$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

4 stars
Via Archimede, 69, Rome, 00197
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
39 reviews
Just right

We stayed at the Duke for 4 nights. The hotel is excellent. A little out of the way in a quite... See full review

  • Joe's Nani
  • Jul 6, 2013
Cozy hotel in Rome

Hotel is tucked away in a nice hilly suburb; which is not an easy walk to city center. However... See full review

  • NFSHRI
  • Mar 26, 2014
The Duke Hotel is a peaceful, four-star boutique retreat in Rome. The hotel's classically-styled interior is cool and inviting, with high ceilings, wooden floors and stained-glass skylights. Complimentary breakfasts and first-class service from multilingual staff make for a comfortable stay at the Duke. Climb inside the complimentary Mercedes Benz shuttle for a ride to Piazza del Popolo, a historic square in Rome's city center, before returning to dine on seasonal Italian dishes served with creative flair in the on-site restaurant I Duchi.
Key facts
  • 64 guestrooms-including junior, senior and executive suites-plus one apartment suite and one 3-bedroom suite
  • Restaurant: I Duchi
  • Bar
  • 24-hour front desk
  • In-room wellness treatments
  • Business center
  • 5 meeting and function rooms
Neighborhood
The Duke Hotel is just a few minutes' walk from the gorgeous Villa Borghese Park. Stroll through these lovely, landscaped gardens and enjoy the art collection in the Villa Borghese itself, which includes works by Titian, Raphael and Caravaggio. Enjoy the history in which Villa Borghese is steeped - constructed at the beginning of the 17th century for Cardinal Scipione Caffarelli Borghese, nephew of Pope Paul V. The famous Spanish Steps lead off the gardens, and Rome's Zoo is also here, easily reached on foot.
Hints and tips
A complimentary shuttle service leaves from the hotel every half hour or so, but bear in mind that it only seats seven. At busy times, it's advisable to pre-book the shuttle to secure your preferred traveling time.

Spoil yourself with an in-room massage to rejuvenate after a day spent strolling Rome's cobbled streets.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.9234 12.479
Area served
Rome
Nearby airports
Fiumicino International Airport.
Area description
It lies in the heart of the splendid and highly exclusive residential area of Parioli in the centre of Rome. Situated between the urban garden parks of Villa Borghese and Villa Glori. one urban train stop from Piazza del Popolo.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel Rooms

Classic Room
This room offers one twin bed or one double bed along with Air conditioning Alarm clock,Balcony - Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV,Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Mini bar, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Valet service.
Superior Room
This room offers one twin bed or one double bed along with Air conditioning Alarm clock,Balcony - Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV,Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Mini bar, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Valet service.
Family Room (two connecting rooms)
This room offers one twin bed and one double bed along with Air conditioning Alarm clock,Balcony - Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV,Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Mini bar, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Valet service.
Triple Room
Triple rooms are very comfortable and designed in a contemporary Italian style. Many of them feature a balcony. Bathrooms are designed in Siena Italian Marble and most of them have natural day light. Exclusive wooden floor Large Storage space with Safety deposit box. Large Storage space with Safety deposit box. Bed type: King-size or Twin beds Max. number of people 3
Basic Double
16,00 Mq Very comfortable room. Designed in a contemporary Italian Style with Marble Siena bathrooms and exclusive wooden floor. Large Storage space with Safety deposit box. Bed Type: Queen size ( 140 cm.) Max number of adults: 2 " Max number of children: 0

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • National Etruscan Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Flaminio Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Stadio Flaminio: 0.4 mi
  • Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia: 0.4 mi
  • Auditorium Parco della Musica: 0.5 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Moderna: 0.5 mi
  • Parioli: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Bioparco: 0.6 mi
  • Museo Carlo Bilotti: 0.7 mi
  • Museo Nazionale delle Arti del XXI Secolo (MAXXI): 0.7 mi
  • Villa Borghese: 0.8 mi
  • Monte Pincio: 0.8 mi
  • LUISS School of Government: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Maria del Popolo: 0.8 mi
  • National Etruscan Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Flaminio Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Stadio Flaminio: 0.4 mi
  • Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia: 0.4 mi
  • Auditorium Parco della Musica: 0.5 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Moderna: 0.5 mi
  • Parioli: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Bioparco: 0.6 mi
  • Museo Carlo Bilotti: 0.7 mi
  • Museo Nazionale delle Arti del XXI Secolo (MAXXI): 0.7 mi
  • Villa Borghese: 0.8 mi
  • Monte Pincio: 0.8 mi
  • LUISS School of Government: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Maria del Popolo: 0.8 mi
  • Piazza del Popolo: 0.9 mi
  • il Babuino: 0.9 mi
  • Borghese Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • TAD: 1 mi
  • Via Margutta: 1 mi
  • Via del Babuino: 1 mi
  • All Saints' Church: 1 mi
  • Ponte Milvio: 1 mi
  • Bibliotheca Hertziana – Max Planck Institute of Art History: 1.1 mi
  • Mosque of Rome: 1.1 mi
  • Via Veneto area: 1.2 mi
  • Spagna: 1.2 mi
  • Trinita dei Monti: 1.2 mi
  • Via del Corso: 1.2 mi
  • Spanish Steps: 1.2 mi
  • Mausoleum of Augustus: 1.2 mi
  • Fontana della Barcaccia: 1.2 mi
  • Spanish Square: 1.2 mi
  • Villa Ada: 1.2 mi
  • Chiesa Valdese: 1.2 mi
  • Ludovisi: 1.2 mi
  • Piazza di Spagna: 1.2 mi
  • Stadio dei Marmi: 1.3 mi
  • Sallustiano: 1.3 mi
  • Via dei Condotti: 1.3 mi
  • Via Borgognona: 1.3 mi
  • COIN: 1.3 mi
  • Porta Di Roma: 1.3 mi
  • Stadio Olimpico: 1.3 mi
  • Via Frattina: 1.3 mi

