$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2015 Check-out: Aug 6, 2015

Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

4 stars
View map of Via Massimo D'Azeglio, 24, Rome, 00184

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
186 out of 186
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jamielynn1981
Business
San Francisco, California
Aug 7, 2013

Decent place to stay near Termini

My friend and I stayed here for one night (we arrived in Rome and were heading down to Amalfi the next day). It was clean and comfortable and a short walk to the train station. The room was extremely small, but clean. The bathroom was also small and the shower door did not work properly. But, those things aside, the breakfast was delicious and the staff made it an amazing stay. Georges was extremely helpful in suggesting a restaurant and places to visit in the few hours we did have to tour Rome while we were there (we will return next week). If you're looking for a short-term place close to the train, I'd highly recommend this hotel. But, because the room was so small, I probably wouldn't stay there again because, personally, I need a bit more space to be comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bar Washington is about a block away and was a good place to grab a quick bite to eat - I had their pizza and buffalo mozzarella and it was delicious!

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bekah519
Business
Tahlequah, OK 74464, USA
Aug 1, 2013

Great Hotel

This hotel does not disappoint!! This was the nicest hotel we stayed at during our three stop tour of Italy. The room was a great size, very clean, and very nice furnishings. It is a five minute walk to the train station and a metro stop. The breakfast was the typical European breakfast. There is a train that goes to and from the train station and the airport. It is much cheaper than a taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Osteria del Cavaliere was our favorite restaurant!! It was several subway stops and a short walk from the hotel, but definitely worth it! We ate there two nights in a row and it was great both times. Definitely invest in a subway pass, it will be the best investment you make.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TJandMC
Business
Macon Georgia
Jul 25, 2013

Long weekend

My husband and I spent a long weekend in Rome and this hotel was perfect. Two blocks from the train station which meant easy access to buses and subway for sightseeing. the hotel staff were fluent in English and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Spoony
Business
Solihull, England
Jul 16, 2013

Great value for money.

Very effective air conditioning. Even when on all night was not noisy at all. A surprisingly quiet and peaceful nights sleep every night (especially given proximity to train station etc, and the fact that I am a very light sleeper). No restaurant for lunch or evening meal. Though not a problem as there was plenty of choice on the doorstep. Friendly, helpful staff. Knowledge of bus numbers/routes to all main attractions etc in spoken English too. Plenty of choice and quantity for self service buffet breakfast. Well stocked bathroom extras (shower cap, toothbrush and paste, razor, hairdryer, soap, shampoo, shower/bath gel, 3 sizes of towels for each person!) Very spacious room even with 4 sharing, they haven't squeezed extra beds/rooms in. Quite unusual in our experience. Rooftop garden is just a little paved outside area on 6th floor with a few patio chairs and a table - you have to search for it as it is not signed/labelled. Absolutely spot on. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Turn left out of hotel then left again down the first turning. There are two restaurants down this road. The first one you get to is by far the best value for money. The second is a little pricier, but then they add 20% service charge on top (in the small print at the bottom of the menu!). Can recommend the Prosicuto and Melon starter and the Bruschetta with tomatoes. I even had both as my main meal one day!

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hazwaste
Business
Texas
Jul 16, 2013

OK, but tiny rooms

Rooms are fairly clean and well appointed, but TINY. Little room for two people to move. As it turned out it made little difference since we were only in the room for 8 hours per day while asleep. Staff was usually helpful, but did not always speak English well. Next time I'll learn some Italian! Good location, just 10 minutes' walk from Termini.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dhazeleaf
Business
Sacramento, California
Jul 8, 2013

July 2013

I stayed here in early July 2013. The hotel was very nice, but a little hard to find. Staff were great and the hotel was clean. I would stay here again without any worries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a mall at the major rail station that is located near the hotel,=.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SADxoxo
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jun 28, 2013

Rome, June 2013

My husband and I spend 5 days at this hotel. The room was okay, but the shower was small and the shower doors meet at a corner and open a total of 3 feet. Ladies if you like to use a wash towel when you bath, bring your own. None of the hotels in Europe had any. The hotel was within walking distance of everything and a tour company is also within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

I highly recommend that if you are short on time, do the hop on hop off bus tour. You can tour the entire city and then decide what attractions you want to visit.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveller Jupiter
Business
Jupiter, Florida
Jun 24, 2013

Great location and comfort

Great location and comfort. Good size room, very comfortable. Easy access to metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TC10014
Business
New York, NY
Jun 21, 2013

Not as good as expected from other reviews...

VERY surprised at the glowing review of this hotel. Being near Termini is it's major redeeming point. Hard beds and very small room. Bathroom was good though. Definitely a budget hotel that is touted as better than it is. WAY overpriced for what you get and the area of town for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NinaT
Business
Washington DC
Jun 20, 2013

adequate

Adequate room. Very small for two people. Bathroom is tiny. Wish it had a full shower. Not as many amenities as I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top