$107 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 22, 2015 Check-out: Feb 23, 2015

Grand Hotel Savoia Genoa

5 stars
Via Arsenale Di Terra 5, Genoa, Genoa, 16126
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
20 reviews
Excellent location, service, and value

The location is amazing, across from the train station and near the key tourist spots, yet quiet... See full review

  • Traveljunkies
  • Apr 10, 2014
great biz trip

this historic hotel was in good shape with quiet rooms and good views. I just wished if it had a... See full review

  • Viennalover
  • Jan 16, 2015
New 5 stars hotel with SPA in the heart of Genoa, next to the famous Aquarium and the Port, only a few steps away from the railway station of Piazza Principe. Grand Hotel Savoia offers 117 luxury and comfortable rooms including deluxe rooms, executive rooms, family rooms, 7 junior suites, a suite and a presidential suite. All rooms feature individual climate control, soundproofing, parquet flooring, coffee & tea maker, LCD TV, Sky TV, pay TV, free Wi-Fi, mini bar, 2 complimentary bottles of water, safe box for laptop equipped with plugs to charge batteries, bathrobe, courtesy and vanity set. Every room has been studied to create a unique atmosphere, that makes it different from the others. All bathrooms are manufactured with marble and Slate (typical Ligurian stone). At Novecento Restaurant, where all the details and furnishing have an historical importance, you will taste some of the best examples of typical Italian cuisine and discover international dishes as well. Grand Hotel Savoia disposes of 6 Meeting Rooms, two of them on the top floor with a magnificent view on the historical centre and the harbor. The meeting rooms, all with natural light, are equipped with the latest technologies: videoconferencing, free Wi-Fi connection, screens, complete video and data projection capabilities , microphones, radio-microphones. All meeting rooms offer different setting solutions. Cocktail bar and Executive Lounge. Free Wi-Fi connection in the whole building. Grand Hotel Savoia offers a charming Spa centre with bio-sauna, aromatic showers, massage area and pool. Moreover, on the Top Floor you will find a panoramic solarium with two big Jacuzzi. Fitness Area free of charge for all the Guest with the newest equipments. Children will have fun in the Pirate Garden with its galleon, a treasure well and lots of games. Private parking, valet service. From 2nd April a Municipality Tax applies, it is not included and it is to be paid on the spot.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hotel Savoia Genoa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Grand Hotel Savoia Genoa Rooms

Standard Room
all rooms are studied in every detail and this makes them different from each other by their original setting and tapestry, that evocate the history of the ancient town of Genoa. All bathrooms are manufactured with marble and Slate. Every room features individual climate control, soundproofing, parquet flooring, coffee & tea maker, LCD TV, Sky TV, pay TV, free Wi-Fi, mini bar, 2 complimentary bottles of water, safe box for laptop equipped with plugs to charge batteries, bathrobe, courtesy and vanity set.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Novecento Restaurant
At Novecento Restaurant, where all the details and furnishing have an historical importance, you will taste some of the best examples of typical Italian cuisine and discover international dishes as well.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
6 Meeting Rooms, two of them on the top floor with a magnificent view on the historical centre and the harbor. The meeting rooms, all with natural light, are equipped with the latest technologies: videoconferencing, free Wi-Fi connection, screens, complete video and data projection capabilities , microphones, radio-microphones. All meeting rooms offer different setting solutions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (20)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Savoia Genoa

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 20
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Savoia Genoa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Viennalover
Business
Seoul
Jan 16, 2015

great biz trip

this historic hotel was in good shape with quiet rooms and good views. I just wished if it had a better business center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Savoia Genoa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sugar Land traveler
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 1, 2013

Great place to catch one's breath

I needed a night of R&R between a holiday in Italy and business trip to Romania. This is a lovely hotel just a few steps from the train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast had everything anyone could possibly want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Savoia Genoa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Works in US and Italy
Business
Torino, Italy / Los Angeles, CA
Apr 22, 2013

Simple but elegant, room a bit small but very comfortable

I had a very nice 2-night stay at the Grand Hotel Savoia. I was in Genoa for work and chose this hotel to ensure a comfortable stay and to have a nice weekend with my fiancé after my meetings, as he was traveling with me as well, so I was here both for business and traveling as a couple. Although the hotel is right next to Piazza Principe and the train station, we didn't have any problems with noise, so there's no need to worry about that. I got a great deal the day before my departure at 130 a night for a classic double room. The location is great for both public transport and walking; you can walk right down via Balbi by the university and to the historic center in 15-20 minutes. If you haven't been to Genoa before, I strongly suggest asking the desk for directions, as even maps can be deceiving (Genoa is full of steep hills and sometimes finding the right "salita" (stairway/route upward) or elevator (the ascensore is your best friend here!) can be difficult. We stayed in a classic double room, which was very clean and comfortable. Perks: sky tv, free wi-fi (which actually worked!), complimentary bottled water for our arrival, and a fantastic shower/tub. The bathroom was very large for Italian hotels, equipped with everything we needed. Drawbacks: The air conditioning only worked sporadically (maybe 2 hours out of the 2 days we were there), but the window all but fixed the problem, as we only had one hot day. The only hiccup we had in our stay was caused by a staff error at check-in. I had originally booked a stay for only one night but added a second night in the same room before my arrival at the hotel. Upon check-in, I double-checked with the desk to make sure I was checked in for both nights instead of just the one. Although the receptionist confirmed that indeed I was checked in for both, the key stopped working and all the lights went out in our hotel at check-out time following the first night of our stay. This was not that big of a deal but was a bit annoying given that I had made the effort to make sure we were squared away from the outset, and that I was there for work, and the staff mistake meant I had to stop working in order to go down to the desk and get it sorted out, again, in person. Other than that, the staff were for the most part quite friendly and held our bags for a few hours after check-out so that we could enjoy the city freely before our departure. Bottom line: Great location, super accessible for getting around & in/out of Genoa, very clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Avoid eateries by the hotel. You're close to the train station and most are geared to tourists, offering over-priced, pretty bad fare. Walk a bit down via Balbi toward Cairoli and you'll find some gems on the sidestreets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Savoia Genoa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Florida business
Business
florida
Oct 16, 2012

Not good

was forced to check out due to terrible experience at hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

bad location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Savoia Genoa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Secane
Business
Rhode Island, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Grand not just in title

the beautiful hotel is but steps away from the main Genoa train station. It appears that the hotel was recently renovated and they managed to modernize with any loss of a "grand hotel" tradition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top