$86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

4 stars
Via Archimede, 69, Rome, 00197
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
39 reviews
Just right

We stayed at the Duke for 4 nights. The hotel is excellent. A little out of the way in a quite... See full review

  • Joe's Nani
  • Jul 6, 2013
Cozy hotel in Rome

Hotel is tucked away in a nice hilly suburb; which is not an easy walk to city center. However... See full review

  • NFSHRI
  • Mar 26, 2014
The Duke Hotel is a peaceful, four-star boutique retreat in Rome. The hotel's classically-styled interior is cool and inviting, with high ceilings, wooden floors and stained-glass skylights. Complimentary breakfasts and first-class service from multilingual staff make for a comfortable stay at the Duke. Climb inside the complimentary Mercedes Benz shuttle for a ride to Piazza del Popolo, a historic square in Rome's city center, before returning to dine on seasonal Italian dishes served with creative flair in the on-site restaurant I Duchi.
Key facts
  • 64 guestrooms-including junior, senior and executive suites-plus one apartment suite and one 3-bedroom suite
  • Restaurant: I Duchi
  • Bar
  • 24-hour front desk
  • In-room wellness treatments
  • Business center
  • 5 meeting and function rooms
Neighborhood
The Duke Hotel is just a few minutes' walk from the gorgeous Villa Borghese Park. Stroll through these lovely, landscaped gardens and enjoy the art collection in the Villa Borghese itself, which includes works by Titian, Raphael and Caravaggio. Enjoy the history in which Villa Borghese is steeped - constructed at the beginning of the 17th century for Cardinal Scipione Caffarelli Borghese, nephew of Pope Paul V. The famous Spanish Steps lead off the gardens, and Rome's Zoo is also here, easily reached on foot.
Hints and tips
A complimentary shuttle service leaves from the hotel every half hour or so, but bear in mind that it only seats seven. At busy times, it's advisable to pre-book the shuttle to secure your preferred traveling time.

Spoil yourself with an in-room massage to rejuvenate after a day spent strolling Rome's cobbled streets.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel Rooms

Classic Room
This room offers one twin bed or one double bed along with Air conditioning Alarm clock,Balcony - Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV,Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Mini bar, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Valet service.
Superior Room
This room offers one twin bed or one double bed along with Air conditioning Alarm clock,Balcony - Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV,Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Mini bar, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Valet service.
Family Room (two connecting rooms)
This room offers one twin bed and one double bed along with Air conditioning Alarm clock,Balcony - Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV,Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Mini bar, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Valet service.
Triple Room
Triple rooms are very comfortable and designed in a contemporary Italian style. Many of them feature a balcony. Bathrooms are designed in Siena Italian Marble and most of them have natural day light. Exclusive wooden floor Large Storage space with Safety deposit box. Large Storage space with Safety deposit box. Bed type: King-size or Twin beds Max. number of people 3
Basic Double
16,00 Mq Very comfortable room. Designed in a contemporary Italian Style with Marble Siena bathrooms and exclusive wooden floor. Large Storage space with Safety deposit box. Bed Type: Queen size ( 140 cm.) Max number of adults: 2 " Max number of children: 0

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • National Etruscan Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Flaminio Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Stadio Flaminio: 0.4 mi
  • Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia: 0.4 mi
  • Auditorium Parco della Musica: 0.5 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Moderna: 0.5 mi
  • Parioli: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Bioparco: 0.6 mi
  • Museo Carlo Bilotti: 0.7 mi
  • Museo Nazionale delle Arti del XXI Secolo (MAXXI): 0.7 mi
  • Villa Borghese: 0.8 mi
  • Monte Pincio: 0.8 mi
  • LUISS School of Government: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Maria del Popolo: 0.8 mi
  • National Etruscan Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Flaminio Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Stadio Flaminio: 0.4 mi
  • Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia: 0.4 mi
  • Auditorium Parco della Musica: 0.5 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Moderna: 0.5 mi
  • Parioli: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Bioparco: 0.6 mi
  • Museo Carlo Bilotti: 0.7 mi
  • Museo Nazionale delle Arti del XXI Secolo (MAXXI): 0.7 mi
  • Villa Borghese: 0.8 mi
  • Monte Pincio: 0.8 mi
  • LUISS School of Government: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Maria del Popolo: 0.8 mi
  • Piazza del Popolo: 0.9 mi
  • il Babuino: 0.9 mi
  • Borghese Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • TAD: 1 mi
  • Via Margutta: 1 mi
  • Via del Babuino: 1 mi
  • All Saints' Church: 1 mi
  • Ponte Milvio: 1 mi
  • Bibliotheca Hertziana – Max Planck Institute of Art History: 1.1 mi
  • Mosque of Rome: 1.1 mi
  • Via Veneto area: 1.2 mi
  • Spagna: 1.2 mi
  • Trinita dei Monti: 1.2 mi
  • Via del Corso: 1.2 mi
  • Spanish Steps: 1.2 mi
  • Mausoleum of Augustus: 1.2 mi
  • Fontana della Barcaccia: 1.2 mi
  • Spanish Square: 1.2 mi
  • Villa Ada: 1.2 mi
  • Chiesa Valdese: 1.2 mi
  • Ludovisi: 1.2 mi
  • Piazza di Spagna: 1.2 mi
  • Stadio dei Marmi: 1.3 mi
  • Sallustiano: 1.3 mi
  • Via dei Condotti: 1.3 mi
  • Via Borgognona: 1.3 mi
  • COIN: 1.3 mi
  • Porta Di Roma: 1.3 mi
  • Stadio Olimpico: 1.3 mi
  • Via Frattina: 1.3 mi

Dining

I Duchi
Serves typical Italian dishes together with some low-fat courses.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.5
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe's Nani
Business
West Yorkshire
Jul 6, 2013

