$141 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Hosianum Palace Hotel Rome

4 stars
View map of Via dei Polacchi 23, Rome, 00186

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
23 reviews
Rome on a Budget

Booking a last minute trip to Rome we took a chance on the hotel that was offered. We were not... See full review

  • Willoman
  • Nov 27, 2014
5-day break

Very good indeed. Especially the delightful roof garden bar - with complementary nuts & fruit for... See full review

  • Retired but happy
  • Jul 9, 2014
In the heart of Rome, just steps from Piazza Venezia and Via dei Fori Imperiali, amidst the charming treasures of the ancient empire and the liveliness of the modern city, a 16th century building conceals the refined elegance of Hosianum Palace, one of the most prestigious historic residences in Rome.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hosianum Palace Hotel Rome also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hosianum Palace Hotel Rome Rooms

Single Room
Room offers 1 twin with the furnishings and comforts of its rooms, Empire furniture, damask fabric, warm colors in the linens in the room and bathrooms, they are filled with modern comforts: internet connection, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, mini bar and independently controlled air conditioning in every room. The private bathrooms come with shower, hairdryer and a handy complementary beauty kit. Breakfast included.
Double/Twin Room
Room offers 1 double or 2 twin beds with the furnishings and comforts of its rooms, Empire furniture, damask fabric, warm colors in the linens in the room and bathrooms, they are filled with modern comforts: internet connection, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, mini bar and independently controlled air conditioning in every room. The private bathrooms come with shower, hairdryer and a handy complementary beauty kit. Breakfast included.
Triple Room
Room offers 1 double and 1 twin beds with the furnishings and comforts of its rooms, Empire furniture, damask fabric, warm colors in the linens in the room and bathrooms, they are filled with modern comforts: internet connection, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, mini bar and independently controlled air conditioning in every room. The private bathrooms come with shower, hairdryer and a handy complementary beauty kit. Breakfast included.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Theatre of Marcellus: 0.1 mi
  • Chiesa del Gesù: 0.1 mi
  • Campidoglio: 0.1 mi
  • Great Synagogue of Rome: 0.1 mi
  • Museo Barracco di Scultura Antica: 0.2 mi
  • Pasta Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Vittoriano: 0.2 mi
  • Altare della Patria: 0.2 mi
  • Capitoline Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza Venezia: 0.2 mi
  • Marforio: 0.2 mi
  • Vittoriano Museum Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Capitoline Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria in Aracoeli: 0.2 mi
  • Galleria Doria Pamphilj: 0.2 mi
  • Theatre of Marcellus: 0.1 mi
  • Chiesa del Gesù: 0.1 mi
  • Campidoglio: 0.1 mi
  • Great Synagogue of Rome: 0.1 mi
  • Museo Barracco di Scultura Antica: 0.2 mi
  • Pasta Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Vittoriano: 0.2 mi
  • Altare della Patria: 0.2 mi
  • Capitoline Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza Venezia: 0.2 mi
  • Marforio: 0.2 mi
  • Vittoriano Museum Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Capitoline Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria in Aracoeli: 0.2 mi
  • Galleria Doria Pamphilj: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria sopra Minerva: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica Ulpia: 0.2 mi
  • Ponte dei Quattro Capi - Pons Fabricius: 0.2 mi
  • Teatro Argentina: 0.3 mi
  • Elephant and Obelisk: 0.3 mi
  • Trajan's Column: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza della Minerva: 0.3 mi
  • Sant'Andrea della Valle: 0.3 mi
  • Tiber Island: 0.3 mi
  • River Tiber: 0.3 mi
  • Sant'Ignazio Church: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Colonna: 0.3 mi
  • Pons Cestius: 0.3 mi
  • Trajan's Forum: 0.3 mi
  • Le Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini: 0.3 mi
  • Trajan's Market: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza della Rotonda: 0.4 mi
  • Sant'Ivo alla Sapienza: 0.4 mi
  • Campo dei Fiori: 0.4 mi
  • La Voce Dell'opera: 0.4 mi
  • Teatro Valle: 0.4 mi
  • Torre delle Milizie: 0.4 mi
  • Forum of Augustus: 0.4 mi
  • Compo dei Fiori: 0.4 mi
  • Pontifical Biblical Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Spada: 0.4 mi
  • Pontifical Lateran University: 0.4 mi
  • Forum Boarium: 0.4 mi
  • Biblioteca Casanatense: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Madama: 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hosianum Palace Hotel Rome

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 23
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hosianum Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Willoman
Business
Exeter
Nov 27, 2014

Rome on a Budget

Booking a last minute trip to Rome we took a chance on the hotel that was offered. We were not disappointed the general standard was very good , clean, excellent breakfast, helpful staff and ideally located for the majority of Rome's main attractions which were in walking distance. If there was a let down it would be the bed it was like sleeping on the floor it was so firm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hosianum Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retired but happy
Business
Bath, UK
Jul 9, 2014

5-day break

Very good indeed. Especially the delightful roof garden bar - with complementary nuts & fruit for early evening or end of the evening drink. Excellent self service breakfasts Location perfect for walking access to Ghetto area, riverside, & Trastevere beyond for evening restaurant scene. Piazza Venezia is only 2 mins away for airport bus or Nos 75 or 115 to Colloseum (1 mile) - or 64 to Vatican My only critisism is the WiFi - advertised as widely available throughout, but in practice, only available in the lobby - 6 chairs for all guests trying to access their e-mails and book Colloseum tours on-line. Broadband speed check showed 1MB - probably via phone line & not enough these days. I had been counting on Radio 4 live stream via wifi in the room, so disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk due south to the Short cut by Portico d'Ottavia (being restored) - gives easy pedestrian access to getto area for evening restaurant scene

