$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 9, 2015 Check-out: Jul 11, 2015

Cinquantatre Hotel Rome

3 stars
View map of Via di San Basilio, 53, Rome, 00185

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
11 reviews
Fantastic Little Gem

My partner and I had a wonderful vacation in Rome and our hotel provided a great home base from... See full review

  • Michael H.
  • Feb 18, 2015
Great Stay at this Charming Hotel...

We stayed here for the duration of our 9 day visit to the eternal city. The hotel itself added... See full review

  • MXTRVLR
  • Jan 25, 2015
Hotel Cinquantatre is situated in the middle of Rome, with the street of Fellini "Dolce Vita", a few steps from the baroque and from the charm of the Imperial Rome. Via Veneto is the most famous street in modern Rome, with its coffee shops, luxury shops and its shining windows. Walking down the street, you will get an idea of the capital artistic wealth: from one side, Porta Pinciana, with its Aurelian's Wall, from the 3rd century with their expansion of nineteen kilometers are the most ample Capitoline monument. From the other side, Piazza Barberini, with its Tritone's Fountain, designed by Gian Lorenzo Bernini.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cinquantatre Hotel Rome also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Cinquantatre Hotel Rome Rooms

Standard Double
Standard Double room offers 1 Queen-size bed.All rooms have been newly designed, and are elegant, sober and refined. They are equipped with every comfort including: satellite TV, air conditioning and a safe.
Superior Double
Superior Double room offers 1 Double bed. All rooms have been newly designed, and are elegant, sober and refined. They are equipped with every comfort including: satellite TV, air conditioning and a safe.
Superior Twin
Superior Twin room offers 2 Single beds. All rooms have been newly designed, and are elegant, sober and refined. They are equipped with every comfort including: satellite TV, air conditioning and a safe.
Deluxe Double / Triple
Deluxe Double/Triple room offers 1 Doble bed or 2 Twin beds. In addition, it is possible to add 1 extra single bed. All rooms have been newly designed, and are elegant, sober and refined. They are equipped with every comfort including: satellite TV, air conditioning and a safe.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini: 0.1 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Antica: 0.1 mi
  • Piazza Barberini: 0.1 mi
  • Fontana del Tritone: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Barberini: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro Sistina: 0.1 mi
  • Ludovisi: 0.2 mi
  • Fontana dell'Acqua Felice: 0.2 mi
  • San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria della Vittoria: 0.2 mi
  • Ecstasy of Saint Teresa: 0.3 mi
  • Spagna: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo delle Esposizioni: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo del Quirinale: 0.3 mi
  • Palacio del Quirinal: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini: 0.1 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Antica: 0.1 mi
  • Piazza Barberini: 0.1 mi
  • Fontana del Tritone: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Barberini: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro Sistina: 0.1 mi
  • Ludovisi: 0.2 mi
  • Fontana dell'Acqua Felice: 0.2 mi
  • San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria della Vittoria: 0.2 mi
  • Ecstasy of Saint Teresa: 0.3 mi
  • Spagna: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo delle Esposizioni: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo del Quirinale: 0.3 mi
  • Palacio del Quirinal: 0.3 mi
  • Via Veneto area: 0.3 mi
  • Trinita dei Monti: 0.3 mi
  • Spanish Steps: 0.3 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Bibliotheca Hertziana – Max Planck Institute of Art History: 0.4 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza di Spagna: 0.4 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.4 mi
  • Accademia di San Luca: 0.4 mi
  • Fontana della Barcaccia: 0.4 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.4 mi
  • Spanish Square: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Quirinale: 0.4 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.4 mi
  • Teatro Quirino: 0.4 mi
  • Fontana di Trevi: 0.4 mi
  • Via Frattina: 0.4 mi
  • Museo Nazionale Romano: 0.4 mi
  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.4 mi
  • Via Borgognona: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Rome: 0.5 mi
  • Via dei Condotti: 0.5 mi
  • Pontifical Lateran University: 0.5 mi
  • La Rinascente: 0.5 mi
  • Pontifical Biblical Institute: 0.5 mi
  • Galleria Alberto Sordi: 0.5 mi
  • Le Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini: 0.5 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.6 mi
  • Column of Marcus Aurelius: 0.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:30 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Cinquantatre Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 11
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cinquantatre Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tony concepcion
san francisco, ca
Oct 25, 2012

