$286 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Grand Hotel de la Minerve Rome

5 stars
Piazza della Minerva, 69, Rome, 00186
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
13 reviews
Great Hotel and Best Location

It was first class all the way around. Rooms clean and big. Location is great. My only complaint is... See full review

  • JayCopp
  • Oct 28, 2014
european getaway

been alot of places, hotel staff perfect, location could not get better, 5-15 minute walk to almost... See full review

  • zippey
  • Mar 1, 2012
Historic hotel with exclusive location in central Rome

Housed in a 16th century palace in a grand square between the Pantheon and the church of Santa Maria Sopra Minerva, Grand Hotel de la Minerve feels like an aristocratic home. Pass a Bernini statue in the square before entering a lamp-lit lobby with marble floors and a stained glass atrium. Dine on an outdoor terrace overlooking the Pantheon or in the hotel's regal dining room. The historic hotel's noble interior, contemporary rooms and exceptional service accommodate a sophisticated clientele.

Highlights
  • Central location near Pantheon
  • Contemporary luxury
  • Prestigious statue collection
Rooms

The historic architecture of the palace remains, but all 135 rooms and suites in Grand Hotel de la Minerve have been renovated to reflect contemporary taste and style. Expect solid colors, clean lines and understated class. Standard amenities include bathrobes and slippers, air conditioning, satellite TV, Internet access, mini bar and desk. Suites offer free TV Internet access, additional living space, bathrooms and free newspaper.

 

Features

Not only is there a Bernini statue in the square, but Grand Hotel de la Minerva houses an impressive collection of statues. Converted from an aristocratic home in the 17th century, the luxurious Grand Hotel de la Minerve has the only terrace overlooking the Pantheon. Spacious rooms and suites have accommodated a list of illustrious guests and continue to afford comfort to Rome's most sophisticated guests.

The rooftop garden or Le Cupole, a bar with its own dome, are ideal locations for cocktail affairs.  La Cesta restaurant serves gourmet cuisine in a formal dining room.

Guests have access to a fitness and business center. An American buffet breakfast is available for an additional charge.  

 

Transportation
  • Leonardo Da Vinci Airport (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Ciampino Airport (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
  • Termini Station (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Closest train stops: Colosseo, Cavour, Barberini
Attractions
  • Pantheon (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Santa Maria Sopra Minerva (next door)
  • Piazza Navona (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Castel Sant' Angelo (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • St. Peter's Basilica (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Trevi Fountain (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Spanish Steps (0.6 mi/1 km)
Business
  • Ornate meeting rooms with state-of-the-art technology can accommodate up to 130 guests

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hotel de la Minerve Rome also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Grand Hotel de la Minerve Rome Rooms

