$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

4 stars
Via Archimede, 69, Rome, 00197
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
39 reviews
Just right

We stayed at the Duke for 4 nights. The hotel is excellent. A little out of the way in a quite... See full review

  • Joe's Nani
  • Jul 6, 2013
Cozy hotel in Rome

Hotel is tucked away in a nice hilly suburb; which is not an easy walk to city center. However... See full review

  • NFSHRI
  • Mar 26, 2014
The Duke Hotel is a peaceful, four-star boutique retreat in Rome. The hotel's classically-styled interior is cool and inviting, with high ceilings, wooden floors and stained-glass skylights. Complimentary breakfasts and first-class service from multilingual staff make for a comfortable stay at the Duke. Climb inside the complimentary Mercedes Benz shuttle for a ride to Piazza del Popolo, a historic square in Rome's city center, before returning to dine on seasonal Italian dishes served with creative flair in the on-site restaurant I Duchi.
Key facts
  • 64 guestrooms-including junior, senior and executive suites-plus one apartment suite and one 3-bedroom suite
  • Restaurant: I Duchi
  • Bar
  • 24-hour front desk
  • In-room wellness treatments
  • Business center
  • 5 meeting and function rooms
Neighborhood
The Duke Hotel is just a few minutes' walk from the gorgeous Villa Borghese Park. Stroll through these lovely, landscaped gardens and enjoy the art collection in the Villa Borghese itself, which includes works by Titian, Raphael and Caravaggio. Enjoy the history in which Villa Borghese is steeped - constructed at the beginning of the 17th century for Cardinal Scipione Caffarelli Borghese, nephew of Pope Paul V. The famous Spanish Steps lead off the gardens, and Rome's Zoo is also here, easily reached on foot.
Hints and tips
A complimentary shuttle service leaves from the hotel every half hour or so, but bear in mind that it only seats seven. At busy times, it's advisable to pre-book the shuttle to secure your preferred traveling time.

Spoil yourself with an in-room massage to rejuvenate after a day spent strolling Rome's cobbled streets.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel Rooms

Classic Room
This room offers one twin bed or one double bed along with Air conditioning Alarm clock,Balcony - Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV,Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Mini bar, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Valet service.
Superior Room
This room offers one twin bed or one double bed along with Air conditioning Alarm clock,Balcony - Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV,Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Mini bar, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Valet service.
Family Room (two connecting rooms)
This room offers one twin bed and one double bed along with Air conditioning Alarm clock,Balcony - Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV,Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Mini bar, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Valet service.
Triple Room
Triple rooms are very comfortable and designed in a contemporary Italian style. Many of them feature a balcony. Bathrooms are designed in Siena Italian Marble and most of them have natural day light. Exclusive wooden floor Large Storage space with Safety deposit box. Large Storage space with Safety deposit box. Bed type: King-size or Twin beds Max. number of people 3
Basic Double
16,00 Mq Very comfortable room. Designed in a contemporary Italian Style with Marble Siena bathrooms and exclusive wooden floor. Large Storage space with Safety deposit box. Bed Type: Queen size ( 140 cm.) Max number of adults: 2 " Max number of children: 0

