$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2014 Check-out: Jul 27, 2014

Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

4 stars
Via Archimede, 69, Rome, 00197
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
39 reviews
Just right

We stayed at the Duke for 4 nights. The hotel is excellent. A little out of the way in a quite... See full review

  • Joe's Nani
  • Jul 6, 2013
Good comfortable hotel in quiet location.

Comfortable hotel with good-sized rooms in a quiet location a little bit from the city centre, but... See full review

  • Deasun
  • Apr 11, 2013
The Duke Hotel is a peaceful, four-star boutique retreat in Rome. The hotel's classically-styled interior is cool and inviting, with high ceilings, wooden floors and stained-glass skylights. Complimentary breakfasts and first-class service from multilingual staff make for a comfortable stay at the Duke. Climb inside the complimentary Mercedes Benz shuttle for a ride to Piazza del Popolo, a historic square in Rome's city center, before returning to dine on seasonal Italian dishes served with creative flair in the on-site restaurant I Duchi.
Key facts
  • 64 guestrooms-including junior, senior and executive suites-plus one apartment suite and one 3-bedroom suite
  • Restaurant: I Duchi
  • Bar
  • 24-hour front desk
  • In-room wellness treatments
  • Business center
  • 5 meeting and function rooms
Neighborhood
The Duke Hotel is just a few minutes' walk from the gorgeous Villa Borghese Park. Stroll through these lovely, landscaped gardens and enjoy the art collection in the Villa Borghese itself, which includes works by Titian, Raphael and Caravaggio. Enjoy the history in which Villa Borghese is steeped - constructed at the beginning of the 17th century for Cardinal Scipione Caffarelli Borghese, nephew of Pope Paul V. The famous Spanish Steps lead off the gardens, and Rome's Zoo is also here, easily reached on foot.
Hints and tips
A complimentary shuttle service leaves from the hotel every half hour or so, but bear in mind that it only seats seven. At busy times, it's advisable to pre-book the shuttle to secure your preferred traveling time.

Spoil yourself with an in-room massage to rejuvenate after a day spent strolling Rome's cobbled streets.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.9234 12.479
Area served
Rome
Nearby airports
Fiumicino International Airport.
Area description
It lies in the heart of the splendid and highly exclusive residential area of Parioli in the centre of Rome. Situated between the urban garden parks of Villa Borghese and Villa Glori. one urban train stop from Piazza del Popolo.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel Rooms

Classic Room
This room offers one twin bed or one double bed along with Air conditioning Alarm clock,Balcony - Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV,Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Mini bar, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Valet service.
Superior Room
This room offers one twin bed or one double bed along with Air conditioning Alarm clock,Balcony - Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV,Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Mini bar, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Valet service.
Family Room (two connecting rooms)
This room offers one twin bed and one double bed along with Air conditioning Alarm clock,Balcony - Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV,Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Mini bar, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Valet service.
Triple Room
Triple rooms are very comfortable and designed in a contemporary Italian style. Many of them feature a balcony. Bathrooms are designed in Siena Italian Marble and most of them have natural day light. Exclusive wooden floor Large Storage space with Safety deposit box. Large Storage space with Safety deposit box. Bed type: King-size or Twin beds Max. number of people 3
Basic Double
16,00 Mq Very comfortable room. Designed in a contemporary Italian Style with Marble Siena bathrooms and exclusive wooden floor. Large Storage space with Safety deposit box. Bed Type: Queen size ( 140 cm.) Max number of adults: 2 " Max number of children: 0

