$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 2, 2015

Impero Hotel Rome

3 stars
View map of Via del Viminale, 19, Rome, 00184

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Impero Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Impero Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AC in DC
Business
washingto d.c.
Apr 28, 2011

hard to find. EXPENSIVE wifi.

We stayed here one night. It is not easy to find as there are hundreds of hotels in this area. We had two rooms booked both were nice. The floors are laminate wood but look nice. The walls have some sort of padded cloth but look luxurious. Our one room overlooked the entrance to the next door opera house which was nice. The second room overlooked a terrace. Both got plenty of light.WiFi was a rip-off. You have to buy 1 hour chunks at 5 euros each. Connectivity is good. The public areas are clean and inviting. We were greeted by [...] on arrival who looked like he was having a bad day. I ended up giving him a shelling cos he was not being polite at all and was being quite obnoxious. After that though he seems to be on his best behavior. I know his manager also gave him a talking to. All the other receptionist and hotel staff were very polite and nice. [...] too was very helpful on the next day helping us find a room in sister concerns, helping with bags etc.hotel is 5-7 minute walk from Roma Termini. And metro stations. 20 minute walk from Colosseum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There are 2 McDonalds within 5 minutes walk of this hotel. McDonald's provides free WiFi to customers. You do need a cellphone with an Italy number (10 euros at any tabachi shop for a sim card. Need passport to get sim) and the WiFi password is smsed to you. WiFi is free in McDonald's at France also with open connections. When buying metro tickets get one way tickets which are 1 euro per person

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Impero Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Apr 13, 2011

Excellent for what it offers

This hotel is perfect for what it offers...it is clean, easy to get to, in a PERFECT location for sightseeing by foot, comfortable, and has a free breakfast (which...you can also turn into a free walking lunch if you shamelessly swipe some biscuits and spread). If you are in Rome you are in Rome for Rome...not for a hotel. If you are looking to be pampered..this is NOT the place for you. Looking at the floor plan of the hotel I believe I was in the smallest room they offer (single bed...not much space), it was perfect for what it was, a place to rest. It is not a place to hang out and the shower was very small. The staff was very helpful and answered every question I had. I was a very leisurely one hour walk from the Vatican (with stops on the way to sightsee) and about 15 minutes by foot from the Colosseum. The airport shuttle is a must. My only complaint concerned the throngs of children on European holiday when I was in Rome...there was a tour group leaving on the day I arrived and a group arriving the night prior to my departure. They were as loud and annoying as any group of unsupervised teens and the way the hotel is constructed they could be heard all...night...long...Unfortunately it seemed every hotel in the city was similarly afflicted...bring some ear plugs and walk enough to be tired if it is school holiday when you visit. In all...I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you plan on going to the Vatican Museum...you absolutely MUST buy your tickets online prior to your visit and print a receipt. I walked past several hundred people waiting to buy tickets and was in the museum in less than 5 min. If you purchase tickets do not stand in any line, ignore the people offering tours, walk to the museum entrance, show your receipt, and go in!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Impero Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norway
Apr 6, 2011

Perfect spot

Nice hotel, perfectly situated in the middle of Termini, Cavour and Republicca (access to buses, trains, Metro A and B within 5 mins). 15 mins walk to Pantheon via Fontana di Trevi. 10 mins to Collosseum. Small rooms as everywhere in Rome, but clean. Hot water OK. Breakfast was VERY basic. Only one German, no English TV channels (why???)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Impero Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, ny
Mar 27, 2011

Great Location!

It was very close to Termini Station, but closer to Repubblica, which is a better area than Termini. Both metro A and B are close, as well as many buses are going from the area. The room was small (of course, it's Europe!), but very decent and clean. The bed was comfortable, and quite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Impero Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Mar 14, 2011

Easy walk from the Rome Termini

The hotel is a very short walk from Rome's Main Termini (train and bus station), the Repubblica Plaza and Via Nazionale. In addition it is next store to the Opera House. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was sparce. If you want luxury, this is not for you. If you want a convenient base camp and a reasonable price it is quite nice. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, the bathroom was tiny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Impero Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BellaMama
Business
Pittsburgh PA
Dec 28, 2010

Simple,romantic,charm

The Impero was charming. My daughter and I simply needed a clean place to stay with no frills ( after all the star of Roma is ALL the places to see and the places to find fabulous food!!) To our delight the hotel was all that and more. A wonderful breakfast...charming staff...festive surroundings. Grazie Mille for a lovely stay and since we threw coins in the Fountaina de Trevi....of course we shall hope to stay at the Impero once again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Metro is very close...however if you walk a bit..you will find a tunnel that takes you to the Trevi, the Steps and more!!! Wear walking shoes, and be aware of the cobble stones....oh, and bring an umbrella in the winter!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Impero Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Edinburgh
Sep 2, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Perfect location, reasonable price and perfectly adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Impero Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mrceotri
Business
Katy Texas
Aug 17, 2010

not my pick for a honeymoon

Hotel was quiet and peaceful. Staff was great. But the hotel did have its cons. Rooms were small, which was not a big deal but just not what we were expecting after looking at the pictures. We wanted one queen size bed yet got two twins pushed together. I spent a couple of nights falling in between the two beds pushed toghther. Contrary to what the description says, this hotel is not centrally located. Yes it is in the vacinity of Rome, but its too far to the east of the city. Centrally located would of been somewhere near the Spanish steps of Piazza Navona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great eatery near the hotel thats open late. Walk out the front door, and head east (turn left towards the Termini station), and on your right immedietly before the interesction of the round about, is a cafe with tables outside....get a pizza there, one of the best ones i ate while there in Rome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Impero Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Mom and teen daughter
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 21, 2010

Hidden gem..shy,nice staff!

Although the staff appears very reserved, they are actually very friendly and helpful. They made our stay comfortable after many outings in Rome. There were also very good restaurants close to the hotel with good prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Most attractions were a 15-20 minute walk or more. Bus 64 was very helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Impero Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miko K
Business
Orlando, FL
Jun 1, 2010

Impero by Termini

The hotel covered the basic needs, nothing special but nothing bad either, the shower leaked on the floor but not my problem. The room was small but we didn't spend time in it, Rome was a lot to explore. The breakfast was good, we enjoyed the variety. The staff was helpful and friendly. The elevator was ultra tiny, not for XXXL people. Bring EU to US power outlet adapters for your chargers. Bring umbrellas, the gypsies will not leave you alone when it starts to rain, though you can bargain the price of the large umbrellas down to 6 euros ;) For the price and the location(really 5min walk from Termini), I would visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Termini, Subway station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top