$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 25, 2014

Domus Livia Suites Rome

4 stars
Via Nazionale, 230, Rome, 00184
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
15 reviews
Excellent!

First time in Rome - and couldn't have chosen an affordable, centrally located hotel. Perfect on... See full review

  • Melita Nyantakyi
  • Jul 16, 2013
Love it

We wanted to stay away from the big hotel and the insulation they provide. Domus was exactly as... See full review

  • rapidtransitracing
  • Jun 17, 2013
A classy accomodation (1st class according to the Italian auth. n.6329) with competitive prices in the historical centre of Rome. A new concept of hospitality, as an alternative to the traditional hotel accommodation or to the simple bed & breakfast. Located in a strategic position between the Colosseum and the Spanish Steps and only 800 meters from Termini Rail and Underground stations, this property is homed in prestigious 19th Century building. The property offers to its guests a deluxe ambiance and a welcoming atmosphere in classical style combined to modern technology such as free internet access, soundproof windows, video security, LCD TV Sat, air conditioning. Continental breakfast is served in the rooms. The hotel offers free breakfast to its guest. Not included in room price: EUR 2 city tax per person per night. Arrival time notification is mandatory. Please be informed that our reception does not operate 24H a day. In order to have your welcome and check-in organized, it is of paramount importance for us to be informed about your Estimated Time of Arrival (ETA) at the Airport/Train station. You can communicate your ETA in 1 out of the 2 following ways: via email directly to the hotel; by entering your ETA at the Airport/Train station into the special request field during your reservation process. Important: Check-in after 10:00 pm will be charged from EURO 10 to EURO 20 Euros in cash, depending on your arrival time.

Domus Livia Suites Rome Rooms

Suite classic double/twin
The classic designed rooms with warm colors, and color-coordinated bathrooms are elegantly restored, according to excellent hotel standards (soundproof windows, free Wifi Internet access, flat screen satellite TV, video surveillance, smoke detectors, mini bar, direct dial telephone, etc.)
Suite classic Triple
The classic designed rooms with warm colors, and color-coordinated bathrooms are elegantly restored, according to excellent hotel standards (soundproof windows, free Wifi Internet access, flat screen satellite TV, video surveillance, smoke detectors, mini bar, direct dial telephone, etc.)
Family superior
The classic designed rooms with warm colors, and color-coordinated bathrooms are elegantly restored, according to excellent hotel standards (soundproof windows, free Wifi Internet access, flat screen satellite TV, video surveillance, smoke detectors, mini bar, direct dial telephone, etc.)
Single Superior
The classic designed rooms with warm colors, and color-coordinated bathrooms are elegantly restored, according to excellent hotel standards (soundproof windows, free Wifi Internet access, flat screen satellite TV, video surveillance, smoke detectors, mini bar, direct dial telephone, etc.)

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Domus Livia Suites Rome also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.9009 12.4934
Area served
Providing a cozy setting for your stay on Via Nazionale, in central Rome, located between the Colosseum and the Trevi Fountain/Spanish Steps ,in a context of rare historical and artistic interests ( monuments, churches, museums, theaters.
Nearby airports
Getting the direct train "Leonardo Express" from FCO Airport,arriving in 25 min to Termini Station and then just 5 minutes walk in direction Piazza Repubblica.We may reserve a pick-up service from/to the airport at a fixed price
Area description
Providing a cozy setting for your stay on Via Nazionale, in central Rome, located between the Colosseum and the Trevi Fountain/Spanish Steps ,in a context of rare historical and artistic interests ( monuments, churches, museums, theaters.

Nearby points of interest

  • Rome Opera House: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.1 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.1 mi
  • San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane: 0.2 mi
  • Palazzo delle Esposizioni: 0.2 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.2 mi
  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Fontana dell'Acqua Felice: 0.2 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Antica: 0.2 mi
  • Palazzo Barberini: 0.3 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria della Vittoria: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Rome: 0.3 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.1 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.1 mi
  • San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane: 0.2 mi
  • Palazzo delle Esposizioni: 0.2 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.2 mi
  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Fontana dell'Acqua Felice: 0.2 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Antica: 0.2 mi
  • Palazzo Barberini: 0.3 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria della Vittoria: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Rome: 0.3 mi
  • Piazza Barberini: 0.3 mi
  • Fontana del Tritone: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo del Quirinale: 0.3 mi
  • Palacio del Quirinal: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Quirinale: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.4 mi
  • Ecstasy of Saint Teresa: 0.4 mi
  • Lamian Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Pontifical Oriental Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Termini Station: 0.4 mi
  • Teatro Sistina: 0.4 mi
  • Museo Nazionale Romano: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.4 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.4 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.4 mi
  • Pontifical Lateran University: 0.5 mi
  • Torre delle Milizie: 0.5 mi
  • Ludovisi: 0.5 mi
  • San Pietro in Vincoli: 0.5 mi
  • Accademia di San Luca: 0.5 mi
  • Pontifical Biblical Institute: 0.5 mi
  • Fontana di Trevi: 0.5 mi
  • Le Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini: 0.5 mi
  • Trajan's Market: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Colonna: 0.5 mi
  • Trajan's Forum: 0.5 mi
  • Teatro Quirino: 0.5 mi
  • Forum of Augustus: 0.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1100
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (15)