Classic For Single Occupancy
Room with Queen Bed equipped with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Flat Screen TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Wi-fi / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone and Voicemail.
Classic Double Occupancy
Room with Queen Bed Or two Full size Beds equipped with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Flat Screen TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Wi-fi / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone and Voicemail.
Superior Room Double For Single Use
Room with Queen Bed equipped with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Flat Screen TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Wi-fi / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone and Voicemail.
Superior Double Room
Room with Queen Bed Or Twin Bed equipped with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Flat Screen TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Wi-fi / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone and Voicemail.
Deluxe Double Room For Single Occupancy
Room with Queen Bed equipped with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Flat Screen TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Wi-fi / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone and Voicemail.
Deluxe Double Room
Room with King Bed Or Twin Bed equipped with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Flat Screen TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Wi-fi / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-perview movies, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone and Voicemail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Piazza della Minerva: 0 mi
  • Elephant and Obelisk: 0 mi
  • Teatro Argentina: 0 mi
  • Santa Maria sopra Minerva: 0.1 mi
  • Piazza della Rotonda: 0.1 mi
  • Museo Barracco di Scultura Antica: 0.1 mi
  • La Voce Dell'opera: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro Valle: 0.1 mi
  • Sant'Ignazio Church: 0.1 mi
  • Sant'Ivo alla Sapienza: 0.2 mi
  • Palazzo Madama: 0.2 mi
  • Chiesa del Gesù: 0.2 mi
  • Biblioteca Casanatense: 0.2 mi
  • Galleria Doria Pamphilj: 0.2 mi
  • Sant'Andrea della Valle: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Minerva: 0 mi
  • Elephant and Obelisk: 0 mi
  • Teatro Argentina: 0 mi
  • Santa Maria sopra Minerva: 0.1 mi
  • Piazza della Rotonda: 0.1 mi
  • Museo Barracco di Scultura Antica: 0.1 mi
  • La Voce Dell'opera: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro Valle: 0.1 mi
  • Sant'Ignazio Church: 0.1 mi
  • Sant'Ivo alla Sapienza: 0.2 mi
  • Palazzo Madama: 0.2 mi
  • Chiesa del Gesù: 0.2 mi
  • Biblioteca Casanatense: 0.2 mi
  • Galleria Doria Pamphilj: 0.2 mi
  • Sant'Andrea della Valle: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza Navona: 0.2 mi
  • Fontana dei Fiumi: 0.2 mi
  • Biblioteca Angelica: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza Colonna: 0.3 mi
  • Sant'Agnese in Agone: 0.3 mi
  • Pasquino: 0.3 mi
  • Column of Marcus Aurelius: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza Venezia: 0.3 mi
  • San Luigi dei Francesi: 0.3 mi
  • Campo dei Fiori: 0.3 mi
  • Galleria Alberto Sordi: 0.3 mi
  • Pasta Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo della Cancelleria: 0.3 mi
  • Theatre of Marcellus: 0.3 mi
  • Compo dei Fiori: 0.3 mi
  • Vittoriano Museum Complex: 0.3 mi
  • Great Synagogue of Rome: 0.3 mi
  • Le Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Montecitorio: 0.3 mi
  • Chiostro del Bramante: 0.3 mi
  • Pontifical Biblical Institute: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Colonna: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza Farnese: 0.4 mi
  • Fontana di Trevi: 0.4 mi
  • Campidoglio: 0.4 mi
  • Teatro Quirino: 0.4 mi
  • Vittoriano: 0.4 mi
  • Altare della Patria: 0.4 mi
  • La Rinascente: 0.4 mi
  • Trajan's Column: 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
0000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (13)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel de la Minerve Rome

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 13
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel de la Minerve Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
zippey
Youngstown, OH, USA
Mar 1, 2012

european getaway

been alot of places, hotel staff perfect, location could not get better, 5-15 minute walk to almost everything you need to see. we will go back and stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

on off bus tour worth it to see coloseum and vatican, plus you must take vatican tour

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel de la Minerve Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JayCopp
Business
Chicago
Oct 28, 2014

Great Hotel and Best Location

It was first class all the way around. Rooms clean and big. Location is great. My only complaint is that breakfast at the hotel is really expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel de la Minerve Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fisbar
Business
UK
Oct 9, 2012

Roman wonder

Perfect location for a weekend break. Roof terrace up there with the best. Attentive, efficient and pleasant staff. Room clean and comfortable if a little old fashioned in the air con dept! A birthday glass of fizz watching the sun set over the roof of the Pantheon from the roof terrace - it takes a lot to beat that in Rome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ristorante Clemente, just off the Piazza de la Rotunda

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel de la Minerve Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
zippey
Business
Youngstown, OH, USA
Mar 1, 2012

european getaway

been alot of places, hotel staff perfect, location could not get better, 5-15 minute walk to almost everything you need to see. we will go back and stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

on off bus tour worth it to see coloseum and vatican, plus you must take vatican tour

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel de la Minerve Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Poison
Business
Miami, Florida
Jan 2, 2012

Outstanding

This is an outstanding hotel, we had 5 wonderful days with nothing but great experiences. Walk distance to everywhere, Trevi, Santangelo, Vatican, St. Peter square, Spanish steps, Piazza Venezia, Victor Emannuelle, amazing. We are looking forward to get back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ciro,Ciro, great place to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel de la Minerve Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buenos Aires
Dec 16, 2010

Excellent location and sevice

Many attractions like Piaza Navona near the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Many attractions like Piaza Navona near the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel de la Minerve Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HappyTravelCouple
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 18, 2010

Such a Great Location!