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • National Etruscan Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Flaminio Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Stadio Flaminio: 0.4 mi
  • Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia: 0.4 mi
  • Auditorium Parco della Musica: 0.5 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Moderna: 0.5 mi
  • Parioli: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Bioparco: 0.6 mi
  • Museo Carlo Bilotti: 0.7 mi
  • Museo Nazionale delle Arti del XXI Secolo (MAXXI): 0.7 mi
  • Villa Borghese: 0.8 mi
  • Monte Pincio: 0.8 mi
  • LUISS School of Government: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Maria del Popolo: 0.8 mi
  • National Etruscan Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Flaminio Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Stadio Flaminio: 0.4 mi
  • Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia: 0.4 mi
  • Auditorium Parco della Musica: 0.5 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Moderna: 0.5 mi
  • Parioli: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Bioparco: 0.6 mi
  • Museo Carlo Bilotti: 0.7 mi
  • Museo Nazionale delle Arti del XXI Secolo (MAXXI): 0.7 mi
  • Villa Borghese: 0.8 mi
  • Monte Pincio: 0.8 mi
  • LUISS School of Government: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Maria del Popolo: 0.8 mi
  • Piazza del Popolo: 0.9 mi
  • il Babuino: 0.9 mi
  • Borghese Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • TAD: 1 mi
  • Via Margutta: 1 mi
  • Via del Babuino: 1 mi
  • All Saints' Church: 1 mi
  • Ponte Milvio: 1 mi
  • Bibliotheca Hertziana – Max Planck Institute of Art History: 1.1 mi
  • Mosque of Rome: 1.1 mi
  • Via Veneto area: 1.2 mi
  • Spagna: 1.2 mi
  • Trinita dei Monti: 1.2 mi
  • Via del Corso: 1.2 mi
  • Spanish Steps: 1.2 mi
  • Mausoleum of Augustus: 1.2 mi
  • Fontana della Barcaccia: 1.2 mi
  • Spanish Square: 1.2 mi
  • Villa Ada: 1.2 mi
  • Chiesa Valdese: 1.2 mi
  • Ludovisi: 1.2 mi
  • Piazza di Spagna: 1.2 mi
  • Stadio dei Marmi: 1.3 mi
  • Sallustiano: 1.3 mi
  • Via dei Condotti: 1.3 mi
  • Via Borgognona: 1.3 mi
  • COIN: 1.3 mi
  • Porta Di Roma: 1.3 mi
  • Stadio Olimpico: 1.3 mi
  • Via Frattina: 1.3 mi

Dining

I Duchi
Serves typical Italian dishes together with some low-fat courses.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.5
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moto Girlie
Battle Ground, WA
Oct 9, 2012

Overall it was great.

My only complaint is the bed was hard as a rock. I don't know if all rooms are that way (I didn't ask to switch rooms) but the room I stayed in had a board for a mattress. The location was not the best either. On the upside though, they had free shuttle rides to City Center that made the location acceptable. The location sits on top of a hill in a residential area so there aren't any restaurants or attractions anywhere close. The staff was GREAT and the room was beautiful. I would stay here again, for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rich Jodi N
New York
May 19, 2013

30 year dream: Italy

Our stay at "The Duke" hotel could not have been any better. Everyone was very helpful with helping,directing us to our questions of places to see(even in english). I would love to go back one day. Our 30 year anniversary was a dream come true. Grazie.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The "Eddy" restaurant was the best. A short walk from drop off point. The breakfast buffet at the hotel was also top notch. Truly Italy is full of history and breath taking views -I'm proud of my heritage.

Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mandy and Olga
Corpus Christi, Texas
Oct 5, 2012

Great place to stay

Rooms were small but very clean and comfortable. Balcony was an add-on we didn't expect. Quiet restful place was fun to come to at the end of a busy day walking and sight seeing. Breakfast was the same every day but artfully presented, tasty and plentiful. Took the courtesy van into the city center every day. Even though they give you a schedule for the van, you need to make reservations ahead of time for both way travel otherwise there may not be enough room for you on the 7 sitter van.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy snacks and bottled drinks in town to keep in the room because those provided in the room are pricey.

Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MarathonMatt
London
Mar 20, 2013

Great experience

Tucked away in a residential bit north of Villa Borghese, it's only one stop to Piazza Popolo and the rest of Rome, and a decent set of restaurants nearby off Piazza Euclide. Rooms were clean and comfortable, staff were great and breakfast top notch. Definite recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Celestina restaurant nearby was fantastic

Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
inlimbo
tampa, florida
Aug 4, 2012

great location

it is in a quiet area away from all the tourist attractions, so it was nice to come back from an all day outing to a peaceful place to rest at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sooeepigs
San Antonio, Tx
Jun 3, 2013

Nice place

It was a very nice hotel that was convenient to some places I wanted to see. The breakfast buffet was one of the best I have had - fantastic! We were somewhat disappointed with the lunch menu and times. Since we had just arrived from the states, we primarily used the room to "crash" in before heading off for our cruise the next day. The "common areas" were appointed well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Close to several museums that I walked to.

Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tengin
Essex, uk
Sep 29, 2012

nice hotel

Great hotel unfortunately on 1st night, informed that reservation was cancelled, hotel error. Alternative hotel provided for 1st night and offered complimentary 3 course meal. Collected from tempory hotel and stayed for the next 3 nights. Good breakfast and pleasant staff. Perhaps an error on the reservation by the hotel but another couple had the same problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adriaen
Washington, DC
Mar 30, 2011

Great Hotel in Quiet Area

This elegant hotel in a quieter, residential area of Rome is a great value. Helpful, kind, and attentive staff helped make for a great stay. The hotel provides shuttle service to Piazza del Popolo, next to the Flaminion Metro station, and so the location about a half mile away from the tourist area of Rome was no issue at all. Although the beds were a little harder than necessary, the large all-marble bathrooms made for a comfortable stay. My family had a great time in Rome and the hotel helped enhance our experience. A special thanks to [...] and the front desk staff for a wonderful time. Keep up the good work and arrivederci!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the shuttle to get to Piazza del Popolo. Locate a Tabachi or other store that sells the Roma Pass for 25 Euros per pass which gets you two free entries to various sites (e.g. Colisseum, Palatine Hill, other national museums that otherwise charge entry fees) plus three days of unlimited rides on Metro, buses, and downtown rail.

Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gav n Daf
Christchurch, Dorset
Jun 26, 2013

Great place to stay

Yes, its 'out of town' but the hotel's 7 seater shuttle solves that, assuming you book it and anyway its not far to walk. Fabulous staff who are really helpful. (They offered to deliver our luggage into town in the shuttle) Liked the quality of the buffet breakfast....prosecco is a nice touch. A room with a veranda or an outdoor seating area would be good. ( :o( Night dress scooped up in the linen and taken off to the laundry. ..still waiting for news of its recovery!! but we would definitely return here)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Book the Shuttle the day before

Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matt Photo
Atlanta, GA
Oct 28, 2012

Much larger room than we expected

My wife and I were anticipating a smaller "European" hotel room, but we were blown away by the size of our "superior double" room. The room was a nice size with a balcony and a large bathroom. The closet was enormous! We enjoyed our stay and found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. One of the shuttle drivers - Luigi - was great! The shuttle to the Piazza del Popolo was great for getting closer to the city, but having to reserve a shuttle back to the hotel could be inconvenient for some. We ended up buying a cheap cell phone in Italy so that we could call and request the shuttle at whatever time suited us instead of having to make the reservation in advance and potentially feel rushed to make it back to the piazza at the end of the day. Although there's nothing to prevent somebody from going back and forth between the hotel and the piazza throughout the day, it doesn't seem like the best use of time. We found it best to leave the hotel with plans to stay out for most of the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Pick up a Roma Pass at the Tourist Information office at the airport to skip the line to see the Colosseum. The pass also grants free access to Rome's public transit system. I haven't done the math to tell whether or not we actually saved any money with the pass, but it definitely saved us a ton of time.

Back to menu Return to top