$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

4 stars
Via Archimede, 69, Rome, 00197
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
76 reviews
Just right

We stayed at the Duke for 4 nights. The hotel is excellent. A little out of the way in a quite... See full review

  • Joe's Nani
  • Jul 6, 2013
Good comfortable hotel in quiet location.

Comfortable hotel with good-sized rooms in a quiet location a little bit from the city centre, but... See full review

  • Deasun
  • Apr 11, 2013
The Duke Hotel is a peaceful, four-star boutique retreat in Rome. The hotel's classically-styled interior is cool and inviting, with high ceilings, wooden floors and stained-glass skylights. Complimentary breakfasts and first-class service from multilingual staff make for a comfortable stay at the Duke. Climb inside the complimentary Mercedes Benz shuttle for a ride to Piazza del Popolo, a historic square in Rome's city center, before returning to dine on seasonal Italian dishes served with creative flair in the on-site restaurant I Duchi.
Key facts
  • 64 guestrooms-including junior, senior and executive suites-plus one apartment suite and one 3-bedroom suite
  • Restaurant: I Duchi
  • Bar
  • 24-hour front desk
  • In-room wellness treatments
  • Business center
  • 5 meeting and function rooms
Neighborhood
The Duke Hotel is just a few minutes' walk from the gorgeous Villa Borghese Park. Stroll through these lovely, landscaped gardens and enjoy the art collection in the Villa Borghese itself, which includes works by Titian, Raphael and Caravaggio. Enjoy the history in which Villa Borghese is steeped - constructed at the beginning of the 17th century for Cardinal Scipione Caffarelli Borghese, nephew of Pope Paul V. The famous Spanish Steps lead off the gardens, and Rome's Zoo is also here, easily reached on foot.
Hints and tips
A complimentary shuttle service leaves from the hotel every half hour or so, but bear in mind that it only seats seven. At busy times, it's advisable to pre-book the shuttle to secure your preferred traveling time.

Spoil yourself with an in-room massage to rejuvenate after a day spent strolling Rome's cobbled streets.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.9234 12.479
Area served
Rome
Nearby airports
Fiumicino International Airport.
Area description
It lies in the heart of the splendid and highly exclusive residential area of Parioli in the centre of Rome. Situated between the urban garden parks of Villa Borghese and Villa Glori. one urban train stop from Piazza del Popolo.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel Rooms

Classic Room
This room offers one twin bed or one double bed along with Air conditioning Alarm clock,Balcony - Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV,Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Mini bar, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Valet service.
Superior Room
This room offers one twin bed or one double bed along with Air conditioning Alarm clock,Balcony - Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV,Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Mini bar, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Valet service.
Family Room (two connecting rooms)
This room offers one twin bed and one double bed along with Air conditioning Alarm clock,Balcony - Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV,Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Mini bar, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Valet service.
Triple Room
Triple rooms are very comfortable and designed in a contemporary Italian style. Many of them feature a balcony. Bathrooms are designed in Siena Italian Marble and most of them have natural day light. Exclusive wooden floor Large Storage space with Safety deposit box. Large Storage space with Safety deposit box. Bed type: King-size or Twin beds Max. number of people 3
Basic Double
16,00 Mq Very comfortable room. Designed in a contemporary Italian Style with Marble Siena bathrooms and exclusive wooden floor. Large Storage space with Safety deposit box. Bed Type: Queen size ( 140 cm.) Max number of adults: 2 " Max number of children: 0

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • National Etruscan Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Flaminio Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Stadio Flaminio: 0.4 mi
  • Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia: 0.4 mi
  • Auditorium Parco della Musica: 0.5 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Moderna: 0.5 mi
  • Parioli: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Bioparco: 0.6 mi
  • Museo Carlo Bilotti: 0.7 mi
  • Museo Nazionale delle Arti del XXI Secolo (MAXXI): 0.7 mi
  • Villa Borghese: 0.8 mi
  • Monte Pincio: 0.8 mi
  • LUISS School of Government: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Maria del Popolo: 0.8 mi
  • National Etruscan Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Flaminio Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Stadio Flaminio: 0.4 mi
  • Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia: 0.4 mi
  • Auditorium Parco della Musica: 0.5 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Moderna: 0.5 mi
  • Parioli: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Bioparco: 0.6 mi
  • Museo Carlo Bilotti: 0.7 mi
  • Museo Nazionale delle Arti del XXI Secolo (MAXXI): 0.7 mi
  • Villa Borghese: 0.8 mi
  • Monte Pincio: 0.8 mi
  • LUISS School of Government: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Maria del Popolo: 0.8 mi
  • Piazza del Popolo: 0.9 mi
  • il Babuino: 0.9 mi
  • Borghese Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • TAD: 1 mi
  • Via Margutta: 1 mi
  • Via del Babuino: 1 mi
  • All Saints' Church: 1 mi
  • Ponte Milvio: 1 mi
  • Bibliotheca Hertziana – Max Planck Institute of Art History: 1.1 mi
  • Mosque of Rome: 1.1 mi
  • Via Veneto area: 1.2 mi
  • Spagna: 1.2 mi
  • Trinita dei Monti: 1.2 mi
  • Via del Corso: 1.2 mi
  • Spanish Steps: 1.2 mi
  • Mausoleum of Augustus: 1.2 mi
  • Fontana della Barcaccia: 1.2 mi
  • Spanish Square: 1.2 mi
  • Villa Ada: 1.2 mi
  • Chiesa Valdese: 1.2 mi
  • Ludovisi: 1.2 mi
  • Piazza di Spagna: 1.2 mi
  • Stadio dei Marmi: 1.3 mi
  • Sallustiano: 1.3 mi
  • Via dei Condotti: 1.3 mi
  • Via Borgognona: 1.3 mi
  • COIN: 1.3 mi
  • Porta Di Roma: 1.3 mi
  • Stadio Olimpico: 1.3 mi
  • Via Frattina: 1.3 mi