Cinquantatre Hotel one to visit again

The front desk (daytime) male receptionist was exceptionally good and very helpful, cordial and welcoming. The complimentary continental breakfast in the roof deck was very good and the "wait" staff (lady) even better. The ONLY complaint we had during our stay was the airconditioning which was preset at 18 degC. It was uncoimfortably warm for us without being able to adjust the temperature. Our room faced the main road so it became a choice of noise or heat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ristorante ala Rampa, just a few feet from the Spanish Steps is excellent. Good food, ambience and price.

Review of Cinquantatre Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michael H.
Business
washington
Feb 18, 2015

Fantastic Little Gem

My partner and I had a wonderful vacation in Rome and our hotel provided a great home base from which to explore the city. As first time travelers to Rome we were hoping to find a centrally located hotel, Hotel Cinquantatre definitely fit the bill. The metro is a short walk down the block, and for those who prefer taxis the front desk staff will reserve one for you. Speaking of the front desk staff, they were professional, personable, and engaging. They had wonderful suggestions for restaurants and suggestions on how to use your time efficiently (i.e., best time to see attractions). The accommodations were comfortable, rooms were made up each day, and fresh towels were provided daily. Each morning we were greeted with smiles and a cheerful "Due cappuccino?" in the breakfast room, which we gladly accepted. The continental breakfast included yummy donuts, croissants, and a fresh torte. Another note on the location, one can easily walk to the Trevi Fountain, the Spanish Steps, and the Villa Borghese gardens. Prior to our arrival I contacted the Hotel requesting a specific room which features a huge balcony and asked for suggestions regarding transportation, they responded to both requests in a timely manner. Hotel Cinquantatre met our every expectation. As we plan our next trip to Rome, we definitely will stay with this fantastic hotel again! Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are a little louder as they face a cobbled road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cinquantatre Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MXTRVLR
Business
Antioch
Jan 25, 2015

Great Stay at this Charming Hotel...

We stayed here for the duration of our 9 day visit to the eternal city. The hotel itself added enjoyment to our whole Italy experience. We walked to this hotel from the train station when we came in. It was half a block from the Barberini train station as well. It was centrally located and we walked to all the major attractions from here. The hotel staff was incredible from the moment we walked in to the moment we left. The front desk made reservations for us for the Galleria Borghese and breakfast was great every morning we thought the Italian breakfast of croissants and cappuccinos and juices was more than enough to get us going for the day. We appreciated the small fridge in the room as we stored cokes and paninis from the store. Room was large by European standards and very clean. Ours was on the first floor and had a balcony and a small sitting area which we loved. It was nice to have some wine in the balcony. A/C worked awesome and were there when it was hot outside. Hotel was clean albeit small, the elevator is very very small but it was enough that we could put our baggage and wait for it upstairs. We are definitely planning to stay here again on our visit to Rome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cinquantatre Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
newbie world traveler
Business
Rome, Italy
Sep 14, 2013

All about the location

My friend and I found the hotel perfectly located. Just down the street from the metro stop Piazza Barberini which can lead you all over the city. It is also close to the trevi fountain and in the center of the city so you can walk to most locations such as the Vatican or the Coliseum if you feel up to it. Asides from that the staff is very friendly and the rooms are comfortable. Its small but that is to be expected when you are staying in a city. I would recommend the hotel to my friends just because the value is worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cinquantatre Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vfam
Business
New York
Sep 15, 2012

Needs Major Upgrades

Although the staff was excellent and the location was great (convenient and in walking distance to some major sites), the place was old and small. The one elevator that services the 5 floors is really small and can barely fit a single person with a luggage. The rooms with a single double bed were tight with little walking space. The rooms with two twin beds were much larger and more suitable for two adults. The old decor, tight spaces, and so-so condition of the building are what you can expect in an old city like Rome for a budget price. However, the one thing that I really could not stand and should definitely be improved is the musty, moldy, and sewage like smell that was wreaking from the bathroom and that's why I gave this hotel 1 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cinquantatre Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
onAmissionTOtravel
Business
Denver, Colorado
Aug 22, 2012