Our first trip to Rome was amazing... all the more so because of the sleep and rest we got at this charming hotel. Their restaurant, in comparison to the meals we had at other restaurants in the city, wasn't very good but we weren't staying at the hotel for their food. The room was pleasant, quite LARGE for a European hotel, quiet, and well taken care of. Their cleaning staff is efficient and wonderful. We found perfume had been sprayed in the room to enhance the visit most every day we returned, tired, from our travels through the Eternal City. Our only complaint: NO FREE (or low cost) INTERNET ACCESS! They wanted an extraordinarily large fee to access their connection (€39,00!!). Worthless. Outside of that, I'd definitely consider staying here again for the sleeping arrangements, the large room, the pleasant staff. The LOCATION can't be beat! We welcomed the Pantheon every morning and dropped by every night. You can get anywhere quickly and easily from this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Piazza Del Pantheon is a great place to get a quick meal (avoid McDonalds) for any situation. The costs aren't as high as one might expect and the service is excellent. Look up Salvatore at the Di Rienzo Ristorante/Caffè, Piazza Del Pantheon, 8/9. The view at any time of the day of the square and the Pantheon, the people watching, is superb!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel de la Minerve Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arizona
Mar 29, 2010

AWESOME HOTEL

Great hotel within walking distance to just about everything - Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona, Pantheon, churches, shopping, great restaurants. What more could you ask for? The staff couldn't have been more helpful, the rooms were immaculate, very spacious, and peaceful. We couldn't have asked for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were an abundance of restaurants around the area that were very good and extremely reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel de la Minerve Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Oct 8, 2009

Elegant Roman Hotel

Stepping inside the hotel was like entering an elegant, comfortable, welcoming palace. The staff was kind and courteous. The rooms are clean, quiet and very comfortable with up to date marble bathrooms. The breakfast was as good as it gets! On a nice, quiet piazza, the hotel was but a few steps from the Pantheon and all the excitement, music, food and night life of Rome. Excellent location! Can walk to everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel de la Minerve Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Weehawken, NJ
Sep 21, 2009

PERFECT location for travel with kids!

We traveled with our two year old daughter and we couldn't have asked for a better location to all the major sites. It made touring Rome with a stroller so much more pleasant. Plus if we felt like seeing the historical sites again, we could do so with ease because the Grand Minerve was DEAD CENTER. The staff was super friendly to us and especially to our daughter who felt at home with them. Either Italians loved kids or we just lucked out with some pretty friendly people. Our only minor complaint was a smell that eminated out of the bathroom that reminds you of old places and the old shower curtain also had the scent that meant it was time to be changed. Other than that, everything was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel de la Minerve Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new orleans,louisiana
Jul 19, 2009

A dissappointment in Rome

I book over 50 hotels a year and this is the first time that we have ever used orbitz.We arrived at the hotel only to find that there was no record of our Hotel reservation.I showed them my printed resevation confirmation from you but they still had no reservation.We were exhausted from flying and fortunately they had a room and took an in print of my credit card suggesting that I would have to pay for the room if we could'nt get the reservation straightened out. Then came the worst experience of all,trying to contact your "customer service".On my first attempt,I was put on hold for 25 minutes and finally hung up in disgust..Knowing that I had to get this figured out even though it was 1.00 a.m. in Rome I tried again to get through to customer service and after another 20 or so minutes finally got someone on the phone who assured me that they would contact the hotel by phone while I waited on the line.After another 20 minutes waiting,she came back on the line to tell me that she could'nt reach anyone at the front desk which was an obvious and stupid lie because I called down stairs on the house phone while speaking with her and got the front desk on the line right away.I was on my cell phone the whole time with your service which probably cost me a fortune. As President of my own company I live or die by customer service.I travel a great deal and so do my employees.I was told by your representative that that I would be given a $50.00 voucher for my troubles which probably paid for about 10 minutes of the hour I was on the phone to you.I am back in the states today and have gone to my office to dictate a memo to my staff stating under no circumstances is any one to use your service.You obviously are happy to book rooms but you have a non existent customer service policy.Though the booking service that I normally use is not perfect this experience with you proves that you now have one less client and I will certainly never recommend your company to anyone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Your customer service stinks!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top