$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

4 stars
Via Massimo D'Azeglio, 24, Rome, 00184
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
266 reviews
Great location

We traveled from Madrid to Barcelona, the South of France, Firenza and eventually to Rome, this... See full review

  • El Matador1825
  • Apr 25, 2014
Perfect!

I spent just one night in this hotel, but it was enough to enjoy a very comfortable stay: nice and... See full review

  • gia74
  • Feb 25, 2014
With its red-brick frontage adorned with Classical porticos, the 19th century building of the Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome assures you of an authentically Roman stay. A part of the Globe Hotels brand, well-lit red surfaces and wood-accentuated decor impart a warm glow to the hotel's lobby and rooms, while the multilingual staff make sure guests receive the right tickets and prices at the tour desk. At the end of a long day, you can sink into the adjustable Smart bed in your room - positioned however you like - and the substantial American-style buffet breakfasts served in the Augusta restaurant will satisfy the heartiest appetite.
Key facts
  • 108 guestrooms
  • Concierge and 24-hour reception
  • Laundry/dry cleaning services
  • Fax and photocopying services
  • Wi-Fi available
  • Electronic in-room safes and secure luggage storage
  • Restaurant open for breakfast
  • Evening dinner service for bookings of 20+
Neighborhood
Located right in the heart of Rome's historic center, the Augusta Lucilla Palace is within easy reach of two of Rome's most popular sights, the Colosseum and Oppio Hill, one of the famed Seven Hills of Rome. Descend the famed Spanish Steps or witness the dancing waters of the Trevi Fountain, both about a 15-20 minute walk away. The Cavour-Esquilino bus stop is just around the corner from the hotel, and it's a five minute wander to the Termini railway and subway station.
Hints and tips
Need help finding the Augusta Lucilla Palace? Call the hotel before you travel and they'll pick you up from Rome Fiumicino-Leonardo Da Vinci airport (FCO) when your flight lands, for a small additional fee. This is a far more cost-effective option than hailing a taxi.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.9001 12.4977
Area served
Rome.
Nearby airports
Leonardo Da Vinci (Fiumicino) International Airport.
Area description
Hotel boasts itself for its central location with only a few minute walk from the most popular sites in Rome: Via Veneto, Spanish Square, Venice Square, The Colosseum and The Trevi Fountain. It is located only 400m from the central railway station, with the underground and bus stops situated 5 minute walking distance from the hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome Rooms

Double Room with Balcony
Double room with a BalconyTerrace with table and chairs overlooking the rooftops of the Eternal City this spacious room is equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV and private bathroom. Room amenities: terrace, telephone, satellite channels, safe, air conditioning, heating, wooden floor, Shower or Bath, Hairdryer, Free toiletries, Toilet, Bathroom, minibar. Bed type: 1 double bed or 2 single beds.
Double Room
The room have the bedding option of one double bed or one twin bed with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Quad/Suite
The room have the bedding option of two double beds or two twin beds with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Triple Room
The room have the bedding option of one double and one twin beds or two twin beds with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Single Room
The room have the bedding option of one twin bed with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Small Double
The room have the bedding option of one twin bed with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.1 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.1 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Rome: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.2 mi
  • Termini Station: 0.2 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.2 mi
  • Pontifical Oriental Institute: 0.2 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.3 mi
  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.1 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.1 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Rome: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.2 mi
  • Termini Station: 0.2 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.2 mi
  • Pontifical Oriental Institute: 0.2 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.3 mi
  • Lamian Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.3 mi
  • Fontana dell'Acqua Felice: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria della Vittoria: 0.4 mi
  • San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo delle Esposizioni: 0.4 mi
  • Museo Nazionale Romano: 0.4 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Antica: 0.5 mi
  • Ecstasy of Saint Teresa: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Barberini: 0.5 mi
  • Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II: 0.5 mi
  • San Pietro in Vincoli: 0.5 mi
  • Piazza Barberini: 0.5 mi
  • Fontana del Tritone: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo del Quirinale: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo Quirinale: 0.6 mi
  • Palacio del Quirinal: 0.6 mi
  • Colle Oppio: 0.6 mi
  • Domus Aurea: 0.6 mi
  • Torre delle Milizie: 0.6 mi
  • Teatro Sistina: 0.6 mi
  • Torre dei Conti: 0.7 mi
  • Pontifical Lateran University: 0.7 mi
  • Ludovisi: 0.7 mi
  • Trajan's Market: 0.7 mi
  • Forum of Augustus: 0.7 mi
  • Trajan's Forum: 0.7 mi
  • Rome Marathon: 0.7 mi
  • Via Veneto area: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (266)

Ratings and reviews for Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
266 out of 266
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KevRG
Chicago, IL
Jul 22, 2012

Nice hotel/location

We stayed at the Augusta Lucilla Palace from 7/8/12 through 7/16/12. The room was spacious (there were only 2 travelers) and clean. The cleaning staff cleaned our room every day and did a great job. The only two downsides were that we did not have an ironing board or a refrigerator. Each morning we ate the continental breakfast. This consisted of scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, sweet rolls, etc. The breakfast was okay, but nothing memorable. The location of the hotel is great as it is in walking distance to Termini train station and very accessible to all of the sites. The gentlemen working the front desk were very helpful. For the first three days of our stay, we were signed up for guided tours that we needed to confirm beforehand. The gentlemen at the front desk gladly took care of it for us. Further, they took care of booking a taxi to come pick us up when we had to go to the airport. Great value, comfortable/clean rooms, and great service. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a good little restaurant called Il Tavolinetto just down the corner from the restaurant. Try the zucchini and mushroom pizza. It was fantastic.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PilotMarcus
Maryland, USA
Jun 25, 2012

Nice, basic hotel, with issues....

