$267 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 12, 2014 Check-out: Nov 13, 2014

InterContinental DE LA VILLE ROMA

5 stars
Via Sistina 69, Rome, 00187
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
20 reviews
Amazing!!!

Our overall trip to Rome was fantastic, but the stay at the Intercontinental de la Ville Roma was... See full review

  • Meg Rittenberry
  • Oct 5, 2013
Great Stay!

Stayed here for four nights over Thanksgiving. The staff is super friendly, speaks excellent... See full review

  • rt727
  • Dec 1, 2011

Located at the top of the Spanish Steps, the InterContinental De La Ville Roma is housed within a landmark 17th century building, framed by imposing pillars and huge, balconied windows. A sustainable hotel and part of the Green Engage program, the hotel offers stunning with views stretching all the way to the Vatican. Spin through the revolving doors and you'll be welcomed by impeccably-dressed staff, marble and glossy-wood decor, and a full set of business services - including a private limo, should you need it. Take a seat in the garden courtyard of La Piazzetta restaurant (open in the spring) and taste flavors from every corner of Italy, or make time for a romantic dinner at the Emperor?s Terrace.

Key facts
  • 192 guestrooms, 24 suites
  • 2 restaurants and a cocktail lounge
  • Breakfast buffet in the morning
  • Business center
  • Small gym with cardio equipment
  • Safe deposit boxes available at reception
  • 24-hour room service
  • Complimentary newspapers
  • Shoe shine and dry cleaning service available
Neighborhood

Along with easy access to the Spanish Steps, the Intercontinental Hotel Rome is also just a few paces from the Trevi Fountain and Tiber River. For those more interested in shopping, Via Della Fontanella di Borghese - Rome's premier shopping district - is nearby, boasting the best of Italian design like Gucci, Armani and Prada.

Hints and tips
When it's time for a cocktail, try an ice and olive martini, the signature drink at I Due Murano.

History buffs: Queen Maria Casimira of Poland lived here in the 1700s, when she was procuress of a monastery that probably stood on the hotel's former grounds.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.9057 12.4841
Nearby airports
Leonardo Da Vinci Airport Rome Fiumicino, (FCO), 32.00, KM; Aeroporto Internazionale G.B. Pastine di Ciampino, (CIA), 16.00, KM;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental DE LA VILLE ROMA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 1.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub
Bidet

Nearby points of interest

  • Spanish Steps: 0.1 mi
  • Trinita dei Monti: 0.1 mi
  • Piazza di Spagna: 0.1 mi
  • Fontana della Barcaccia: 0.1 mi
  • Spanish Square: 0.1 mi
  • Spagna: 0.1 mi
  • Bibliotheca Hertziana – Max Planck Institute of Art History: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro Sistina: 0.2 mi
  • Via Frattina: 0.2 mi
  • Via Borgognona: 0.2 mi
  • Via dei Condotti: 0.2 mi
  • Ludovisi: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini: 0.2 mi
  • Fontana del Tritone: 0.3 mi
  • La Rinascente: 0.3 mi
  • Spanish Steps: 0.1 mi
  • Trinita dei Monti: 0.1 mi
  • Piazza di Spagna: 0.1 mi
  • Fontana della Barcaccia: 0.1 mi
  • Spanish Square: 0.1 mi
  • Spagna: 0.1 mi
  • Bibliotheca Hertziana – Max Planck Institute of Art History: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro Sistina: 0.2 mi
  • Via Frattina: 0.2 mi
  • Via Borgognona: 0.2 mi
  • Via dei Condotti: 0.2 mi
  • Ludovisi: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini: 0.2 mi
  • Fontana del Tritone: 0.3 mi
  • La Rinascente: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza Barberini: 0.3 mi
  • Accademia di San Luca: 0.3 mi
  • Via del Corso: 0.3 mi
  • Teatro Quirino: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Barberini: 0.3 mi
  • All Saints' Church: 0.3 mi
  • San Lorenzo in Lucina: 0.3 mi
  • Via Margutta: 0.3 mi
  • Fontana di Trevi: 0.3 mi
  • Via del Babuino: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo del Quirinale: 0.3 mi
  • Palacio del Quirinal: 0.3 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Antica: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Montecitorio: 0.4 mi
  • Galleria Alberto Sordi: 0.4 mi
  • TAD: 0.4 mi
  • Column of Marcus Aurelius: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza Colonna: 0.4 mi
  • Mausoleum of Augustus: 0.4 mi
  • San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane: 0.4 mi
  • Pontifical Biblical Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Quirinale: 0.4 mi
  • Biblioteca Casanatense: 0.4 mi
  • Via Veneto area: 0.5 mi
  • il Babuino: 0.5 mi
  • Monte Pincio: 0.5 mi
  • Pontifical Lateran University: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo delle Esposizioni: 0.5 mi
  • Piazza del Popolo: 0.5 mi
  • Fontana dell'Acqua Felice: 0.5 mi