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • National Etruscan Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Flaminio Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Stadio Flaminio: 0.4 mi
  • Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia: 0.4 mi
  • Auditorium Parco della Musica: 0.5 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Moderna: 0.5 mi
  • Parioli: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Bioparco: 0.6 mi
  • Museo Carlo Bilotti: 0.7 mi
  • Museo Nazionale delle Arti del XXI Secolo (MAXXI): 0.7 mi
  • Villa Borghese: 0.8 mi
  • Monte Pincio: 0.8 mi
  • LUISS School of Government: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Maria del Popolo: 0.8 mi
  • National Etruscan Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Flaminio Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Stadio Flaminio: 0.4 mi
  • Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia: 0.4 mi
  • Auditorium Parco della Musica: 0.5 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Moderna: 0.5 mi
  • Parioli: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Bioparco: 0.6 mi
  • Museo Carlo Bilotti: 0.7 mi
  • Museo Nazionale delle Arti del XXI Secolo (MAXXI): 0.7 mi
  • Villa Borghese: 0.8 mi
  • Monte Pincio: 0.8 mi
  • LUISS School of Government: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Maria del Popolo: 0.8 mi
  • Piazza del Popolo: 0.9 mi
  • il Babuino: 0.9 mi
  • Borghese Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • TAD: 1 mi
  • Via Margutta: 1 mi
  • Via del Babuino: 1 mi
  • All Saints' Church: 1 mi
  • Ponte Milvio: 1 mi
  • Bibliotheca Hertziana – Max Planck Institute of Art History: 1.1 mi
  • Mosque of Rome: 1.1 mi
  • Via Veneto area: 1.2 mi
  • Spagna: 1.2 mi
  • Trinita dei Monti: 1.2 mi
  • Via del Corso: 1.2 mi
  • Spanish Steps: 1.2 mi
  • Mausoleum of Augustus: 1.2 mi
  • Fontana della Barcaccia: 1.2 mi
  • Spanish Square: 1.2 mi
  • Villa Ada: 1.2 mi
  • Chiesa Valdese: 1.2 mi
  • Ludovisi: 1.2 mi
  • Piazza di Spagna: 1.2 mi
  • Stadio dei Marmi: 1.3 mi
  • Sallustiano: 1.3 mi
  • Via dei Condotti: 1.3 mi
  • Via Borgognona: 1.3 mi
  • COIN: 1.3 mi
  • Porta Di Roma: 1.3 mi
  • Stadio Olimpico: 1.3 mi
  • Via Frattina: 1.3 mi

Dining

I Duchi
Serves typical Italian dishes together with some low-fat courses.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.5
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LynseyD
Business
Texas
Jan 26, 2014

Horrible!!!!!!!!

This was by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Before I start I would like to say that most of the staff was extremely helpful and polite. With that being said there were some staff that favor Italian guests. This hotel is advertised as a 4-star hotel, but is maybe the equivalent of a 2-star motel, but has 4-star prices. The bed is as hard as the floor and the sheets feel like cardboard. There is a tiny tv that had 2 English channels. The mini bar is extremely overpriced, and there is no where close to get any snacks/drinks. The dinner options are extremely slim, horrible food and way overpriced. The internet situation is horrible. You have to have an active cell phone that can receive texts, and the code is only good for 24 hours so you have to go through the hassle everyday. If you don't have a cell phone the front desk has to call and that can take up to 2 hours. I would never stay here again or recommend it to anyone. The hotel is really far away from everything. The shuttle is nice to get you to sort of center city, but horrible trying to get back to the hotel. You have to schedule your pickup, but it is hard to know when you are going to be ready to go back to the hotel while you are our exploring the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Europe bound
Business
USA
Sep 23, 2012

Rome Vacation

If this hotel is considered to be a four star hotel, then Econo Lodge and Best Western are luxury resorts. The only thing we are happy about that the hotel didn't have bed bugs. I would not recommend to stay in this hotel if you are expecting a four star experience. And if you stay, then be prepared that after 12 hours of travelling you will be greeted with the news that they don't have any rooms available( even if you already paid for it and requested late check-in), but they will be happy to take you to the different hotel for that night and give you an upgrade the next day which includes cracked bathroom flloor tiles, mold above the toilet and the fancy radio system in the bathroom that doesn't work. Also be prepared that your room will not be cleaned every day. For some reason staff there goes to your room, moves a piles of dirty towels from one corner of the room to another and then chooses to hang "privacy please" on your door without cleaning it. Furthermore, be prepared that 5 minutes there is at least half an hour, and you have to call a couple times before they bring you fresh towels. Two pros this hotel has: Mercedes shuttle that they use to take guests to the center city and employee Luigi who is the only one friendly face there. Also, if you decide to have a breakfast there, be prepared than everything will not be out until 7.30, and the employees would cus you out if you come in at 7( since that's the time breakfast suppose to start). Hotel is located well outside of the city center. Make sure to schedule all your entertaintments around there free shuttle time, otherwise you have to take a taxi, as taking a bus is not a desireable option, unless you enjoy a scary ride by urban bus and then a 10-15 minutes fast uphill looking over your shoulder walk. If you are looking for better option, then check out The River Chateau Hotel. This is the hotel they provided for us the first night and we wish we could stay there for the whole week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Shop early, eat early, as the most places close around 8 p.m.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
I. M.
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 16, 2012