The Good Comfortable room Clean and well-kept Good air-conditioning (a must in Italy aft June) Nice, free morning buffet Friendly staff Decent value play. The Not-So-Good 1. Shower so small one risks freezing or scalding when simply trying to turn around in it if one bumps the control handle. Has a glass 2-door contraption that does not seal, so towels on the floor are mandatory or the bathroom will flood. 2. Wifi advertized as "free"....service is intermittent, even in the bar/Lobby areas, and when connecting, signal is frequently dropped AND requires new sign-in every time. In room, forget it....one side of the bed gets it, the other does not. Folks are sitting in the hallways trying to catch a reliable signal. Great reception from the hotel across the street. Answer at the desk was to try to connect to them! Amazing. 3. Only 1 TV channel in English, and this one a re-broadcast the Chinese National TV Network (CCNA or similar, so all that was broadcast was China's rocket launch). Disappointing not to have BBC, CNN, or another English service, world-wide channel as with most hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
suguna
Richmond VA
Jun 22, 2012

Enjoyed our family vacation at Augusta Lucilla

Our family of 3 stayed six nights at Augusta Lucilla. Its in a great location, close to the Termini Station and has plenty of nice restaurants a few blocks away. The staff at the reception is very helpful, rooms were comfortable and breakfast is fairly good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pilot Paul
Columbus, OH
Jun 18, 2012

Great Value

The reviews posted online were very accurate. This is a clean, comfortable hotel located within easy walking distance of the main train station and all major attractions. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were decent-sized and clean. There were numerous comments about the very firm mattresses, and I found this to be true. They were not uncomfortable, though. There is a very extensive breakfast served every morning with cold and hot foods. I was very happy with my stay and would recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
supersimmo
UK
Jun 10, 2012

good location

hotel very good location and very clean. perfect situation for termini only 5-10mins walk and easy to get on buses for hop on hop off tours. can walk to coliseum from hotel about 15mins. staff very friendly and helpful. would use again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DMLeon
Kentucky, USA
May 29, 2012

Excellent location and extremely helpful front desk staff!!

We had a wonderful experience in this hotel. The fornt desk staff was always willing to assist with booking museum and dinner reservations and providing directions to the various sites. The room was clean, comfotable, and conveniently located to most of the major sites. Breakfast buffet was awesome!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Borghese Museum - do not take bus 910 as our driver dropped us off on the opposite side of time at an empty arena. Fortunately, found a person that gave us directlions to tram -- which then required a very, very long walk from one side of the Borghese grounds to the museum.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jannie F
Gaithersburg, MD
May 26, 2012

Made our brief stay in Rome so easy

We selected this hotel based on previous reviews. It more than lived up to it's favorable rating.. While the room was typically small, it was clean and nicely appointed. The queen bed was comfortable and the bathroom sink countertop was large. The location was fabulous. We walked easily the few blocks from the train station with a lot of luggage in the evening, and to the Colosseum for an 8:30 am tour. The breakfast buffet was extensive, offering a wide variety of selections. The front desk staff was friendly and incredibly helpful.. Each night they made terrific suggestions for local, moderately priced eating establishments and called for reservations for our large party.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the restaurant Ceccia a few blocks away.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nico
Cheshire, England
May 4, 2012

There must be some poor 3 star hotels about if this is a 4 star

I really don't understand why this hotel is classed as 4 star. There is nothing special at all about this hotel. The air conditioning doesnt work. The double room I stayed in was that small the door opened outward into the corridor. You do not get any tea or coffee making facilities in the room which is a basic expectation in a 4 star hotel. The breakfast room is soleless and the bar area so non descript that no-one frequented it. On a posiive, the bed was comfy, shame I couldn't sleep though due to the noise outside

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Piazza Novana is a must. Its a really lovely square with lots of restaurants and street entertainers to keep you amused. Don't waste your money paying to go into the vatican. Instead go to St Peter's square and into the bascilica which is free and more spiritual and is minus the hundreds and hundreds of tourists that are cramed inside the vatican musuem where you can not move

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shirle
Florence, Italy
May 1, 2012

If WIFI a must, reconsider.

Great breakfast. Good location. Unworkable WIFI connection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hummercat
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Apr 28, 2012

Would stay there again! Perfect location.

If we are ever lucky enough to get back to the beautiful city of Rome, we will stay here again. The room was comfortable and large enough, given that hotel rooms in Europe and Italy are small. The bed was very comfortable, room was always clean and tidy when we returned after a long day. THE LOCATION OF THIS HOTEL IS SIMPLY PERFECT! Just 2 blocks to the metro, train and bus station called Termini. (We saw no reason to spend a lot of money on an extravagant hotel room knowing we would not be in it much.) Location was everything and we had it all. I would recommend a room looking over the inner courtyard as the city is very noisy in the morning. We vacationed in April and had to have the window open for cool air so had difficulty sleeping in the morning due to the street noise. The friendly staff could not have been better and were very helpful on each and every question and concern we had. The continental breakfast was more than sufficient to start each busy day. The room lacked hooks and enough hangers to hang jackets and other articles of clothing on (it looked as though the wall lighting has been used for hooks as they were hanging as through ready to fall off). The snack fridge was useless as it was housed in a cabinet under the desk which had no ventilation so the items inside were not cold. Would have been nice if the Augusta had a restaurant, but there are so many good ones around that you don't lack a selection. Go to the first one the hotel staff recommends (Cecio Cecio, I think.) It's not far and they are quite accommodating and friendly with enough of a selection on the menu that you could eat there every night and not go wrong. Finally, Rome was one of the friendliest cities we've every visited, except our own, of course!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy the Roma pass for transport and entrances to Museums. We did not as we went when the Museums were free. However, it still would have been less expensive. It is a good deal.

Back to menu Return to top