Excellent B&B Style (which MOST small hotels in Rome are)

I had a wonderful stay at Hotel Cinquantatre (pronounced cheen'kwon'tot'tray - which I only butchered the first day). The staff are wonderfully friendly, especially the Reservations Manager, Nima Payamyar... he was fantastically helpful in finding local food, shopping and spoke excellent English. Each level has 3 rooms except for level 5 which has 2 rooms. The quaint terrace in on level 6 and I highly recommend taking your breakfast there every morning! The roman breakfast is a cappuccino (or espresso), a glass of OJ, and a chocolate croissant, although they do have cereal, milk, and other pastries available, as well as sliced pineapple. The wifi never works, except on some days between 4pm and 6pm. They have a computer downstairs that you can use to check email if you don't have a global smart-phone (points to self). Also, I have never seen a hair dryer like the ones this hotel has. I'm sure they are normal in Europe to some extent, but it was a strange gadget that took some finessing. Having stayed in Ireland, I knew better than to plug mine in without converter. Also, if you go during August, be prepared to sweat and be very grateful for the AC, which is set at 18C (64) as the rest of the AC in Rome seem to be, which brings the temp to about 75 or 80 in most places. They will turn the AC off while you are out, so it may take a few minutes to get the room cooled off when you get back, but I understand the reasoning and didn't mind. You end up showering immediately anyway. Have fun, and remember that while this isn't a 5-star, you don't spend much time in your hotel, so this more than does the trick for a mere 90euro/night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

To spend less than 100euros/day (per person): *Eat the breakfast provided (free) *Walk or take the bus everywhere (taxis only at night if needed bc of heels, and to/from airport) (free) *Eat a light lunch at the bar or "take away" - they automatically charge you for sitting at a table (15euros) *Don't bother with many souvenirs - just send postcards from Vatican City (15euros) (but do get some of the drawings, they are perhaps my favorite souvenir - 10 to 60+ euros, but haggle!!!) *See one or two attractions a day (15euros each) *Eat at a couple of low-key pizzerias or ristorantes (Osteria Allegro Pachino near Trevi Fountain was excellent) the first nights (20-30euros), then splurge on one or two nights at a really nice restaurant (Ciampini - at the top of the Spanish Steps make a left toward Villa Medici, it's on the left - AMAZING views of Rome! 50-100 euros)

Review of Cinquantatre Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
spab
Business
Virginia
Jun 5, 2012

Nice Hotel

Excellent location with amazing and helpful staff. The rooms are somewhat small, but then the price id very reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the train station

Review of Cinquantatre Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Little Mr Mike
Business
East Anglia, UK
May 21, 2012

Cinquantatre Hotel, Rome

Reasonably centrally situated, about 3/4 minutes walk from an Underground station. It is a rather narrow building that goes up rather than sideways, there are six floors, with a lift, and the dining room is on the top floor ( as in the picture ). Room was rather small and the furniture is rather basic, but the ensuite has recently been re-vamped and is rather good. I found that the staff were on the whole helpful and courteous. One problem I experienced was that the street is fronted by tall buildings either side and this tended to amplify the effects of traffic noise which on occasions I found intrusive. Guests having rooms which did not front on to the street seemed to be free of this noise problem. On the whole the hotel is fairly basic but I didn't go for the hotel , but the sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cinquantatre Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PGok
Business
East Riding of Yorkshire, UK
Jan 24, 2012

Perfect city break hotel

The hotel was superbly located 2 stops on the metro from the terminal station and easy to find. The hotel was in easy walking distance of many attractions. I would recommend you do not eat in the restaurants near to the hotel as they had hidden charges for service charges and cover charges for the table. The staff were very helpful and the rooms good for the budget price we paid. Breakfast was dissapointing however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you intend to visit museums and buildings of interest it would be worth looking into the Rome saver card we were not aware of it until our second day. I would also reccomend walking and not taking the metro as all atractions can be easily reached on foot and of course you see much more

Review of Cinquantatre Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
artist from NY
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Dec 29, 2011

great , nice, classic small hotel

I was very surprise to get this hotel and the air flight to Roma last moment of the chance. it was just before holliday big weekend . the location where I was for 5 nights in old center of Roma was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top