$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2015 Check-out: Aug 14, 2015

Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

4 stars
View map of Via Archimede, 69, Rome, 00197

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.5
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
30 year anniversary trip
seattle wa
Oct 12, 2012

A great hotel stay

The Duke Hotel is truly a 4 star hotel. The staff was very helpful, we don't speak Italian and it did not seem to matter-their english is great. The hotel offers a breakfast that is wonderful and truly 4 star. They offer a shuttle to the city center, which is quite a walk (about 1 and a half miles) We walked it but if you want to take advantage of the shuttle, you need to reserve at the front desk as it only seats 7. The hotel is quite as it is set in a residential area. There is a grocery store a 10 minute walk from the hotel. All in all I would recommend this hotel to friends and family!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deasun
Business
Berkshire, U.K.
Apr 11, 2013

Good comfortable hotel in quiet location.

Comfortable hotel with good-sized rooms in a quiet location a little bit from the city centre, but the hotel provides a free shuttle bus to the centre and a city bus passes nearby. Staff are efficient, helpful and friendly. Buffet breakfasts are excellent. Overall a very pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A 3-day city transport pass is very useful. Number 52 bus stops nearby and Euclide train station is a short walk from the hotel.

Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lucy123
Business
cambridge
Mar 31, 2013

Very enjoyable experiance

Very pleasant and welcoming hotel. Staff very helpful and friendly could not do enough for you. Breakfast very good, large variety to chose from. Good free shuttle service to the main square but advise that you book asap but you can call and change your times during the day. Would recommend this Hotel and will use again on a return visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take out the Omnia pass before you travel. Pay before you leave but well worth the money. You get access to main attractions without having to queue for hours, Hop on bus

Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MarathonMatt
Business
London
Mar 20, 2013

Great experience

Tucked away in a residential bit north of Villa Borghese, it's only one stop to Piazza Popolo and the rest of Rome, and a decent set of restaurants nearby off Piazza Euclide. Rooms were clean and comfortable, staff were great and breakfast top notch. Definite recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Celestina restaurant nearby was fantastic

Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HeelBacker
Business
Fort Myers, FL
Feb 2, 2013

Exceptional Value

We didn't know what to expect about a 4-star hotel in Rome but were pleasantly surprised. A free shuttle takes you from the hotel's quiet location to the center of Rome's tourist attractions. The breakfast was good and varied. For less than $70 per night, we were impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shlasky
Business
Israel
Jan 17, 2013

Not the best value

The Duke Hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood of Rome, not close to the center and the tourist attractions. The hotel offers a free shuttle to the city, but it is quite limited. The staff is very friendly and try to help. The room was not a 4 star hotel room. The room facilities were minimal and fit a 2 star hotel. I expected for better value to my money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Capo Phil
Business
California
Jan 15, 2013

Great Hotel, quiet location

We enjoyed our stay at the Duke and plan to stay again on our next visit - excellent value. Nice to be in a quiet location after a long day sightseeing. The location is a bit remote, but the hotel shuttle and the Metro help a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Romegirl
Business
Rome
Dec 9, 2012

Duke by name Duke by nature

The room was spotless comfortable and beautifully presented. The staff with the exception of the gent checking us in were wonderful, warm and very helpful. The shuttle service was a fantastic extra as was the valet parking. The only problem with this hotel is that room service was not availavle when we ordered. This was in spite of the fact that we ordered within the time frames given in the hotel brochure in our room. That was a major dissapointment as we skipped dinner planning to order room service upon our return..instead we went to bed hungry. I would expect more from a four star especially as the prices quoted were most definitley four star!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
liketotravel2012
Business
Grand Praire, TX
Nov 23, 2012

Nice place to stay on your visit to Rome

This place is clean and close to a few restaurants within walking distance. It is a little away from the main attractions but they offer a free shuttle into town and will pick you up as well, just be sure to make reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bavasu
Business
New jersey
Nov 23, 2012

Italy trip

We have enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Breakfast is good with a great deal of choice. Rooms are not too big, not too small with all the amneties. Only issue is it is not close to downtown. Hotel does have a free shuttle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matt Photo
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 28, 2012

Much larger room than we expected

My wife and I were anticipating a smaller "European" hotel room, but we were blown away by the size of our "superior double" room. The room was a nice size with a balcony and a large bathroom. The closet was enormous! We enjoyed our stay and found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. One of the shuttle drivers - Luigi - was great! The shuttle to the Piazza del Popolo was great for getting closer to the city, but having to reserve a shuttle back to the hotel could be inconvenient for some. We ended up buying a cheap cell phone in Italy so that we could call and request the shuttle at whatever time suited us instead of having to make the reservation in advance and potentially feel rushed to make it back to the piazza at the end of the day. Although there's nothing to prevent somebody from going back and forth between the hotel and the piazza throughout the day, it doesn't seem like the best use of time. We found it best to leave the hotel with plans to stay out for most of the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Pick up a Roma Pass at the Tourist Information office at the airport to skip the line to see the Colosseum. The pass also grants free access to Rome's public transit system. I haven't done the math to tell whether or not we actually saved any money with the pass, but it definitely saved us a ton of time.

Back to menu Return to top