Ratings and reviews for Domus Livia Suites Rome

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 15
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Domus Livia Suites Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TimJayFitz
Akron, Ohio
Mar 16, 2013

Perfect Location/Clean

I spent 7 nights at this hotel/B&B and it was my homebase for sight-seeing. The room was spotless and cleaned to perfection everyday. The location couldn't be better - a few minutes walk from everywhere important in Rome - right around the corner from Termini station and a 10-20 walk to all the major historical sights. The staff was always extremely helpful with any needed information on Rome(directions/tours/transportation) and spoke very decent English. Free breakfast was delivered to the room every morning within 5 minutes of a phone call. The room had all the charm of old Europe, a breakfast table, desk, good water pressure, opening windows(and the room was quiet when they were closed). The only negative reviews I've seen said the room was small(most European rooms are), the bed was hard(I liked it - most European beds are hard), or that the street was busy(well, don't go to major European cities if you're worried about traffic). The place was an overall great value - I never thought I'd find such cleanliness and quality at this price in Rome - would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

When taking the subways - the sign for the way the train is heading is by the last stop on the line. So if you want to head 'South' or to 'The Coliseum' you need to find a map and look for what the last stop in that direction is. Its kind of dumb and I wish I had known this from the beginning of my trip - hope this helps!

Review of Domus Livia Suites Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EllieNickWin
Miami, FL
Jun 23, 2014

Great City and Hotel

The room was set up nicely with a single bed for our granddaughter. Lighting was fine and the bathroom was clean and even though it had a tub / shower, it seemed safe. Quiet at all times. A/C in the room we were in worked but we were originally scheduled for a room where the A/C had broken. They changed us before we had checked in. Breakfast was continental and very adaquet. Staff friendly and helpful when called upon. Only drawback was an elevator that did not work a couple times causing us to have to walk up or down from or to the fourth floor. Might be a problem that was not one time from the reactions of others. I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of really nice restaurants in the area and the metro close and the bus is right on the street. Very convenient for visiting and eating.

Review of Domus Livia Suites Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Taylors tells all
Bloomington, Indiana
Jun 18, 2014

Mixed Review!

Our experience at Domus Livia was mixed! The air conditioning unit for our room was broken and could not be fixed during our entire stay. Marissa and Dennis (staff) were excellent and tried their best to accommodate! My daughter and I were given an air conditioned room, but my husband and son opted to stay in the original room. The telephone in their room did not work for a couple of days and their TV had to be replaced due to not working. The elevator to the 5th floor did not work on two occasions and walking up all of the stairs was taxing at times. The central location is very good. The staff, again, was very kind and did give us a partial refund for the inconveniences!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants on the main highway are not as "good" as the ones you'll discover down the side streets! Family owned seem to be the best in quality of food and price range.

Review of Domus Livia Suites Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cully
Ireland
Feb 24, 2014

Hotel would offer more

These suites are sold as exceptional as if they offer something that a hotel could not offer at the same price. While the actual room we stayed in was okay I felt there was an overall lack of amenities that you would expect from 4 star accommodation. The main issue we had with the room was that there is no way of letting air into the room without opening the large windows but this means that there is a high level of street noise all night. the air conditioning didn't seem to work well but maybe this is turned down in winter. The lift to the apartments was very old fashioned. It is in a fairly convenient central location ( near the train station) but very hard to find the apartments as they are housed within a large building with various hotels and apartments sharing the entrance. The reception staff were friendly and helpful but there was a lack of information booklets etc. They recommended a very nice restaurant that was just around the corner but beware of some of the other restaurants nearby as we were very disappointed with the quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Domus Livia Suites Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peky23111
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Nov 27, 2013

Good Stuff

The location was perfect for my trip. You can get everywhere from here walking, without much trouble. That is if you are in the mood for an adventurous travel experience and you can handle long walks. If you are not there is a bus stop just in front of the hotel and Termini Station is 7 minutes(or less) away. Very small, comfy hotel room. No amenities, this is the place where you stay when you want to be out all day and get there just to take a bath and sleep. Great for that!! And the breakfast is served to your room!!!! Excellent coffee by the way... Super friendly staff, excellent people!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Always remember to look at the satellite antennas to know where North is. In Roma they are always looking SOUTH!!! Best tip an Italian guy shared with me ;)

Review of Domus Livia Suites Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melita Nyantakyi
London
Jul 16, 2013

Excellent!

