$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 20, 2015 Check-out: Jan 21, 2015

Palazzo Alexander

4 stars
Via Santa Giustina, 48, Lucca, 55100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
5 reviews
Weekend Retreat

My husband and I live in Italy and we wanted a night away so we decided to go back to our favorite... See full review

  • USA duo living in Italy
  • Mar 20, 2012
Friendly Palazzo

Palazzo Alexander is a small, very friendly, family run hotel set in the centre of the historic... See full review

  • Godcape
  • Jan 16, 2013
The building, which dates from the 12th century, housed a girls boarding school in the 1800's. Closed for the last ten years, the site was recently restored to its former splendor and prepared for its present use thanks to the Iacopini family who has been its proprietor for many years. This work has left unaltered the original structure of the building, and has successfully created an elegant, charming residence in the heart of Lucca's historic city center. Known today as the Palazzo Alexander, the residence encompasses four floors of rooms and apartments, all with modern, private bathrooms - some with whirlpool baths. Hotel amenities are Bar, Room service, Safe deposit box, Laundry service, Lift / Elevator, Parking facilities, Luggage storage, Reception and Doctor on call. Parking is available at Euro 14 per night. Hotel have free of charge wireless connection to the internet in all the areas of the hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palazzo Alexander also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Palazzo Alexander Rooms

Standard Single Room
The room offers one single bed. It includes Air conditioning, Heating, Internet access, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Laundry service at cost, Telephone, Color TV, Non - smoking rooms, Ensuite / Private bathroom and Hairdryer.
Standard Double Room
The room offers one double bed. It includes Air conditioning, Heating, Internet access, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Laundry service at cost, Telephone, Color TV, Non-smoking rooms, Ensuite / Private bathroom and Hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (5)

Ratings and reviews for Palazzo Alexander

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 5
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palazzo Alexander

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
USA duo living in Italy
Italy
Mar 20, 2012

Weekend Retreat

My husband and I live in Italy and we wanted a night away so we decided to go back to our favorite city of Lucca. The hotel manager came outside when we pulled up and personally helped us park our car. He brought us up to our room, gave us a great recomendation for dinner, and then ensured that we had a great breakfast the next morning. The hotel was beautiful and I would have paid more to stay in such a beautiful hotel in such a great location. I will definitely be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The top of the wall in Lucca is a park and just beautiful to walk, no matter the time of year. A must see in the old city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palazzo Alexander

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Godcape
Business
Surrey, UK
Jan 16, 2013

Friendly Palazzo

Palazzo Alexander is a small, very friendly, family run hotel set in the centre of the historic part of Lucca. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly, arranging restaurant reservations for us, etc. They also spoke excellent English - a help for those whose Italian is not too advanced. It could be described as a cosy Palazzo! All the main sights of historic Lucca are within easy walking distance. Really great for a few days in which to unwind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Buca di SantAntonio

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palazzo Alexander

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Francisco Traveler
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Romantic, true hospitality !!

I was upgraded to a much larger room after my first night simply because it was available! The very attentive, knowledgeable staff was a blessing as I was traveling alone. They made me feel right at home. Breakfast was wonderful right down the homemade cakes, chocolate croissants, fresh squeezed blood red orange juice ++. The room furnishings were formal & beautiful -- like stepping into another era -- all with inlaid wood with mother-of pearl touches. I loved it and would stay there again if/when I have the chance......S from San Francisco

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Lucca has many nice "wine bars" which feature Happy Hour! Buy a drink at happy hour prices and you help yourself to an array of tasty appetizers. These places are informal, fun, and it's easy to meet people.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palazzo Alexander

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
USA duo living in Italy
Business
Italy
Mar 20, 2012

Weekend Retreat

My husband and I live in Italy and we wanted a night away so we decided to go back to our favorite city of Lucca. The hotel manager came outside when we pulled up and personally helped us park our car. He brought us up to our room, gave us a great recomendation for dinner, and then ensured that we had a great breakfast the next morning. The hotel was beautiful and I would have paid more to stay in such a beautiful hotel in such a great location. I will definitely be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The top of the wall in Lucca is a park and just beautiful to walk, no matter the time of year. A must see in the old city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palazzo Alexander

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lucca Fan
Business
New York, NY
Jul 9, 2010

Ornate hotel, nice staff

The good: The hotel is decorated in an attractive and ornate antique style. It is located conveniently near the beautiful Lucca wall as well as the shopping etc... The breakfast was tasty enough. The staff were terrifically helpful and kind -- we were traveling with a 14 month old and they were very accommodating. The bad: Our room was small. The air conditioner, which worked fine, leaked water all over the floor -- not our problem, but the type of thing that doesn't speak well of the general upkeep of the place. I was surprised (they didn't mention it when they led me to the nearly impossible to pull into parking area) by the 14 Euro per night parking fee. Overall, if you can't get a room at the ilaria (sp?), this hotel will suit your needs perfectly. The price is a little on the steep side, given the amenities, but its location is good and the staff are welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palazzo Alexander

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pelli
Business
Chicago, il
Oct 19, 2009

Palazzo Alexander

The hotel gives the experience and chharacter of the style of Lucca. The decor traditional tuscan yet restored with the modern conviences. The baths have wonderful period fixtures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful flea market on weekends.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top