$301 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 23, 2014 Check-out: Apr 24, 2014

Hosianum Palace Hotel Rome

4 stars
Via dei Polacchi 23, Rome, 00186
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
21 reviews
Excellent location

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. It is superbly located for all the 'main' tourist... See full review

  • JoannaD
  • Sep 11, 2013
A small simple gem

If you like simplicity, this is your kind of place. Clean, comfortable, small and in a great... See full review

  • Shebamarie
  • Mar 5, 2014
In the heart of Rome, just steps from Piazza Venezia and Via dei Fori Imperiali, amidst the charming treasures of the ancient empire and the liveliness of the modern city, a 16th century building conceals the refined elegance of Hosianum Palace, one of the most prestigious historic residences in Rome.

Hosianum Palace Hotel Rome Rooms

Single Room
Room offers 1 twin with the furnishings and comforts of its rooms, Empire furniture, damask fabric, warm colors in the linens in the room and bathrooms, they are filled with modern comforts: internet connection, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, mini bar and independently controlled air conditioning in every room. The private bathrooms come with shower, hairdryer and a handy complementary beauty kit. Breakfast included.
Double/Twin Room
Room offers 1 double or 2 twin beds with the furnishings and comforts of its rooms, Empire furniture, damask fabric, warm colors in the linens in the room and bathrooms, they are filled with modern comforts: internet connection, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, mini bar and independently controlled air conditioning in every room. The private bathrooms come with shower, hairdryer and a handy complementary beauty kit. Breakfast included.
Triple Room
Room offers 1 double and 1 twin beds with the furnishings and comforts of its rooms, Empire furniture, damask fabric, warm colors in the linens in the room and bathrooms, they are filled with modern comforts: internet connection, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, mini bar and independently controlled air conditioning in every room. The private bathrooms come with shower, hairdryer and a handy complementary beauty kit. Breakfast included.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hosianum Palace Hotel Rome also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8946 12.4795
Area served
Rome
Nearby airports
Fiumicino 'Leonardo Da Vinci' International Airport
Area description
Hotel is 5 minute walk from Piazza Venezia and the splendid Piazza del Campidoglio, the most famous squares and prettiest monuments of Rome can be reached in just a few minutes, as well as the shopping streets, Via del Corso and Via Condotti, with boutiques and show rooms of international designers.

Nearby points of interest

  • Theatre of Marcellus: 0.1 mi
  • Chiesa del Gesù: 0.1 mi
  • Campidoglio: 0.1 mi
  • Great Synagogue of Rome: 0.1 mi
  • Museo Barracco di Scultura Antica: 0.2 mi
  • Pasta Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Vittoriano: 0.2 mi
  • Altare della Patria: 0.2 mi
  • Capitoline Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza Venezia: 0.2 mi
  • Marforio: 0.2 mi
  • Vittoriano Museum Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Capitoline Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria in Aracoeli: 0.2 mi
  • Galleria Doria Pamphilj: 0.2 mi
  • Theatre of Marcellus: 0.1 mi
  • Chiesa del Gesù: 0.1 mi
  • Campidoglio: 0.1 mi
  • Great Synagogue of Rome: 0.1 mi
  • Museo Barracco di Scultura Antica: 0.2 mi
  • Pasta Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Vittoriano: 0.2 mi
  • Altare della Patria: 0.2 mi
  • Capitoline Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza Venezia: 0.2 mi
  • Marforio: 0.2 mi
  • Vittoriano Museum Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Capitoline Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria in Aracoeli: 0.2 mi
  • Galleria Doria Pamphilj: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria sopra Minerva: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica Ulpia: 0.2 mi
  • Ponte dei Quattro Capi - Pons Fabricius: 0.2 mi
  • Teatro Argentina: 0.3 mi
  • Elephant and Obelisk: 0.3 mi
  • Trajan's Column: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza della Minerva: 0.3 mi
  • Sant'Andrea della Valle: 0.3 mi
  • Tiber Island: 0.3 mi
  • River Tiber: 0.3 mi
  • Sant'Ignazio Church: 0.3 mi
  • Pantheon: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Colonna: 0.3 mi
  • Pons Cestius: 0.3 mi
  • Trajan's Forum: 0.3 mi
  • Le Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini: 0.3 mi
  • Trajan's Market: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza della Rotonda: 0.4 mi
  • Sant'Ivo alla Sapienza: 0.4 mi
  • Campo dei Fiori: 0.4 mi
  • La Voce Dell'opera: 0.4 mi
  • Teatro Valle: 0.4 mi
  • Torre delle Milizie: 0.4 mi
  • Forum of Augustus: 0.4 mi
  • Compo dei Fiori: 0.4 mi
  • Pontifical Biblical Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Spada: 0.4 mi
  • Pontifical Lateran University: 0.4 mi
  • Forum Boarium: 0.4 mi
  • Biblioteca Casanatense: 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for Hosianum Palace Hotel Rome

Overall score

4.3 / 5
21 out of 21
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hosianum Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
Mesaba Pilot
Dallas, TX
Feb 6, 2010

