$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

4 stars
View map of Via Matteo Boiardo 30, Rome, 00185

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Texas
Apr 23, 2011

A Week in Rome...

The hotel was nice, overall. The majority of the receptionists were warm, welcoming and helpful. [...]lists that this hotel has a restaurant and an airport shuttle; however, this hotel does not have either. The beds are extremely firm and uncomfortable. The shower never stayed a consistent temperature; it randomly went from warm to hot to cold to warm to cold to hot, etc. On a good note, the hotel is close to the train station, the Colosseum, and several restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Houston, Tx
Feb 9, 2011

modern adult gettaway

Clean and attractive from the outside, to the left when you walk in is a classy front desk which is where we were greeted by the concierge [...],he was friendly and helpful (thank you for the directions) The rooms were a fair size for a european hotel, very clean modern style, stand up shower and satellite tv. The breakfast was great, excellent cappuccino, fresh eggs, cheeses, and fruit. The staff was extremely helpful, and friendly. They were more than happy to give us directions, suggestions and make reservations for us. It was just a few blocks from the coliseum, in fact we never used public transportation in the city, we were able to walk from the hotel to the Vatican. In short great hotel great location can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

For an excellent place to walk out go left walk down two blocks and take another left and down a half a block

Review of Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ghost-Traveller
Couples
Liverpool/Merseyside
Dec 6, 2010

great value and good location

This hotel is in a great location if your a good walker,15 minute stroll to the coloseum and if your a good walker and have a good map about 40/50 minutes to the vatican-(take your own map,don't use the tourist maps they don't have enough info on them). STAFF - where busy but helpful. BREAKFAST - not very nice but plenty of it - to expensive 12 euros a day per person - only had it once and once was enough. Walk around hotel area and eat where the locals eat - its alot cheaper and you'll pick abit of the lingo up as well. There's a cheap breakfast bar just around the block and cheap restraunt at the end of the road but be prepeared to try and communicate in Italian or sign language,a little english is spoken by the locals. WATER - if you like bottled water get it from the local groccer its cheaper - expensive in tourist areas. ROOM - very clean and modern, a bit on the small side but has everything you'll need. My room over looked a school yard and sports centre. There is noise from both but if you don't like it a closed window will totally block it out. AREA - felt safe, even at night. OVERALL EXPERIENCE - a great place to mingle with the locals and not far from tourist attrations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Jose, CA
Dec 6, 2010

Nice and clean hotel.

We stayed at this hotel after a cruise trip. Staffs at front desk were very nice & helpful in calling shuttle to the airport and early check-in. Near Metro station and on a quiet street. Breakfast starts at 7:30 AM but we had to leave at 7:00 AM. Room was a little small but that is fine with us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ghost-Traveller
Couples
Liverpool/Merseyside
Dec 6, 2010

great value and good location

This hotel is in a great location if your a good walker,15 minute stroll to the coloseum and if your a good walker and have a good map about 40/50 minutes to the vatican-(take your own map,don't use the tourist maps they don't have enough info on them). STAFF - where busy but helpful. BREAKFAST - not very nice but plenty of it - to expensive 12 euros a day per person - only had it once and once was enough. Walk around hotel area and eat where the locals eat - its alot cheaper and you'll pick abit of the lingo up as well. There's a cheap breakfast bar just around the block and cheap restraunt at the end of the road but be prepeared to try and communicate in Italian or sign language,a little english is spoken by the locals. WATER - if you like bottled water get it from the local groccer its cheaper - expensive in tourist areas. ROOM - very clean and modern, a bit on the small side but has everything you'll need. My room over looked a school yard and sports centre. There is noise from both but if you don't like it a closed window will totally block it out. AREA - felt safe, even at night. OVERALL EXPERIENCE - a great place to mingle with the locals and not far from tourist attrations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
flyldavid
Single
Washington, DC
Dec 2, 2010

Great hotel!

The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was an added welcome bonus. The room size was adequate. The rooms and lobby have a modern and clean look to them and the hotel itself it's as clean as it can get. It drove me a bit crazy that they would change the sheets, BED COVER, towels, etc every single day! With no option to skip a day or two during my 5-day stay. Not very eco-friendly. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is in a good location and a short walk to helpful/key places. The Colosseum, Roman Forum, etc - is a 15 min walk. The closest metro is Mazioni station, which is a 5 minute walk. Roma Termini station is a 20 minute walk.

Review of Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Chicago, IL
Oct 16, 2010

Unfriendly staff

The hotel staff was rude and unhelpful. I was waiting for my luggage to be delivered to the hotel and they would not even call the airline for me. I told them I was having trouble calling out of the hotel and the staff didn't seem to care. On the last day of my stay I was waiting for some family members to pick me up. I was outside under the portico for the hotel when my family called and asked if the staff could let me know they were going to be there a little late. The person at the desk said they could see me through the front door, but they could not or would not deliver the message to me. The unfriendliness alone would make me tell everyone NOT to stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brooklyn Kat
Family
Brooklyn, NY
Sep 7, 2010

"Lackluter St John"

The Hotel would of been Ok if it was rated as a 2 star. It is definatelly not worth any more stars. My daugter and I booked a room with twin beds - well a twin in this hotel is 2 narrow mattresses together. That is a Queen bed! I love my child - but would of rather had a little distance from her - shice she tosses in the night. The design of the wall headboard prevents separation of the beds. Bad design! Room electronic key: It took 4 trips up and down elevator before the front desk finally got it to work. Security chain - NONE!! Safe - Unoperable - and even if it worked it was tiny. Breakfast - Coffee is by a push button machine - vile! Eggs are powdered. Bacon undercooked and soggy. Pastries, yogurt, cereal are all very good. Location - close to Metro stop. My suggestion would be to get a good bus map - best way to navigate city. This hotel is a bit out of the way from rest of atractions and restaurants. Rome requires a good deal of walking and it would of been nice to have a hotel closer to all the attractions. This place was too far away to come back to for a rest. On Sunday most places are closed in Rome, and it took us a lot of walking to finally locate an open eatery. If you are visiting Rome for the 1st time and do not have a long stay - do not choose this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OMG Rome Rocks
Couples
Milton Keynes
Sep 1, 2010

Not as bad as some reviews suggest!

Went to rome with mum, used this hotel as 4*. I am not used to staying in many hotels so I am not sure if it stands to 4* level. Rooms were clean and it wasn't noisy. There was a flatscreen TV and sky channels and air conditioned. More than enough for a roof over your your head at night. Breakfast included in the price. Hot bacon and eggs available along with the usual continental. Also some fresh fruit. Only [*] thing was they tried to charge me for a bottle of water from the mini bar. I argued my point and I didn't get charged.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Please Please Please get a guided tour to the Vatican, St. Peters Basilica and the Sistine Chapel. Its soooo much better when you know what all the paintings mean.

Review of Eurostars Saint John Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OMG Rome Rocks
Couples
Milton Keynes
Sep 1, 2010

Not as bad as some reviews suggest!

Went to rome with mum, used this hotel as 4*. I am not used to staying in many hotels so I am not sure if it stands to 4* level. Rooms were clean and it wasn't noisy. There was a flatscreen TV and sky channels and air conditioned. More than enough for a roof over your your head at night. Breakfast included in the price. Hot bacon and eggs available along with the usual continental. Also some fresh fruit. Only [*] thing was they tried to charge me for a bottle of water from the mini bar. I argued my point and I didn't get charged.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Please Please Please get a guided tour to the Vatican, St. Peters Basilica and the Sistine Chapel. Its soooo much better when you know what all the paintings mean.

Back to menu Return to top