A hotel

Well it was my first time in Rome and what I heard of in regards to hotels I was not expecting anything nice as a matter of fact my friend and I already had it in our heads that it would be delapedated but what we got was a great place to stay. The room we had was small but not uncomfortable the beds are a little stiff but since we both have bad backs we were happy since this was to our advantage and pillows were soft. The bathroom was big and everything worked. The staff was friendly to us just give them time to do their thing if they look busy and they will attend to you in a friendly manner. The hotel is rather north of all tourist activities but that only gives you quiet nights and the shuttle gives you a ride to public transit and the Piazza del Popolo which if you follow the middle street down south you hit the tourist attractions. Over all nice place to stay and had good service at the Duke Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1st Time Romer
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 11, 2012

Not bad for a First Trip to Rome

The Hotel was nice. It was a little older, but well kept and clean. The staff was friendly. There is a tax that is implemented by a new law that charged like $5 a night per person in every hotel in Rome, so expect to pay more when you leave. The Website is nicer than the hotel itself, so don't expect a palace. One thing that was very helpful was the free shuttle to Piazza di Popolo that took avg. 15 minutes to get there (Call concierge at least 30 minutes prior to leaving).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

From Piazza di Popolo the Spanish steps are about 12-15 minutes walking distance and the the Metro is easy to hop on. Buses are free in Rome, so if you are good at Navigating it's really helpful. The Metro is 1 Euro 50 cents for 100 minutes. It takes you basically directly to many popular sites such as the Circus Maximus, Collesum, the Roman Forums, ect. One last thing, From FCO airport they DO NOT have a free ride, which it states. They have a free ride from a different airport. They charge a $65 flat rate to the hotel and $65 back to the airport. It may seem expensive, but it's worth it. From my lack of experience in traveling I got into a black car that didn't say taxi and pay 75 euros once I got to the hotel from the scamming taxi driver. Just get the reliable ride from the Duke and reserve someone to pick you up. p.s. Italian drivers are crazy!! If it's your first time in Rome, don't drive, just walk and have public transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
L. Pasley
Business
California
Sep 20, 2012

4days in Rome

The room was clean over all but I had to ask for air freshener a few times. The internet in the business center didn't work or in my room bad connection. The hotel was a residential type area away from the main areas and the shuttle was not always available at the time you need it considering it could only seat 8. Over all the stay was good staff was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shlasky
Business
Israel
Jan 17, 2013

Not the best value

The Duke Hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood of Rome, not close to the center and the tourist attractions. The hotel offers a free shuttle to the city, but it is quite limited. The staff is very friendly and try to help. The room was not a 4 star hotel room. The room facilities were minimal and fit a 2 star hotel. I expected for better value to my money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kbulltvman
Business
New York
Aug 27, 2014

Comfortable and quaint

The Hotel was quite comfortable and quaint. The shuttle to the piazza was good for our needs, but there was no shuttle to the airport as advertised which was one of the main reasons we booked at the Duke to begin with. Wake up call was requested and not received which could have made us late to catch our flight if we hadn't woke up ourselves. No alarm clock. Breakfast was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
trip to rome
Business
Missouri, USA
Jan 18, 2012

small but nice

the hotel is extremely beautiful and the workers are SUPER nice. It was a great hotel but be aware that the rooms are MUCH much smaller than what we are used to in the US. they are still nice just much smaller. The only real complaint I had was that the beds, when it says two twins or one single, it really means there are two twin beds pushed against each other for a single, not an actually bigger bed. I would still recommend this hotel and they do have a free shuttle service to the city center and a VERY nice helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rome Lover
Business
Bournemouth,UK
Jul 14, 2012

An Excellent Experience

We very very pleasantly suprised how nice the hotel was.. It's close to the centre of Rome and the hotel provides free shuttle. The staff especially,the reception staff excedeed our expectations. Continental breakfast is nice and there's also a pleasant bar. However we went to a wine bar which was few minutes down the road. The only reason they didn't get 5 stars from us is that there is no kettle or iron in the rooms..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

An excellent wine bar called Acquisto Cartasi, a couple of minutes down the road.. Fantastic food,great stuff and amazing cocktails.. Very reasonably priced..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
inlimbo
Business
tampa, florida
Aug 4, 2012

great location

it is in a quiet area away from all the tourist attractions, so it was nice to come back from an all day outing to a peaceful place to rest at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top