EVERY night we ventured across the Tiber for dinner even though there are nice places to eat just down the street. I LOVE Rome and I really enjoyed this hotel. Again though, everything is different in Europe: smaller rooms (HINT: we booked a triple standard to make sure my wife and I had enough room - we then upgraded for no charge to a Superior Double size room), older but operational elevators, and a different experience (isn't that why you are going to Rome though??). We LOVED the free breakfast every morning on the roof deck, we loved Fabio and Stefano who helped at every chance they could, we loved being a 10/15 minute walk to GREAT piazza's in Rome for dinner. Everything was extremely navigatible and the language barrier wasn't all that harsh at all. I don't speak Italian and rarely if ever had an issue. Bottom line, book at the Hotel Isa, but remember to keep low expectations - only for European Standards, not because the Hotel Isa is lacking. I love this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Isa Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
RI, USA
Apr 30, 2010

Would stay there again

The staff were friendly and helpful, the free breakfast and 28 EURO dinner buffet were delicious, and the sitting room lobby was lovely. The rooms, althought not huge, felt quite open with a mirrored wall and light colors - It also offered nice little details like slippers, warmed towel rack, and spotless housekeeping, among other things. Our window on the street was noisy with the windows open, but worth the view of flowered balconies and shops on the street. The WiFi and Television did not work consistently, but the hotel was so great overall, those details seemed irrelevent to us. We HIGHLY recommend Hotel Isa, as the service was very smooth and put together. It made out first trip to Europe easy and enjoyable, especially important for my husband who was nervous about out trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Isa Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bebopkaw
Business
Orlando, FL
Apr 12, 2010

Very Good Value

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Hotel ISA. We had two rooms because we are a party of 5 (3 kids). Both rooms were clean and comfortable. Only complaint is that the shower areas were tiny, as it was difficult to take a shower without soaking the bathroom floor. I did notice that the TV programming varied between our two rooms. One room had a bunch of US based channels including Nikelodeon, Fox News, and CNN. The other room only offered one US channel (CNN). Normally, I would not care about that, but travelling with 3 kids under 8, having TV programming with kid appropriate shows turned out to be a huge benefit. If traveling with young children, I would request a room with Nikelodeon programming. One small annoyance was that there was no internet service within the room...my laptop was not able to connect to the lobby signal either. But I could use the computer in the lobby to read my e-mails. Not a problem when vacationing. Probably the best ammenity that Hotel ISA offers is the complimentary breakfast buffet. The Chef was very accomodating to our families needs as he would prepare food on requests. The rooftop setting was very pleasant and allow our family to calmly wake up each morning and plan our day. While the breakfast was great, I would not recommend eating there for dinner. Food is rather expensive for a meal that was rather pedestrian. Service at the hotel was solid, not great, not poor. While the staff is friendly, I soon realized that the hotel is NOT a full service hotel...meaning NO real concierge knowledge or service. If you have a question regarding anything that pertains to OUTSIDE of the hotel, then the staff really only points in the general direction of where you need to go. So, don't expect to be able to buy train tix, tour tix or other tourist attractions through the hotel. Another quirk was that one of our rooms was equiped with the appropriate washcloths and towels, while the 2nd room did not have either bar soap or washcloths. When we asked the front desk about it they responded that they did not have bar soap (even though our other room had it) and was told to use the liquid soap. No big deal, however, it did take them until the 3rd day to stock our 2nd room with washcloths. Location of the hotel worked very well for us, its about a 10 min walk to the Vactican and typically a 10 Euro cab ride to most of key Roman tourist attractions. We found 3 or 4 family oriented restuarant nearby...two gelaterias...a travel agency...and decent window shopping all within 10 mins walking distance radius. Given the modest price when compared to other 4 star hotels, I think Hotel ISA is a very good value and we would consider staying their again for our next Rome visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

One of the best Gelaterias in Rome is just a 5 min walk from the Hotel. Located on the same street, but on the opposite side. Hotel staff did not know about it, but the owner of the travel agency told us about it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Isa Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario, CA
Apr 11, 2010

Great place to relax and see the sights

Hotel Isa has a great breakfast to get your day started off right. The location is wonderful, close to a lot of attractions. Our room had a small balcony overlooking a courtyard below and was very quiet; we kept the door open at night to catch the springtime breezes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Isa Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cenzo of Napa
Business
Napa, CA
Apr 5, 2010

Fantastic Experience

First trip to Rome for me and my wife. This is an ideal location for mature travellers. I am 44 and the enjoy a good time. Isa is on the other side of the Tiber and consequently more quiet. It was like going home each night. Great locale in Vatican area. Also loved the rooftop restaurant and looked forward to the morning buffet with coffee bar and prosecco. The only negative was our expectation of a comp'd dinner for our week's stay. On their website for a 3 nights stay, asked and never got a response from them. Front desk was helpful when asked, in general. Would go back here in a heartbeat, especially given the price point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Da Fortunato al Pantheon

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Isa Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bogota, colombia
Apr 3, 2010

excellent

excellent hotel, nice rooms, freindly staff, good food, EXCELLENT LOCATION *****

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Isa Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
globalcritch
Business
South Carolina
Mar 29, 2010

Good Location, But Read All of This...

The Hotel Isa is in a quite, safe location in Rome. It is tastefully modern in some areas, and other parts of the hotel need updating. It is a boutique hotel, so I wasn't expecting the Ritz, but overall the customer service was very good. You are within walking distance to the Vatican and St. Peters, the metro and bus stops, and can get to most attractions within 15 minutes. There are several great Gelaterias and Tavola Caldas nearby where you can get very good desserts and drink affordably. There are also great little stores nearby where you can buy drinks, snacks, beer, wine etc... There is also a Farmacia across the street. The hotel provides a free breakfast each morning and it is in a beautiful setting, with a wide array of European and American Breakfast fare. Now... the not so good parts... We arrived in March 2010, and it was warm. I called the front desk to ask how to operate the A/C, and we were told to "open our window, it will be cool tonight" This may not have been so bad if we weren't facing the busy street below, and had to listen to cars, and people and street sweeper trucks all night! The only other negative is the ancient elevator... It's slow and will only hold about 2 people with bags, but it gets the job done... I probably will never return to Rome (just didn't care for it that much... ) so I can't say I'd return to this hotel, but for the price, I believe it was a bargain. The best dinner we had in Rome was actually in this hotel's rooftop area.... Wasn't expecting it, but it's worth the cash! I would probably stay near the Spanish steps area or in Trastevere if I came back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are a sightseer in Rome, walk from the hotel to the Metro, and purchase a Roma pass from the ticket agents. This will get you in to 3 exhibits, and give you 3 days of public transportation for like $27 euros.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Isa Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frogman
Business
Howell, MI
Mar 26, 2010

Excellent Place to Stay..

The hotel was great. After check in we realized our room was a bit small, (which is normal for Europe..), so we asked for both us and my in-laws to be moved to larger rooms, they did it with no issue for a very minimal cost. The staff was awesome, always willing to offer suggestions on tours, places to eat and transportation. Fabio at the front desk and Mimeo at the restaurant, were stellar! The location was perfect, just blocks away from Vatican City, Walking distance to many of the major attractions. We were very pleased with the hotel, the service and the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top