$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

4 stars
View map of Via Massimo D'Azeglio, 24, Rome, 00184

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
203 out of 203
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 23, 2011

Location! Location! Location!

We stayed in Augusta Lucilla Palace for a couple of days when we visited in Rome. This hotel is only 5-minute away by walking from Roma Termini (i.e. the main train station in Rome), bus stops, and metro station. It is very convenient to go almost any place in Rome from this hotel. There were tons of people walking on the street all day long, even late at night. Restaurants and shops are within walking distance. The room was small but clean. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. They were patient enough to answer all kinds of questions we had and even helped us making reservations of day tours in other cities in Italy. The only thing we were not very impressed was the breakfast buffet served in the hotel. Food they provided was not as good as other hotels we stayed in Rome. Comparing against making reservations directly with the hotel, I found the price we paid online is so much better. This is certainly a big plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many hotels around the area serving authentic Italian food. We visited a couple of them in the area. We love the pasta they served.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 2, 2011

Excellent place to stay in Rome

They were very accommodating allowing us to check in early so we were able to get some much needed rest after an overnight flight from Boston. An enjoyable trip except for getting my pocket picked on the Rome Metro. People should be warned to be very careful to protect their belongings. The breakfast which was included in the cost of the room was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several excellent and reasonably priced restaurants within easy walk from hotel.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 2, 2011

Excellent place to stay in Rome

They were very accommodating allowing us to check in early so we were able to get some much needed rest after an overnight flight from Boston. An enjoyable trip except for getting my pocket picked on the Rome Metro. People should be warned to be very careful to protect their belongings. The breakfast which was included in the cost of the room was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several excellent and reasonably priced restaurants within easy walk from hotel.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Jun 1, 2011

Beware of the Shower Doors

While a nice hotel in a convenient location, the service I received when the shower door fell and exploded into a million pieces was disappointing. I feel fortunate that I was not badly injured, though the staff was very apathetic to what happened and offered no solution for my inconvenience. So beware, don't use the shower doors!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice restaurants nearby.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Jun 1, 2011

Beware of the Shower Doors

While a nice hotel in a convenient location, the service I received when the shower door fell and exploded into a million pieces was disappointing. I feel fortunate that I was not badly injured, though the staff was very apathetic to what happened and offered no solution for my inconvenience. So beware, don't use the shower doors!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice restaurants nearby.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alhambra, CA
May 28, 2011

Great Location, Pleasant Stay

This hotel has great staff and is in a great location, situated only 3 blocks from the Termini Station. This was our first time in Rome, and felt we made a good decision staying here. We came in quite early, but were able to get our room an hour earlier from the normal 2pm check-in. The room was modestly small, but very clean with modern amenities. We had air conditioning which we took great advantage of during our 3 night stay. They had a flat screen tv, which had the bare minimum of channels but they had BBC and CNN so we were able to track the Icelandic Ash Cloud while were there. Wifi internet costs 5 euro an hour, which you had to get a prepaid card for at reception. If this is too much, there are also internet cafes around the corner that are at half the cost. They accommodate rides to and from the Fiumicino airport, which I requested via email. Upon arrival, we were greeted to a driver who waited with our name on a placard. We paid 60 euro for the ride. On our departure, we decided to take the Trenitaly train. We prepaid the day before and was a half hour ride at 28 euro. We enjoyed our stay there and would definitely consider going back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnetonka, MN
May 5, 2011

Good location, bad hotel

The hotel is very well located, near almost everything, like: train station and 10 minutes walking to Colosseum. On the other hand the room was too small and TV, hanged in the wall, seems to be computer screen (very small). I have already been to better places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Colosseum

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lee, NJ
Apr 22, 2011

Good location, but bad hotel

I cannot deny that the hotel was located in a very good area: close to Termini( the main bus and metro station), quiet at night and good restaurants nearby. However the hotel was VERY disappointing. The rooms were much smaller than let on and I constantly felt suffocated. Our window was also broken and constantly let in a draft, that smelled like bacon and eggs since it was above the kitchen. They do not have a rooftop terrace, which is disappointing since they say that they do. It is a roof with no seats or plants and is in front of other people's room windows. The bathrooms were at least decent. Also saying that the breakfast was horrible is an understatement. If it weren't given free in the deal that I got I would have looked elsewhere for breakfast. There are also many other hotels located in the same area that seemed much better like Torino hotel and Diana Hotel. Check these out. Overall I would not go to this hotel again, even if I was by myself. I was fooled by the other people's reviews and expected too much of this hotel especially when I'm paying 234$ a night for this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
msjaguar
Business
Bonita, Ca.
Mar 27, 2011

Very Good Hotel

This hotel was a great deal. The decor was elegant and roomy with pull out couch. Modern bathroom with good water pressure. The hotel was 5 min. from the train station and fifteen minutes walk to the colosseum. We enjoyed our stay. There were 2 minor things. The front desk gave us a recommendation for dinner but didn't tell us we needed to make a reservation. They didn't wake us as requested. Overall all excellent value for the cost and very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to the colosseum after dinner and enjoy it @ night. The Bassilica nearby is amazing!

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New England
Mar 17, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

The location was great as it was only a 5 minute walk to the main train/bus station. There was also plenty of choices around as far as food goes. The location was nice and quit at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy to get to public transportation

Back to menu Return to top