Dining

Caffè Giolitti
Tip: Reputed to be the best ice cream in Rome. Open daily. One of the oldest ice cream shops in town with dozens of flavours.
La Piazzetta Restaurant
Placed on the second floor, developed in our peaceful internal courtyard and in the main room used during the winter, La Piazzetta Restaurant is designed like a classic Italian restaurant. Inside you will find the traditional dishes of our cuisine, with t
Cafè De La Ville
Placed in our Lobby Lounge, the Cafè De La Ville is ideal for a quick lunch or a short break after a busy day in the Eternal City. This cafè is classic and informal, and offers Italian dishes of the Roman tradition.
La Buca di Ripetta
Tip: Meat and fish specialities. Homemade bread and pasta, cakes which will please the most demanding palate. Open daily. One of Rome's better known restaurants. Recently refurbished, it's warm and welcoming.
Tullio
Try this restaurant for a variety of excellent Italian seasonal specialities, fresh fish and grilled meats. This famous family restaurant was established in 1950, and is located in the downtown area just off the Piazza Barberini with a discreet atmosphere
Vecchia Roma
Tip: Variety of fish and meat dishes and 14 types of salad. Try the delicious homemade fruit granita. Closed on Wednesday. The restaurant is a collection of interconnecting halls and hidden areas with elegant interiors, all adorned with frescoes and pa
La.Vi.
La.Vi. is an Italian restaurant that was recently renovated. It offers a new concept of cuisine: the plates of the Italian tradition revisited in order to make it more appealing and scenic. Also, this restaurant is famous in the city for its fashionable b
Caffè Giolitti
This historic coffee bar of Rome is a real milestone of the city centre. One of the best makers of ice cream in Rome with dozens of flavours, it's the ideal stop during the summer season.
Hamasei
Tip: If you want Japanese food, this is the place to visit. Small private dining rooms available. Closed Monday. Open in 1974, this is the most traditional of Japanese restaurants. It's near the Spanish Steps and within walking distance of the hotel.
L'Antico Caffè Greco
The Caffè Greco is one of the most famous cafes in Rome. It was the haunt of writers, artists and intellectuals in the 19th century and it still retains its grandeur and appeal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (20)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental DE LA VILLE ROMA

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental DE LA VILLE ROMA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Meg Rittenberry
Chicago, IL
Oct 5, 2013

Amazing!!!

Our overall trip to Rome was fantastic, but the stay at the Intercontinental de la Ville Roma was incredible! The room was amazing with an adorable private courtyard attached and the staff was unbelievably helpful. Ernesto at the concierge desk single handedly made our trip memorable. From dinner reservations, to tour guides to car services, he made sure every day we were there that we were set up right!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All I can say is Dal Bolognese!!!! But make a reservation! You haven't lived until you have eaten here!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental DE LA VILLE ROMA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Meg Rittenberry
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 5, 2013

Amazing!!!

Our overall trip to Rome was fantastic, but the stay at the Intercontinental de la Ville Roma was incredible! The room was amazing with an adorable private courtyard attached and the staff was unbelievably helpful. Ernesto at the concierge desk single handedly made our trip memorable. From dinner reservations, to tour guides to car services, he made sure every day we were there that we were set up right!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All I can say is Dal Bolognese!!!! But make a reservation! You haven't lived until you have eaten here!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental DE LA VILLE ROMA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Johnny Navarro
Business
New York City
Dec 31, 2012

Good location, but.....

Pros: Location Great money exchange rate Cons: No Free Wi-Fi No Free Television Hotel prices for everything is over priced Our room had a bad mattress (warped in the middle) The location for this hotel is great. It's literally about 15 steps away from the Spanish steps. You are smack in the middle of the surrounding places you want to go and visit. The sightseeing company bus does pick you up at the hotel, but they always drop you off a few blocks away. The reason why I wouldn't recommend this hotel is because of the pricing associated with it. You figure that for the money you're paying for this hotel, you'd get Internet and TV included with your booking. The hotel's price for 24 hours of internet is $ 20.00 Euros for 24 hours of service. That does not include Wi-Fi access. That is only for an ethernet connection to a wired laptop or if you want to use their TV and keyboard they have setup in the room. The bed we slept in was one of the most uncomfortable beds I have ever experienced. It was literally shaped like a U. The middle of the mattress was bent inward. We stayed in this hotel during Christmas. The hotel offered a buffet of $95.00 Euros per person. Not including drinks. For those of us coming from the states that's a whole lot of money for a buffet dinner when converting the price to US dollars. We decided to go out and eat in one of the many restaurants open in the area and had a wonderful meal for less than half of what it would of cost at the hotel. The drinks offered in the hotel fridge were priced almost double then what you'd get at one of the local stores down the block. If you're going to stay in Rome I would recommend you look for a hotel near the Trevi fountain. Although this hotel is in a great location, the better location would be any hotel closer to the Trevi fountain. The Trevi fountain area is where you have all the restaurants, and shops. Maybe all the other hotels also charge you for internet access and access to regular television channels, but at least you'd be closer to the cafe's and restaurants. One tip i'd let anyone know going to Rome. You don't need to eat at the fancy restaurants for great food. There were many smaller places we found where all the locals eat that had better food and at a fraction of the prices of the big fancy restaurants. Prego!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental DE LA VILLE ROMA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Two Sheep
Business
New York, NY, USA
Apr 16, 2012