First European Trip

Location can't be beat, only a block or two from Capitol Hill and Campidoglio. The Colosseum, Fountain di Trevi, and Pantheon are all within a 10 minute walk from the hotel. We were able to walk to most of the major attractions (most meaning all but the Vatican). The staff knew or would find out any bus route to get you where you needed. The rooms were very small, similar to our room in Athens, but well kept. European rooms are completely different than in the US, so don't expect the same size and quality. My biggest complaint is the Wifi is misleading, as it cost 3 euro per hour and connection can be hit or miss at times. We made a deal for 15 euro, allowing us unlimited usage for our 4 day stay. We needed internet to change our daily plans when it started raining and to schedule train/bus rides. If you don't need internet to help plan daily itineraries, no worries then. The hot breakfast(scrambled eggs and bacon), yogurt, fresh fruit and pastries was a great and cheap way to start off the day. I would only stay somewhere else if I could find something similar for a better price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a train and/or bus schedule. It's worth the few euros, as we found out the hard way.

Review of Hosianum Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
Tiger Mon
Cheshire
Sep 19, 2013

Romantic getaway

We thought the hotel was in an excellent position for walking to most of the attractions. Whilst the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was very small and the bed uncomfortable, especially after long hours walking the streets. Would have loved to soak the pains and aches away in a bath but only a shower available. The carpet was badly stained and needs replacing. Also a kettle in the room would have been a bonus for a cup of tea after a long day's sightseeing! Breakfast was excellent and plentiful and set you up for a long day ahead. All in all the hotel was adequate but really only deserves 3 stars, not 4. A bath and tea/coffee making equipment would certainly make a big difference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Whilst there were some bars close to the hotel, the best eating was in the Travestere area. You have to cross the river to get to it but no too long a walk. Best to go early evening and check out prices before you eat.. Beware the Campo die Fiori piazza. It's full of restaurants, all trying to draw you in. At one we tried, the service was very slow and they tried to charge for a bottle of wine when we had only had one glass each. Check the bill carefully! We were disappointed with some of the pasta dishes on offer. I could do tastier sauces standing on my head, so not impressed.

Review of Hosianum Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
Shebamarie
New York, NY
Mar 5, 2014

A small simple gem

If you like simplicity, this is your kind of place. Clean, comfortable, small and in a great location. Only 2 complaints - one of which the management was well aware of - their wifi needs updating and the bed I had was a bit uncomfortable - the springs could be felt. Otherwise, not a single issue. The staff is lovely. The view from my window was like a stereotypical Roman view. Can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hosianum Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Toledo, OH
May 5, 2009

Great location

Located in the center of Rome and within walking distance of all the sites. Very friendly and helpful desk staff. Great breakfast included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hosianum Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
Henry B.
Skokie, Il.
Jul 5, 2009

Perfect location and service :)

As mentioned, the hotel was perfectly located in the heart of Rome and only a 5-20 minute walk to all major sights. The farthest sight was Vatican City and my wife and I tracked it in 20 minutes. The staff was extremely helpful and accomodating, as they speak English and will help you easily navigate the city and avoid being ripped off. We did a lot of sightseeing, both in Rome and Florence, so we never made it to breakfast :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

I would highly recommend getting about 10 minutes away from the hotel in order to find GREAT food and prices. The food closest to the hotel is good, but extremely expensive. Trastevere is the perfect neighborhood to experience the true essence of Rome, as this area is populated by locals and they are fantastic people.

Review of Hosianum Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Rochester, NY
May 5, 2009

A lovely,quiet retreat.

The staff at the hotel was very accommodating. Most people at the desk spoke enough English to be very helpful. Breakfast was especially good, more than just a continental breakfast. There is no (in-house) restaurant available for lunch or dinner. The bed was a queen size and very firm. Ask to have a room that does not share a wall with the elevator. Close to two good restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a short walk to a bus stop and many local sights. Some bus stops have machines where you can buy tickets, otherwise you can purchase a bus ticket at news stands and/or tobacco shops. Be sure to validate the ticket in the machine once you board the bus. Hop on, Hop off buses are also available. Wear good walking shoes and be prepared to walk, no matter what form of transportation you decide on.

Review of Hosianum Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Hammonton, New Jersey
May 8, 2009

Rome

The only complaint was the noise, but you are in a major city, all else was perfect, service, breakfast, rooms were clean, staff was attentive. I also say because of no pool, and no work out room, i would give the hotel 3 and a half stars, 4 to many 3 is not enough, I felt the hotel was quite elegant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Any of the the restaraunts in the alleys, just pick one.

Review of Hosianum Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
Michael a sightseer
Las Vegas, Nevada
May 17, 2012

An EXCELLENT stay

I enjoyed my stay in Rome, due in part to this excellent hotel. A wonderful and friendly staff contributed greatly to my experience. And what a breakfast - more of a banquet than a buffet! I would certainly stay at the Hosianum Palace Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hosianum Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Plymouth Michigan
Sep 1, 2009

Great Location popular sights walkable

Hotel staff was always extremely helpful with our questions and requests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of restaurants nearby.....

Review of Hosianum Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
Solo Travler
Dublin Ireland
Aug 2, 2012

Hosianum Palace

This hotel has a great location, in walking distance of all historic sites. The room was a bit small and dark but the bathroom make up for that and the breakfast was a feast. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, looking forward to going back and seeing them all again. Sally Dublin Ireland August 2012

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top