Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

4 stars
Via Massimo D'Azeglio, 24, Rome, 00184
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
176 reviews
Great location

We traveled from Madrid to Barcelona, the South of France, Firenza and eventually to Rome, this... See full review

  • El Matador1825
  • Apr 25, 2014
Perfect!

I spent just one night in this hotel, but it was enough to enjoy a very comfortable stay: nice and... See full review

  • gia74
  • Feb 25, 2014
With its red-brick frontage adorned with Classical porticos, the 19th century building of the Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome assures you of an authentically Roman stay. A part of the Globe Hotels brand, well-lit red surfaces and wood-accentuated decor impart a warm glow to the hotel's lobby and rooms, while the multilingual staff make sure guests receive the right tickets and prices at the tour desk. At the end of a long day, you can sink into the adjustable Smart bed in your room - positioned however you like - and the substantial American-style buffet breakfasts served in the Augusta restaurant will satisfy the heartiest appetite.
Key facts
  • 108 guestrooms
  • Concierge and 24-hour reception
  • Laundry/dry cleaning services
  • Fax and photocopying services
  • Wi-Fi available
  • Electronic in-room safes and secure luggage storage
  • Restaurant open for breakfast
  • Evening dinner service for bookings of 20+
Neighborhood
Located right in the heart of Rome's historic center, the Augusta Lucilla Palace is within easy reach of two of Rome's most popular sights, the Colosseum and Oppio Hill, one of the famed Seven Hills of Rome. Descend the famed Spanish Steps or witness the dancing waters of the Trevi Fountain, both about a 15-20 minute walk away. The Cavour-Esquilino bus stop is just around the corner from the hotel, and it's a five minute wander to the Termini railway and subway station.
Hints and tips
Need help finding the Augusta Lucilla Palace? Call the hotel before you travel and they'll pick you up from Rome Fiumicino-Leonardo Da Vinci airport (FCO) when your flight lands, for a small additional fee. This is a far more cost-effective option than hailing a taxi.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome Rooms

Double Room with Balcony
Double room with a BalconyTerrace with table and chairs overlooking the rooftops of the Eternal City this spacious room is equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV and private bathroom. Room amenities: terrace, telephone, satellite channels, safe, air conditioning, heating, wooden floor, Shower or Bath, Hairdryer, Free toiletries, Toilet, Bathroom, minibar. Bed type: 1 double bed or 2 single beds.
Double Room
The room have the bedding option of one double bed or one twin bed with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Quad/Suite
The room have the bedding option of two double beds or two twin beds with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Triple Room
The room have the bedding option of one double and one twin beds or two twin beds with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Single Room
The room have the bedding option of one twin bed with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Small Double
The room have the bedding option of one twin bed with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

41.9001 12.4977
Area served
Rome.
Nearby airports
Leonardo Da Vinci (Fiumicino) International Airport.
Area description
Hotel boasts itself for its central location with only a few minute walk from the most popular sites in Rome: Via Veneto, Spanish Square, Venice Square, The Colosseum and The Trevi Fountain. It is located only 400m from the central railway station, with the underground and bus stops situated 5 minute walking distance from the hotel.

Nearby points of interest

  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.1 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.1 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Rome: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.2 mi
  • Termini Station: 0.2 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.2 mi
  • Pontifical Oriental Institute: 0.2 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.3 mi
  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.1 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.1 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Rome: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.2 mi
  • Termini Station: 0.2 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.2 mi
  • Pontifical Oriental Institute: 0.2 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.3 mi
  • Lamian Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.3 mi
  • Fontana dell'Acqua Felice: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria della Vittoria: 0.4 mi
  • San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo delle Esposizioni: 0.4 mi
  • Museo Nazionale Romano: 0.4 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Antica: 0.5 mi
  • Ecstasy of Saint Teresa: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Barberini: 0.5 mi
  • Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II: 0.5 mi
  • San Pietro in Vincoli: 0.5 mi
  • Piazza Barberini: 0.5 mi
  • Fontana del Tritone: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo del Quirinale: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo Quirinale: 0.6 mi
  • Palacio del Quirinal: 0.6 mi
  • Colle Oppio: 0.6 mi
  • Domus Aurea: 0.6 mi
  • Torre delle Milizie: 0.6 mi
  • Teatro Sistina: 0.6 mi
  • Torre dei Conti: 0.7 mi
  • Pontifical Lateran University: 0.7 mi
  • Ludovisi: 0.7 mi
  • Trajan's Market: 0.7 mi
  • Forum of Augustus: 0.7 mi
  • Trajan's Forum: 0.7 mi
  • Rome Marathon: 0.7 mi
  • Via Veneto area: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (176)

Ratings and reviews for Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
176 out of 176
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boone, North Carolina
Jun 28, 2011

Great Hotel

The hotel was great. It is fairly new so the rooms were spacious and the A/C worked well. A free breakfast was included which had numerous items. The staff spoke english so it was easy for us to communicate with them. The only drawback which isn't the hotel's fault is that Rome makes you pay 3 euros cash for each person for each night that you stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jun 23, 2011

Location! Location! Location!