fantastic family vacation

The hotel's location is perfect. The staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was okay, nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

we registered for two tours that left from the hotel. The bus that left from the hotel was not the tour bus; it took us to a central location where we picked up the tour bus. We could have saved 10 Euro's on each ticket if we left from the central location, which was a short distance from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental DE LA VILLE ROMA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
al Munzer
Business
Falls Church, VA, USA
Mar 24, 2012

Experience Rome

Location is great. Concierge service by Nicola was exceptional as he showed concern when our baggage was delayed at the airport and he made sure that we get our bags. Waiting staff at breakfast were pros and courteous at all time. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Exchange rate at hotel much better than exchange shops which should be avoided by all holder of US dollars!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental DE LA VILLE ROMA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Don fr. Baltimore
Business
Baltimore,
Jan 3, 2012

Overall experience was great.

Great location to the shopping district. Wonderful location to many neighborhoods. The view on this street, above the Spanish steps, was amazing. The food to the restaurant in this hotel was not good. My bed was turned down every night. The bed and sheets were very comfortable. The staff was very helpful. If you happen to stay here for the N Year celebration, you have to do the rooftop celebration on the 6th floor of this hotel. The panoramic view to the many quarters of the city's fireworks can be seen at this hotel's rooftop. No need to walk to the Coliseum and fight the crowd if you are not into that. Be careful of the city taxes that are charged to your account each day that is not included in the online package that you buy with the flight and hotel package. It was 6 E for me each day. So read the fine prints to the package you buy online. There was also an automatic 10% tip added to the drinks and food bill at the hotel's restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The big shops like Prada and Gucci have sales twice a year in Jan and Jul. You can definitely get a huge savings. Don't forget to keep your receipts and ask for VAT (tax credit) forms to get your money back at customs at the airport. Arrive early if you plan on doing this > 2 hours before your flight

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental DE LA VILLE ROMA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rt727
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 1, 2011

Great Stay!

Stayed here for four nights over Thanksgiving. The staff is super friendly, speaks excellent english and will take care of your every need. The location is fabulous and centrally located to shopping, food and sights. The food is overpriced and the restaurant is small but why would you just stay in your hotel and eat when you're in Rome?! Get out and experience the city with plenty of other places to eat and enjoy. I joined Intercontinental's priority rewards program before I left for the trip and I got a free room upgrade when I arrived!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental DE LA VILLE ROMA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scott in Maine
Business
Auburn, ME, USA
Nov 9, 2011

Great location, high quality property

We were in Rome for a few days following a cruise and wanted something very nice and convenient to area sites. This place was perfect! Just steps from the Spanish Steps and a 15-minute walk to the Trevi Fountain, it was a great neighborhood and almost everything was top-notch. The only 'complaint' was the cost (but in defense, Rome in general is absurdly expensive), and the price of drinks in the lobby (20 Euros or about $27 U.S. dollars for a mixed after-dinner drink!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental DE LA VILLE ROMA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scoob dooby doo
Business
Minnesota, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Good

Overall, it was a great stay! Staff was pleasant but internet was lousy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental DE LA VILLE ROMA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
3 tourist
Business
Fleming Island, FL
Jan 8, 2011

Perfect for sightseeing

This hotel is located in an older part of Rome that is within walking distance of the Spanish Steps and Trevi fountain. We arrived early in the morning and our room was ready for us within just a few minutes. Check-in and check-out was quick. The room was clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated. All of the staff was able to communicate in English. Since our Italian was limited to a few phrases, we were very thankful for this. Also, the concierge made several phone calls for us to verify tours and pickup times of activities. The food is expensive (as in all hotels), but in Rome, it's expensive everywhere. So you really won't save much by eating outside of the hotel. They are also willing to prepare food that was not on the menu. One night we had grilled steak, baked potato, and veggies (a welcome change after so much pasta). It's a beautiful Hotel in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental DE LA VILLE ROMA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Jun 15, 2010

Short stay in Rome

Used as a central location for walking and visiting museums. Perfect location at the top of the spanish steos but still on a quiet street, We walked almost everywhere in Rome from there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top