$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

4 stars
Via Matteo Boiardo 30, Rome, 00185
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
46 reviews
fantastic family getaway

nice hotel friendly and helpful staff, will defiantly recommended this hotel to our friend. See full review

  • olialia3334
  • Nov 26, 2013
Fantastic experience

It was a pleasure staying at this hotel. Very good location, excellent breakfast and in special... See full review

  • monica25
  • Feb 19, 2013
Minimalist décor, restaurant and meeting facilities near Colosseum
 

Prime Hotel Saint John, outfitted with attractive contemporary décor, sits in an impressive building in a quiet corner of Rome. The hotel's minimalist style comes forth in its materials. Stone, timbers and crystal have been used to construct an elegant lobby, restaurant and bar. Contemporary décor makes its way into hotel accommodations with relaxing, neutral tones. The hotel offers conference facilities, fitness center, continental breakfast and a restaurant. The neighborhood affords a quiet stay amongst boutiques, cafes and historic churches.

Highlights
  • Walk to Colosseum
  • Ancient churches nearby
  • Contemporary décor
  • Restaurant and conference facilities
Location

Prime Hotel Saint John is located in a quiet neighborhood near the Manzoni underground stop. You will find cafes, boutiques, theaters, historical churches and a gym with a swimming pool in the neighborhood. Walk to the Colosseum and Roman forum. Numerous bus lines are also nearby.

Rooms

Neutral tones, high ceilings and ambient lighting promote relaxation in each of the 83 rooms at Prime Hotel Saint John. Contemporary wood, leather furniture and pale yellow walls give the soundproofed rooms a sleek feel. Luxurious marble baths include bathrobes. All rooms have air conditioning, Internet access, mini bar, and desk.

Features

Use of stone, timber and crystal inside Prime Hotel Saint John create a minimalist atmosphere in an old building. This contemporary hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood filled with historic churches and cafes near the Colosseum. The hotel has a fitness center onsite, but guests will also find a gym with a swimming pool in the neighborhood. A modern restaurant, bar and banquet facilities are available, as well as spacious conference rooms and a business center. Visit the tour desk or arrange parking or airport transfer (fees apply). Contemporary accommodations have neutral tones and marble baths with bathrobes. Enjoy a continental breakfast before heading to nearby Colosseum or Roman Forum. Underground stop Manzoni is also a short walk from the hotel.

 

Transportation
  • Leonardo Da Vinci Airport
  • Ciampino Airport
  • Termini Station
  • Manzoni underground stop
Attractions
  • Basilica di Santa Croce in Gerusalemme
  • Basilica di Santa Giovanni in Laterano
  • Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore
  • Colosseum
  • Domus Aurea
  • Roman Forum

Hotel Map

41.8888 12.505
Area served
Rome.
Nearby airports
Leonardo Da Vinci International Airport.
Area description
The area in which is located is a melting pot of business, fashion, arts and shows in the very heart of Rome. Despite its tranquil position, there are numerous boutiques, cafes, historical theatres, typical Roman 'Hosterias' and a fitness centre with swimming pool and gym in the surrounding areas. The hotel is within walking distance of the Colosseum, Basilica San Giovanni in Laterano and the most important avenues in the 'Eternal City': Basilica Santa Maria Maggiore, Basilica Santa Croce in Gerusalemme and Via dei Fori Imperali.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5

Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome Rooms

Double or Twin Room
Room offers a double bed or a twin bed with amenities like air conditioning, color TV, hairdryer, heating, internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, pay TV, pay-per-view-movies, room service safe in room, telephone.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • St John Lateran: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza di Porta San Giovanni: 0.2 mi
  • The Via Sannio: 0.3 mi
  • Santi Quattro Coronati: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica di San Clemente: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II: 0.4 mi
  • Domus Aurea: 0.5 mi
  • Colle Oppio: 0.5 mi
  • Amphitheatrum Castrense: 0.5 mi
  • Porta Maggiore: 0.5 mi
  • Ancient Rome area: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Croce in Gerusalemme: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.6 mi
  • Villa Mattei: 0.6 mi
  • Lamian Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • St John Lateran: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza di Porta San Giovanni: 0.2 mi
  • The Via Sannio: 0.3 mi
  • Santi Quattro Coronati: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica di San Clemente: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II: 0.4 mi
  • Domus Aurea: 0.5 mi
  • Colle Oppio: 0.5 mi
  • Amphitheatrum Castrense: 0.5 mi
  • Porta Maggiore: 0.5 mi
  • Ancient Rome area: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Croce in Gerusalemme: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.6 mi
  • Villa Mattei: 0.6 mi
  • Lamian Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Pontifical Oriental Institute: 0.6 mi
  • Celio: 0.6 mi
  • Colosseum: 0.7 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.7 mi
  • Santi Giovanni e Paolo: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.7 mi
  • San Pietro in Vincoli: 0.7 mi
  • Arch of Constantine: 0.7 mi
  • Palatino: 0.8 mi
  • Roman Forum: 0.8 mi
  • Via Sacra: 0.8 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.8 mi
  • Rome Marathon: 0.9 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.9 mi
  • Termini Station: 0.9 mi
  • Basilica di Massenzio: 0.9 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.9 mi
  • Palatine Hill: 0.9 mi
  • House of Augustus: 0.9 mi
  • Santi Cosma e Damiano: 0.9 mi
  • Torre dei Conti: 0.9 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.9 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 1 mi
  • Baths of Caracalla: 1 mi
  • Terme Diocleziano: 1 mi
  • Istituto Europeo di Design: 1 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 1 mi
  • Forum of Augustus: 1 mi
  • Circus Maximus: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Rome: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The bright breakfast hall and the unique American Bar combine original outlines with a charming Roman flavour. Guests can enjoy intense fragrances and Mediterranean aromas in a professional and friendly atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wanderlust couple
New York
Nov 29, 2010

Quiet location

mostly site seeing and eating, the hotel was convenient to the tram and to the metro which basically gets you everywhere you needed to get to. wifi was not accessible to iphones or any computer which uses safari as the main browser hotel room heating/cooling was outside of occupant control...the room was either too warm with the windows shut, or too cold with the windows open (which also led to some mosquitoes....)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Hungary
Oct 29, 2010

Good for the price

Good location,metro was 3 minutes walk. Breakfast was delicious but there is no more eating possibility in the hotel.Stuff was friendly and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Oct 16, 2010

Unfriendly staff

The hotel staff was rude and unhelpful. I was waiting for my luggage to be delivered to the hotel and they would not even call the airline for me. I told them I was having trouble calling out of the hotel and the staff didn't seem to care. On the last day of my stay I was waiting for some family members to pick me up. I was outside under the portico for the hotel when my family called and asked if the staff could let me know they were going to be there a little late. The person at the desk said they could see me through the front door, but they could not or would not deliver the message to me. The unfriendliness alone would make me tell everyone NOT to stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Oct 16, 2010

Unfriendly staff

The hotel staff was rude and unhelpful. I was waiting for my luggage to be delivered to the hotel and they would not even call the airline for me. I told them I was having trouble calling out of the hotel and the staff didn't seem to care. On the last day of my stay I was waiting for some family members to pick me up. I was outside under the portico for the hotel when my family called and asked if the staff could let me know they were going to be there a little late. The person at the desk said they could see me through the front door, but they could not or would not deliver the message to me. The unfriendliness alone would make me tell everyone NOT to stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brooklyn Kat
Brooklyn, NY
Sep 7, 2010

"Lackluter St John"

