$125 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2015 Check-out: Sep 23, 2015

Grand Hotel Savoia Genoa

5 stars
View map of Via Arsenale Di Terra 5, Genoa, Genoa, 16126

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
22 reviews
Excellent location, service, and value

The location is amazing, across from the train station and near the key tourist spots, yet quiet... See full review

  • Traveljunkies
  • Apr 10, 2014
Good Holiday

Hotel was good and staff very helpful. Breakfast very good. Genova itself is limited but outings to... See full review

  • Wariz
  • Jun 22, 2015
New 5 stars hotel with SPA in the heart of Genoa, next to the famous Aquarium and the Port, only a few steps away from the railway station of Piazza Principe. Grand Hotel Savoia offers 117 luxury and comfortable rooms including deluxe rooms, executive rooms, family rooms, 7 junior suites, a suite and a presidential suite. All rooms feature individual climate control, soundproofing, parquet flooring, coffee & tea maker, LCD TV, Sky TV, pay TV, free Wi-Fi, mini bar, 2 complimentary bottles of water, safe box for laptop equipped with plugs to charge batteries, bathrobe, courtesy and vanity set. Every room has been studied to create a unique atmosphere, that makes it different from the others. All bathrooms are manufactured with marble and Slate (typical Ligurian stone). At Novecento Restaurant, where all the details and furnishing have an historical importance, you will taste some of the best examples of typical Italian cuisine and discover international dishes as well. Grand Hotel Savoia disposes of 6 Meeting Rooms, two of them on the top floor with a magnificent view on the historical centre and the harbor. The meeting rooms, all with natural light, are equipped with the latest technologies: videoconferencing, free Wi-Fi connection, screens, complete video and data projection capabilities , microphones, radio-microphones. All meeting rooms offer different setting solutions. Cocktail bar and Executive Lounge. Free Wi-Fi connection in the whole building. Grand Hotel Savoia offers a charming Spa centre with bio-sauna, aromatic showers, massage area and pool. Moreover, on the Top Floor you will find a panoramic solarium with two big Jacuzzi. Fitness Area free of charge for all the Guest with the newest equipments. Children will have fun in the Pirate Garden with its galleon, a treasure well and lots of games. Private parking, valet service. From 2nd April a Municipality Tax applies, it is not included and it is to be paid on the spot.

Grand Hotel Savoia Genoa Rooms

Standard Room
all rooms are studied in every detail and this makes them different from each other by their original setting and tapestry, that evocate the history of the ancient town of Genoa. All bathrooms are manufactured with marble and Slate. Every room features individual climate control, soundproofing, parquet flooring, coffee & tea maker, LCD TV, Sky TV, pay TV, free Wi-Fi, mini bar, 2 complimentary bottles of water, safe box for laptop equipped with plugs to charge batteries, bathrobe, courtesy and vanity set.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
6 Meeting Rooms, two of them on the top floor with a magnificent view on the historical centre and the harbor. The meeting rooms, all with natural light, are equipped with the latest technologies: videoconferencing, free Wi-Fi connection, screens, complete video and data projection capabilities , microphones, radio-microphones. All meeting rooms offer different setting solutions.

Dining

Novecento Restaurant
At Novecento Restaurant, where all the details and furnishing have an historical importance, you will taste some of the best examples of typical Italian cuisine and discover international dishes as well.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Savoia Genoa

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Savoia Genoa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
kent
Jun 8, 2010

shame staff dont match interior

staff are very unhelpful and left me waiting over 20minutes for my to be returned from their carpark which is only 5 minutes away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hotel Savoia Genoa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Florida business
Business
florida
Oct 16, 2012

Not good

was forced to check out due to terrible experience at hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

bad location

Review of Grand Hotel Savoia Genoa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
kent
Jun 8, 2010

shame staff dont match interior

staff are very unhelpful and left me waiting over 20minutes for my to be returned from their carpark which is only 5 minutes away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hotel Savoia Genoa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
oops!
Family
Cardiff
Aug 22, 2010

excellent start... very poor finish to a

The dirty ashtray in the no smoking room on arrival should have given me a clear indication of what was to follow, but when it was still there 2 days after we complained about it on arrival, I had to take it to reception to make the point (and it was still on the recepyion desk the following day..?) The bar had been moved to to rooftop for the summer (6 chairs and some cheap garden furniture and no bar staff). The jacuzzi's were on the rooftop in the bar area for the much acclaimed views, once during our 4 day stay one very brave Australian lady tried to make use of them but when hypothermia started to get the better of her after a few moments she left feeling (and looking) very blue. The toilet/changing room for the rooftop bar/jacuzzi smelt badly and both the tissues and hand wipes had not been filled for days. On a positive note breakfast options were very good. However on the last morning, no cups meant no one could get a coffee, but that did'nt matter as they weren't refilling the coffee urn or pastries any way. On that morning numerous people gave up on waiting in the queue to be seated (there were insufficient tables in the dining room). All of this may simply have been poor timing on our part; it appears that the entire city closes down for August with only the shops and bars operated by none Genoan's providing limited touristic opportunity, maybe the hotel staffing and service levels were reduced accordingly. There were glimpses that this hotel and city could have something special to offer; but it would appear that the the mindset of a once great city state cannot see beyond its own boundaries. We left the Savoia to visit the equally rated Ernst hotel in Cologne and the difference was night and day, we shall go back to Cologne and definately not to Genova

