$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

4 stars
Via Archimede, 69, Rome, 00197
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
39 reviews
Just right

We stayed at the Duke for 4 nights. The hotel is excellent. A little out of the way in a quite... See full review

  • Joe's Nani
  • Jul 6, 2013
Good comfortable hotel in quiet location.

Comfortable hotel with good-sized rooms in a quiet location a little bit from the city centre, but... See full review

  • Deasun
  • Apr 11, 2013
The Duke Hotel is a peaceful, four-star boutique retreat in Rome. The hotel's classically-styled interior is cool and inviting, with high ceilings, wooden floors and stained-glass skylights. Complimentary breakfasts and first-class service from multilingual staff make for a comfortable stay at the Duke. Climb inside the complimentary Mercedes Benz shuttle for a ride to Piazza del Popolo, a historic square in Rome's city center, before returning to dine on seasonal Italian dishes served with creative flair in the on-site restaurant I Duchi.
Key facts
  • 64 guestrooms-including junior, senior and executive suites-plus one apartment suite and one 3-bedroom suite
  • Restaurant: I Duchi
  • Bar
  • 24-hour front desk
  • In-room wellness treatments
  • Business center
  • 5 meeting and function rooms
Neighborhood
The Duke Hotel is just a few minutes' walk from the gorgeous Villa Borghese Park. Stroll through these lovely, landscaped gardens and enjoy the art collection in the Villa Borghese itself, which includes works by Titian, Raphael and Caravaggio. Enjoy the history in which Villa Borghese is steeped - constructed at the beginning of the 17th century for Cardinal Scipione Caffarelli Borghese, nephew of Pope Paul V. The famous Spanish Steps lead off the gardens, and Rome's Zoo is also here, easily reached on foot.
Hints and tips
A complimentary shuttle service leaves from the hotel every half hour or so, but bear in mind that it only seats seven. At busy times, it's advisable to pre-book the shuttle to secure your preferred traveling time.

Spoil yourself with an in-room massage to rejuvenate after a day spent strolling Rome's cobbled streets.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.9234 12.479
Area served
Rome
Nearby airports
Fiumicino International Airport.
Area description
It lies in the heart of the splendid and highly exclusive residential area of Parioli in the centre of Rome. Situated between the urban garden parks of Villa Borghese and Villa Glori. one urban train stop from Piazza del Popolo.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel Rooms

Classic Room
This room offers one twin bed or one double bed along with Air conditioning Alarm clock,Balcony - Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV,Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Mini bar, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Valet service.
Superior Room
This room offers one twin bed or one double bed along with Air conditioning Alarm clock,Balcony - Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV,Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Mini bar, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Valet service.
Family Room (two connecting rooms)
This room offers one twin bed and one double bed along with Air conditioning Alarm clock,Balcony - Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV,Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Mini bar, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Valet service.
Triple Room
Triple rooms are very comfortable and designed in a contemporary Italian style. Many of them feature a balcony. Bathrooms are designed in Siena Italian Marble and most of them have natural day light. Exclusive wooden floor Large Storage space with Safety deposit box. Large Storage space with Safety deposit box. Bed type: King-size or Twin beds Max. number of people 3
Basic Double
16,00 Mq Very comfortable room. Designed in a contemporary Italian Style with Marble Siena bathrooms and exclusive wooden floor. Large Storage space with Safety deposit box. Bed Type: Queen size ( 140 cm.) Max number of adults: 2 " Max number of children: 0

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • National Etruscan Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Flaminio Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Stadio Flaminio: 0.4 mi
  • Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia: 0.4 mi
  • Auditorium Parco della Musica: 0.5 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Moderna: 0.5 mi
  • Parioli: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Bioparco: 0.6 mi
  • Museo Carlo Bilotti: 0.7 mi
  • Museo Nazionale delle Arti del XXI Secolo (MAXXI): 0.7 mi
  • Villa Borghese: 0.8 mi
  • Monte Pincio: 0.8 mi
  • LUISS School of Government: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Maria del Popolo: 0.8 mi
  • National Etruscan Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Flaminio Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Stadio Flaminio: 0.4 mi
  • Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia: 0.4 mi
  • Auditorium Parco della Musica: 0.5 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Moderna: 0.5 mi
  • Parioli: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Bioparco: 0.6 mi
  • Museo Carlo Bilotti: 0.7 mi
  • Museo Nazionale delle Arti del XXI Secolo (MAXXI): 0.7 mi
  • Villa Borghese: 0.8 mi
  • Monte Pincio: 0.8 mi
  • LUISS School of Government: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Maria del Popolo: 0.8 mi
  • Piazza del Popolo: 0.9 mi
  • il Babuino: 0.9 mi
  • Borghese Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • TAD: 1 mi
  • Via Margutta: 1 mi
  • Via del Babuino: 1 mi
  • All Saints' Church: 1 mi
  • Ponte Milvio: 1 mi
  • Bibliotheca Hertziana – Max Planck Institute of Art History: 1.1 mi
  • Mosque of Rome: 1.1 mi
  • Via Veneto area: 1.2 mi
  • Spagna: 1.2 mi
  • Trinita dei Monti: 1.2 mi
  • Via del Corso: 1.2 mi
  • Spanish Steps: 1.2 mi
  • Mausoleum of Augustus: 1.2 mi
  • Fontana della Barcaccia: 1.2 mi
  • Spanish Square: 1.2 mi
  • Villa Ada: 1.2 mi
  • Chiesa Valdese: 1.2 mi
  • Ludovisi: 1.2 mi
  • Piazza di Spagna: 1.2 mi
  • Stadio dei Marmi: 1.3 mi
  • Sallustiano: 1.3 mi
  • Via dei Condotti: 1.3 mi
  • Via Borgognona: 1.3 mi
  • COIN: 1.3 mi
  • Porta Di Roma: 1.3 mi
  • Stadio Olimpico: 1.3 mi
  • Via Frattina: 1.3 mi

