$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

4 stars
Via Archimede, 69, Rome, 00197
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
39 reviews
Just right

We stayed at the Duke for 4 nights. The hotel is excellent. A little out of the way in a quite... See full review

  • Joe's Nani
  • Jul 6, 2013
Good comfortable hotel in quiet location.

Comfortable hotel with good-sized rooms in a quiet location a little bit from the city centre, but... See full review

  • Deasun
  • Apr 11, 2013
The Duke Hotel is a peaceful, four-star boutique retreat in Rome. The hotel's classically-styled interior is cool and inviting, with high ceilings, wooden floors and stained-glass skylights. Complimentary breakfasts and first-class service from multilingual staff make for a comfortable stay at the Duke. Climb inside the complimentary Mercedes Benz shuttle for a ride to Piazza del Popolo, a historic square in Rome's city center, before returning to dine on seasonal Italian dishes served with creative flair in the on-site restaurant I Duchi.
Key facts
  • 64 guestrooms-including junior, senior and executive suites-plus one apartment suite and one 3-bedroom suite
  • Restaurant: I Duchi
  • Bar
  • 24-hour front desk
  • In-room wellness treatments
  • Business center
  • 5 meeting and function rooms
Neighborhood
The Duke Hotel is just a few minutes' walk from the gorgeous Villa Borghese Park. Stroll through these lovely, landscaped gardens and enjoy the art collection in the Villa Borghese itself, which includes works by Titian, Raphael and Caravaggio. Enjoy the history in which Villa Borghese is steeped - constructed at the beginning of the 17th century for Cardinal Scipione Caffarelli Borghese, nephew of Pope Paul V. The famous Spanish Steps lead off the gardens, and Rome's Zoo is also here, easily reached on foot.
Hints and tips
A complimentary shuttle service leaves from the hotel every half hour or so, but bear in mind that it only seats seven. At busy times, it's advisable to pre-book the shuttle to secure your preferred traveling time.

Spoil yourself with an in-room massage to rejuvenate after a day spent strolling Rome's cobbled streets.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.9234 12.479
Area served
Rome
Nearby airports
Fiumicino International Airport.
Area description
It lies in the heart of the splendid and highly exclusive residential area of Parioli in the centre of Rome. Situated between the urban garden parks of Villa Borghese and Villa Glori. one urban train stop from Piazza del Popolo.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel Rooms

Classic Room
This room offers one twin bed or one double bed along with Air conditioning Alarm clock,Balcony - Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV,Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Mini bar, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Valet service.
Superior Room
This room offers one twin bed or one double bed along with Air conditioning Alarm clock,Balcony - Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV,Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Mini bar, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Valet service.
Family Room (two connecting rooms)
This room offers one twin bed and one double bed along with Air conditioning Alarm clock,Balcony - Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV,Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Mini bar, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Valet service.
Triple Room
Triple rooms are very comfortable and designed in a contemporary Italian style. Many of them feature a balcony. Bathrooms are designed in Siena Italian Marble and most of them have natural day light. Exclusive wooden floor Large Storage space with Safety deposit box. Large Storage space with Safety deposit box. Bed type: King-size or Twin beds Max. number of people 3
Basic Double
16,00 Mq Very comfortable room. Designed in a contemporary Italian Style with Marble Siena bathrooms and exclusive wooden floor. Large Storage space with Safety deposit box. Bed Type: Queen size ( 140 cm.) Max number of adults: 2 " Max number of children: 0

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • National Etruscan Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Flaminio Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Stadio Flaminio: 0.4 mi
  • Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia: 0.4 mi
  • Auditorium Parco della Musica: 0.5 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Moderna: 0.5 mi
  • Parioli: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Bioparco: 0.6 mi
  • Museo Carlo Bilotti: 0.7 mi
  • Museo Nazionale delle Arti del XXI Secolo (MAXXI): 0.7 mi
  • Villa Borghese: 0.8 mi
  • Monte Pincio: 0.8 mi
  • LUISS School of Government: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Maria del Popolo: 0.8 mi
  • National Etruscan Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Flaminio Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Stadio Flaminio: 0.4 mi
  • Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia: 0.4 mi
  • Auditorium Parco della Musica: 0.5 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Moderna: 0.5 mi
  • Parioli: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Bioparco: 0.6 mi
  • Museo Carlo Bilotti: 0.7 mi
  • Museo Nazionale delle Arti del XXI Secolo (MAXXI): 0.7 mi
  • Villa Borghese: 0.8 mi
  • Monte Pincio: 0.8 mi
  • LUISS School of Government: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Maria del Popolo: 0.8 mi
  • Piazza del Popolo: 0.9 mi
  • il Babuino: 0.9 mi
  • Borghese Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • TAD: 1 mi
  • Via Margutta: 1 mi
  • Via del Babuino: 1 mi
  • All Saints' Church: 1 mi
  • Ponte Milvio: 1 mi
  • Bibliotheca Hertziana – Max Planck Institute of Art History: 1.1 mi
  • Mosque of Rome: 1.1 mi
  • Via Veneto area: 1.2 mi
  • Spagna: 1.2 mi
  • Trinita dei Monti: 1.2 mi
  • Via del Corso: 1.2 mi
  • Spanish Steps: 1.2 mi
  • Mausoleum of Augustus: 1.2 mi
  • Fontana della Barcaccia: 1.2 mi
  • Spanish Square: 1.2 mi
  • Villa Ada: 1.2 mi
  • Chiesa Valdese: 1.2 mi
  • Ludovisi: 1.2 mi
  • Piazza di Spagna: 1.2 mi
  • Stadio dei Marmi: 1.3 mi
  • Sallustiano: 1.3 mi
  • Via dei Condotti: 1.3 mi
  • Via Borgognona: 1.3 mi
  • COIN: 1.3 mi
  • Porta Di Roma: 1.3 mi
  • Stadio Olimpico: 1.3 mi
  • Via Frattina: 1.3 mi