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hosianum Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tiger Mon
Business
Cheshire
Sep 19, 2013

Romantic getaway

We thought the hotel was in an excellent position for walking to most of the attractions. Whilst the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was very small and the bed uncomfortable, especially after long hours walking the streets. Would have loved to soak the pains and aches away in a bath but only a shower available. The carpet was badly stained and needs replacing. Also a kettle in the room would have been a bonus for a cup of tea after a long day's sightseeing! Breakfast was excellent and plentiful and set you up for a long day ahead. All in all the hotel was adequate but really only deserves 3 stars, not 4. A bath and tea/coffee making equipment would certainly make a big difference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Whilst there were some bars close to the hotel, the best eating was in the Travestere area. You have to cross the river to get to it but no too long a walk. Best to go early evening and check out prices before you eat.. Beware the Campo die Fiori piazza. It's full of restaurants, all trying to draw you in. At one we tried, the service was very slow and they tried to charge for a bottle of wine when we had only had one glass each. Check the bill carefully! We were disappointed with some of the pasta dishes on offer. I could do tastier sauces standing on my head, so not impressed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hosianum Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AmenRaKi
Business
Florida, USA
Sep 25, 2012

Last minute trip

The roof top & staff were amazing! Within walking distance to everything. Crazy Irish bar around the corner that has the funniest Karaoke crowd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hosianum Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pelleas
Business
Seoul, Kore
Aug 6, 2012

Great location, Great Hotel

The hotel is very close to Piazza Venezia. 15 minutes walk to Coloseum, 10 minutes to Foro Romano, 10 minutes to Panteon, 15 minutes to Trevi Fountain. Great breakfast, great service. If you have a car, ask the reception about parking. It was a great time in this hotel. If you ask, a pick-up service is available from the Leonardo Da Vinch airport, which costs 55 euros, not quite expensive considering time and energy saving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

I strongly recommend hotel's pick-up service. It costs 55 euros, but if you have several fellas, it will save the money and time. You can ask by e-mail or phone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hosianum Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AmenRaKi
Business
Florida, USA
Jul 30, 2012

First Time to Rome

Considering it was the first time to Rome, one can never be sure that the details or information of the property you would like to stay at align with what is advertised. Especially when traveling out of the country. This property, however, was amazing for the location, the staff, the comfort, the ambience...etc. Although people spend little time in their room, where you lay your head at night influences a person's overall travel experience. We absolutely LOVED IT!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear comfy shoes, most streets are cobblestone paved.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hosianum Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Capo Beach, CA
Sep 25, 2010

5 Day Rome Get Away

Staff friendly, daily brunch with coffee and fresh fruit was nice. Explored on foot (most within a 20 minute walk) the main sites including the(Pantheon,Colosseum,forum,trivili fountain and Vatican including several churches along the way. Great location to explore (Navona,poplo). Great for shopping starting at the Spanish Steps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Location is walking distance to the major points of interest including the Vatican. This is a great area of Rome for exploring especially the cafe night life. Safe & quiet location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hosianum Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mesaba Pilot
Business
Dallas, TX
Feb 6, 2010

First European Trip

Location can't be beat, only a block or two from Capitol Hill and Campidoglio. The Colosseum, Fountain di Trevi, and Pantheon are all within a 10 minute walk from the hotel. We were able to walk to most of the major attractions (most meaning all but the Vatican). The staff knew or would find out any bus route to get you where you needed. The rooms were very small, similar to our room in Athens, but well kept. European rooms are completely different than in the US, so don't expect the same size and quality. My biggest complaint is the Wifi is misleading, as it cost 3 euro per hour and connection can be hit or miss at times. We made a deal for 15 euro, allowing us unlimited usage for our 4 day stay. We needed internet to change our daily plans when it started raining and to schedule train/bus rides. If you don't need internet to help plan daily itineraries, no worries then. The hot breakfast(scrambled eggs and bacon), yogurt, fresh fruit and pastries was a great and cheap way to start off the day. I would only stay somewhere else if I could find something similar for a better price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a train and/or bus schedule. It's worth the few euros, as we found out the hard way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hosianum Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Henry B.
Business
Skokie, Il.
Jul 5, 2009

Perfect location and service :)

As mentioned, the hotel was perfectly located in the heart of Rome and only a 5-20 minute walk to all major sights. The farthest sight was Vatican City and my wife and I tracked it in 20 minutes. The staff was extremely helpful and accomodating, as they speak English and will help you easily navigate the city and avoid being ripped off. We did a lot of sightseeing, both in Rome and Florence, so we never made it to breakfast :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

I would highly recommend getting about 10 minutes away from the hotel in order to find GREAT food and prices. The food closest to the hotel is good, but extremely expensive. Trastevere is the perfect neighborhood to experience the true essence of Rome, as this area is populated by locals and they are fantastic people.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hosianum Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tarquinee
Business
Michigan City, Indiana
May 23, 2009

Beautiful and centrally located.

This is a beautiful hotel with good staff and a great location. Breakfast was full of choices including fresh fruit and a variety of cereals in addition to bread, cheese and meats. The interior decoration was first-class; marble, tile and fabrics that were creatively assembled. I peeked into the kitchen; it looked like a shiny stainless and white tile surgical suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a few restaurants just down the small street. We had the worst experience of our holiday at "LaTavera degli Amici". The waiter was impatient and rude. It seemed as if we were in his way. By contrast, our favorite spot was just across the small piazza "Vinando" a wine bar. The food was fabulous! The service was welcoming and wonderful. And we had the best wine of our trip!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top