Dining

I Duchi
Serves typical Italian dishes together with some low-fat courses.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.4
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lucy123
cambridge
Mar 31, 2013

Very enjoyable experiance

Very pleasant and welcoming hotel. Staff very helpful and friendly could not do enough for you. Breakfast very good, large variety to chose from. Good free shuttle service to the main square but advise that you book asap but you can call and change your times during the day. Would recommend this Hotel and will use again on a return visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take out the Omnia pass before you travel. Pay before you leave but well worth the money. You get access to main attractions without having to queue for hours, Hop on bus

Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MarathonMatt
London
Mar 20, 2013

Great experience

Tucked away in a residential bit north of Villa Borghese, it's only one stop to Piazza Popolo and the rest of Rome, and a decent set of restaurants nearby off Piazza Euclide. Rooms were clean and comfortable, staff were great and breakfast top notch. Definite recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Celestina restaurant nearby was fantastic

Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HeelBacker
Fort Myers, FL
Feb 2, 2013

Exceptional Value

We didn't know what to expect about a 4-star hotel in Rome but were pleasantly surprised. A free shuttle takes you from the hotel's quiet location to the center of Rome's tourist attractions. The breakfast was good and varied. For less than $70 per night, we were impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shlasky
Business
Israel
Jan 17, 2013

Not the best value

The Duke Hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood of Rome, not close to the center and the tourist attractions. The hotel offers a free shuttle to the city, but it is quite limited. The staff is very friendly and try to help. The room was not a 4 star hotel room. The room facilities were minimal and fit a 2 star hotel. I expected for better value to my money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Capo Phil
California
Jan 15, 2013

Great Hotel, quiet location

We enjoyed our stay at the Duke and plan to stay again on our next visit - excellent value. Nice to be in a quiet location after a long day sightseeing. The location is a bit remote, but the hotel shuttle and the Metro help a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Romegirl
Rome
Dec 9, 2012

Duke by name Duke by nature

The room was spotless comfortable and beautifully presented. The staff with the exception of the gent checking us in were wonderful, warm and very helpful. The shuttle service was a fantastic extra as was the valet parking. The only problem with this hotel is that room service was not availavle when we ordered. This was in spite of the fact that we ordered within the time frames given in the hotel brochure in our room. That was a major dissapointment as we skipped dinner planning to order room service upon our return..instead we went to bed hungry. I would expect more from a four star especially as the prices quoted were most definitley four star!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
liketotravel2012
Grand Praire, TX
Nov 23, 2012

Nice place to stay on your visit to Rome

This place is clean and close to a few restaurants within walking distance. It is a little away from the main attractions but they offer a free shuttle into town and will pick you up as well, just be sure to make reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bavasu
New jersey
Nov 23, 2012

Italy trip

We have enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Breakfast is good with a great deal of choice. Rooms are not too big, not too small with all the amneties. Only issue is it is not close to downtown. Hotel does have a free shuttle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matt Photo
Atlanta, GA
Oct 28, 2012

Much larger room than we expected

My wife and I were anticipating a smaller "European" hotel room, but we were blown away by the size of our "superior double" room. The room was a nice size with a balcony and a large bathroom. The closet was enormous! We enjoyed our stay and found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. One of the shuttle drivers - Luigi - was great! The shuttle to the Piazza del Popolo was great for getting closer to the city, but having to reserve a shuttle back to the hotel could be inconvenient for some. We ended up buying a cheap cell phone in Italy so that we could call and request the shuttle at whatever time suited us instead of having to make the reservation in advance and potentially feel rushed to make it back to the piazza at the end of the day. Although there's nothing to prevent somebody from going back and forth between the hotel and the piazza throughout the day, it doesn't seem like the best use of time. We found it best to leave the hotel with plans to stay out for most of the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Pick up a Roma Pass at the Tourist Information office at the airport to skip the line to see the Colosseum. The pass also grants free access to Rome's public transit system. I haven't done the math to tell whether or not we actually saved any money with the pass, but it definitely saved us a ton of time.

Review of Duke Hotel Rome - Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yael Weizman
Hollywood, FLORIDA
Oct 17, 2012

fantastic getaway

it was very good hotel, very good breakfast. far from the city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search