Dining

I Duchi
Serves typical Italian dishes together with some low-fat courses.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.5
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MoBDick
Cape Coral, Fl
May 20, 2012

Great out the way destination

We love the amenities, large beautiful room with balcony, great breakfast buffet and no-problem shuttle any time we wanted to go to the City Center. We stayed six nights so we got a good feel for the hotel and it surpassed our every expectation. I would stay there again. Nice little grocery and reasonably priced food places within walking distance to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a few nice places to eat in the area or go into the city and find any price range you want withing walking distace to City Center which is reached by the very convenient shuttle

Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beryl
Cumbria, UK
Sep 26, 2012

Peaceful get-away after a busy day's sightseeing

A delightful hotel away from the hustle and bustle. The desk staff were very able and willing to deal with problems. Under Location we have put "needs that something special" - well, it has it, a free shuttle service every half hour down to where the action starts. We only ate in the hotel the evening of our arrival and two of four of us didn't enjoy the experience but the breakfasts were fantastic, even bacon and scrambled egg at no extra cost. We got an exceptionally good deal at this hotel and would rate it very highly as excellent value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you happen to have a disabled badge do take it with you, it will entitle you and your carer to free admission to the Vatican Museum, the Ville d'Este and all publicly-owned buildings.

Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
deisy
London
Jul 21, 2012

very good

I have woundrefull time and good service from the hotel .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yael Weizman
Hollywood, FLORIDA
Oct 17, 2012

fantastic getaway

it was very good hotel, very good breakfast. far from the city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe's Nani
West Yorkshire
Jul 6, 2013

Just right

We stayed at the Duke for 4 nights. The hotel is excellent. A little out of the way in a quite region but the hotel offer a free shuttle bus every 30mins to an from the piazza del popolo which is an great base to walk to all sights along some nice shopping street. Plenty of bars/cafe along the route to sit an enjoy. The breakfast in the Duke is very good quite a choice and always replenished regularly. The reception staff are VERY helpful as are all the staff. We found thanks to another persons review an excellent little Neapolitan restaurant just a short walk down the hill on the right. I would recommend the Duke hotel to everyone. You WILL enjoy your stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Neapolitan restaurant down the hill.

Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rick from Seattle
Seattle, WA
May 25, 2012

I really enjoyed staying at the Duke Hotel

It's located a bit north of downtown Rome, but they provide a free shuttle to Piazza del Popolo. The free breakfast was much better than I expected, and the staff was always friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay there again, and would feel comfortable recommending this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The free shuttle to Piazza del Popolo puts you within walking distance of many of the tourist sites. It runs every 1/2 hour.

Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
30 year anniversary trip
seattle wa
Oct 12, 2012

A great hotel stay

The Duke Hotel is truly a 4 star hotel. The staff was very helpful, we don't speak Italian and it did not seem to matter-their english is great. The hotel offers a breakfast that is wonderful and truly 4 star. They offer a shuttle to the city center, which is quite a walk (about 1 and a half miles) We walked it but if you want to take advantage of the shuttle, you need to reserve at the front desk as it only seats 7. The hotel is quite as it is set in a residential area. There is a grocery store a 10 minute walk from the hotel. All in all I would recommend this hotel to friends and family!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HeelBacker
Fort Myers, FL
Feb 2, 2013

Exceptional Value

We didn't know what to expect about a 4-star hotel in Rome but were pleasantly surprised. A free shuttle takes you from the hotel's quiet location to the center of Rome's tourist attractions. The breakfast was good and varied. For less than $70 per night, we were impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deasun
Berkshire, U.K.
Apr 11, 2013

Good comfortable hotel in quiet location.

Comfortable hotel with good-sized rooms in a quiet location a little bit from the city centre, but the hotel provides a free shuttle bus to the centre and a city bus passes nearby. Staff are efficient, helpful and friendly. Buffet breakfasts are excellent. Overall a very pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A 3-day city transport pass is very useful. Number 52 bus stops nearby and Euclide train station is a short walk from the hotel.

Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AyjeJ
Rome, Italy
Mar 31, 2012

Great value

I found this hotel to be beyond my expectations. I did not have breakfast, nor used their shuttle service to the centre, but was satisfied with the rest of the service. Would book this hotel during my next visit in Rome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Nearest station is Euclide which is 10 minutes walk from the hotel and is pretty much down the hill. Is recommended to walk if you don't have any luggage. Breakfast time is till 11 which is convenient, however we still didn't get up to eat! There is a carrefour within 5 minutes walk as well.

Back to menu Return to top