$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

4 stars
Via Massimo D'Azeglio, 24, Rome, 00184
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
266 reviews
Great location

We traveled from Madrid to Barcelona, the South of France, Firenza and eventually to Rome, this... See full review

  • El Matador1825
  • Apr 25, 2014
Perfect!

I spent just one night in this hotel, but it was enough to enjoy a very comfortable stay: nice and... See full review

  • gia74
  • Feb 25, 2014
With its red-brick frontage adorned with Classical porticos, the 19th century building of the Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome assures you of an authentically Roman stay. A part of the Globe Hotels brand, well-lit red surfaces and wood-accentuated decor impart a warm glow to the hotel's lobby and rooms, while the multilingual staff make sure guests receive the right tickets and prices at the tour desk. At the end of a long day, you can sink into the adjustable Smart bed in your room - positioned however you like - and the substantial American-style buffet breakfasts served in the Augusta restaurant will satisfy the heartiest appetite.
Key facts
  • 108 guestrooms
  • Concierge and 24-hour reception
  • Laundry/dry cleaning services
  • Fax and photocopying services
  • Wi-Fi available
  • Electronic in-room safes and secure luggage storage
  • Restaurant open for breakfast
  • Evening dinner service for bookings of 20+
Neighborhood
Located right in the heart of Rome's historic center, the Augusta Lucilla Palace is within easy reach of two of Rome's most popular sights, the Colosseum and Oppio Hill, one of the famed Seven Hills of Rome. Descend the famed Spanish Steps or witness the dancing waters of the Trevi Fountain, both about a 15-20 minute walk away. The Cavour-Esquilino bus stop is just around the corner from the hotel, and it's a five minute wander to the Termini railway and subway station.
Hints and tips
Need help finding the Augusta Lucilla Palace? Call the hotel before you travel and they'll pick you up from Rome Fiumicino-Leonardo Da Vinci airport (FCO) when your flight lands, for a small additional fee. This is a far more cost-effective option than hailing a taxi.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.9001 12.4977
Area served
Rome.
Nearby airports
Leonardo Da Vinci (Fiumicino) International Airport.
Area description
Hotel boasts itself for its central location with only a few minute walk from the most popular sites in Rome: Via Veneto, Spanish Square, Venice Square, The Colosseum and The Trevi Fountain. It is located only 400m from the central railway station, with the underground and bus stops situated 5 minute walking distance from the hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome Rooms

Double Room with Balcony
Double room with a BalconyTerrace with table and chairs overlooking the rooftops of the Eternal City this spacious room is equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV and private bathroom. Room amenities: terrace, telephone, satellite channels, safe, air conditioning, heating, wooden floor, Shower or Bath, Hairdryer, Free toiletries, Toilet, Bathroom, minibar. Bed type: 1 double bed or 2 single beds.
Double Room
The room have the bedding option of one double bed or one twin bed with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Quad/Suite
The room have the bedding option of two double beds or two twin beds with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Triple Room
The room have the bedding option of one double and one twin beds or two twin beds with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Single Room
The room have the bedding option of one twin bed with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Small Double
The room have the bedding option of one twin bed with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.1 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.1 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Rome: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.2 mi
  • Termini Station: 0.2 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.2 mi
  • Pontifical Oriental Institute: 0.2 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.3 mi
  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.1 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.1 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Rome: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.2 mi
  • Termini Station: 0.2 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.2 mi
  • Pontifical Oriental Institute: 0.2 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.3 mi
  • Lamian Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.3 mi
  • Fontana dell'Acqua Felice: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria della Vittoria: 0.4 mi
  • San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo delle Esposizioni: 0.4 mi
  • Museo Nazionale Romano: 0.4 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Antica: 0.5 mi
  • Ecstasy of Saint Teresa: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Barberini: 0.5 mi
  • Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II: 0.5 mi
  • San Pietro in Vincoli: 0.5 mi
  • Piazza Barberini: 0.5 mi
  • Fontana del Tritone: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo del Quirinale: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo Quirinale: 0.6 mi
  • Palacio del Quirinal: 0.6 mi
  • Colle Oppio: 0.6 mi
  • Domus Aurea: 0.6 mi
  • Torre delle Milizie: 0.6 mi
  • Teatro Sistina: 0.6 mi
  • Torre dei Conti: 0.7 mi
  • Pontifical Lateran University: 0.7 mi
  • Ludovisi: 0.7 mi
  • Trajan's Market: 0.7 mi
  • Forum of Augustus: 0.7 mi
  • Trajan's Forum: 0.7 mi
  • Rome Marathon: 0.7 mi
  • Via Veneto area: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (266)

Ratings and reviews for Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
266 out of 266
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, In
Oct 13, 2009

Clean, modern, close to train station

We were only there for one night but the room was very nice, close to a lot of restaurants and the Subway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vic S
Rancho Cordova, California
Oct 13, 2009

