$166 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Genio Hotel Rome

4 stars
View map of Via G Zanardelli 28, --, Rome, 00186

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
23 reviews
Weekend break for Rugby Match

Hotel Genio is in an ideal location for tourists - situated just off the Piazza Navona you are... See full review

  • Gerry M.
  • Feb 9, 2015
Great Location - small room

Within walking for Piazza Navonna, Pantheon, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, and Vatican. Great... See full review

  • alan5
  • Nov 21, 2014
Hotel Genio Rome is a five stories neo-renassaince building, completely renewed with a wonderful terrace on the top where you can have an overlook of the whole center of Rome and its monuments. This hotel offers you a very pleasant stay in an elegant and sophisticated atmosphere. A conventioned garage is at the service of all guest who would like to enjoy Rome with private transportation.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Genio Hotel Rome also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Genio Hotel Rome Rooms

Double/Twin Room
Room offers one double bed or two single beds With air conditioning, alarm clock, bathrobe, color TV, hairdryer, minibar and telephone.
Triple Room
Room offers one double bed With one single bed or three single beds with air conditioning, alarm clock, bathrobe, color TV, hairdryer, minibar and telephone.
Single Room
Room offers one single bed With air conditioning, alarm clock, bathrobe, color TV, hairdryer, minibar and telephone.

Amenities

  • Free internet
General
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Chiostro del Bramante: 0.1 mi
  • Biblioteca Angelica: 0.1 mi
  • Sant'Agnese in Agone: 0.1 mi
  • San Luigi dei Francesi: 0.1 mi
  • Fontana dei Fiumi: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Madama: 0.1 mi
  • Piazza Navona: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro Valle: 0.2 mi
  • La Voce Dell'opera: 0.2 mi
  • Sant'Ivo alla Sapienza: 0.2 mi
  • Pasquino: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Rotonda: 0.2 mi
  • Biblioteca Vallicelliana: 0.2 mi
  • Oratorio dei Filippini: 0.3 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.3 mi
  • Chiostro del Bramante: 0.1 mi
  • Biblioteca Angelica: 0.1 mi
  • Sant'Agnese in Agone: 0.1 mi
  • San Luigi dei Francesi: 0.1 mi
  • Fontana dei Fiumi: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Madama: 0.1 mi
  • Piazza Navona: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro Valle: 0.2 mi
  • La Voce Dell'opera: 0.2 mi
  • Sant'Ivo alla Sapienza: 0.2 mi
  • Pasquino: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Rotonda: 0.2 mi
  • Biblioteca Vallicelliana: 0.2 mi
  • Oratorio dei Filippini: 0.3 mi
  • Centro Storico: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo della Cancelleria: 0.3 mi
  • Teatro Argentina: 0.3 mi
  • Ara Pacis: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo di Giustizia: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza della Minerva: 0.3 mi
  • Ponte Sant'Angelo: 0.3 mi
  • Elephant and Obelisk: 0.3 mi
  • Biblioteca Casanatense: 0.3 mi
  • Porta Di Roma: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Montecitorio: 0.3 mi
  • Campo dei Fiori: 0.3 mi
  • Sant'Andrea della Valle: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria sopra Minerva: 0.4 mi
  • Castel Sant'Angelo: 0.4 mi
  • San Lorenzo in Lucina: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza Farnese: 0.4 mi
  • Compo dei Fiori: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza Colonna: 0.4 mi
  • Sant'Ignazio Church: 0.4 mi
  • Sant Angelo Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Museo Barracco di Scultura Antica: 0.4 mi
  • Column of Marcus Aurelius: 0.4 mi
  • Mausoleum of Augustus: 0.4 mi
  • Chiesa Valdese: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Farnese: 0.4 mi
  • Ponte Vittorio Emanuele II: 0.4 mi
  • La Rinascente: 0.4 mi
  • Galleria Alberto Sordi: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Spada: 0.5 mi
  • Via del Corso: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Genio Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Genio Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gerry M.
Business
N/A
Feb 9, 2015

Weekend break for Rugby Match

Hotel Genio is in an ideal location for tourists - situated just off the Piazza Navona you are within walking distance of most tourist attractions. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast overlooking the city was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Genio Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alan5
Business
jersey shore, nj
Nov 21, 2014

Great Location - small room

Within walking for Piazza Navonna, Pantheon, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, and Vatican. Great breakfast. Rooms very small, made a triple out of room too small for 2.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Navonna Noche - $17 three course dinners that were the best we ate in Rome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Genio Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mkhuelse
Business
Lexington, Kentucky
Aug 11, 2014

Great for a non tourist

This was our first time in Rome and found the Hotel off of Google location. It is perfectly centralized for someone who is willing to walk the streets to see the sights. It is no where close to the Spanish steps or the colussiam which we enjoyed because the tourists in that area were just too much!! We are tourists who do not front pack a backpack, but simply walk down the street as if we were home. The small side streets are crawling with local shops, wine bars, and restaurants. The hotel itself serves outstanding local breakfast on the rooftop terrace. Once breakfast is over, you are welcome to buy wine and bring it up to drink at any point in the evening. The staff was so incredibly helpful when it came to getting around and reataurants, although they did have a touch of a roman attitude. Overall the absolute best hotel during our trips to five different Italian cities!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Genio Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M. Anne
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Nov 17, 2013

Nice location to see sites of Rome!