Just right

We stayed at the Duke for 4 nights. The hotel is excellent. A little out of the way in a quite region but the hotel offer a free shuttle bus every 30mins to an from the piazza del popolo which is an great base to walk to all sights along some nice shopping street. Plenty of bars/cafe along the route to sit an enjoy. The breakfast in the Duke is very good quite a choice and always replenished regularly. The reception staff are VERY helpful as are all the staff. We found thanks to another persons review an excellent little Neapolitan restaurant just a short walk down the hill on the right. I would recommend the Duke hotel to everyone. You WILL enjoy your stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Neapolitan restaurant down the hill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
trip to rome
Business
Missouri, USA
Jan 18, 2012

small but nice

the hotel is extremely beautiful and the workers are SUPER nice. It was a great hotel but be aware that the rooms are MUCH much smaller than what we are used to in the US. they are still nice just much smaller. The only real complaint I had was that the beds, when it says two twins or one single, it really means there are two twin beds pushed against each other for a single, not an actually bigger bed. I would still recommend this hotel and they do have a free shuttle service to the city center and a VERY nice helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rome Lover
Business
Bournemouth,UK
Jul 14, 2012

An Excellent Experience

We very very pleasantly suprised how nice the hotel was.. It's close to the centre of Rome and the hotel provides free shuttle. The staff especially,the reception staff excedeed our expectations. Continental breakfast is nice and there's also a pleasant bar. However we went to a wine bar which was few minutes down the road. The only reason they didn't get 5 stars from us is that there is no kettle or iron in the rooms..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

An excellent wine bar called Acquisto Cartasi, a couple of minutes down the road.. Fantastic food,great stuff and amazing cocktails.. Very reasonably priced..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
inlimbo
Business
tampa, florida
Aug 4, 2012

great location

it is in a quiet area away from all the tourist attractions, so it was nice to come back from an all day outing to a peaceful place to rest at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the winner
Business
Amsterdam
Sep 13, 2012

welcome ....

we booked the hotel with late arrival and paid before . receptionist , only one available at 19.00 . He told there was no booking for us , and all rooms where full . Offered an other 4* hotel but we refused . We did not move and made a scene where other guest could be served at that same time . We booked a a room with 2 beds and wrote also an email to their own email address nothing received , he said . There was no manager . We where there 30 minutes and said to other guest you and we paid and we want a room like the others . Then he called a manager but he was out and not at home he called again and then there was a room available with one bed . We accepted it and once in the room we split the beds ourselves made up our beds and fall good a sleep . Next morning apologises from another recepcionist . breakfast very good , much more than only coffee and bread . You could other even cappuccino without extra charge ! Car service to Piazza del Popolo , just call them and tell them your time ! Very friendly drivers . Rooms NOT to small , only for tv you get 5 Italian canals and the rest you have to pay , as far we understood . I recommend this hotel , sure .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larry from Waco
Business
Waco,TX
Sep 17, 2012

Very nice and close to city center.

The staff was very helpful and the food was good. No local restaurants that we could find in the neighood but the food in the hotel was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the shuttle service provided by the hotel. It is free, dependable and convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tengin
Business
Essex, uk
Sep 29, 2012

nice hotel

Great hotel unfortunately on 1st night, informed that reservation was cancelled, hotel error. Alternative hotel provided for 1st night and offered complimentary 3 course meal. Collected from tempory hotel and stayed for the next 3 nights. Good breakfast and pleasant staff. Perhaps an error on the reservation by the hotel but another couple had the same problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mandy and Olga
Business
Corpus Christi, Texas
Oct 5, 2012

Great place to stay

Rooms were small but very clean and comfortable. Balcony was an add-on we didn't expect. Quiet restful place was fun to come to at the end of a busy day walking and sight seeing. Breakfast was the same every day but artfully presented, tasty and plentiful. Took the courtesy van into the city center every day. Even though they give you a schedule for the van, you need to make reservations ahead of time for both way travel otherwise there may not be enough room for you on the 7 sitter van.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy snacks and bottled drinks in town to keep in the room because those provided in the room are pricey.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moto Girlie
Business
Battle Ground, WA
Oct 9, 2012

Overall it was great.

My only complaint is the bed was hard as a rock. I don't know if all rooms are that way (I didn't ask to switch rooms) but the room I stayed in had a board for a mattress. The location was not the best either. On the upside though, they had free shuttle rides to City Center that made the location acceptable. The location sits on top of a hill in a residential area so there aren't any restaurants or attractions anywhere close. The staff was GREAT and the room was beautiful. I would stay here again, for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matt Photo
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 28, 2012

Much larger room than we expected

My wife and I were anticipating a smaller "European" hotel room, but we were blown away by the size of our "superior double" room. The room was a nice size with a balcony and a large bathroom. The closet was enormous! We enjoyed our stay and found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. One of the shuttle drivers - Luigi - was great! The shuttle to the Piazza del Popolo was great for getting closer to the city, but having to reserve a shuttle back to the hotel could be inconvenient for some. We ended up buying a cheap cell phone in Italy so that we could call and request the shuttle at whatever time suited us instead of having to make the reservation in advance and potentially feel rushed to make it back to the piazza at the end of the day. Although there's nothing to prevent somebody from going back and forth between the hotel and the piazza throughout the day, it doesn't seem like the best use of time. We found it best to leave the hotel with plans to stay out for most of the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Pick up a Roma Pass at the Tourist Information office at the airport to skip the line to see the Colosseum. The pass also grants free access to Rome's public transit system. I haven't done the math to tell whether or not we actually saved any money with the pass, but it definitely saved us a ton of time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top