First time in Rome - and couldn't have chosen an affordable, centrally located hotel. Perfect on all counts. Susan the receptionist was a godsend. Highly recommended. Melita

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

15-20 minute walk to both the colluseum and trevi fountain. Also, market near the termini for those looking for bargains.

Review of Domus Livia Suites Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rapidtransitracing
San Bruno, Ca
Jun 17, 2013

Love it

We wanted to stay away from the big hotel and the insulation they provide. Domus was exactly as promised. Perfect location. We walked to everything. Great staff!! So nice and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Domus Livia Suites Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mum the car
Boston,ma
Apr 30, 2013

Fantastic hotel

It is on the fifth floor with elevator and as you enter the petite and elegant reception room, you feel like you 've enterred an earlier time. We had a room for four people and it was very spacious and decorated so nicely. The offer a daily continental breakfast and make great espressos and cappuccinos. Its' location is quite central so walking to some of the ancient site is 10 min away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Domus Livia Suites Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miki She
Tel Aviv, Israel
Apr 19, 2013

Nice Stay- but not a 4*

We stayed as a couple for 4 nights and had a nice time. As mentioned in many reviews the place was very clean and stuff very helpful. But the rooms are pretty small and noise proof windows are very good but without opening the window the room was pretty stuffy at night. we had a nice tine there but its more like a nice 3* hotel not a 4*

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

An excellent vegetarian restaurant called Il Margutta on Via Margutta 118

Review of Domus Livia Suites Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TimJayFitz
Akron, Ohio
Mar 16, 2013

Perfect Location/Clean

I spent 7 nights at this hotel/B&B and it was my homebase for sight-seeing. The room was spotless and cleaned to perfection everyday. The location couldn't be better - a few minutes walk from everywhere important in Rome - right around the corner from Termini station and a 10-20 walk to all the major historical sights. The staff was always extremely helpful with any needed information on Rome(directions/tours/transportation) and spoke very decent English. Free breakfast was delivered to the room every morning within 5 minutes of a phone call. The room had all the charm of old Europe, a breakfast table, desk, good water pressure, opening windows(and the room was quiet when they were closed). The only negative reviews I've seen said the room was small(most European rooms are), the bed was hard(I liked it - most European beds are hard), or that the street was busy(well, don't go to major European cities if you're worried about traffic). The place was an overall great value - I never thought I'd find such cleanliness and quality at this price in Rome - would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

When taking the subways - the sign for the way the train is heading is by the last stop on the line. So if you want to head 'South' or to 'The Coliseum' you need to find a map and look for what the last stop in that direction is. Its kind of dumb and I wish I had known this from the beginning of my trip - hope this helps!

Review of Domus Livia Suites Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SForganist
San Francisco, CA
Feb 24, 2013

A high point in our visit to Rome.

We just returned from a week long stay in Roma. Domus Livia came up as part of a package deal on this site. I had a dreadful experience one time booking this way, and ended up in a 8X8 foot room with a metal cot and a bare light bulb hanging from the ceiling, but Domus Livia turned out to be a treasure. The accomodations are basic, but certainly include everything needed. Who wants to spend their time in a hotel room when visiting Rome anyway? The set up is a bit unusual, and if I had not read the experiences of another reviewer, I might have had difficulty finding the hotel/B&B. It is located in a section of a larger building that seems to house apartments, another hotel, etc. I was a bit concerned when the shuttle dropped us off, as Via Nazionale is a busy, noisy street. The room, however, turned out to be virtually soundproof, and we couldn't hear a sound from the outside. This is not a big chain hotel. If you want an on-site restaurant, bar, porter service, exercise equipment, a virtual mini-kitchen in the room, etc., stay at one of those places. But it has some features you won't find in any of the big name places I've ever visited. The room was quiet and spotlessly clean. The antique furniture was a pleasant change from the mass produced appointments found in most hotel rooms. The location is perfect from the standpoint of getting around. Piazza Venezia, many of the ancient ruins, the Jewish ghetto, Trevi Fountain, and many other sites are only a 10-15 minute walk. Buses run right outside the hotel, and the underground is only a couple of blocks away. The staff are the real stars, however. Marisa and Susanna took a sincere interest in us, and it seemed that there was nothing they would not do to help us and make us comfortable. They even made our reservations to visit the Borghese Gallery prior to our arrival. It was like being cared for by family. Breakfast is delivered to your room, but we had to depart early on our last day before they arrived (the desk is staffed from about 8 a.m. - 8 p.m.) so Susanna appeared the night before we left with a tray containing everything we needed to put together a quck meal for ourselves before the shuttle picked us up. I threw the coins in the fountain, am ready to get back to Rome as soon as I can, and am comfortable having the issue of where I will stay already decided. P.S. Tarverna Barberini, a short walk down Quattro Fontane, the street right beside the hotel, turned out to be an excellent restaurant, along with several others nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top