Dining

I Duchi
Serves typical Italian dishes together with some low-fat courses.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 39
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AyjeJ
Rome, Italy
Mar 31, 2012

Great value

I found this hotel to be beyond my expectations. I did not have breakfast, nor used their shuttle service to the centre, but was satisfied with the rest of the service. Would book this hotel during my next visit in Rome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Nearest station is Euclide which is 10 minutes walk from the hotel and is pretty much down the hill. Is recommended to walk if you don't have any luggage. Breakfast time is till 11 which is convenient, however we still didn't get up to eat! There is a carrefour within 5 minutes walk as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jas Chandel
Brea, California
Sep 19, 2013

Roman Trip

Nice comfortable hotel conveniently located. The staff was courteous

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the winner
Amsterdam
Sep 13, 2012

welcome ....

we booked the hotel with late arrival and paid before . receptionist , only one available at 19.00 . He told there was no booking for us , and all rooms where full . Offered an other 4* hotel but we refused . We did not move and made a scene where other guest could be served at that same time . We booked a a room with 2 beds and wrote also an email to their own email address nothing received , he said . There was no manager . We where there 30 minutes and said to other guest you and we paid and we want a room like the others . Then he called a manager but he was out and not at home he called again and then there was a room available with one bed . We accepted it and once in the room we split the beds ourselves made up our beds and fall good a sleep . Next morning apologises from another recepcionist . breakfast very good , much more than only coffee and bread . You could other even cappuccino without extra charge ! Car service to Piazza del Popolo , just call them and tell them your time ! Very friendly drivers . Rooms NOT to small , only for tv you get 5 Italian canals and the rest you have to pay , as far we understood . I recommend this hotel , sure .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mandy and Olga
Corpus Christi, Texas
Oct 5, 2012

Great place to stay

Rooms were small but very clean and comfortable. Balcony was an add-on we didn't expect. Quiet restful place was fun to come to at the end of a busy day walking and sight seeing. Breakfast was the same every day but artfully presented, tasty and plentiful. Took the courtesy van into the city center every day. Even though they give you a schedule for the van, you need to make reservations ahead of time for both way travel otherwise there may not be enough room for you on the 7 sitter van.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy snacks and bottled drinks in town to keep in the room because those provided in the room are pricey.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MarathonMatt
London
Mar 20, 2013

Great experience

Tucked away in a residential bit north of Villa Borghese, it's only one stop to Piazza Popolo and the rest of Rome, and a decent set of restaurants nearby off Piazza Euclide. Rooms were clean and comfortable, staff were great and breakfast top notch. Definite recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Celestina restaurant nearby was fantastic

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
I. M.
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 16, 2012

A hotel

Well it was my first time in Rome and what I heard of in regards to hotels I was not expecting anything nice as a matter of fact my friend and I already had it in our heads that it would be delapedated but what we got was a great place to stay. The room we had was small but not uncomfortable the beds are a little stiff but since we both have bad backs we were happy since this was to our advantage and pillows were soft. The bathroom was big and everything worked. The staff was friendly to us just give them time to do their thing if they look busy and they will attend to you in a friendly manner. The hotel is rather north of all tourist activities but that only gives you quiet nights and the shuttle gives you a ride to public transit and the Piazza del Popolo which if you follow the middle street down south you hit the tourist attractions. Over all nice place to stay and had good service at the Duke Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1st Time Romer
Sacramento, CA
Aug 11, 2012

Not bad for a First Trip to Rome

The Hotel was nice. It was a little older, but well kept and clean. The staff was friendly. There is a tax that is implemented by a new law that charged like $5 a night per person in every hotel in Rome, so expect to pay more when you leave. The Website is nicer than the hotel itself, so don't expect a palace. One thing that was very helpful was the free shuttle to Piazza di Popolo that took avg. 15 minutes to get there (Call concierge at least 30 minutes prior to leaving).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

From Piazza di Popolo the Spanish steps are about 12-15 minutes walking distance and the the Metro is easy to hop on. Buses are free in Rome, so if you are good at Navigating it's really helpful. The Metro is 1 Euro 50 cents for 100 minutes. It takes you basically directly to many popular sites such as the Circus Maximus, Collesum, the Roman Forums, ect. One last thing, From FCO airport they DO NOT have a free ride, which it states. They have a free ride from a different airport. They charge a $65 flat rate to the hotel and $65 back to the airport. It may seem expensive, but it's worth it. From my lack of experience in traveling I got into a black car that didn't say taxi and pay 75 euros once I got to the hotel from the scamming taxi driver. Just get the reliable ride from the Duke and reserve someone to pick you up. p.s. Italian drivers are crazy!! If it's your first time in Rome, don't drive, just walk and have public transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search