An excellent location to see all the sites in Rome. So centrally located it's within easy walking distance of all major landmarks. Easy access to restaurants and shopping. The outdoor breakfast area is pleasant and affords great rooftop views of surrounding area. Only con was the long, long shower curtain on a broken rod that didn't allow water to go down the drain easily. Rod should have been replaced and the shower curtain should have been hemmed to the proper length. Any return trips to Rome, Hotel Genio would be my choice because of the excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Genio Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Susan PT
Business
New York
Sep 30, 2013

Forget about taking a hot shower, or shave !

It is too bad that the plumbing is ancient -- mixer faucets were worthless for delivering hot water, in fact virtually freezing. Certainly not 4-star standard, although other aspects of hotel were OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Genio Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nldocdmd
Business
New Rochelle, New York
Aug 24, 2012

Great Location

It couldn't get any better as concerns location. The hotel provides great ambience for a Rome stay, especially with the breakfast at the rooftop! Quite fine room and service; most recommendable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Piazza Navona is it! And further up the church that inspired "Tosca," and across the river in the opposite direction, and you're in the Vatican!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Genio Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sparkie
Business
San Carlos, CA
May 14, 2012

Decent enough, GREAT LOCATION

This hotel is just ok. The location is very good, walking distance to so many popular attractions and restaurants. The room was quite small (corner room) where the bathroom door opened, barely cleared the end of the bed. The hotel decor was dated and the bed (as is typical European) was hard as rock! Most of the front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. The "lobby" was nothing special - truly nothing special. The best feature of this hotel is the buffet breakfast. There is a wide variety of items to choose from and a sitting area outside with enjoyable views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is the most fabulous restaurant within a short walking distance. It is called "Pietro Valentini Ristorante" - the pasta and bread are fresh, homemade and my carbonara with truffles was truly excellent!! I want to go back to Italy just to visit this restaurant again! This restaurant is not a tourist trap and the food quality is the best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Genio Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
1st time Paris visitor
Business
Portland, OR
Feb 20, 2012

1st Time Rome Visitor

The hotel is in a very good location and only short 1/2 mile walk to Vatican. On the downside, room was extremely small (think cruise ship small). Also, not the cleanest room, especially in the bathroom. Road noise was also very high, but fortunately we were able to keep windows closed as we visited in February. Staff was very helpful and all spoke very good English. The morning breakfast is also a good highlight. Excellent selection and quality (give this an "A" rating). This is basically a no frills hotel, but serves the tourist well, especially ones like us with no children who only really needed a comfortable bed to sleep in during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you fly into Rome using AlItalia Air, make sure to take their airport shuttle from the airport to the main train terminal (Termini Station). It cost only 7 Euro per person, which is considerably less than a taxi. Also, beware of taxi fares. We got significantly overcharged from a taxi (it was one of the white, supposedly certified ones) driver who didn't turn on the meter for our short trip from the main train station to the hotel. Get the price of the fare up front from the driver or make sure they turn on their meter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Genio Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Abe A
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Oct 17, 2011

I never write a review

I have to write a review because this turned out much better that I expected. I DO recommend this hotel. I WOULD stay here again. I resered and paid in full 9 months before my trip. I did call one week in advance to make sure everything was correct, and it was not, but I had it all corrected and it was flawles. The included breakfast was excellent and the view from the roof dining room was the best! It was August and the air conditioning was very good. The rooms are a little small, but very reasonable. The bathroom was fancy and very clean. If you need help with your bags just ask, otherwise you are not going to be helped. Generally I liked this hotel and do recomend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

public transportation was very croweded. I recomend a quick taxi ride for 4 to 6 euro's, (and be nice and Tip the dirver!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Genio Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vacationing fool
Business
Pennsylvania
Feb 25, 2011

Great location but...

Location was fantastic. We were near Piazza Navona, the Pantheon, and the Vatican. However, our room was tiny (even by European standards). And to be honest, "[...]" was written above our name on their dry erase board with room assignments and we started to wonder if that is why we had the smaller room (we noticed how much larger other rooms on our floor were). Our sink pedestal leaked as did our shower door. There is no free internet - they made us buy an internet card in order to just print our boarding passes. This confused us as when our iPods picked up the wireless signal, it said you can have a "complimentary 5 free minutes" - yet we were denied this. And the front desk was snippy on their best days. Would not stay there again, but would highly recommend that general area to anyone who is looking to tour Rome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top