Dining

I Duchi
Serves typical Italian dishes together with some low-fat courses.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.5
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kbulltvman
Business
New York
Aug 27, 2014

Comfortable and quaint

The Hotel was quite comfortable and quaint. The shuttle to the piazza was good for our needs, but there was no shuttle to the airport as advertised which was one of the main reasons we booked at the Duke to begin with. Wake up call was requested and not received which could have made us late to catch our flight if we hadn't woke up ourselves. No alarm clock. Breakfast was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NFSHRI
Business
San Jose, California
Mar 26, 2014

Cozy hotel in Rome

Hotel is tucked away in a nice hilly suburb; which is not an easy walk to city center. However hotel provided free shuttle every half an hour or so to the center. There are few scattered restaurant in the area but we have not tried any. Hotel is big old building which is well maintained. Staff are professional overall and spoke fair English. The rooms are air conditioned, but guest cannot control temp. It is either on hot temp in winter/spring or cold in summer. We had to leave the windows open since it got pretty warm in the couple of nights we spent over there. Breakfast buffet was good overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LynseyD
Business
Texas
Jan 26, 2014

Horrible!!!!!!!!

This was by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Before I start I would like to say that most of the staff was extremely helpful and polite. With that being said there were some staff that favor Italian guests. This hotel is advertised as a 4-star hotel, but is maybe the equivalent of a 2-star motel, but has 4-star prices. The bed is as hard as the floor and the sheets feel like cardboard. There is a tiny tv that had 2 English channels. The mini bar is extremely overpriced, and there is no where close to get any snacks/drinks. The dinner options are extremely slim, horrible food and way overpriced. The internet situation is horrible. You have to have an active cell phone that can receive texts, and the code is only good for 24 hours so you have to go through the hassle everyday. If you don't have a cell phone the front desk has to call and that can take up to 2 hours. I would never stay here again or recommend it to anyone. The hotel is really far away from everything. The shuttle is nice to get you to sort of center city, but horrible trying to get back to the hotel. You have to schedule your pickup, but it is hard to know when you are going to be ready to go back to the hotel while you are our exploring the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jas Chandel
Business
Brea, California
Sep 19, 2013

Roman Trip

Nice comfortable hotel conveniently located. The staff was courteous

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe's Nani
Business
West Yorkshire
Jul 6, 2013

Just right

We stayed at the Duke for 4 nights. The hotel is excellent. A little out of the way in a quite region but the hotel offer a free shuttle bus every 30mins to an from the piazza del popolo which is an great base to walk to all sights along some nice shopping street. Plenty of bars/cafe along the route to sit an enjoy. The breakfast in the Duke is very good quite a choice and always replenished regularly. The reception staff are VERY helpful as are all the staff. We found thanks to another persons review an excellent little Neapolitan restaurant just a short walk down the hill on the right. I would recommend the Duke hotel to everyone. You WILL enjoy your stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Neapolitan restaurant down the hill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gav n Daf
Business
Christchurch, Dorset
Jun 26, 2013

Great place to stay

Yes, its 'out of town' but the hotel's 7 seater shuttle solves that, assuming you book it and anyway its not far to walk. Fabulous staff who are really helpful. (They offered to deliver our luggage into town in the shuttle) Liked the quality of the buffet breakfast....prosecco is a nice touch. A room with a veranda or an outdoor seating area would be good. ( :o( Night dress scooped up in the linen and taken off to the laundry. ..still waiting for news of its recovery!! but we would definitely return here)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Book the Shuttle the day before

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sooeepigs
Business
San Antonio, Tx
Jun 3, 2013

Nice place

It was a very nice hotel that was convenient to some places I wanted to see. The breakfast buffet was one of the best I have had - fantastic! We were somewhat disappointed with the lunch menu and times. Since we had just arrived from the states, we primarily used the room to "crash" in before heading off for our cruise the next day. The "common areas" were appointed well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Close to several museums that I walked to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World traveler Jue
Business
New York
May 29, 2013

Anniversary trip

The first room that I was given was not for me. I told the staff at the desk that I was not happy with it. I was then given another and I was very pleased. There was nothing wrong with the first room actually it was larger with an extra window. I had a problem with the view of pipes and a wall. After that it was smooth sailing. The breakfast was awesome , fresh varied, delicious and plentiful. The staff was friendly and willing to help. The computer room was beautiful complete with a shower, sink and toilet! I loved the decor all over the hotel. It had old world feel. Classy and elegant. The shuttle was very convenient just remember to make your reservations. Once you got the hang of it, it's a breeze. I can't wait to return and this is where I will stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rich Jodi N
Business
New York
May 19, 2013

30 year dream: Italy

Our stay at "The Duke" hotel could not have been any better. Everyone was very helpful with helping,directing us to our questions of places to see(even in english). I would love to go back one day. Our 30 year anniversary was a dream come true. Grazie.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The "Eddy" restaurant was the best. A short walk from drop off point. The breakfast buffet at the hotel was also top notch. Truly Italy is full of history and breath taking views -I'm proud of my heritage.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deasun
Business
Berkshire, U.K.
Apr 11, 2013

Good comfortable hotel in quiet location.

Comfortable hotel with good-sized rooms in a quiet location a little bit from the city centre, but the hotel provides a free shuttle bus to the centre and a city bus passes nearby. Staff are efficient, helpful and friendly. Buffet breakfasts are excellent. Overall a very pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A 3-day city transport pass is very useful. Number 52 bus stops nearby and Euclide train station is a short walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top