The Hotel would of been Ok if it was rated as a 2 star. It is definatelly not worth any more stars. My daugter and I booked a room with twin beds - well a twin in this hotel is 2 narrow mattresses together. That is a Queen bed! I love my child - but would of rather had a little distance from her - shice she tosses in the night. The design of the wall headboard prevents separation of the beds. Bad design! Room electronic key: It took 4 trips up and down elevator before the front desk finally got it to work. Security chain - NONE!! Safe - Unoperable - and even if it worked it was tiny. Breakfast - Coffee is by a push button machine - vile! Eggs are powdered. Bacon undercooked and soggy. Pastries, yogurt, cereal are all very good. Location - close to Metro stop. My suggestion would be to get a good bus map - best way to navigate city. This hotel is a bit out of the way from rest of atractions and restaurants. Rome requires a good deal of walking and it would of been nice to have a hotel closer to all the attractions. This place was too far away to come back to for a rest. On Sunday most places are closed in Rome, and it took us a lot of walking to finally locate an open eatery. If you are visiting Rome for the 1st time and do not have a long stay - do not choose this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brooklyn Kat
Brooklyn, NY
Sep 7, 2010

"Lackluter St John"

The Hotel would of been Ok if it was rated as a 2 star. It is definatelly not worth any more stars. My daugter and I booked a room with twin beds - well a twin in this hotel is 2 narrow mattresses together. That is a Queen bed! I love my child - but would of rather had a little distance from her - shice she tosses in the night. The design of the wall headboard prevents separation of the beds. Bad design! Room electronic key: It took 4 trips up and down elevator before the front desk finally got it to work. Security chain - NONE!! Safe - Unoperable - and even if it worked it was tiny. Breakfast - Coffee is by a push button machine - vile! Eggs are powdered. Bacon undercooked and soggy. Pastries, yogurt, cereal are all very good. Location - close to Metro stop. My suggestion would be to get a good bus map - best way to navigate city. This hotel is a bit out of the way from rest of atractions and restaurants. Rome requires a good deal of walking and it would of been nice to have a hotel closer to all the attractions. This place was too far away to come back to for a rest. On Sunday most places are closed in Rome, and it took us a lot of walking to finally locate an open eatery. If you are visiting Rome for the 1st time and do not have a long stay - do not choose this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OMG Rome Rocks
Milton Keynes
Sep 1, 2010

Not as bad as some reviews suggest!

Went to rome with mum, used this hotel as 4*. I am not used to staying in many hotels so I am not sure if it stands to 4* level. Rooms were clean and it wasn't noisy. There was a flatscreen TV and sky channels and air conditioned. More than enough for a roof over your your head at night. Breakfast included in the price. Hot bacon and eggs available along with the usual continental. Also some fresh fruit. Only [*] thing was they tried to charge me for a bottle of water from the mini bar. I argued my point and I didn't get charged.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Please Please Please get a guided tour to the Vatican, St. Peters Basilica and the Sistine Chapel. Its soooo much better when you know what all the paintings mean.

Review of Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Jul 27, 2010

Clean, convenient, an excellent choice

able to visit many sites, excellent location, walking distance to historical sites, shopping and restaurants. would recommend this hotel to all my friends. would have enjoyed a fitness center, however, we were so busy, there would have been little time to use it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

location and quality of hotel were excellent...staff was of great assistance - suggestions, ie restaurants...bus schedules, arranging shuttle service, etc

Review of Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Jul 27, 2010

Clean, convenient, an excellent choice

able to visit many sites, excellent location, walking distance to historical sites, shopping and restaurants. would recommend this hotel to all my friends. would have enjoyed a fitness center, however, we were so busy, there would have been little time to use it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

location and quality of hotel were excellent...staff was of great assistance - suggestions, ie restaurants...bus schedules, arranging shuttle service, etc

Review of Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jcn
Business
Rome, Italy
Jul 4, 2010

No Internet Service

I am in town primarily for business reasons and came to Prima Hotel St John with the expectation of good broad band internet - [...] - it doesn'tWhat use is a great hotel if it has no effective internet service and computer printer.In this case of Prima Hotel Saint John in Rome, there was NO internet service in my room number 218, and the wifi in the lobby was useless because none of the desk help knew the "Network Key" that was required of my laptop to log in.I instead spent my time sloughing off to hot internet cafes that had poor headset reception when making calls over Skype, power failures, noise, electric train static in my headset, etc.I will NOT stay again at Prima Hotel St John for the sole reason of no internet connectivity!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top