$53 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

4 stars
View map of Via Matteo Boiardo 30, Rome, 00185

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
36 reviews
Great Rome Trip

The staff were excellent and all very helpful and friendly. Their English was amazing and they were... See full review

  • kristofer h.
  • Jan 15, 2015
fantastic family getaway

nice hotel friendly and helpful staff, will defiantly recommended this hotel to our friend. See full review

  • olialia3334
  • Nov 26, 2013
Minimalist décor, restaurant and meeting facilities near Colosseum
 

Prime Hotel Saint John, outfitted with attractive contemporary décor, sits in an impressive building in a quiet corner of Rome. The hotel's minimalist style comes forth in its materials. Stone, timbers and crystal have been used to construct an elegant lobby, restaurant and bar. Contemporary décor makes its way into hotel accommodations with relaxing, neutral tones. The hotel offers conference facilities, fitness center, continental breakfast and a restaurant. The neighborhood affords a quiet stay amongst boutiques, cafes and historic churches.

Highlights
  • Walk to Colosseum
  • Ancient churches nearby
  • Contemporary décor
  • Restaurant and conference facilities
Location

Prime Hotel Saint John is located in a quiet neighborhood near the Manzoni underground stop. You will find cafes, boutiques, theaters, historical churches and a gym with a swimming pool in the neighborhood. Walk to the Colosseum and Roman forum. Numerous bus lines are also nearby.

Rooms

Neutral tones, high ceilings and ambient lighting promote relaxation in each of the 83 rooms at Prime Hotel Saint John. Contemporary wood, leather furniture and pale yellow walls give the soundproofed rooms a sleek feel. Luxurious marble baths include bathrobes. All rooms have air conditioning, Internet access, mini bar, and desk.

Features

Use of stone, timber and crystal inside Prime Hotel Saint John create a minimalist atmosphere in an old building. This contemporary hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood filled with historic churches and cafes near the Colosseum. The hotel has a fitness center onsite, but guests will also find a gym with a swimming pool in the neighborhood. A modern restaurant, bar and banquet facilities are available, as well as spacious conference rooms and a business center. Visit the tour desk or arrange parking or airport transfer (fees apply). Contemporary accommodations have neutral tones and marble baths with bathrobes. Enjoy a continental breakfast before heading to nearby Colosseum or Roman Forum. Underground stop Manzoni is also a short walk from the hotel.

 

Transportation
  • Leonardo Da Vinci Airport
  • Ciampino Airport
  • Termini Station
  • Manzoni underground stop
Attractions
  • Basilica di Santa Croce in Gerusalemme
  • Basilica di Santa Giovanni in Laterano
  • Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore
  • Colosseum
  • Domus Aurea
  • Roman Forum

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome Rooms

Double or Twin Room
Room offers a double bed or a twin bed with amenities like air conditioning, color TV, hairdryer, heating, internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, pay TV, pay-per-view-movies, room service safe in room, telephone.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • St John Lateran: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza di Porta San Giovanni: 0.2 mi
  • The Via Sannio: 0.3 mi
  • Santi Quattro Coronati: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica di San Clemente: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II: 0.4 mi
  • Domus Aurea: 0.5 mi
  • Colle Oppio: 0.5 mi
  • Amphitheatrum Castrense: 0.5 mi
  • Porta Maggiore: 0.5 mi
  • Ancient Rome area: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Croce in Gerusalemme: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.6 mi
  • Villa Mattei: 0.6 mi
  • Lamian Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • St John Lateran: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza di Porta San Giovanni: 0.2 mi
  • The Via Sannio: 0.3 mi
  • Santi Quattro Coronati: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica di San Clemente: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II: 0.4 mi
  • Domus Aurea: 0.5 mi
  • Colle Oppio: 0.5 mi
  • Amphitheatrum Castrense: 0.5 mi
  • Porta Maggiore: 0.5 mi
  • Ancient Rome area: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Croce in Gerusalemme: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.6 mi
  • Villa Mattei: 0.6 mi
  • Lamian Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Pontifical Oriental Institute: 0.6 mi
  • Celio: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.7 mi
  • Santi Giovanni e Paolo: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.7 mi
  • San Pietro in Vincoli: 0.7 mi
  • Arch of Constantine: 0.7 mi
  • Palatino: 0.8 mi
  • Roman Forum: 0.8 mi
  • Via Sacra: 0.8 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.8 mi
  • Rome Marathon: 0.9 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.9 mi
  • Termini Station: 0.9 mi
  • Basilica di Massenzio: 0.9 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.9 mi
  • Palatine Hill: 0.9 mi
  • House of Augustus: 0.9 mi
  • Santi Cosma e Damiano: 0.9 mi
  • Torre dei Conti: 0.9 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.9 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 1 mi
  • Baths of Caracalla: 1 mi
  • Terme Diocleziano: 1 mi
  • Istituto Europeo di Design: 1 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 1 mi
  • Forum of Augustus: 1 mi
  • Circus Maximus: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Rome: 1 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 1 mi

Dining

Breakfast Room
The bright breakfast hall and the unique American Bar combine original outlines with a charming Roman flavour. Guests can enjoy intense fragrances and Mediterranean aromas in a professional and friendly atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Doog 14
Business
Edinburgh, Scotland
May 26, 2013