We stayed in Augusta Lucilla Palace for a couple of days when we visited in Rome. This hotel is only 5-minute away by walking from Roma Termini (i.e. the main train station in Rome), bus stops, and metro station. It is very convenient to go almost any place in Rome from this hotel. There were tons of people walking on the street all day long, even late at night. Restaurants and shops are within walking distance. The room was small but clean. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. They were patient enough to answer all kinds of questions we had and even helped us making reservations of day tours in other cities in Italy. The only thing we were not very impressed was the breakfast buffet served in the hotel. Food they provided was not as good as other hotels we stayed in Rome. Comparing against making reservations directly with the hotel, I found the price we paid online is so much better. This is certainly a big plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many hotels around the area serving authentic Italian food. We visited a couple of them in the area. We love the pasta they served.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jun 2, 2011

Excellent place to stay in Rome

They were very accommodating allowing us to check in early so we were able to get some much needed rest after an overnight flight from Boston. An enjoyable trip except for getting my pocket picked on the Rome Metro. People should be warned to be very careful to protect their belongings. The breakfast which was included in the cost of the room was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several excellent and reasonably priced restaurants within easy walk from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Jun 1, 2011

Beware of the Shower Doors

While a nice hotel in a convenient location, the service I received when the shower door fell and exploded into a million pieces was disappointing. I feel fortunate that I was not badly injured, though the staff was very apathetic to what happened and offered no solution for my inconvenience. So beware, don't use the shower doors!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice restaurants nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Alhambra, CA
May 28, 2011

Great Location, Pleasant Stay

This hotel has great staff and is in a great location, situated only 3 blocks from the Termini Station. This was our first time in Rome, and felt we made a good decision staying here. We came in quite early, but were able to get our room an hour earlier from the normal 2pm check-in. The room was modestly small, but very clean with modern amenities. We had air conditioning which we took great advantage of during our 3 night stay. They had a flat screen tv, which had the bare minimum of channels but they had BBC and CNN so we were able to track the Icelandic Ash Cloud while were there. Wifi internet costs 5 euro an hour, which you had to get a prepaid card for at reception. If this is too much, there are also internet cafes around the corner that are at half the cost. They accommodate rides to and from the Fiumicino airport, which I requested via email. Upon arrival, we were greeted to a driver who waited with our name on a placard. We paid 60 euro for the ride. On our departure, we decided to take the Trenitaly train. We prepaid the day before and was a half hour ride at 28 euro. We enjoyed our stay there and would definitely consider going back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minnetonka, MN
May 5, 2011

Good location, bad hotel

The hotel is very well located, near almost everything, like: train station and 10 minutes walking to Colosseum. On the other hand the room was too small and TV, hanged in the wall, seems to be computer screen (very small). I have already been to better places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Colosseum

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Lee, NJ
Apr 22, 2011

Good location, but bad hotel

I cannot deny that the hotel was located in a very good area: close to Termini( the main bus and metro station), quiet at night and good restaurants nearby. However the hotel was VERY disappointing. The rooms were much smaller than let on and I constantly felt suffocated. Our window was also broken and constantly let in a draft, that smelled like bacon and eggs since it was above the kitchen. They do not have a rooftop terrace, which is disappointing since they say that they do. It is a roof with no seats or plants and is in front of other people's room windows. The bathrooms were at least decent. Also saying that the breakfast was horrible is an understatement. If it weren't given free in the deal that I got I would have looked elsewhere for breakfast. There are also many other hotels located in the same area that seemed much better like Torino hotel and Diana Hotel. Check these out. Overall I would not go to this hotel again, even if I was by myself. I was fooled by the other people's reviews and expected too much of this hotel especially when I'm paying 234$ a night for this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
msjaguar
Bonita, Ca.
Mar 27, 2011

Very Good Hotel

This hotel was a great deal. The decor was elegant and roomy with pull out couch. Modern bathroom with good water pressure. The hotel was 5 min. from the train station and fifteen minutes walk to the colosseum. We enjoyed our stay. There were 2 minor things. The front desk gave us a recommendation for dinner but didn't tell us we needed to make a reservation. They didn't wake us as requested. Overall all excellent value for the cost and very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to the colosseum after dinner and enjoy it @ night. The Bassilica nearby is amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New England
Mar 17, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

The location was great as it was only a 5 minute walk to the main train/bus station. There was also plenty of choices around as far as food goes. The location was nice and quit at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy to get to public transportation

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Greenville, North Carolina
Jan 31, 2011

Good hotel for price and comfort

The rooms were small but common for a big city. The hotel was very clean, comfortable, and is a good location for transportation and restraurants. Breakfast was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top