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

don't visit during August

Review of Grand Hotel Savoia Genoa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
oops!
Family
Cardiff
Aug 22, 2010

excellent start... very poor finish to a

The dirty ashtray in the no smoking room on arrival should have given me a clear indication of what was to follow, but when it was still there 2 days after we complained about it on arrival, I had to take it to reception to make the point (and it was still on the recepyion desk the following day..?) The bar had been moved to to rooftop for the summer (6 chairs and some cheap garden furniture and no bar staff). The jacuzzi's were on the rooftop in the bar area for the much acclaimed views, once during our 4 day stay one very brave Australian lady tried to make use of them but when hypothermia started to get the better of her after a few moments she left feeling (and looking) very blue. The toilet/changing room for the rooftop bar/jacuzzi smelt badly and both the tissues and hand wipes had not been filled for days. On a positive note breakfast options were very good. However on the last morning, no cups meant no one could get a coffee, but that did'nt matter as they weren't refilling the coffee urn or pastries any way. On that morning numerous people gave up on waiting in the queue to be seated (there were insufficient tables in the dining room). All of this may simply have been poor timing on our part; it appears that the entire city closes down for August with only the shops and bars operated by none Genoan's providing limited touristic opportunity, maybe the hotel staffing and service levels were reduced accordingly. There were glimpses that this hotel and city could have something special to offer; but it would appear that the the mindset of a once great city state cannot see beyond its own boundaries. We left the Savoia to visit the equally rated Ernst hotel in Cologne and the difference was night and day, we shall go back to Cologne and definately not to Genova

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

don't visit during August

Review of Grand Hotel Savoia Genoa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Jul 13, 2011

Not a five stars hotel....

A good hotel but for sure does not deserve a five stars rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grand Hotel Savoia Genoa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caroyl La Barge
Single
San Francisco, CA
Jan 27, 2014

Great Hotel!

We stayed at The Grand Hotel Savoia for 2 nights. It was in a great location...practically across the street from the Principe train station. You can hop on the Metro and get into the Centro within 5 minutes, but really, you can walk. The room was beautiful....very well maintained, luxurious in it's way. We found it very comfortable. The breakfast buffet ( at 12 euro) was good. The staff was good too. I would have liked to use the spa, but there wasn't enough time. I recommend this hotel and will stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

no need for a car in Genoa.

Review of Grand Hotel Savoia Genoa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
S.A.A
Couples
Mettawa, IL, USA
Oct 19, 2011

two nite stay

We stayed two nites. the location is great because of its proximity to the train station .The staff were polite and courteous,but failed to give us the requested wake up call the morning . We almost missed our early flight. We asked them twice. (We had an alarm clock which broke on the trip)!. Our room rate included breakfast. They have promised to set up a light breakfast for us that AM..but..there was nothing..(we would not had the time anyway because of the missed wake up call. We just had to rush out of the hotel. Other than that it was a comfortable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

take two Alarm clocks with you

Review of Grand Hotel Savoia Genoa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frecklejuice
Single
Gaeta, Italy
Apr 9, 2013

Excellent Service

The hotel was beautiful and the hotel staff friendly and helpful; however, I would not recommend any of the spa services. The spa itself is very nice, but access is a bit over-priced. The hotel does not offer services (i.e. massage, facials, ect.) but contracts the work to a company that provides services to various facilities. The pedicure and facial I received were both sub-par and expensive, to the tune of 90 euros for the facial and 45 for the pedi. Otherwise, the amenities were what I would expect from a 4 star hotel, and the restaurant was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the minestrone genovese, a local vegetarian soup with pesto.

Review of Grand Hotel Savoia Genoa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Works in US and Italy
Business
Torino, Italy / Los Angeles, CA
Apr 22, 2013

Simple but elegant, room a bit small but very comfortable

I had a very nice 2-night stay at the Grand Hotel Savoia. I was in Genoa for work and chose this hotel to ensure a comfortable stay and to have a nice weekend with my fiancé after my meetings, as he was traveling with me as well, so I was here both for business and traveling as a couple. Although the hotel is right next to Piazza Principe and the train station, we didn't have any problems with noise, so there's no need to worry about that. I got a great deal the day before my departure at 130 a night for a classic double room. The location is great for both public transport and walking; you can walk right down via Balbi by the university and to the historic center in 15-20 minutes. If you haven't been to Genoa before, I strongly suggest asking the desk for directions, as even maps can be deceiving (Genoa is full of steep hills and sometimes finding the right "salita" (stairway/route upward) or elevator (the ascensore is your best friend here!) can be difficult. We stayed in a classic double room, which was very clean and comfortable. Perks: sky tv, free wi-fi (which actually worked!), complimentary bottled water for our arrival, and a fantastic shower/tub. The bathroom was very large for Italian hotels, equipped with everything we needed. Drawbacks: The air conditioning only worked sporadically (maybe 2 hours out of the 2 days we were there), but the window all but fixed the problem, as we only had one hot day. The only hiccup we had in our stay was caused by a staff error at check-in. I had originally booked a stay for only one night but added a second night in the same room before my arrival at the hotel. Upon check-in, I double-checked with the desk to make sure I was checked in for both nights instead of just the one. Although the receptionist confirmed that indeed I was checked in for both, the key stopped working and all the lights went out in our hotel at check-out time following the first night of our stay. This was not that big of a deal but was a bit annoying given that I had made the effort to make sure we were squared away from the outset, and that I was there for work, and the staff mistake meant I had to stop working in order to go down to the desk and get it sorted out, again, in person. Other than that, the staff were for the most part quite friendly and held our bags for a few hours after check-out so that we could enjoy the city freely before our departure. Bottom line: Great location, super accessible for getting around & in/out of Genoa, very clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Avoid eateries by the hotel. You're close to the train station and most are geared to tourists, offering over-priced, pretty bad fare. Walk a bit down via Balbi toward Cairoli and you'll find some gems on the sidestreets.

Back to menu Return to top