4 days in Rome in May

Good points; 10 minute walk to colosseum . bad points; stained sticky carpets, worn, grubby fixtures and fittings, bathroom not well cleaned, This is never a 4 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BNAR
Business
California
Feb 11, 2013

Underwhelmed

I was excited to stay here based on so many positive reviews. My girlfriend and I had been backpacking in Italy for a few weeks and we were excited to stay at a nicer place for a night. When we arrived, the woman working the desk saw our backpacks and the fact the we are in our mid 20s and gave us some holier-than-thou 'tude. After a few snarky remarks to our fairly simple questions, we were checked in and headed to our room. Upon arrival to our room, the fridge and the TV were both not working. I went back down to the desk and the woman said that she would have someone look at the TV, but it was too late and they could not fix the fridge. No offer to move rooms... 30 minutes later, I saw a hotel staff walking toward our room, so I asked "are you the one coming to fix our TV?" He said "No, I didn't hear anything about a broken TV, but I'll come take a look." after fiddling with some shoddy wiring for 20 mins, the TV was working again - he was apologetic and seemed like a good dude. This is dragging on, so I will speed it up. Our food that needed to be kept cold went bad, we could not turn the heater down so it was almost 80 degrees F in our room, and we slept on a worse bed than at places that were half the price. This place is overrated. Slapping technology on a building and calling it a 4 star hotel does not work. Disappointed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

The supermarket that is "right around the corner" according to the woman at the front desk is 15-20 mins walk each direction.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chris K Bos
Business
Boston
Dec 19, 2013

cheap beds

The hotel location was so so, relatively close to the Colosseum. The hotel was nothing special, tiny room, uncomfortable "mattress" (more like a torture device...). Would not recommend given the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ysanabria
Business
Miami
Apr 30, 2014

Nothing really special about it!

Nothing really special about it! I would not recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brooklyn Kat
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Sep 7, 2010

"Lackluter St John"

The Hotel would of been Ok if it was rated as a 2 star. It is definatelly not worth any more stars. My daugter and I booked a room with twin beds - well a twin in this hotel is 2 narrow mattresses together. That is a Queen bed! I love my child - but would of rather had a little distance from her - shice she tosses in the night. The design of the wall headboard prevents separation of the beds. Bad design! Room electronic key: It took 4 trips up and down elevator before the front desk finally got it to work. Security chain - NONE!! Safe - Unoperable - and even if it worked it was tiny. Breakfast - Coffee is by a push button machine - vile! Eggs are powdered. Bacon undercooked and soggy. Pastries, yogurt, cereal are all very good. Location - close to Metro stop. My suggestion would be to get a good bus map - best way to navigate city. This hotel is a bit out of the way from rest of atractions and restaurants. Rome requires a good deal of walking and it would of been nice to have a hotel closer to all the attractions. This place was too far away to come back to for a rest. On Sunday most places are closed in Rome, and it took us a lot of walking to finally locate an open eatery. If you are visiting Rome for the 1st time and do not have a long stay - do not choose this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 16, 2010

Unfriendly staff

The hotel staff was rude and unhelpful. I was waiting for my luggage to be delivered to the hotel and they would not even call the airline for me. I told them I was having trouble calling out of the hotel and the staff didn't seem to care. On the last day of my stay I was waiting for some family members to pick me up. I was outside under the portico for the hotel when my family called and asked if the staff could let me know they were going to be there a little late. The person at the desk said they could see me through the front door, but they could not or would not deliver the message to me. The unfriendliness alone would make me tell everyone NOT to stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wanderlust couple
Business
New York
Nov 29, 2010

Quiet location

mostly site seeing and eating, the hotel was convenient to the tram and to the metro which basically gets you everywhere you needed to get to. wifi was not accessible to iphones or any computer which uses safari as the main browser hotel room heating/cooling was outside of occupant control...the room was either too warm with the windows shut, or too cold with the windows open (which also led to some mosquitoes....)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bigguysmallspace
Business
Glendale, CA, USA
Mar 10, 2012

Not bad

its pretty close to ancient Rome but theres almost no restaurant close by. you have to walk all the way to city center. Rooms are average for Europe (be warned the doubles are actually twins pushed together). Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful when needed. Id choose somewhere in city center next time to cut down the walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
izzy single traveler
Business
Abu Dhabi
Apr 22, 2013

Average hotel but very close to the metro.

I was greeted warmly at the reception and the receptionist gave my a useful map to use around the city. The room was very average and the bath tub was without a curtain. This meant that I had to dry the floor after taking a shower so I did not slip. Also the walls were very thin so I could hear the school children playing at school in the afternoon and early mornings. This hotel was one step above Ibis chain. Overall, this hotel could have been worse but it wasn't. It's perfect if you are looking for a decent place to stay that is very close to the metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Metro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RK Traveler
Business
San Diego
May 28, 2013

Good value!

Simple hotel. VERY small rooms, but fine since we were booked with city & attraction tours. Fine for sleeping (& afternoon naps!). Location is a touch of a walk from "the stuff", but we liked that. Quiet & didn't mind walking off pasta, pizza & wine! Local cafe & restaurant for cofee & meal (twice) was good & prices managable. Staff was helpful & let us borrow converter for charging phones/ipad.Super close to tube for travel to airport/train stations. Save $ on cab & take the tube! Not tough with map & planning. We even hauled suit cases to & from. Not bad at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the tube. Don't cab to airport or train stations. Stop is very close by!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top