Satisfied Customers

We stayed for 4 nights and had a lovely stay. The room was a modest size -- but not cramped as are many European hotels. The maid service was excellent. Everything was spotless. The daily breakfast, which is included with the room, was one of the best we have seen in Italy. We were impressed by the fact that the hotel paid for our cab ride to airport when the shuttle they had ordered for us didn't show up. Also, we had to leave the hotel for the airport at 6:30 a.m., which was before breakfast was served. The people at the front desk (who spoke English) had the kitchen staff prepare us two boxed breakfasts to enjoy at the airport while we waited for our plane. That was nice, because the morning airport food was not too appealing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are going to phone America or Canada from Italy, buy the 5 Euro calling card with the yellow background and the red image of North America on the front. This card provides for 10 full hours of long distance talking time -- and we didn't pay more than a 20 cent connection charge from any location in Italy. At most hotels, we didn't pay one penny for our calls to America using this card. The card was a great value for the money. Also, there is a great little restaurant (Paolo's) around the corner and up the street two blocks from the hotel. Great food, reasonably priced wines, and no service or cover charges. Two of the restaurants within a block of the hotel had outrageous service charges and charged extra for bread along with the entrees. Also, one restaurant near the hotel gave us a menu with no prices listed -- while they gave Italian speaking customers a menu listing the prices. We later found out the same restaurant also charges a cover charge for Americans -- and not for Italians.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love Roma
Iowa City Iowa
Oct 13, 2009

Good Value for the Money

Friendly Staff, Good service, great food.Very Central location easy to get to all transportation. Saw most attractions of Rome. Onlyone negative point the Taxi Driver who drove us fromGrand Termini to hotel was a crook[*] For a distance thatshould have cost me less than 4 Euros he took us for a ride of 12 euros.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Grand termini all transportation services are here, buy two or three day pass, both metro or Open bus. Fantastic service on all.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, In
Oct 13, 2009

Clean, modern, close to train station

We were only there for one night but the room was very nice, close to a lot of restaurants and the Subway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Virginia
Oct 12, 2009

Great Hotel For The Price

We got a room upgrade without even asking. The entire staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Virginia
Oct 12, 2009

Great Hotel For The Price

We got a room upgrade without even asking. The entire staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Corkyzmom
USA
Oct 12, 2009

OK, with some caveats

This is an all right place to stay, convenient to the Termini and Metro, but in my opinion the 4 star rating is quite a stretch. Our room was very clean, but also very small. Our shower was a tiny corner unit, so small that we had trouble actually getting clean. Also there was no shower soap dish, so when your shower is finished you're left with a slimy cake of soap in one hand and nowhere reasonable to put it. The room lighting was so dim -- despite an adequate number of fixtures -- that we couldn't read ordinary print at night. The air conditioning worked fine, but operating the thermostat was a mystery. Our room faced a side street with some traffic, but noise was not a problem. The breakfast was just awful -- horrendous coffee, fake orange "juice," and stale rolls. There was a selection of cereals we didn't try, and also some kind of yogurt machine. There were off-tasting slices of ham and salami, along with some cheese slices wrapped in plastic. Ugh. All in all, I would stay here again in a pinch, but I would inquire if there is a different bathroom situation -- and certainly I would have breakfast elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Corkyzmom
USA
Oct 12, 2009

OK, with some caveats

This is an all right place to stay, convenient to the Termini and Metro, but in my opinion the 4 star rating is quite a stretch. Our room was very clean, but also very small. Our shower was a tiny corner unit, so small that we had trouble actually getting clean. Also there was no shower soap dish, so when your shower is finished you're left with a slimy cake of soap in one hand and nowhere reasonable to put it. The room lighting was so dim -- despite an adequate number of fixtures -- that we couldn't read ordinary print at night. The air conditioning worked fine, but operating the thermostat was a mystery. Our room faced a side street with some traffic, but noise was not a problem. The breakfast was just awful -- horrendous coffee, fake orange "juice," and stale rolls. There was a selection of cereals we didn't try, and also some kind of yogurt machine. There were off-tasting slices of ham and salami, along with some cheese slices wrapped in plastic. Ugh. All in all, I would stay here again in a pinch, but I would inquire if there is a different bathroom situation -- and certainly I would have breakfast elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PHK
Sterling Hts. Michigan.
Oct 8, 2009

Clean, friendly and good for the price!

Great location if you come by train, for walking to Trevi Fountain, Pantheon and Colosseum etc.. The Vatican is a little further, Taxi recomended, or one way taxi and one way walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PHK
Sterling Hts. Michigan.
Oct 8, 2009

Clean, friendly and good for the price!

Great location if you come by train, for walking to Trevi Fountain, Pantheon and Colosseum etc.. The Vatican is a little further, Taxi recomended, or one way taxi and one way walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top